DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhart et al., US Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0264589 [Reinhart], in view of Jayawardane et al., “Sustainable Manufacturing and Service Economics”.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, Reinhart discloses a system comprising:
a memory comprising computer readable instructions [Memory 708 in and paragraph 0061]; and
a processing device for executing the computer readable instructions, the computer readable instructions controlling the processing device to perform operations for energy efficient manufacturing [Processor 702 in and paragraph 0061], the operations comprising:
receiving a design of an object to be manufactured [input a CAD model that represents the product to be manufactured, paragraph 0025];
analyzing the design of the object to be manufactured to segment the object to be manufactured into components [the modelled workpiece can include geometric primitives which can be combined to form the whole part, paragraph 0019. The model is used to produce a primitive decomposition which includes regions and possible states, paragraph 0025. Production plans include a plurality of operations that each describe how each available tool acts on a geometric primitive in the workpiece, paragraphs 0027-0028, 0032, 0034 and 0038];
performing a comparative evaluation between wastage of materials across different types of manufacturing processes to manufacture the components of the object [automatic evaluations of production plans, which may include a combination of additive and subtractive manufacturing processes, are performed and the production plans are ranked based on user specified criteria, such as material waste, paragraphs 0020 and 0030];
calculating a sustainability score for each of the types of manufacturing processes for each of the components [ranking of production plans based on specified criteria necessarily includes assigning some type of scores that reflect each production plan’s success in meeting the specified criteria];
selecting a manufacturing process for each of the components based at least in part on the sustainability score for each of the types of manufacturing processes for each of the components [selected a feasible manufacturing plan solution, paragraph 0030]; and
manufacturing each of the components using the selected manufacturing process for each of the components [physically manufacturing a part based on a selected feasible manufacturing plan solution, paragraph 0030].
Reinhart discloses selecting a manufacturing plan based on sustainability criteria that includes material wastage, but does not disclose that the sustainability criteria also include power consumption. Like Reinhart, Jayawardane discloses analyzing sustainability of additive and subtractive manufacturing processes. Jayawardane recognizes that a plurality of criteria may be used for judging sustainability of additive and subtractive manufacturing processes. The criteria include energy use, material use, waste and emissions [Introduction, pages 1-2 and Sustainability assessment tools under triple bottom line objectives, pages 5-6]. Since it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider power use in addition to material waste as sustainability criteria for additive and subtractive manufacturing processes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the Jayawardane teachings to the Reinhart system by considering power use in addition to material waste as sustainability criteria when selecting a manufacturing plan in order to produce a more sustainable manufacturing plan.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Reinhart further discloses analyzing the design of the object to be manufactured to segment the object to be manufactured into the components comprises applying historical information to identify how the object can be segmented and manufactured as the components [using expert knowledge to make decisions, paragraphs 0020, 0023 and 0050].
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, Reinhart further discloses that analyzing the design of the object to be manufactured to segment the object to be manufactured into the components is based at least in part on a specification of the object, a shape of the object, and dimensions of the object [the modelled workpiece can include geometric primitives which can be combined to form the whole part, paragraph 0019. The model is used to produce a primitive decomposition which includes regions and possible states, paragraph 0025].
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, Reinhart further discloses that the sustainability score is calculated for each of the types of manufacturing processes based at least in part on parameters of the types of manufacturing processes [automatic evaluations of production plans, which may include a combination of additive and subtractive manufacturing processes, are performed based on tool properties and the production plans are ranked based on user specified criteria, such as material waste, paragraphs 0020, 0026, 0030 and 0039-0041].
Regarding claims 5, 6, 13 and 14, Jayawardane further discloses that the parameters of the types of manufacturing processes are weight based on an importance or priority fand comprise at least power consumption, material wastage, and environmental impact [Introduction, pages 1-2, Sustainability assessment tools under triple bottom line objectives, pages 5-6 and Other aspects of environmental impact in manufacturing, page 7].
Regarding claims 7, 8, 15 and 16, Reinhart further discloses that updating the sustainability score for each of the types of manufacturing processes for each of the components by performing a trial-and-error technique, wherein the trial-and-error technique comprises gradually selecting incremental portions of the object, evaluating the sustainability score of different manufacturing processes, performing segmentation of the object to determine the components that maximize the sustainability score for each of the types of manufacturing processes for each of the components [the state space explorer returns a set of approximate best solutions after a finite number of branching iterations and the solutions are ranked based on user specified criteria, such as material waste, paragraphs 0020, 0030 and 0049].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mori, US Patent Application Publication no. 2018/0093325 discloses selecting a workpiece manufacturing process based on respective characteristics of additive and subtractive manufacturing.
/PAUL B YANCHUS III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 September 28, 2026