DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application repeats a substantial portion of prior Application No. 17/394,497, filed on 5 August 2021, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application (i.e., a propulsor and related propulsor claim limitations). Note that a propulsor is a broader term than a fan. Although applicant has disclosed a type of propulsor, i.e., a fan, the original specification of the parent cases (16/667,154; 16/125,179; 15/606,494; 14/859,381; 14/604,811; 13/623,309; 13/342,508; and provisional 61/494,453) do not provide support to other types of propulsors. As an example, a propeller. Because this application names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application, it may constitute a continuation-in-part of the prior application. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Note: claims 1-2, and 4-20 are being examined with an effective filing date of 17 January 2025; and, claim 3 is being examined with an effective filing date of 3 January 2012.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “said flexible support lateral stiffness”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7-11 depend from claim 6 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “said fan shaft support lateral stiffness”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Note that both claims 8 and 12 include respective limitations that are already recited in claim 1, therefore, claim 8 and 12 fail to further limit the subject matter included in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 of McCune (US 10,227,893 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from one another. The application claims are broader in at least one aspect and also recite additional features not claimed in the patent claims.
For claim 1:
Regarding the broadening aspect of the application claims, the following comparison between the patent claims and the application claims highlights (see underlined features in the patent claims) what elements have been excluded in the presentation of the application claims.
Patent claim 21
Application claim 1
A gas turbine engine, comprising:
a fan shaft driving a fan having fan blades;
a fan shaft support that supports said fan shaft;
a gear system connected to said fan shaft, said gear system includes a gear mesh defining a gear mesh lateral stiffness and a gear mesh transverse stiffness;
a flexible support supporting said gear system and defining a flexible support lateral stiffness and a flexible support transverse stiffness; and wherein at least one of said flexible support lateral stiffness and said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 8% of a respective one of said gear mesh lateral stiffness and said gear mesh transverse stiffness;
further comprising a ring gear defining a ring gear transverse stiffness and said ring gear transverse stiffness is less than 20% of said gear mesh transverse stiffness;
wherein both said flexible support lateral stiffness and said flexible support transverse stiffness are less than 8% of a respective one of said gear mesh lateral stiffness and said gear mesh transverse stiffness;
further comprising a low fan pressure ratio of less than about 1.45, said low fan pressure ratio measured across the fan blades alone, and wherein said gear system includes a reduction ratio greater than 2.3;
wherein said fan shaft support defines a fan shaft support lateral stiffness and said flexible support lateral stiffness is less than 11% of said fan shaft support lateral stiffness;
wherein said flexible support defines a flexible support transverse stiffness and said fan shaft support defines a fan shaft support transverse stiffness and said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 20% of said fan shaft support transverse stiffness;
wherein said flexible support lateral stiffness is less than 11% of said fan shaft support lateral stiffness and said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 11% of said fan shaft support transverse stiffness.
A gas turbine engine, comprising:
a propulsor having propulsor blades; a propulsor shaft for driving the propulsor;
a propulsor shaft support that supports said propulsor shaft, said propulsor shaft support defining a propulsor shaft support transverse stiffness;
a gear system connected to said propulsor shaft, said gear system includes a gear mesh defining a gear mesh transverse stiffness; and
a flexible support which supports said gear system relative to a static structure and defines a flexible support transverse stiffness, wherein said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 11% of said propulsor shaft support transverse stiffness and said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 8% of said gear mesh transverse stiffness.
Thus, it is apparent, for the broadening aspect, that patent claim 21 includes features that are not in application claim 1. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Since application claim 1 is anticipated by patent claim 21, with respect to the broadening aspect, then application claim 1 is obvious over patent claim 21 with respect to the broadening aspect.
With respect to the additional features recited in application claim 1, patent claim 21 fails to recite the a propulsor and the limitations associated to a propulsor instead of a fan. However, McKibbin
teaches geared drive system employing a planetary gear train conveys torque and rotary motion from a
source thereof to a bladed component (abstract), said component being a propulsor (Fig.1/2) potentially
including a fan (Fig.1, 4) or a propeller (Fig.2, 4). Since the patent claim recites the use of a geared drive
system to convey torque to a fan and McKibbin teach that geared drive systems could be used to convey
torque to a fan or a propeller (i.e., propulsors), it would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan and
associated fan components and replace them with a propeller and the resulting associated propeller
components as taught by McKibbin as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain
predictable results of helping generate a force allowing aircraft to fly.
For claim 13, the recited limitations are contained in patent claim 21 in view of McKibbin.
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of McCune (US 10,301,968 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
For purposes of brevity, a full comparison of the patent claim and the instant application is not included herein, however, the same analysis discussed in Section 7 above applies for claim 2 of McCune (US 10,301,968 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of McCune (US 10,590,802 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
For purposes of brevity, a full comparison of the patent claim and the instant application is not included herein, however, the same analysis discussed in Section 7 above applies for claim 1 of McCune (US 10,590,802 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of McCune (US 11,021,997 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
For purposes of brevity, a full comparison of the patent claim and the instant application is not included herein, however, the same analysis discussed in Section 7 above applies for claim 5 of McCune (US 11,021,997 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of McCune (US 11,021,996 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
For purposes of brevity, a full comparison of the patent claim and the instant application is not included herein, however, the same analysis discussed in Section 7 above applies for claim 8 of McCune (US 11,021,996 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of McCune (US 11,111,818 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
For purposes of brevity, a full comparison of the patent claim and the instant application is not included herein, however, the same analysis discussed in Section 7 above applies for claim 1 of McCune (US 11,111,818 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of McCune (US 11,698,007 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
For purposes of brevity, a full comparison of the patent claim and the instant application is not included herein, however, the same analysis discussed in Section 7 above applies for claim 2 of McCune (US 11,698,007 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-20 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCune (US 20170335718 A1; also US 10,227,893 B2) in view of McKibbin (US 5,466,198 A).
Regarding claim 1, McCune teaches a gas turbine engine (Fig.1-10), comprising:
a fan having fan blades (42);
a fan shaft for driving the fan (76);
a fan shaft support (82) that supports said fan shaft, said fan shaft support defining a fan shaft support transverse stiffness (¶23);
a gear system (60) connected to said fan shaft, said gear system includes a gear mesh defining a gear mesh transverse stiffness (¶18); and
a flexible support (78) which supports said gear system relative to a static structure (36) and defines a flexible support transverse stiffness (¶6), wherein said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 11% of said fan shaft support transverse stiffness (¶16) and said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 8% of said gear mesh transverse stiffness (¶20).
Although McCune discloses a fan, McCune does not explicitly teach a propulsor and the related propulsor limitations.
McKibbin teaches geared drive system employing a planetary gear train conveys torque and rotary motion from a source thereof to a bladed component (abstract), said component being a propulsor (Fig.1/2) potentially including a fan (Fig.1, 4) or a propeller (Fig.2, 4). McKibbin teach that geared drive systems could be used to convey torque to a fan or a propeller (i.e., propulsors).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan of McCune and associated fan components and replace them with a propeller and the resulting associated propeller components as taught by McKibbin as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results of helping generate a force allowing aircraft to fly.
Regarding claim 2, McCune and McKibbin further teach said propulsor shaft support defines a propulsor shaft support lateral stiffness and said flexible support defines a flexible support lateral stiffness and said flexible support lateral stiffness is less than 11% of said propulsor shaft support lateral stiffness (McCune claim 19).
Regarding claim 4, McCune and McKibbin further teach a mid-turbine frame including at least one airfoil extending into a flow path (McCune ¶41), and wherein said propulsor shaft support is a K-frame bearing support (McCune ¶47).
Regarding claim 5, McCune and McKibbin further teach the gear system has a reduction ratio greater than 2.3 (McCune ¶42).
Regarding claim 6, McCune and McKibbin further teach said gear mesh defines a gear mesh lateral stiffness and said flexible support lateral stiffness is less than 8% of said gear mesh lateral stiffness (McCune ¶53).
Regarding claim 7, McCune and McKibbin further teach a high speed spool including a two stage high pressure turbine, and a low speed spool including a low pressure turbine with an inlet, an outlet, and a low pressure turbine pressure ratio greater than 5:1, wherein said low pressure turbine pressure ratio is a ratio of a pressure measured prior to said inlet as related to a pressure at said outlet prior to any exhaust nozzle (McCune claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, McCune and McKibbin further teach said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 8% of said gear mesh transverse stiffness (McCune ¶20).
Regarding claim 9, McCune and McKibbin further teach an input coupling defining an input coupling transverse stiffness, wherein said input coupling transverse stiffness is less than 20% of said propulsor shaft support transverse stiffness (McCune ¶44 and claim 23).
Regarding claim 10, McCune and McKibbin further teach said input coupling transverse stiffness is less than 11% of said propulsor shaft support transverse stiffness (McCune ¶16).
Regarding claim 11, McCune and McKibbin further teach said input coupling defines an input coupling lateral stiffness and said input coupling lateral stiffness is less than 11% of said fan shaft support lateral stiffness (McCune ¶44 and claim 24).
Regarding claim 12, McCune and McKibbin further teach said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 11% of said propulsor shaft support transverse stiffness (McCune claim 21).
Regarding claim 13, McCune teaches a gas turbine engine (Fig.1-10), comprising:
propulsor means for providing propulsion (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a propulsor/fan to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. McCune teaches a fan 42);
a fan shaft (76) driving the propulsor means;
a fan shaft support (82) that supports said fan shaft, said fan shaft support defining a fan shaft support transverse stiffness (¶23);
a reduction means for reducing a rotational speed of an output that drives the fan means relative to an input (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as an epicyclic gear train to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. McCune teaches 60), said reduction means includes a gear mesh means defining a gear mesh lateral stiffness (¶18); and
a flexible support means for supporting said reduction means (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a support to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. McCune teaches 78) relative to a static structure (36), the flexible support means defining a flexible support transverse stiffness and a flexible support lateral stiffness (¶6), wherein said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 11% of said fan shaft support transverse stiffness (¶16), and said flexible support lateral stiffness is less than 8% of said gear mesh lateral stiffness (claim 17).
Although McCune discloses a fan, McCune does not explicitly teach a propulsor and the related propulsor limitations.
McKibbin teaches geared drive system employing a planetary gear train conveys torque and rotary motion from a source thereof to a bladed component (abstract), said component being a propulsor (Fig.1/2) potentially including a fan (Fig.1, 4) or a propeller (Fig.2, 4). McKibbin teach that geared drive systems could be used to convey torque to a fan or a propeller (i.e., propulsors).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan of McCune and associated fan components and replace them with a propeller and the resulting associated propeller components as taught by McKibbin as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results of helping generate a force allowing aircraft to fly.
Regarding claim 14, McCune and McKibbin further teach said gear mesh means defines a gear mesh transverse stiffness and said flexible support transverse stiffness is less than 8% of said gear mesh transverse stiffness (McCune claim 17).
Regarding claim 15, McCune and McKibbin further teach compression means (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as compression stages to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. McCune teaches 24) for compressing airflow from the propulsor means, and expansion means (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as expansion stages to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. McCune teaches 28) for driving the compression means in response to expanding airflow across the expansion means (McCune ¶38).
Regarding claim 16, McCune and McKibbin further teach the compression means includes a plurality of compression stages (McCune Fig.1, 24), and the expansion means includes a plurality of expansion stages (McCune Fig.1, 28).
Regarding claim 17, McCune and McKibbin further teach the compression means is a three stage compressor (McCune Fig.1, 44), and the expansion means is a two stage turbine (McCune Fig.1, 54).
Regarding claim 18, McCune and McKibbin further teach a mid-turbine frame including at least one airfoil extending into a flow path (McCune ¶41).
Regarding claim 19, McCune and McKibbin further teach the input is an input coupling that has an input coupling transverse stiffness, wherein said input coupling transverse stiffness is less than 20% of said propulsor shaft support transverse stiffness (McCune ¶15).
Regarding claim 20, McCune and McKibbin further teach the reduction means includes an epicyclic gear train that has a gear reduction ratio of greater than 2.5 (McCune ¶42, note greater than about 2.3 includes greater than 2.5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745