DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes that the most recent 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn in light of the current claim amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The amendments to claims 1, 12, and 19 are broad in nature and are still anticipated by Dunbar, as further detailed in the rejection herein in light of a new interpretation. Examiner suggests incorporating more claim language in light of the specification (i.e., structural and/or functional) to overcome the prior art rejection and advance prosecution, preferably towards an allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunbar (US Publication Number 2022/0010637 A1; hereinafter “Dunbar”).
In regard to claim 1, Dunbar discloses: A method (abstract) comprising:
obtaining, via one or more pressure measurement devices (202), measurements of a pressure of a fluid (312), the pressure changing in response to movement of one or more elements (e.g., 314, 316) of a downhole tool (i.e., comprising 116 — as shown in figures 1 & 3) caused by a force exerted by a subsurface formation on the one or more elements (Examiner notes that the paragraph [0023] cites the following: “It should be noted that the drilling fluid may be loaded with drilling cuttings and other particles which may plug and/or damage pressure tube 310 and/or first transducer 202 and second transducer 204. To prevent drilling cuttings and other particles from damaging pressure tube 310 and/or first transducer 202 and second transducer 204, a floating ball 314 may be disposed in pressure tube 310”. With that being said, Examiner notes that since the cuttings are a direct form of the surrounding subterranean formation 120, the limitation is met, as the fluid comprising cuttings and particles causes a force to be exerted on the elements), wherein the fluid is hydraulically isolated from fluids external to the downhole tool (paragraph [0024, 0028]); and
determining the force applied to the one or more elements based on the pressure of the fluid (paragraphs [0020-0029]).
In regard to claim 2, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a fluid passage (310) filled with the fluid (abstract, paragraphs [0020-0029]), and wherein the fluid passage hydraulically couples a first element (e.g., 314 connected to 202) of the one or more elements and a first pressure measurement device (202) of the one or more pressure measurement devices (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 3, Dunbar further discloses: obtaining measurements of the fluid in the fluid passage when a force is applied to the first element, wherein the force causes a squeeze in the fluid in the fluid passage (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 4, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a fluid passage (310) filled with the fluid, and wherein a first pressure measurement device (202) of the one or more pressure measurement devices is hydraulically coupled with a plurality of the elements, via a fluid passage (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 5, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the one or more pressure measurement devices include a pressure transducer (paragraphs [0020-0029]).
In regard to claim 6, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the one or more elements are configured to shift radially towards and away from a central axis of the downhole tool (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 7, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the fluid includes hydraulic fluid (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 8, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a drill bit (116 — paragraphs [0010-0012, 0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 11, Dunbar further discloses: performing a wellbore operation (e.g., pumping drilling fluid downhole, drilling, etc.) based on the force applied to the one or more elements (paragraphs [0010-0012, 0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 12, Dunbar discloses: An apparatus (as shown in at least figures 1 & 3) comprising:
one or more elements (e.g., 314, 316) of a downhole tool (i.e., comprising 116 — as shown in figure 1), wherein the downhole tool is positioned in a wellbore (118) formed in a subsurface formation (120 — paragraphs [0010-0012, 0020-0029]); and
one or more pressure measurement devices (202) configured to obtain measurements of a pressure of a fluid (312), the pressure changing in response to movement of the one or more elements caused by force exerted by the subsurface formation on the one or more elements (as shown in figures 1 & 3 | Examiner notes that the paragraph [0023] cites the following: “It should be noted that the drilling fluid may be loaded with drilling cuttings and other particles which may plug and/or damage pressure tube 310 and/or first transducer 202 and second transducer 204. To prevent drilling cuttings and other particles from damaging pressure tube 310 and/or first transducer 202 and second transducer 204, a floating ball 314 may be disposed in pressure tube 310”. With that being said, Examiner notes that since the cuttings are a direct form of the surrounding subterranean formation 120, the limitation is met, as the fluid comprising cuttings and particles causes a force to be exerted on the elements), wherein the force applied to the one or more elements is determined based on the pressure of the fluid (paragraphs [0020-0029]), and wherein the fluid is hydraulically isolated from fluids external to the downhole tool (paragraph [0024, 0028])
In regard to claim 13, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a fluid passage (310) filled with the fluid (abstract, paragraphs [0020-0029]), and wherein the fluid passage hydraulically couples a first element (e.g., 314 connected to 202) of the one or more elements and a first pressure measurement device (202) of the one or more pressure measurement devices (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 14, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a fluid passage (310) filled with the fluid, and wherein a first pressure measurement device (202) of the one or more pressure measurement devices is hydraulically coupled with a plurality of the one or more elements, via a fluid passage (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 15, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the one or more pressure measurement devices include a pressure transducer (paragraphs [0020-0029]).
In regard to claim 16, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the one or more elements are configured to shift radially towards and away from a central axis of the downhole tool (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 17, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a drill bit (116 — paragraphs [0010-0012, 0020-0029] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 19, Dunbar discloses: A system (abstract and figures 1 & 3) comprising:
a downhole tool (i.e., comprising 116 — as shown in figure 1) to be positioned in a wellbore (118) formed in a subsurface formation (120 — paragraphs [0010-0012, 0020-0029]);
one or more elements (e.g., 314, 316) positioned on the downhole tool (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3); and
one or more pressure measurement devices (202) configured to obtain measurements of a pressure of a fluid (312), the pressure changing in response to the movement of the one or more elements caused by a force exerted by the subsurface formation on the one or more elements (as shown in figures 1 & 3 | Examiner notes that the paragraph [0023] cites the following: “It should be noted that the drilling fluid may be loaded with drilling cuttings and other particles which may plug and/or damage pressure tube 310 and/or first transducer 202 and second transducer 204. To prevent drilling cuttings and other particles from damaging pressure tube 310 and/or first transducer 202 and second transducer 204, a floating ball 314 may be disposed in pressure tube 310”. With that being said, Examiner notes that since the cuttings are a direct form of the surrounding subterranean formation 120, the limitation is met, as the fluid comprising cuttings and particles causes a force to be exerted on the elements), wherein the force applied to the one or more elements is determined based on the pressure of the fluid (paragraphs [0020-0029]), and wherein the fluid is hydraulically isolated from fluids external to the downhole tool (paragraph [0024, 0028]).
In regard to claim 20, Dunbar further discloses: wherein the downhole tool includes a fluid passage (310) filled with the fluid (abstract, paragraphs [0020-0029]), and wherein the fluid passage hydraulically couples a first element (e.g., 314 connected to 202) of the one or more elements and a first pressure measurement device (202) of the one or more pressure measurement devices (paragraphs [0020-0029] and figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar (US Publication Number 2022/0010637 A1; hereinafter “Dunbar”) in view of Thomas (US Publication Number 2017/0275951 A1; hereinafter “Thomas”).
In regard to claim 9, Dunbar discloses claim 1 above.
However, Dunbar is silent in regard to: wherein the one or more elements include a button, a cutter, or any combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Thomas teaches a downhole drilling assembly (abstract and figure 1), similar to that of Dunbar. Thomas teaches that pressure measurement devices (e.g., pressure transducer 410) can be coupled to elements, such as, cutters (428) — paragraphs [0041-0044].
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to simply substitute the pressure sensing system/mechanism, as taught by Dunbar, with that corresponding to the pressure of a cutting element, as taught by Thomas, to yield the predictable result of allowing an alternative way of controlling “[...] the amount that the cutting elements of the drilling tool cut into a geological formation” (paragraph [0004] of Thomas). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection B.
In regard to claim 18, Dunbar discloses claim 12 above.
However, Dunbar is silent in regard to: wherein the one or more elements include a button, a cutter, or any combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Thomas teaches a downhole drilling assembly (abstract and figure 1), similar to that of Dunbar. Thomas teaches that pressure measurement devices (e.g., pressure transducer 410) can be coupled to elements, such as, cutters (428) — paragraphs [0041-0044].
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to simply substitute the pressure sensing system/mechanism, as taught by Dunbar, with that corresponding to the pressure of a cutting element, as taught by Thomas, to yield the predictable result of allowing an alternative way of controlling “[...] the amount that the cutting elements of the drilling tool cut into a geological formation” (paragraph [0004] of Thomas). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection B.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunbar (US Publication Number 2022/0010637 A1; hereinafter “Dunbar”) in view of Thomas (US Publication Number 2017/0275951 A1; hereinafter “Thomas”).
In regard to claim 10, Dunbar discloses collecting data (e.g., pressure data) from the downhole tool using sensor(s) (paragraph [0016, 0018, 0021).
However, Dunbar is silent in regard to: designing one or more additional downhole tools based on the force applied to the one or more elements.
Nonetheless, Hall cites: “[...] to take advantage of the several advances in the design of various tools and techniques for oil and gas exploration, it would be beneficial to have real time data such as temperature, pressure, inclination, salinity, etc.” (paragraph [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the collection of the pressure data gathered, as taught by Dunbar, to be used in designing additional downhole tools, as taught by Hall, to allow “[...] for successful oil, gas, and geothermal well exploration and production” (paragraph [0004] of Hall).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676