DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At Line 9 of Claim 1: the recitation “wherein plurality” require a change to - - wherein the plurality - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 1 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Line 11 of Claim 1: the recitation “the first touch electrode” requires a change to - - a first touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 1 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Line 12 of Claim 1: the recitation “the second touch electrode” requires a change to - - a second touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 1 is considered as incorporating the required change. Note that Claims 2 – 9 fall Objected with Claim 1 at least due to dependency upon Claim 1.
At Line 2 of Claim 7, Line 2 of Claim 8, Line 2 of Claim 9, and Line 2 of Claim 16: the recitation “µm” requires an expansion to - - micrometers (µm) - - or - - µm (micrometers) - - to properly refer to an unabbreviated form. In order to expedite prosecution, Claims 7, 8, 9, and 16 are considered as incorporating the required change.
At Line 3 of Claim 9: the recitation “A” requires a change to - - a - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 9 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Line 15 of Claim 10: the recitation “the first touch electrode” requires a change to - - a first touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 10 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Lines 15 - 16 of Claim 10: the recitation “the second touch electrode” requires a change to - - a second touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claims 10 is considered as incorporating the required change. Note that Claims 11 - 16 fall Objected with Claim 10 at least due to dependency upon Claim 10.
At Line 2 of Claim 14: the recitation “electrode” requires a change to - - electrodes - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 14 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Line 16 of Claim 17: the recitation “the first touch electrode” requires a change to - - a first touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 17 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Lines 17 of Claim 17: the recitation “the second touch electrode” requires a change to - - a second touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claims 17 is considered as incorporating the required change. Note that Claims 18 - 20 fall Objected with Claim 17 at least due to dependency upon Claim 17.
At Line 18 of Claim 21: the recitation “the first touch electrode” requires a change to - - a first touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claim 21 is considered as incorporating the required change.
At Lines 19 of Claim 21: the recitation “the second touch electrode” requires a change to - - a second touch electrode - - to correct what appears to be an essentially typographical error. In order to expedite prosecution, Claims 21 is considered as incorporating the required change. Note that Claims 22 - 26 fall Objected with Claim 21 at least due to dependency upon Claim 21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6 and 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (United States Patent Application Publication US 2023/0185414 A1, hereinafter referenced as Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses “A touch sensing unit comprising: a substrate” (Figures 5, 9A, Items: ISP, BS2, Paragraph [0017] and Paragraph [0088], Lines 1 – 2 (Notice a touch sensing input panel ISP is provided with substrate/second base layer BS2.)), “a plurality of first touch electrodes disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP1’s (Notice the plural SP1’s provide first touch electrodes in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “a plurality of touch island electrodes disposed between neighboring first touch electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: ILP1 and ILP2 (Notice that island patterns ILP1 and ILP2 provided plural touch island electrode between neighboring first touch electrodes SP1.)), “a plurality of connection electrodes connecting the neighboring first touch electrodes to the plurality of touch island electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: BP, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 1 – 8 (Notice that bridge patterns BP provide a plurality of connection electrodes that connect neighboring first touch electrodes SP1 to the plurality of island electrodes ILP1 and ILP2.)), “a plurality of second touch electrodes connected to each other in a connection area that is defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plurality of touch island electrodes and the plurality of connection electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP2’s, area B1 (Notice the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are connected to each other in a connection area B1 defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plural touch island electrodes ILP1/ILP2, and the plurality of connection electrodes BP.)), “wherein plurality of second touch electrodes are disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are disposed in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “and an electrostatic induction electrode connected to the first touch electrode and overlapping the second touch electrode, wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode in the connection area” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 provides an electrostatic induction electrode connected to a first touch electrode SP1 and overlapping second touch electrode SP2, where at least part of ESD_SP1 overlaps SP2 in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein a first end of the electrostatic induction electrode is connected to the first touch electrode through a contact hole that penetrates an insulating film” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a first end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 is connected to a first touch electrodes SP1 via a contact hole CNT_S1 in an intervening insulation layer requiring hole formation.)), “and a second end of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode with the insulating film interposed therebetween” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a second end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 away from CNT_S1 overlaps and is isolated from electrical contact with second touch electrode SP2 by an intervening insulation layer.)).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein an extension portion of each of neighboring second touch electrodes of the plurality of second touch electrodes is disposed in the connection area” (Figures 5, 9A, Items EP, B1, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 13 – 14 (Notice that an extension portion EP of neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 is disposed in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 3). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the extension portion of a second touch electrode of the neighboring second touch electrodes in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that at least part of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 overlaps the extension portion EP of neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the electrostatic induction electrode is of a plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes, and at least a part of each of the plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes overlaps the second touch electrode in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 is of plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes where at least a part of each overlaps a second touch electrode in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 5). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein a number of the plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes and a number of the plurality of connection electrodes are different from each other” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that total number of electrostatic induction electrodes (i.e. 12) is different from a total number of connection electrodes BP (i.e. 4).)).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses “A display device comprising: a display panel; and a touch sensing unit disposed on the display panel” (Figures 3A, 4, and 5 (Notice that a display device is provided with a display panel DP where a touch sensing unit ISP is disposed on the display panel DP as shown in Figures 3A, 4, and 5.)), “wherein the touch sensing unit comprises: a substrate” (Figures 5, 9A, Items: ISP, BS2, Paragraph [0017] and Paragraph [0088], Lines 1 – 2 (Notice a touch sensing input panel ISP is provided with substrate/second base layer BS2.)), “a plurality of first touch electrodes disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP1’s (Notice the plural SP1’s provide first touch electrodes in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “a plurality of touch island electrodes disposed between neighboring first touch electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: ILP1 and ILP2 (Notice that island patterns ILP1 and ILP2 provided plural touch island electrode between neighboring first touch electrodes SP1.)), “a plurality of connection electrodes connecting the neighboring first touch electrodes to the plurality of touch island electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: BP, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 1 – 8 (Notice that bridge patterns BP provide a plurality of connection electrodes that connect neighboring first touch electrodes SP1 to the plurality of island electrodes ILP1 and ILP2.)), “a plurality of second touch electrodes connected to each other in a connection area that is defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plurality of touch island electrodes and the plurality of connection electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP2’s, area B1 (Notice the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are connected to each other in a connection area B1 defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plural touch island electrodes ILP1/ILP2, and the plurality of connection electrodes BP.)), “wherein the plurality of second touch electrodes are disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are disposed in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “and an electrostatic induction electrode overlapping the first touch electrode and the second touch electrode” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 provides and electrostatic induction electrode that overlaps a first touch electrode SP1 and second touch electrode SP2.)), “wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode in the connection area” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least part of electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 overlaps a second connection electrode SP2 in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 10). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein a first end of the electrostatic induction electrode is connected to the first touch electrode through a contact hole that penetrates an insulating film” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a first end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 is connected to a first touch electrodes SP1 via a contact hole CNT_S1 in an intervening insulation layer requiring hole formation.)), “and a second end of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode with the insulating film interposed therebetween” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a second end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 away from CNT_S1 overlaps and is isolated from electrical contact with second touch electrode SP2 by an intervening insulation layer.)).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 10). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein an extension portion of each of neighboring second touch electrodes of the plurality of second touch electrodes is disposed in the connection area” (Figures 5, 9A, Items EP, B1, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 13 – 14 (Notice that an extension portion EP of neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 is disposed in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 12). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the extension portion of a second touch electrode of the neighboring second touch electrodes in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that at least part of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 overlaps the extension portion EP of neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 10). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the electrostatic induction electrode is of a plurality of electrostatic induction electrode[s], and at least a part of each of the plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes overlaps the second touch electrode in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 is of plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes where at least a part of each overlaps a second touch electrode in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 14). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein a number of the plurality of electrostatic induction electrodes and a number of the plurality of connection electrodes are different from each other” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that total number of electrostatic induction electrodes (i.e. 12) is different from a total number of connection electrodes BP (i.e. 4).)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses “a display device [ ] wherein the display device comprises: a substrate” (Figures 5, 9A, Items: ISP, BS2, Paragraph [0017] and Paragraph [0088], Lines 1 – 2 (Notice that a display device with a touch sensing input panel ISP is provided with substrate/second base layer BS2.)), “a plurality of first touch electrodes disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP1’s (Notice the plural SP1’s provide first touch electrodes in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “a plurality of touch island electrodes disposed between neighboring first touch electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: ILP1 and ILP2 (Notice that island patterns ILP1 and ILP2 provided plural touch island electrode between neighboring first touch electrodes SP1.)), “a plurality of connection electrodes connecting the neighboring first touch electrodes to the plurality of touch island electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: BP, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 1 – 8 (Notice that bridge patterns BP provide a plurality of connection electrodes that connect neighboring first touch electrodes SP1 to the plurality of island electrodes ILP1 and ILP2.)), “a plurality of second touch electrodes connected to each other in a connection area that is defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plurality of touch island electrodes and the plurality of connection electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP2’s, area B1 (Notice the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are connected to each other in a connection area B1 defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plural touch island electrodes ILP1/ILP2, and the plurality of connection electrodes BP.)), “wherein the plurality of second touch electrodes are disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are disposed in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “and an electrostatic induction electrode connected to the first touch electrode and overlapping the second touch electrode” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 provides an electrostatic induction electrode that connects to a first touch electrode SP1 and overlaps a second touch electrode SP2.)), “wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode in the connection area” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least part of electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 overlaps a second connection electrode SP2 in the connection area B1.)). In addition, Kim fails to explicitly disclose “a vehicle comprising a body; an interior space defined by the body” and a display device “disposed in the interior space”, however the display of Kim is envisioned as being part of a car navigation unit (Paragraph [0051], Line 9), where the bodily component of a car and interior operational space provide the structure for disposing the envisioned display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a vehicle comprising a body; an interior space defined by the body” and a display device “disposed in the interior space” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to navigate a car with a car navigation unit.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 17). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein a first end of the electrostatic induction electrode is connected to the first touch electrode through a contact hole that penetrating an insulating film” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a first end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 is connected to a first touch electrodes SP1 via a contact hole CNT_S1 in an intervening insulation layer requiring hole formation.)), “and a second end of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode with the insulating film interposed therebetween” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a second end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 away from CNT_S1 overlaps and is isolated from electrical contact with second touch electrode SP2 by an intervening insulation layer.)).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 17). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein an extension portion of each of neighboring second touch electrodes of the plurality of second touch electrodes is disposed in the connection area” (Figures 5, 9A, Items EP, B1, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 13 – 14 (Notice that an extension portion EP of neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 is disposed in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 19). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the extension portion of a second touch electrode of the neighboring second touch electrodes in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that at least part of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 overlaps the extension portion EP of neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 21, Kim discloses “An electronic device, comprising a display device [ ]wherein the display device comprises: a display panel; and a touch sensing unit disposed on the display panel” (Figures 3A, 4, and 5 (Notice that a display device is provided with a display panel DP where a touch sensing unit ISP is disposed on the display panel DP as shown in Figures 3A, 4, and 5.)), “wherein the touch sensing unit comprises: a substrate” (Figures 5, 9A, Items: ISP, BS2, Paragraph [0017] and Paragraph [0088], Lines 1 – 2 (Notice a touch sensing input panel ISP is provided with substrate/second base layer BS2.)), “a plurality of first touch electrodes disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP1’s (Notice the plural SP1’s provide first touch electrodes in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “a plurality of touch island electrodes disposed between neighboring first touch electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: ILP1 and ILP2 (Notice that island patterns ILP1 and ILP2 provided plural touch island electrode between neighboring first touch electrodes SP1.)), “a plurality of connection electrodes connecting the neighboring first touch electrodes to the plurality of touch island electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: BP, and Paragraph [0091], Lines 1 – 8 (Notice that bridge patterns BP provide a plurality of connection electrodes that connect neighboring first touch electrodes SP1 to the plurality of island electrodes ILP1 and ILP2.)), “a plurality of second touch electrodes connected to each other in a connection area that is defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plurality of touch island electrodes and the plurality of connection electrodes” (Figures 5 and 9A, Items: plural SP2’s, area B1 (Notice the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are connected to each other in a connection area B1 defined by the neighboring first touch electrodes, the plural touch island electrodes ILP1/ILP2, and the plurality of connection electrodes BP.)), “wherein the plurality of second touch electrodes are disposed in a touch sensor area of the substrate” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that the plural second touch electrodes SP2 are disposed in the touch sensor area of substrate BS2.)), “and an electrostatic induction electrode connected to the first touch electrode and overlapping the second touch electrode” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 provides an electrostatic induction electrode that connects to a first touch electrode SP1 and overlaps a second touch electrode SP2.)), “wherein at least a part of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode in the connection area” (Figure 9A, 9B, Item: ESD_SP1, and Paragraph [0135], Lines 1 – 7 (Notice that at least part of electrostatic induction pattern ESD_SP1 overlaps a second connection electrode SP2 in the connection area B1.)). In addition, Kim fails to explicitly disclose “a power supply configured to provide power to the display device”, however the display of Kim is envisioned as being connected to a main circuit board MB with connector for supply power (Paragraph [0067], Lines 1 – 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a power supply configured to provide power to the display device” because one having ordinary skill in the art would want to be able to fully operate a display device.
Regarding Claim 22, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 21). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein a first end of the electrostatic induction electrode is connected to the first touch electrode through a contact hole that penetrates an insulating film that is disposed on the electrostatic induction electrode” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a first end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 is connected to a first touch electrodes SP1 via a contact hole CNT_S1 in an intervening insulation layer requiring hole formation while being disposed on ESD_SP1 at the physical contact interface.)), “and a second end of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the second touch electrode with the insulating film interposed therebetween” (Figures 9A, 9B, and Item: CNT_S1 (Notice that a second end of electrostatic induction electrode ESD_SP1 away from CNT_S1 overlaps and is isolated from electrical contact with second touch electrode SP2 by an intervening insulation layer.)).
Regarding Claim 23, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 21). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein neighboring second touch electrodes of the plurality of second touch electrodes are connected to each other through an extension portion that is disposed in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that neighboring second touch electrodes SP2 are connected to each other through an extension portion EP that is disposed in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 23). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein at least a portion of the electrostatic induction electrode overlaps the extension portion in the connection area” (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice that at last a portion of ESD_SP1 overlaps the extension portion EP in the connection area B1.)).
Regarding Claim 25, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 24). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the electrostatic induction electrode does not contact the extension portion” (Figures 5, 9A, and 9B (Notice that ESD_SP1 does not electrically contact the extension portion EP as shown in Figures 9A and 9B.)).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim discloses/teaches everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 21). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the electrostatic induction electrode is disposed between a pair of neighboring connection electrodes of the plurality of connection electrodes in a plan view (Figures 5 and 9A (Notice in Figure 9A that the ESD_SP1 labeled to the bottom, right is between a pair of neighboring connection electrodes BP with one BP at bottom, left and the other BP at top, right.)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 9 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In the prior art of record, it has been shown to provide for the limitations of Claim 1 from which Claim 7 – 9 are dependent and Claim 10 from which Claim 16 is dependent. However, it has not been shown in the prior art of record to provide for the dimensional limitations of Claims 7 – 9 in individual combination with those of Claim 1 through each separate chain of claim dependency and it has not been shown in the prior art of record to provide for the dimensional limitations of Claim 16 in combination with those of Claim 10.
Conclusion
/BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 April 10, 2026