2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Komatsu (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0061648).
Regarding independent claim 1, Komatsu discloses a display device (Figure 1 and paragraph [0028] describes a display.) comprising:
a controller configured to generate a start signal (SP) and a clock signal (CLK) (Figure 3 clock control circuit CCCn described in paragraphs [0031]-[0032] to control and output clock signals CLK. Figure 2 and paragraph [0029] describes the shift circuit block SB1 to receive a start pulse SP and inverted SP via 50. Figure 5 depicts CCCn to output CLK via a received input of CLK. The wires which outputs SP and CLK are inherently generated and therefore interpreted to regard the claimed controller.);
a masking circuit (CCCn) configured to generate output clock signals (CLK and
C
L
K
-
) by masking at least a portion of the clock signal (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00113] examples masking as refraining from driving the first and second stage in particular periods of the shifter register. Prior art Komatsu figures 5-6 and paragraphs [0032] and [0040] describes when the NAND is turned to a lower level the control circuit CCCn “stops supplying”/masking the clock signal CLKn.); and
a plurality of stages (SU) configured to receive an output clock signal (CLK and
C
L
K
-
) of the output clock signals (CLK and
C
L
K
-
) in response to the start signal (SP) and output a data signal (Q2m) (Figure 3 reference shift unit circuits SU to receive start pulse SP and clock signals CLK as described in paragraphs [0029]-[0031]. Paragraph [0032] describes the output of SU to NAND regarding Q2m.),
wherein the masking circuit (CCCn) is configured to receive data signals (Q2m) respectively output from a stage (SU2m(n-1)+2) of the plurality of stages (SU) and at least one other stage (SU2m(n-1)+4) disposed adjacent to the stage (Paragraph [0032] describes the NAND input of Q2m to be successively adjacent even numbered shift register stages SU.).
Regarding claim 2, Komatsu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stages comprise a first stage (Figure 3 SU2m(n-1)+2) and a second stage (SU2m(n-1)+4) following the first stage (Paragraph [0032] describes the NAND input of Q2m to be successively adjacent even numbered shift register stages SU.), and
wherein the masking circuit (CCCn) comprises a first masking circuit configured to receive the start signal (Figure 2 inverter 50), a first data signal (Q2m(n-1)+2) output from the first stage (SU2m(n-1)+2), and a second data signal (Q2m(n-1)+4) output from the second stage (SU2m(n-1)+2).
Regarding independent claim 20, Komatsu discloses an electronic device (Figure 1 and paragraph [0028] describes a display.) comprising:
a display device(Figure 1 and paragraph [0028] describes a display.) configured to display an image based on input image data (pixels 31 paragraph [0028]); and
a processor configured to provide the input image data to the display device (Figure 1 DATA to data latch 12 paragraph [0028]),
wherein the display device comprises:
a controller configured to generate a start signal (SP) and a clock signal (CLK) (Figure 3 clock control circuit CCCn described in paragraphs [0031]-[0032] to control and output clock signals CLK. Figure 2 and paragraph [0029] describes the shift circuit block SB1 to receive a start pulse SP and inverted SP via 50. Figure 5 depicts CCCn to output CLK via a received input of CLK. The wires which outputs SP and CLK are inherently generated and therefore interpreted to regard the claimed controller.);
a masking circuit (CCCn) configured to generate output clock signals (CLK and
C
L
K
-
) by masking at least a portion of the clock signal (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [00113] examples masking as refraining from driving the first and second stage in particular periods of the shifter register. Prior art Komatsu figures 5-6 and paragraphs [0032] and [0040] describes when the NAND is turned to a lower level the control circuit CCCn “stops supplying”/masking the clock signal CLKn.); and
a plurality of stages (SU) configured to receive an output clock signal (CLK and
C
L
K
-
) of the output clock signals (CLK and
C
L
K
-
) in response to the start signal (SP) and output a data signal (Q2m) (Figure 3 reference shift unit circuits SU to receive start pulse SP and clock signals CLK as described in paragraphs [0029]-[0031]. Paragraph [0032] describes the output of SU to NAND regarding Q2m.),
wherein the masking circuit (CCCn) is configured to receive data signals (Q2m) respectively output from a stage (SU2m(n-1)+2) of the plurality of stages (SU) and at least one other stage (SU2m(n-1)+4) disposed adjacent to the stage (Paragraph [0032] describes the NAND input of Q2m to be successively adjacent even numbered shift register stages SU.).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Komatsu does not specifically disclose wherein the first masking circuit (50) is configured to supply a first output clock signal to the first stage, and supply a second output clock signal different from the first output clock signal to the second stage. Please note the objection to allowance relies upon the incorporation of claim 2 and claim 3 together.
Regarding claim 8, Komatsu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stages comprise an i-th stage (Figure 3 SU2m(n-1)+2), an (i−1)th stage (SU2m(n-1)+1) preceding the i-th stage (SU2m(n-1)+2), and an (i+1)th stage (SU2m(n-1)+3) following the i-th stage (SU2m(n-1)+2). However, Komatsu does not disclose a plurality of masking circuits including: wherein the masking circuit comprises an i-th masking circuit (CC) configured to receive an (i−1)th data signal output from the (i−1)th stage, an i-th data signal output from the i-th stage, and an (i+1)th data signal output from the (i+1)th stage.
Regarding claim 12, Komatsu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stages comprise an (n−1)th stage (Figure 3 SU2m(n-1)+1) and an n-th stage (SU2m(n-1)+2) following the (n−1)th stage (SU2m(n-1)+1). However, Komatsu does not disclose a plurality of masking circuits including: wherein the masking circuit comprises an n-th masking circuit configured to receive the start signal, an (n−1)th data signal output from the (n−1)th stage, and an n-th data signal output from the n-th stage.
Regarding claim 15, Komatsu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the masking circuit (Figures 3 and 10 CCCn) comprises:
a logic operation unit (Figure 3 NAND) configured to receive an (i−1)th data signal (Q2m(n-1)+2), an i-th data signal (Q2m(n-1)+4), and an (i+1)th data signal (Q2m);
a first inverter (Figure 5 61a) comprising an input terminal (southern end of 61 as oriented in the figure) connected to a first node (REFn);
a first transistor (62/63) comprising an electrode configured to receive a voltage (VSS/VDD) from a first power source, [ ], and a gate electrode configured to receive a reset signal (REFn); an
N-type second transistor (64/65) comprising an electrode connected to a third node configured to receive the clock signal (CLK and
C
L
K
-
), another electrode connected to a fourth node (output of CCCn), and a gate electrode connected to an output terminal of the first inverter (61a); and
a P-type third transistor (65/64) comprising an electrode connected to the third node (CLK and
C
L
K
-
), another electrode connected to the fourth node (output of CCCn), and a gate electrode connected to the first node (Inherently figure 10 utilizes the same type of transistor be it p or n for switches 64 and 65 to both receive the inverted signal 61a.).
However, Komatsu does not specifically disclose the first transistor another electrode connected to an output terminal of the logic operation unit. Please note it is the entirety of the language of claim 15 which enables the subject matter to be objected to allowance. Adding only the above line is not currently deemed allowable pending further search.
Cited but not relied upon:
Song et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328008) discloses masking circuits MS11, MS12, MS21, and MS22 in figure 10 but they are not arranged as claimed in claim 3.
Seo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0256912) describes a timing controller 10 (figure 1) can mask clock signals but they are not arranged as claimed in claim 3.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621