DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 2-15 in the reply filed on June 02, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matousek et al. (US 2008/0076985, hereinafter Matousek ‘985) in view of Tromberg et al. (US 2006/0184043, hereinafter Tromberg ‘043).
In re claims 2 and 8, Matousek ‘985 teaches a method comprising: causing excitation light to be emitted from a distal tip of an endoscope to illuminate a scene (0037, 0045, 0067, 0081); receiving a fluorescence signal indicative of fluorescence emitted by a portion of the scene in response to illumination by the excitation light (0027, 0058, 0059); accessing a depth map indicative of intensity variations of excitation signal as a function of spatial separation (0063, 0082, 0097, fig. 11) from the distal tip of the endoscope (0037, 0045, 0067, 0081, a detection head is the distal tip); generating a
Matousek ‘985 fails to teach normalized fluorescence signal.
Tromberg ‘043 teaches generating a normalized fluorescence signal based on the depth map and the fluorescence signal (0123, 0126).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Matousek ‘985 to include the features of Tromberg ‘043 in order to provide stable, reproducible, and quantitative results.
In re claims 3 and 9, Matousek ‘985 teaches further comprising determining, based on at least one of the depth map or the spatial separation, an amount of excitation signal causing the fluorescence to be emitted from the portion of the scene (fig. 11).
In re claim 10, Matousek ‘985 teaches wherein the operations further comprise: selectively changing, using an optical filter, a direction of propagation of the portion of the excitation signal towards an image sensor of the endoscope, while allowing at least a portion of the fluorescence emitted from the portion of the scene to propagate towards the image sensor (0085).
In re claim 11, Matousek ‘985 teaches wherein the optical filter comprises a reflective element disposed at an angle with respect to the direction of propagation (fig. 8, either 109, or 0085, 105 is being reflect to a different direction by two reflectors).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matousek ‘985 and Tromberg ‘043 in view of Ono (US 2013/0026390, hereinafter Ono ‘390).
In re claim 6 and 14, Matousek ‘985 and Tromberg ‘043 fail to teach wherein causing presentation of the visual representation comprises: receiving user-input on a threshold condition associated with the normalized fluorescence signal; determining regions where the normalized fluorescence signal satisfies the threshold condition; and generating the visual representation such that the visual representation includes identification of the regions where the normalized fluorescence signal satisfies the threshold condition.
Ono ‘390 teaches wherein causing presentation of the visual representation comprises: receiving user-input on a threshold condition (0064) associated with the normalized fluorescence signal; determining regions where the normalized fluorescence signal satisfies the threshold condition; and generating the visual representation such that the visual representation includes identification of the regions where the normalized fluorescence signal satisfies the threshold condition (abstract, 0005-0006, 0030, 0055-0058).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of invention to modify the method/device of Matousek ‘985 to include the features of Tromberg ‘043 in order to provide stable, reproducible, and quantitative results, and to include the features of Ono ‘390 in order to choose the region of interest that user feel the need to pay extra attention to.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7, 12-13, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BO JOSEPH PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797