DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/16/25. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-7, 10-17 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2020/0296397).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses a method of indicating a region of interest via a point cloud (PC) bitstream of coded PC sequences (see 314 in fig. 3; e.g. see ¶ [0052], [0055]), the method comprising: generating an International Organization for Standardization/International Electrotechnical Commission Base Media File Format (ISOBMFF) container (e.g. see ¶ [0053]); wherein the ISOBMFF container comprises a first track (see 1604 in fig. 16; see 1402 in fig. 14), and the first track comprises a metadata component bitstream of the PC bitstream (e.g. see ¶ [0101], [0113]), wherein the metadata component bitstream includes information that defines a three dimensional (3D) region of interest (ROI) (e.g. see ¶ [0054]), wherein the 3D ROI is defined by at least a set of three Cartesian coordinates which define a point in a 3D space (e.g. see “(x,y,z)” in ¶ [0055]), wherein each of the three Cartesian coordinates is associated with a direction in the 3D space (e.g. see axis in ¶ [0101]), wherein each of the three directions is orthogonal to the other two directions that are associated with the other two coordinates (e.g. see x, y and z axis in ¶ [0101]); and wherein the 3D ROI is further defined by at least a set of three parameters (e.g. see x, y and z axis in ¶ [0101]), wherein each of the three parameters corresponds to a different one of the directions (e.g. see x, y and z axis in ¶ [0101]), and each of the three parameters defines an extension of the 3D ROI in the corresponding direction (e.g. see “maximum size” in ¶ [0101]); and sending the ISOBMFF container (e.g. see ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Wang further discloses wherein the set of three Cartesian coordinates comprises an x coordinate, a y coordinate, and a z coordinate (e.g. see x, y and z axis in ¶ [0101]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Wang further discloses wherein the direction associated with the x coordinate corresponds to an x axis, wherein the direction associated with the y coordinate corresponds to a y axis, and wherein the direction associated with the z coordinate corresponds to a z axis (e.g. see x, y and z axis in ¶ [0101]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Wang further discloses wherein the 3D ROI is a bounding box (see “3D Bounding Box” in fig. 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Wang further discloses wherein the information that defines the 3D ROI includes an indication of a number of 3D ROIs (see 602-606 in fig. 6).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Wang further discloses wherein the ISOBMFF container comprises a second track (e.g. see “restricted video scheme” track in ¶ [0062]), wherein the second track comprises a first video component bitstream of the PC bitstream (e.g. see ¶ [0064]), wherein the first video component bitstream comprises a first set of tiles (e.g. see ¶ [0062]), wherein the first set of tiles comprises at least one patch corresponding to a two dimensional (2D) projection of points within the 3D ROI (e.g. see ¶ [0064]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Wang further discloses wherein the ISOBMFF container comprises a second track (e.g. see “restricted video scheme” track in ¶ [0062]), wherein the second track comprises a geometry component bitstream of the PC bitstream, an occupancy component bitstream of the PC bitstream, or an attribute component bitstream of the PC bitstream (e.g. see ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Wang further discloses wherein the geometry component bitstream of the PC bitstream, the occupancy component bitstream of the PC bitstream, or the attribute component bitstream of the PC bitstream comprises a set of tiles (e.g. see ¶ [0062]), wherein the set of tiles comprises at least one patch corresponding to a two dimensional (2D) projection of points within the 3D ROI (e.g. see ¶ [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim(s) recite an encoder (see 104 in fig. 1) with analogous limitations to claim 2, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Baumgartner (US 2017/0228885).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Wang discloses wherein the ISOBMFF container comprises a third track (e.g. see ¶ [0083]), wherein the third track comprises a second video component bitstream (e.g. see ¶ [0083]), wherein the second video component bitstream comprises a second set of tiles (e.g. see ¶ [0062]).
Although Wang discloses wherein the second set of tiles comprises at least one patch corresponding to a 2D projection of points the 3D ROI (e.g. see ¶ [0082]-[0083]), it is noted that Wang does not provide the particular wherein the 2D projection of points outside the 3D ROI.
However, Baumgartner discloses a region of interest coding wherein background and region of interest are coded separately with different resolution (e.g. see ¶ [0026]).
Given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Baumgartner teachings of background and region of interest coding into Wang different resolution coding for the benefit of reducing bitrate with lower resolution coding on non-area of interest. Incorporating Baumgartner would result in Wang disclosing wherein the second set of tiles comprises at least one patch corresponding to a 2D projection of points outside (background) the 3D ROI.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the references further discloses wherein the first set of tiles is encoded with a higher quality or resolution than the second set of tiles (e.g. see Baumgartner ¶ [0026]).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Lee et al. (US 202/00153885), discloses point cloud coding with bounding box.
2. Ricard et al. (US 12,106,526 ), discloses point cloud coding with bounding box.
3. Lim et al. (US 202/00112709), discloses point cloud coding with ISOBMFF.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485