DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the term “the paging occasion” with no antecedent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al, application no. 2025/0220582, hereinafter known as Li in view of Ho et al, application no. 2011/0222462, hereinafter known as Ho.
As to claim 1, Li discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Li, [0035]-[0036], [0224]-[0227], figure 20 and 21, user equipment (UE, apparatus) of the art with processor and memory), cause the apparatus at least to: determine, based on at least one condition of the apparatus, and a detection mode of the UE (RRM measurement) against threshold to be used by the apparatus for a detection of a low-power-wake up signal, LP-WUS, received from a network node (Li, [0035], UE wakes up to detect LP-WUS received from the network; [0049]-[0052], UE determines radio resource management (RRM) measurement, checks against threshold to determine whether to receive LP-WUS); and detect the LP-WUS based on the determined the RRM (Li, [0049]-[0052], UE determines RRM measurement, checks against threshold to determine whether to receive LP-WUS to receive). Li does not disclose however Ho discloses detection mode checked by the UE for detection of a LP-WUS is super condition encoding level (Ho, [0004]-[0006], [0052], [0062] use of superposition encoding level to send a signal to receiver where the receiver, based on signal quality level of the superposition signal, can chose to decode “base layer” signal or higher quality signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the limitations of detection mode checked by the UE for detection of a LP-WUS is super condition encoding level as taught by Ho. Use of superposition allows multiple devices to receive a signal simultaneously. Further the quality level of the signal allows devices to receive at least a base layer of signal even with poor reception.
As to claim 2, Li discloses wherein the at least one condition comprises a radio condition level (Li, [0049]-[0052], UE determine radio resource management (RRM) measurement, checks against threshold to determine whether to receive LP-WUS).
As to claim 3, Li discloses wherein the apparatus is caused to: determine whether the at least one condition is met; and in accordance with a determination that the at least one condition is met, determine a detection mode in terms of RRM against threshold level to be used for the detection of the LP- WUS ([0049]-[0052], UE determines radio resource management (RRM) measurement, checks against threshold to determine whether to receive LP-WUS); and determine, whether a sub-group of user devices to which the apparatus belongs to is paged (Li, [0051]-[0053], determine when RRM measurement exceeds a threshold, receive LP-WUS payload with sub-group information for that UE and at [0067]-[0077], UE uses sub-group information to get the appropriate paging information for the subgroup). Li does not disclose however Ho discloses the detection mode is based on the first superposition encoding level of the received signal (Ho, [0004]-[0006], [0052], [0062] use of superposition encoding level to send a signal to receiver where the receiver, based on signal quality level of the superposition signal, can chose to decode “base layer” signal or higher quality signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Li to include the limitations of the detection mode is based on the first superposition encoding level of the received signal as taught by Ho. Use of superposition allows multiple devices to receive a signal simultaneously. Further the quality level of the signal allows devices to receive at least a base layer of signal even with poor reception.
As to claims 12-14, the claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-3 respectively above by Li in view of Ho.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467