DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was not submitted for consideration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,416. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,244,416
As per claim 1:
As per claim 12:
As per claim 20:
A communication system, comprising:
An apparatus comprising:
A method, comprising
one or more decoding circuits … to determine one or more locations of one or more errors in a data block;
a comparator circuit .. compare a number of the one or more locations of the one or more errors in the data block with a number of expected errors in the data block and output a result as first output; and
a switching circuit configured to initiate a retransmission request for the data block based on at least the first output from the comparator circuit.
As per claim 1:
A communication system, comprising:
one or more decoding circuits to m … determine one or more locations of one or more errors in the data block;
a comparator circuit to compare a number of the one or more locations of the one or more errors in the data block with a number of expected errors in the data block and output a result as a second output;
a switching circuit to initiate a retransmission request for the data block based on at least the second output.
one or more cyclic redundancy check (CRC) circuits to perform a CRC based on the first output and a CRC code generated based on the data block to generate a third output; and .
As per claim 7:
As per claim 18:
one or more cyclic redundancy check (CRC) circuits configured to perform a comparison of a CRC value in the data block with a CRC value from the second output.
As per claim 1 : continued
one or more cyclic redundancy check (CRC) circuits to perform a CRC based on the first output and a CRC code generated based on the data block to generate a third output; and .
As per claim 5:
As per claim 16:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits … to perform forward error correction for the data block to generate second output.
As per claim 1: (Continued)
one or more decoding circuits to perform forward error correction for a data block to generate a first output
As per claim 2:
As per claim 13:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits … to perform Reed-Solomon decoding.
As per claim 2:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits perform a Reed-Solomon decoding.
As per claim 3:
As per claim 14:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits … perform a Chien search.
As per claim 3:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits perform a Chien search.
As per claim 4:
As per claim 15:
wherein the switching circuit … to initiate the retransmission request based on only the first output.
As per claim 9:
wherein the switching circuit initiates the retransmission request based on the fourth output.
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claims of current application is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claims of patent US 12,244,416.
Specifically, both claims of the current application and claims patent US 12,244,416 discloses one or more decoding circuits configured to determine one or more locations of one or more errors in a data, a comparator circuit configured to compare a number of the one or more locations of the one or more errors in the data block with a number of expected errors …a switching circuit configured to initiate a retransmission request for the data block based on…the comparator circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13, 15-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0,198,607), in view of Rothermel et al (US 2018/0,091,332)
As per claim 1:
As per claim 12:
As per claim 20:
Yang discloses:
A communication system, comprising:
An apparatus comprising:
A method, comprising:
(Yang, Figs 1-7B)
one or more decoding circuits configured to determine one or more locations of one or more errors in a data block;
(Yang, [0044]…BLER determining logic 610 may decode each messages from … use a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code or other error check code to determine a BLER associated with each block received …)
a comparator circuit configured to compare a
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0051]…base station 130-1 receives the acknowledgement message and determines if the reliability and/or error rate associated with the transmission is greater than target reliability/error rate threshold (block 720). …determine if the BLER is greater than the target BLER of 0.00001)
a switching circuit configured to initiate a retransmission request for the data block
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 730 Change MCS; Retransmit Message)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
based on at least the first output from the comparator circuit.
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
Yang discloses a method of comparing between the actual bit error rate and the target bit error rate. However, Yang does not clearly disclose a method of comparing between the actual number of error and the expected number of error.
Rothermel clearly discloses
a method of comparing between the actual number of error and the expected number of error.
(Rothermel, [0076] … receiving a data packet; means for decoding the data packet using forward error correction; means for determining the number of errors in the data packet; means for correcting errors in the data packet using forward error correction when the number of errors is at or below a threshold value; and means for requesting retransmission of the data packet when the number of errors is above the threshold value)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? 516)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? == Above Threshold)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Error Check on Switch Requests Retransmission 520)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Rothermel’s method between actual number of error and the expected number of error as one of the option to determine whether to request retransmission. As such, the system would able to improve a way for receiving a correct data.
(Rothermel, [0076] … receiving a data packet; means for decoding the data packet using forward error correction; means for determining the number of errors in the data packet; means for correcting errors in the data packet using forward error correction when the number of errors is at or below a threshold value; and means for requesting retransmission of the data packet when the number of errors is above the threshold value)
As per claim 2:
As per claim 13:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits are configured to perform Reed-Solomon decoding.
(Rothermel, [0020] FEC codes for processing data include …Reed-Solomon codes)
As per claim 4:
As per claim 15:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
wherein the switching circuit is configured to initiate the retransmission request based on only the first output.
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
(Rothermel, [0076] … receiving a data packet; means for decoding the data packet using forward error correction; means for determining the number of errors in the data packet; means for correcting errors in the data packet using forward error correction when the number of errors is at or below a threshold value; and means for requesting retransmission of the data packet when the number of errors is above the threshold value)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? 516)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? == Above Threshold)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Error Check on Switch Requests Retransmission 520)
As per claim 5:
As per claim 16:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits are configured to perform forward error correction for the data block to generate second output.
(Yang, [0044]…BLER determining logic 610 may decode each messages from … use a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code or other error check code to determine a BLER associated with each block received …)
As per claim 6:
As per claim 17:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
the switching circuit is configured to initiate the retransmission request based on the first output and the second output.
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
(Rothermel, [0076] … receiving a data packet; means for decoding the data packet using forward error correction; means for determining the number of errors in the data packet; means for correcting errors in the data packet using forward error correction when the number of errors is at or below a threshold value; and means for requesting retransmission of the data packet when the number of errors is above the threshold value)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? 516)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? == Above Threshold)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Error Check on Switch Requests Retransmission 520)
As per claim 7:
As per claim 18:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
one or more cyclic redundancy check (CRC) circuits configured to perform a comparison of a CRC value in the data block with a CRC value from the second output.
Yang, [0044]…BLER determining logic 610 may decode each messages from … use a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code or other error check code to determine a BLER associated with each block received …)
As per claim 8:
As per claim 19:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
a logic circuit configured to generate third output based on the first output and output of the one or more CRC circuits.
Yang, [0044]…BLER determining logic 610 may decode each messages from … use a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code or other error check code to determine a BLER associated with each block received …)
As per claim 9:
As per claim 19:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
wherein the switching circuit is configured to initiate the retransmission request based on the first output and the third output.
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
(Rothermel, [0076] … receiving a data packet; means for decoding the data packet using forward error correction; means for determining the number of errors in the data packet; means for correcting errors in the data packet using forward error correction when the number of errors is at or below a threshold value; and means for requesting retransmission of the data packet when the number of errors is above the threshold value)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? 516)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Number of Errors? == Above Threshold)
(Rothermel, Fig. 5A, Error Check on Switch Requests Retransmission 520)
As per claim 10:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
wherein initiating the retransmission request of the data block comprises transmitting the retransmission request.
(Yang, Fig. 7A, step 720/740 BLER > Target BLER == YES)
(Yang, [0053] In each case, base station 130-1 may use the modified MCS index value and retransmit the message using the modified MCS corresponding to the new/modified MCS index value (block 730).
As per claim 11:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
a data source configured to transmit the data block to the one or more decoding circuits.
(Yang, Fig. 7A Transmit Message to UAV)
Claim(s) 3 and 14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0,198,607), in view of Rothermel et al (US 2018/0,091,332), in view of Lauer (US 2004/0,073,861)
As per claim 3:
As per claim 14:
Yang-Rothermel further discloses:
wherein the one or more decoding circuits are configured to perform a
(Yang, [0044]…BLER determining logic 610 may decode each messages from … use a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code or other error check code to determine a BLER associated with each block received …)
However, Yang does not clearly mention Chien-Search as one of the decoder.
Lauer discloses:
Chien-Search as one of the decoder.
(Lauer [0044] T…implementing a typical Reed Solomon decoding algorithm. Error coordinates need to be located within a codeword, that is, determining which bytes within a codeword are in error. Syndromes are first computed, which are quantities computed from receive coordinates and prove helpful in the algorithm process. The error locator polynomial is then constructed using the well-known Berlekamp Massey algorithm, which gives a quantity that is passed on to the next step, namely, performing a Chien search. The Chien search determines which bytes within a codeword had an error)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Lauer’s Chien Search into the decoder of Yang-Rothermel in order to search determines which bytes within a codeword had an error.
(Lauer [0044] T…implementing a typical Reed Solomon decoding algorithm. Error coordinates need to be located within a codeword, that is, determining which bytes within a codeword are in error. Syndromes are first computed, which are quantities computed from receive coordinates and prove helpful in the algorithm process. The error locator polynomial is then constructed using the well-known Berlekamp Massey algorithm, which gives a quantity that is passed on to the next step, namely, performing a Chien search. The Chien search determines which bytes within a codeword had an error)
Conclusion
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111