DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“holder module” in claim 1, 3, 6, 8, 14, 15 and 19. The term “module” is ordinarily treated as a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language. See MPEP 2181 I A (The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for."). The specification as originally filed and claim 9 and 17 as originally filed discloses that the sufficient structure to perform the recited function is “a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket.” See also claims 9-11 and 17-18, which recite as further limitations the sufficient structure to perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder therefore but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“elevator module” introduced in claim 1, 14, and 19. The term “module” is ordinarily treated as a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language. See MPEP 2181 I A (The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for."). However, the claim further recites that the frame module includes “including an elevator body coupled to the center frame and protruding upward from the center frame and an elevator rod coupled to the elevator body to move the elevator body up and down”, which are structural terms that entirely perform the recited function and therefore the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
“frame module” introduced in claim 1, 14, and 19. The term “module” is ordinarily treated as a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language. See MPEP 2181 I A (The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for."). However, the claim further recites that the frame module includes “including a center frame, a first wing frame extending forward from the center frame, and a second wing frame extending rearward from the center frame”, which are structural terms that entirely perform the recited function and therefore the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
“guide module” in claim 7, 8, 16 and 17. The term “module” is ordinarily treated as a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language. See MPEP 2181 I A (The following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): "mechanism for," "module for," "device for," "unit for," "component for," "element for," "member for," "apparatus for," "machine for," or "system for."). However, the claim further recites that each guide module includes “a guide rail coupled to the frame module; and a guide mover movably coupled to the guide rail”, which are structural terms that entirely perform the recited function and therefore the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloch (US 20200009744 A1), Han (US 20190111612 A1) and Tao (US 20190232634 A1).
As to claim 1, Bloch discloses a film handling device comprising:
a frame module (frame 104) including a center frame (frame 104), a first wing frame extending forward from the center frame, and a second wing frame extending rearward from the center frame;
an elevator module (first to fourth adjustable arms 120, 122, 124, and 126) including an elevator body coupled to the center frame and protruding upward from the center frame and an elevator rod coupled to the elevator body to move the elevator body up and down;
a first holder module (vacuum heads 112, 114, 116 and 118) movably disposed on the first wing frame; a second holder module movably disposed on the second wing frame.
See paragraphs 0029-37, below:
[0029] FIG. 1 is a first perspective view of an example end effector 100 constructed in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure and shown in a first example configuration 102. FIG. 2 is a second perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIG. 1 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIG. 1. FIG. 3 is a plan view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1 and 2 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2. FIG. 4 is a side view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-3 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-3. FIG. 5 is a third perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-4 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-4. FIG. 6 is a fourth perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-5 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-5, and with the example primary vacuum surface 520 shown in FIG. 5 omitted.
[0030] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 includes an example frame 104, an example primary vacuum head 106, example secondary vacuum heads 108, and example adjustable arms 110. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum head 106 is coupled (e.g., fixedly or rigidly coupled) to the frame 104 of the end effector 100, and each one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 is movably coupled to the frame 104 and/or to the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 via a corresponding one of the adjustable arms 110. As further described below, each one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 can be moved via a corresponding one of the adjustable arms 110 from a retracted position (e.g., as shown in the first configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-6) to a myriad of different deployed positions to facilitate picking up various thermoplastic parts having different and wide-ranging properties (e.g., different shapes, different sizes, different porosities, etc.).
[0031] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 can be coupled to a robot. For example, the frame 104 of the end effector 100 can be coupled to a movable frame and/or axis of a robot such that movements of the frame and/or axis of the robot are transferred and/or conveyed to the frame 104 of the end effector 100 and/or, more generally to the end effector 100 as a whole. In some examples, the robot can be a jointed arm six-axis robot capable of moving (e.g., translating, rotating, etc.) the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use. In other examples, the robot can be of a different type, structure and/or configuration capable of moving the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use.
[0032] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 include a first example secondary vacuum head 112, a second example secondary vacuum head 114, a third example secondary vacuum head 116, and a fourth example secondary vacuum head 118. The number of adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 is equal to the number of secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100. More specifically, the adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 include a first example adjustable arm 120, a second example adjustable arm 122, a third example adjustable arm 124, and a fourth example adjustable arm 126. As further described below, the first adjustable arm 120 movably couples the first secondary vacuum head 112 to the primary vacuum head 106, the second adjustable arm 122 movably couples the second secondary vacuum head 114 to the primary vacuum head 106, the third adjustable arm 124 movably couples the third secondary vacuum head 116 to the primary vacuum head 106, and the fourth adjustable arm 126 movably couples the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 to the primary vacuum head 106. In other examples, the end effector 100 can include a different number (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, etc.) of secondary vacuum heads 108 and a corresponding different number of adjustable arms 110 relative to the four secondary vacuum heads 108 and the four adjustable arms 110 shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0033] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, respective ones of the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 are shown peripherally arranged at corresponding respective retracted positions about the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. More specifically, the first secondary vacuum head 112 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a first example peripheral area 502 of the primary vacuum head 106, the second secondary vacuum head 114 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a second example peripheral area 504 of the primary vacuum head 106, the third secondary vacuum head 116 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a third example peripheral area 506 of the primary vacuum head 106, and the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a fourth example peripheral area 508 of the primary vacuum head 106. In other examples, the arrangement and/or retracted positions of the secondary vacuum heads 108 can differ relative to the arrangement and/or retracted positions shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0034] The primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 includes example recesses and/or pockets 510 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5) formed along the periphery of the primary vacuum head 106 and corresponding in number to the number of secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6. Each one of the pockets 510 is structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow a corresponding one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 when the corresponding one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 is positioned in its respective retracted position relative to the primary vacuum head 106, as shown in FIGS. 1-6, thereby minimizing the cumulative footprint of the vacuum heads (e.g., the primary vacuum head 106 in combination with the secondary vacuum heads 108) of the end effector 100 as a whole. More specifically, the primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 includes a first example pocket 512 located at the first peripheral area 502 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the first secondary vacuum head 112 when the first secondary vacuum head 112 is in a retracted position, a second example pocket 514 located at the second peripheral area 504 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the second secondary vacuum head 114 when the second secondary vacuum head 114 is in a retracted position, a third example pocket 516 located at the third peripheral area 506 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the third secondary vacuum head 116 when the third secondary vacuum head 116 is in a retracted position, and a fourth example pocket 518 located at the fourth peripheral area 508 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 when the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 is in a retracted position. In other examples, the arrangement and/or locations of the pockets 510 of the primary vacuum head 106 can differ relative to the arrangement and/or locations of the pockets 510 shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0035] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 includes an example primary vacuum surface 520 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5) located at and/or extending across an example vacuum end 522 of the primary vacuum head 106. In some examples, the primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 can be a porous plastic covering that covers an example primary vacuum area 602 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6) of the primary vacuum head 106. The primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 is structured and/or configured to selectively face toward (e.g., based on the position of the frame 104 of the end effector 100 as controlled by the robot), be positioned against, and/or be positioned in contact with a thermoplastic part to be picked up by the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum surface 520 of the primary vacuum head 106 is substantially flat and/or planar.
[0036] The primary vacuum surface 520 and/or the primary vacuum area 602 of FIGS. 1-6 is/are operatively coupled to (e.g., in fluid communication with) one or more example primary vacuum generator(s) 128 of the end effector 100. For example, each primary vacuum generator 128 can be operatively coupled to the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or to the primary vacuum area 602 via one or more example primary fluid conduit(s) 130. Each primary vacuum generator 128 is structured and/or configured to generate a corresponding primary vacuum force (e.g., a vacuum flow or suction) to be applied at the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or at the primary vacuum area 602. The primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 is structured and/or configured to pick up and/or hold one or more thermoplastic part(s), or one or more portion(s) thereof, in response to the primary vacuum force(s) applied at the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or at the primary vacuum area 602 of the primary vacuum head 106.
[0037] In some examples, the primary vacuum area 602 of the primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 can be segmented into a plurality of example vacuum zones 604. In such examples, respective ones of the primary vacuum forces can selectively be applied to respective ones of the vacuum zones 604. In such examples, the selective application of one or more of the primary vacuum force(s) at one or more of the vacuum zone(s) 604 of the primary vacuum area 602 enables one or more desired portion(s) of the primary vacuum surface 520 of the primary vacuum head 106 to pick up and/or hold one or more thermoplastic part(s), or one or more portion(s) thereof.
See also Figures 1-5 (note the mark ups in Figure 5), below:
Bloch does not disclose that the film handling device is a film peeling device, that the elevator body moves up and down, or a first link connecting the first holder module to the elevator rod; and a second link connecting the second holder module to the elevator rod.
However, Han discloses and makes obvious that the device is a film peeling device (“peeling apparatus 1000”), and that the elevator body moves up and down (paragraph 0045, disclosing “The first main driving portion MDV1 may move the first main support portion MSP1 in upward and downward directions. The upward and downward directions may be the upward and downward directions of the third direction DR3.”). See paragraph 0034 and 0041-45,, disclosing:
[0034] Referring to FIG. 1, a peeling apparatus 1000 according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention may include a peeling portion 100 and a peeling tape supply portion 200. The peeling portion 100 may include a main stage MSTG, two rail portions RA, a stage STG, two first head support portions HS1, a second head support portion HS2, a plurality of third head support portions HS3, and a plurality of head portions HP.
…
See paragraph 0041-45, disclosing:
[0041] The third head support portions HS3 may move in the second direction DR2 beyond the main stage MSTG to move the head portions HP closer to the peeling tape supply portion 200. The head portions HP may be supplied with peeling tapes from the peeling tape supply portion 200. The peeling tape supply portion 200 and the peeling tapes will be described later in more detail.
[0042] After the head portions HP are supplied with the peeling tapes, the third head support portions HS3 may move in the second direction DR2 to move the head portions HP onto the main stage MSTG. The head portions HP may peel dummy portions of a protective film of the mother panel M_P by the peeling tapes. The feature and operation will be described later in more detail. Even though not shown in the drawings, an image sensing portion for checking a position of the mother panel M_P disposed on the stage STG may be provided at each of the head portions HP.
[0043] FIGS. 2 and 3 are views illustrating one of head portions of FIG. 1. FIG. 2 is a view of the head portion HP when viewed in the second direction DR2, and FIG. 3 is a view of the head portion HP when viewed in the first direction DR1. One head portion HP is illustrated as an example in FIGS. 2 and 3. However, other head portions HP may have the same structure or components as illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3.
[0044] Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the head portion HP may include first and second main support portions MSP1 and MSP2, first and second sub-support portions SSP1 and SSP2, a tape support portion TSP, a grip support portion GSP, first and second main driving portions MDV1 and MDV2, first, second and third driving portions DV1, DV2 and DV3, a suction portion ST, and a grip portion GP.
[0045] The first main support portion MSP1 may extend in the third direction DR3, and the first main driving portion MDV1 may be connected to an upper portion of the first main support portion MSP1. The first main driving portion MDV1 may move the first main support portion MSP1 in upward and downward directions. The upward and downward directions may be the upward and downward directions of the third direction DR3.
Similarly, Tao discloses a peeling device, that the elevator body moves up and down, or a first link connecting the first holder module to the elevator rod; and a second link connecting the second holder module to the elevator rod (“the power output device 21 is drivably connected to the drive shaft 22 to drive the drive shaft 22 to reciprocate motion”).
See paragraph 0034, disclosing:
[0034] The present embodiment first provides a separation apparatus for a flexible display panel, for lift-off the rigid substrate and the flexible display panel bonded to each other. As shown in FIG. 1, the separation apparatus 100 includes a support post 1, a power unit 2 and a vacuum suction block 3. The supporting post 1 is used to support the separation apparatus 100 on the relatively upper side of the rigid substrate 4 to be separated, the vacuum suction block 3 is in communication with the support post 1, and is used to suck and connect the rigid substrate 4 to be separated. One end of the power unit 2 is connected to the support post 1, the other end is rotatably connected with the vacuum suction block 3, and is used for controlling the vacuum suction block 3 and the rigid substrate 4 to be separated together to be separated from the flexible display panel 5.
[0035] Specifically, as shown in FIG. 1, the power unit 2 is connected to the support post 1, the power unit 2 includes a power output device 21 and a drive shaft 22, the drive shaft 22 is extending along a first direction 1 (the X direction shown in FIG. 1), the power output device 21 is drivably connected to the drive shaft 22 to drive the drive shaft 22 to reciprocate motion in the first direction. The vacuum suction block 3 is rotatably connected to the drive shaft 22, the vacuum suction block 3 is used for sucking and connecting the rigid substrate 4 to be separated.
See Figure 2e, for example, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the film handling device is a film peeling device, that the elevator body moves up and down, or a first link connecting the first holder module to the elevator rod; and a second link connecting the second holder module to the elevator rod as in Han and Tao in order to facilitate removal operations.
As to claim 2, Bloch discloses wherein the frame module further includes: a third wing frame extending from the center frame to a left; and a fourth wing frame extending from the center frame to a right. See marked up Figure 5, above in the rejection of claim 1.
As to claim 3, Bloch discloses further comprising: a third holder module movably disposed on the third wing frame; a fourth holder module movably disposed on the fourth wing frame; See marked up Figure 5, above in the rejection of claim 1.
Bloch does not disclose a third link connecting the third holder module to the elevator rod; and a fourth link connecting the fourth holder module to the elevator rod.
However, Tao discloses and makes obvious using first and second links, as discussed above. Additionally, Bloch discloses and makes obvious using third and fourth holder modules and elevator modules as well as third and fourth wing frames.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a third link connecting the third holder module to the elevator rod; and a fourth link connecting the fourth holder module to the elevator rod as in Han and Tao in order to facilitate removal operations.
As to claim 4, Bloch appears to disclose wherein a length of each of the first wing frame and the second wing frame is greater than a length of each of the third wing frame and the fourth wing frame. See, for example, Figure 6, which appears to show that dimensions of the wing frames are such that the lengths are different.
However, Bloch does not disclose the full limitation of wherein a length of each of the first wing frame and the second wing frame is greater than a length of each of the third wing frame and the fourth wing frame, and a length of each of the first link and the second link is greater than a length of each of the third link and the fourth link
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a length of each of the first wing frame and the second wing frame is greater than a length of each of the third wing frame and the fourth wing frame, and a length of each of the first link and the second link is greater than a length of each of the third link and the fourth link as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch, Han and Tao.
As to claim 5, Bloch appears to disclose wherein a length of each of the first wing frame and the second wing frame is greater than a length of each of the third wing frame and the fourth wing frame, and an end of each of the first link and the second link is positioned above an end of each of the third link and the fourth link. See, for example, Figure 6, which appears to show that dimensions of the wing frames are such that the lengths are different.
However, Bloch does not disclose the full limitation of wherein a length of each of the first wing frame and the second wing frame is greater than a length of each of the third wing frame and the fourth wing frame, and an end of each of the first link and the second link is positioned above an end of each of the third link and the fourth link.
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a length of each of the first wing frame and the second wing frame is greater than a length of each of the third wing frame and the fourth wing frame, and an end of each of the first link and the second link is positioned above an end of each of the third link and the fourth link as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch, Han and Tao.
As to claim 6, Bloch, Han and Tao do not explicitly disclose wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module move toward the center frame, and in case that the elevator rod moves down, the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module move away from the center frame.
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module move toward the center frame, and in case that the elevator rod moves down, the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module move away from the center frame as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch, Han and Tao.
As to claim 7, Bloch discloses further comprising: a first guide module coupled to the first wing frame; a second guide module coupled to the second wing frame; a third guide module coupled to the third wing frame; and a fourth guide module coupled to the fourth wing frame, wherein each of the first guide module, the second guide module, the third guide module, and the fourth guide module includes: a guide rail (such as rack 1120 and rack 1128) coupled to the frame module; and a guide mover (pinion 1118 and pinion 1126 and actuator 1112 and actuator 1116) movably coupled to the guide rail.
See paragraphs 0053-0062, disclosing:
[0053] The structure and operation of the adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10 is now described in greater detail. Although the description that follows is directed to the first adjustable arm 120 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10 described above, it is to be understood that any of the second, third and fourth adjustable arms 122, 124, 126 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10 described above can be structured, configured, and/or implemented in a manner that is substantially identical to the description of the first adjustable arm 120 of the end effector 100 provided herein.
[0054] FIG. 11 is a first perspective view of the first example adjustable arm 120 of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10. FIG. 12 is a second perspective view of the first example adjustable arm 120 of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-11. FIG. 13 is a third perspective view of the first example adjustable arm 120 of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-12. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the first adjustable arm 120 includes a first example segment 1102 and a second example segment 1104. A first example joint 1106 movably couples the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS.
[0055] 11-13 to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-13. A second example joint 1108 movably coupled the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. A third example joint 1110 movably couples the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-13 to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13.
[0056] The first joint 1106 of FIGS. 11-13 enables linear and/or translational movement of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. The second joint 1108 of FIGS. 11-13 enables pivotal and/or rotational movement of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. The third joint 1110 of FIGS. 11-13 enables linear and/or translational movement of the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 relative to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. In other examples, the first adjustable arm 120 can include a different number (e.g., 1, 3, 4, etc.) of segments and/or a different number (e.g., 1, 2, 4, etc.) of joints relative to the configuration of the first adjustable arm 120 shown in FIGS. 11-13. Furthermore, although not expressly shown in the example of FIGS. 11-13, the first segment 1102 and/or the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 can include one or more telescoping element(s) that enables the first segment 1102 and/or the second segment 1104 to extend and/or retract to various lengths.
[0057] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the first adjustable arm 120 further includes a first example actuator 1112 located at and/or operatively coupled to the first joint 1106 of the first adjustable arm 120, a second example actuator 1114 located at and/or operatively coupled to the second joint 1108 of the first adjustable arm 120, and a third example actuator 1116 located at and/or operatively coupled to the third joint 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120. Each one of the first, second and third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 is implemented by and/or as a servo that is operatively coupled to (e.g., in electrical communication with) a controller (e.g., a computer-based controller) that can be mounted on the end effector 100, and/or on the robot to which the end effector 100 is coupled. In some examples, the controller determines one or more propert(ies) of a thermoplastic part to be picked up by the end effector 100. For example, the controller can access a digital model of a thermoplastic part from which the one or more propert(ies) of the thermoplastic part can be identified and/or determined. The controller generates one or more control signal(s) based on the determined propert(ies) of the thermoplastic part. The control signal(s) generated by the controller are transmitted to the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. Reception of the control signal(s) at the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of the first adjustable arm 120 causes the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 to actuate the corresponding first, second and/or third joints 1106, 1108, 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13.
[0058] For example, a control signal received at the first actuator 1112 from the controller can cause the first actuator 1112 of FIGS. 11-13 to actuate the first joint 1106 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. The actuation of the first joint 1106 via the first actuator 1112 causes the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 to move (e.g., translate) relative to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. As another example, a control signal received at the second actuator 1114 from the controller can cause the second actuator 1114 of FIGS. 11-13 to actuate the second joint 1108 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. The actuation of the second joint 1108 via the second actuator 1114 causes the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 to move (e.g., rotate) relative to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. As another example, a control signal received at the third actuator 1116 from the controller can cause the third actuator 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 to actuate the third joint 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. The actuation of the third joint 1110 via the third actuator 1116 causes the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 to move (e.g., translate) relative to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0059] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the first actuator 1112 includes a first example pinion 1118 that rotates in response to actuation of the first actuator 1112. The first pinion 1118 of the first actuator 1112 engages (e.g., meshes with) a first example rack 1120 formed by and/or mounted on the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. The first actuator 1112 of FIGS. 11-13 is fixedly coupled to the frame 104 of the end effector 100 such that rotation of the first pinion 1118 of the of the first actuator 1112 of FIGS. 11-13 causes a corresponding translational and/or linear movement of the first rack 1120 and/or, more generally, of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. The first joint 1106 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 is accordingly formed in part by the first pinion 1118 of the first actuator 1112 and the first rack 1120 of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0060] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the second actuator 1114 includes an example tongue 1122 that rotates in response to actuation of the second actuator 1114. The tongue 1122 of the second actuator 1114 engages (e.g. is received within) an example slot 1124 formed in the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. The second actuator 1114 of FIGS. 11-13 is fixedly coupled to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 such that rotation of the tongue 1122 of the of the second actuator 1114 of FIGS. 11-13 causes a corresponding rotational and/or pivotal movement of the slot 1124 and/or, more generally, of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. The second joint 1108 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 is accordingly formed in part by the tongue 1122 of the second actuator 1114 and the slot 1124 of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0061] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the third actuator 1116 includes a second example pinion 1126 that rotates in response to actuation of the third actuator 1116. The second pinion 1126 of the third actuator 1116 engages (e.g., meshes with) a second example rack 1128 formed by and/or mounted on the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. The third actuator 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 is fixedly coupled to the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 such that rotation of the second pinion 1126 of the of the third actuator 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 causes a corresponding translational and/or linear movement of the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 relative to the second rack 1128 and/or, more generally, relative to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. The third joint 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 is accordingly formed in part by the second pinion 1126 of the third actuator 1116 and the second rack 1128 of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0062] In other examples, respective ones of the first, second and third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 can be structured and/or configured in a manner that differs from that described above. For example, different types and/or different arrangements of automated actuators may be implemented relative to the first, second and third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 described above. In still other examples, one or more of the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 can be omitted and replaced by a corresponding manually-operated mechanism (e.g., a slide joint, a hinge joint, a ball-and-socket joint, etc.) that is structured and/or configured to enable the above-described relative movements of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120, the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120, and/or the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 at the first, second and/or third joints 1106, 1108, 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13.
See for example Figure 12, reproduced below:
As to claim 8, Bloch discloses wherein the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module (secondary vacuum heads 112, 114, 116, 118) are coupled to the guide movers of the first guide module, the second guide module, the third guide module, and the fourth guide module, respectively (adjustable arms 120, 122, 124, 126, respectively). See Figures 11 and Figures 1-6, reproduced above. See also Figure 10, reproduced below:
As to claim 9, Bloch either discloses or makes obvious wherein each of the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module includes: a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket.
See marked up Figure 11, below, showing structures that read on the claim:
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each of the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module includes: a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
As to claim 10, Bloch either discloses and/or makes obvious wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; a suction pad coupled to the end effector body; and a suction hole being formed in a face of the suction pad.
See marked up Figure 6, below:
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each of the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module includes: a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
As to claim 11, Bloch does not disclose wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; and a first finger and a second finger which are coupled to the end effector body and move toward or move away from each other.
However, Han discloses and makes obvious wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body (Figure 3) coupled to the holder bracket; and a first finger and a second finger (first and second grip portions GP1 and GP2) which are coupled to the end effector body and move toward or move away from each other. See paragraphs 0052-55, disclosing:
[0052] The grip portion GP may include a first grip portion GP1 and a second grip portion GP2 spaced apart from each other. The second pressing portion PS2 may move in the downward direction and the upward direction through a space between the first grip portion GP1 and the second grip portion GP2. Each of the first and second grip portions GP1 and GP2 may have an L-shape when viewed in the second direction DR2. A top end of the first grip portion GP1 and a top end of the second grip portion GP2 may be connected in the grip support portion GSP and may be disposed adjacent to each other.
[0053] A first rotating unit RP1 may be connected to the top end of the first grip portion GP1, and a second rotating unit RP2 may be connected to the top end of the second grip portion GP2. The first rotating unit RP1 and the second rotating unit RP2 may rotate the top end of the first grip portion GP1 and the top end of the second grip portion GP2, respectively. Since the top ends of the first and second grip portions GP1 and GP2 are rotated by the first and second rotating units RP1 and RP2, respectively, the first grip portion GP1 and the second grip portion GP2 may move closer to each other.
[0054] The first grip portion GP1 may include a first sub-grip portion GP1_1 connected to the first rotating unit RP1 of the grip support portion GSP, and a second sub-grip portion GP1_2 connected to a bottom of the first sub-grip portion GP1_1 and having an L-shape when viewed in the second direction DR2. The second grip portion GP2 may include a third sub-grip portion GP2_1 connected to the second rotating unit RP2 of the grip support portion GSP, and a fourth sub-grip portion GP2_2 connected to a bottom of the third sub-grip portion GP2_1 and having an L-shape when viewed in the second direction DR2.
[0055] Since top ends of the first and third sub-grip portions GP1_1 and GP2_1 are rotated by the first and second rotating units RP1 and RP2, the second and fourth sub-grip portions GP1_2 and GP2_2 connected to the first and third sub-grip portions GP1_1 and GP2_1 may move closer to each other. Anti-adhesion coating layers CT may be respectively provided on one side surface (e.g., right side surface in FIG. 3) of the second sub-grip portion GP1_2 and one side surface (e.g., left side surface in FIG. 3) of the fourth sub-grip portion GP2_2, which face each other. In an exemplary embodiment, each of the anti-adhesion coating layers CT may be a fluorine coating layer, for example.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; and a first finger and a second finger which are coupled to the end effector body and move toward or move away from each other as taught by Han in order to enable removal of films.
As to claim 12, Bloch either discloses or makes obvious further comprising an outer frame coupled to the frame module. See the frame like structures adjacent to item 106, for example.
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising an outer frame coupled to the frame module as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
As to claim 13, Bloch does not disclose wherein the outer frame includes: a plurality of outer column frames coupled to the frame module, each of the plurality of outer column frames extending upward from the frame module; and an outer top frame coupled to the plurality of outer column frames and positioned above the elevator module.
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the outer frame includes: a plurality of outer column frames coupled to the frame module, each of the plurality of outer column frames extending upward from the frame module; and an outer top frame coupled to the plurality of outer column frames and positioned above the elevator module as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
As to claim 14, Bloch discloses film handling device comprising:
a frame module (frame 104) including a center frame (center of frame 104) and a plurality of wing frames (visible in Figure 5) respectively extending from the center frame in different directions;
an elevator module (first to fourth adjustable arms 120, 122, 124, and 126) including an elevator body coupled to the center frame and protruding upward from the center frame and an elevator rod coupled to the elevator body to be able to move;
a plurality of holder modules (vacuum heads 112, 114, 116 and 118) movably disposed on the plurality of wing frames, respectively. See the citations in claim 1, above. See paragraphs 0029-37, below:
[0029] FIG. 1 is a first perspective view of an example end effector 100 constructed in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure and shown in a first example configuration 102. FIG. 2 is a second perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIG. 1 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIG. 1. FIG. 3 is a plan view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1 and 2 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2. FIG. 4 is a side view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-3 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-3. FIG. 5 is a third perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-4 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-4. FIG. 6 is a fourth perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-5 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-5, and with the example primary vacuum surface 520 shown in FIG. 5 omitted.
[0030] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 includes an example frame 104, an example primary vacuum head 106, example secondary vacuum heads 108, and example adjustable arms 110. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum head 106 is coupled (e.g., fixedly or rigidly coupled) to the frame 104 of the end effector 100, and each one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 is movably coupled to the frame 104 and/or to the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 via a corresponding one of the adjustable arms 110. As further described below, each one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 can be moved via a corresponding one of the adjustable arms 110 from a retracted position (e.g., as shown in the first configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-6) to a myriad of different deployed positions to facilitate picking up various thermoplastic parts having different and wide-ranging properties (e.g., different shapes, different sizes, different porosities, etc.).
[0031] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 can be coupled to a robot. For example, the frame 104 of the end effector 100 can be coupled to a movable frame and/or axis of a robot such that movements of the frame and/or axis of the robot are transferred and/or conveyed to the frame 104 of the end effector 100 and/or, more generally to the end effector 100 as a whole. In some examples, the robot can be a jointed arm six-axis robot capable of moving (e.g., translating, rotating, etc.) the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use. In other examples, the robot can be of a different type, structure and/or configuration capable of moving the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use.
[0032] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 include a first example secondary vacuum head 112, a second example secondary vacuum head 114, a third example secondary vacuum head 116, and a fourth example secondary vacuum head 118. The number of adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 is equal to the number of secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100. More specifically, the adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 include a first example adjustable arm 120, a second example adjustable arm 122, a third example adjustable arm 124, and a fourth example adjustable arm 126. As further described below, the first adjustable arm 120 movably couples the first secondary vacuum head 112 to the primary vacuum head 106, the second adjustable arm 122 movably couples the second secondary vacuum head 114 to the primary vacuum head 106, the third adjustable arm 124 movably couples the third secondary vacuum head 116 to the primary vacuum head 106, and the fourth adjustable arm 126 movably couples the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 to the primary vacuum head 106. In other examples, the end effector 100 can include a different number (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, etc.) of secondary vacuum heads 108 and a corresponding different number of adjustable arms 110 relative to the four secondary vacuum heads 108 and the four adjustable arms 110 shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0033] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, respective ones of the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 are shown peripherally arranged at corresponding respective retracted positions about the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. More specifically, the first secondary vacuum head 112 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a first example peripheral area 502 of the primary vacuum head 106, the second secondary vacuum head 114 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a second example peripheral area 504 of the primary vacuum head 106, the third secondary vacuum head 116 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a third example peripheral area 506 of the primary vacuum head 106, and the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a fourth example peripheral area 508 of the primary vacuum head 106. In other examples, the arrangement and/or retracted positions of the secondary vacuum heads 108 can differ relative to the arrangement and/or retracted positions shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0034] The primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 includes example recesses and/or pockets 510 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5) formed along the periphery of the primary vacuum head 106 and corresponding in number to the number of secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6. Each one of the pockets 510 is structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow a corresponding one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 when the corresponding one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 is positioned in its respective retracted position relative to the primary vacuum head 106, as shown in FIGS. 1-6, thereby minimizing the cumulative footprint of the vacuum heads (e.g., the primary vacuum head 106 in combination with the secondary vacuum heads 108) of the end effector 100 as a whole. More specifically, the primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 includes a first example pocket 512 located at the first peripheral area 502 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the first secondary vacuum head 112 when the first secondary vacuum head 112 is in a retracted position, a second example pocket 514 located at the second peripheral area 504 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the second secondary vacuum head 114 when the second secondary vacuum head 114 is in a retracted position, a third example pocket 516 located at the third peripheral area 506 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the third secondary vacuum head 116 when the third secondary vacuum head 116 is in a retracted position, and a fourth example pocket 518 located at the fourth peripheral area 508 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 when the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 is in a retracted position. In other examples, the arrangement and/or locations of the pockets 510 of the primary vacuum head 106 can differ relative to the arrangement and/or locations of the pockets 510 shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0035] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 includes an example primary vacuum surface 520 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5) located at and/or extending across an example vacuum end 522 of the primary vacuum head 106. In some examples, the primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 can be a porous plastic covering that covers an example primary vacuum area 602 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6) of the primary vacuum head 106. The primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 is structured and/or configured to selectively face toward (e.g., based on the position of the frame 104 of the end effector 100 as controlled by the robot), be positioned against, and/or be positioned in contact with a thermoplastic part to be picked up by the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum surface 520 of the primary vacuum head 106 is substantially flat and/or planar.
[0036] The primary vacuum surface 520 and/or the primary vacuum area 602 of FIGS. 1-6 is/are operatively coupled to (e.g., in fluid communication with) one or more example primary vacuum generator(s) 128 of the end effector 100. For example, each primary vacuum generator 128 can be operatively coupled to the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or to the primary vacuum area 602 via one or more example primary fluid conduit(s) 130. Each primary vacuum generator 128 is structured and/or configured to generate a corresponding primary vacuum force (e.g., a vacuum flow or suction) to be applied at the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or at the primary vacuum area 602. The primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 is structured and/or configured to pick up and/or hold one or more thermoplastic part(s), or one or more portion(s) thereof, in response to the primary vacuum force(s) applied at the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or at the primary vacuum area 602 of the primary vacuum head 106.
[0037] In some examples, the primary vacuum area 602 of the primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 can be segmented into a plurality of example vacuum zones 604. In such examples, respective ones of the primary vacuum forces can selectively be applied to respective ones of the vacuum zones 604. In such examples, the selective application of one or more of the primary vacuum force(s) at one or more of the vacuum zone(s) 604 of the primary vacuum area 602 enables one or more desired portion(s) of the primary vacuum surface 520 of the primary vacuum head 106 to pick up and/or hold one or more thermoplastic part(s), or one or more portion(s) thereof.
See also Figures 1-5 (note the mark ups in Figure 5), below:
Bloch does not disclose that the film handling device is a film peeling device, and does not disclose that the elevator body to be able to move up and down or that a plurality of links connecting the elevator rod to the plurality of holder modules, respectively, wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the plurality of holder modules move toward the center frame.
However, Han discloses and makes obvious that the device is a film peeling device (“peeling apparatus 1000”), and that the elevator body moves up and down (paragraph 0045, disclosing “The first main driving portion MDV1 may move the first main support portion MSP1 in upward and downward directions. The upward and downward directions may be the upward and downward directions of the third direction DR3.”). See paragraph 0034 and 0041-45,, disclosing:
[0034] Referring to FIG. 1, a peeling apparatus 1000 according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention may include a peeling portion 100 and a peeling tape supply portion 200. The peeling portion 100 may include a main stage MSTG, two rail portions RA, a stage STG, two first head support portions HS1, a second head support portion HS2, a plurality of third head support portions HS3, and a plurality of head portions HP.
…
See paragraph 0041-45, disclosing:
[0041] The third head support portions HS3 may move in the second direction DR2 beyond the main stage MSTG to move the head portions HP closer to the peeling tape supply portion 200. The head portions HP may be supplied with peeling tapes from the peeling tape supply portion 200. The peeling tape supply portion 200 and the peeling tapes will be described later in more detail.
[0042] After the head portions HP are supplied with the peeling tapes, the third head support portions HS3 may move in the second direction DR2 to move the head portions HP onto the main stage MSTG. The head portions HP may peel dummy portions of a protective film of the mother panel M_P by the peeling tapes. The feature and operation will be described later in more detail. Even though not shown in the drawings, an image sensing portion for checking a position of the mother panel M_P disposed on the stage STG may be provided at each of the head portions HP.
[0043] FIGS. 2 and 3 are views illustrating one of head portions of FIG. 1. FIG. 2 is a view of the head portion HP when viewed in the second direction DR2, and FIG. 3 is a view of the head portion HP when viewed in the first direction DR1. One head portion HP is illustrated as an example in FIGS. 2 and 3. However, other head portions HP may have the same structure or components as illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3.
[0044] Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the head portion HP may include first and second main support portions MSP1 and MSP2, first and second sub-support portions SSP1 and SSP2, a tape support portion TSP, a grip support portion GSP, first and second main driving portions MDV1 and MDV2, first, second and third driving portions DV1, DV2 and DV3, a suction portion ST, and a grip portion GP.
[0045] The first main support portion MSP1 may extend in the third direction DR3, and the first main driving portion MDV1 may be connected to an upper portion of the first main support portion MSP1. The first main driving portion MDV1 may move the first main support portion MSP1 in upward and downward directions. The upward and downward directions may be the upward and downward directions of the third direction DR3.
Similarly, Tao discloses a peeling device, that the elevator body moves up and down, or a plurality of links connecting the elevator rod to the plurality of holder modules, respectively, wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the plurality of holder modules move toward the center frame (“the power output device 21 is drivably connected to the drive shaft 22 to drive the drive shaft 22 to reciprocate motion”).
See paragraph 0034, disclosing:
[0034] The present embodiment first provides a separation apparatus for a flexible display panel, for lift-off the rigid substrate and the flexible display panel bonded to each other. As shown in FIG. 1, the separation apparatus 100 includes a support post 1, a power unit 2 and a vacuum suction block 3. The supporting post 1 is used to support the separation apparatus 100 on the relatively upper side of the rigid substrate 4 to be separated, the vacuum suction block 3 is in communication with the support post 1, and is used to suck and connect the rigid substrate 4 to be separated. One end of the power unit 2 is connected to the support post 1, the other end is rotatably connected with the vacuum suction block 3, and is used for controlling the vacuum suction block 3 and the rigid substrate 4 to be separated together to be separated from the flexible display panel 5.
[0035] Specifically, as shown in FIG. 1, the power unit 2 is connected to the support post 1, the power unit 2 includes a power output device 21 and a drive shaft 22, the drive shaft 22 is extending along a first direction 1 (the X direction shown in FIG. 1), the power output device 21 is drivably connected to the drive shaft 22 to drive the drive shaft 22 to reciprocate motion in the first direction. The vacuum suction block 3 is rotatably connected to the drive shaft 22, the vacuum suction block 3 is used for sucking and connecting the rigid substrate 4 to be separated.
See Figure 2e, for example, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that the film handling device is a film peeling device, and that the elevator body to be able to move up and down or that a plurality of links connecting the elevator rod to the plurality of holder modules, respectively, wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the plurality of holder modules move toward the center frame as in Han and Tao in order to facilitate removal operations.
As to claim 15, Bloch, Han and Tao do not explicitly disclose wherein, in case that the elevator rod, in a state in which the elevator rod is positioned up, moves down, the plurality of holder modules move away from the center frame.
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, in case that the elevator rod, in a state in which the elevator rod is positioned up, moves down, the plurality of holder modules move away from the center frame as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch, Han and Tao.
As to claim 16, Bloch discloses further comprising a plurality of guide modules coupled to the plurality of wing frames, respectively, wherein each of the plurality of guide modules includes: a guide rail (such as rack 1120 and rack 1128) coupled to the frame module; and a guide mover (pinion 1118 and pinion 1126 and actuator 1112 and actuator 1116) movably coupled to the guide rail.
See paragraphs 0053-0062, disclosing:
[0053] The structure and operation of the adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10 is now described in greater detail. Although the description that follows is directed to the first adjustable arm 120 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10 described above, it is to be understood that any of the second, third and fourth adjustable arms 122, 124, 126 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10 described above can be structured, configured, and/or implemented in a manner that is substantially identical to the description of the first adjustable arm 120 of the end effector 100 provided herein.
[0054] FIG. 11 is a first perspective view of the first example adjustable arm 120 of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-10. FIG. 12 is a second perspective view of the first example adjustable arm 120 of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-11. FIG. 13 is a third perspective view of the first example adjustable arm 120 of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-12. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the first adjustable arm 120 includes a first example segment 1102 and a second example segment 1104. A first example joint 1106 movably couples the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS.
[0055] 11-13 to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-13. A second example joint 1108 movably coupled the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. A third example joint 1110 movably couples the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-13 to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13.
[0056] The first joint 1106 of FIGS. 11-13 enables linear and/or translational movement of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. The second joint 1108 of FIGS. 11-13 enables pivotal and/or rotational movement of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. The third joint 1110 of FIGS. 11-13 enables linear and/or translational movement of the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 relative to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. In other examples, the first adjustable arm 120 can include a different number (e.g., 1, 3, 4, etc.) of segments and/or a different number (e.g., 1, 2, 4, etc.) of joints relative to the configuration of the first adjustable arm 120 shown in FIGS. 11-13. Furthermore, although not expressly shown in the example of FIGS. 11-13, the first segment 1102 and/or the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 can include one or more telescoping element(s) that enables the first segment 1102 and/or the second segment 1104 to extend and/or retract to various lengths.
[0057] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the first adjustable arm 120 further includes a first example actuator 1112 located at and/or operatively coupled to the first joint 1106 of the first adjustable arm 120, a second example actuator 1114 located at and/or operatively coupled to the second joint 1108 of the first adjustable arm 120, and a third example actuator 1116 located at and/or operatively coupled to the third joint 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120. Each one of the first, second and third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 is implemented by and/or as a servo that is operatively coupled to (e.g., in electrical communication with) a controller (e.g., a computer-based controller) that can be mounted on the end effector 100, and/or on the robot to which the end effector 100 is coupled. In some examples, the controller determines one or more propert(ies) of a thermoplastic part to be picked up by the end effector 100. For example, the controller can access a digital model of a thermoplastic part from which the one or more propert(ies) of the thermoplastic part can be identified and/or determined. The controller generates one or more control signal(s) based on the determined propert(ies) of the thermoplastic part. The control signal(s) generated by the controller are transmitted to the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. Reception of the control signal(s) at the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of the first adjustable arm 120 causes the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 to actuate the corresponding first, second and/or third joints 1106, 1108, 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13.
[0058] For example, a control signal received at the first actuator 1112 from the controller can cause the first actuator 1112 of FIGS. 11-13 to actuate the first joint 1106 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. The actuation of the first joint 1106 via the first actuator 1112 causes the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 to move (e.g., translate) relative to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. As another example, a control signal received at the second actuator 1114 from the controller can cause the second actuator 1114 of FIGS. 11-13 to actuate the second joint 1108 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. The actuation of the second joint 1108 via the second actuator 1114 causes the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 to move (e.g., rotate) relative to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. As another example, a control signal received at the third actuator 1116 from the controller can cause the third actuator 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 to actuate the third joint 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13. The actuation of the third joint 1110 via the third actuator 1116 causes the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 to move (e.g., translate) relative to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0059] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the first actuator 1112 includes a first example pinion 1118 that rotates in response to actuation of the first actuator 1112. The first pinion 1118 of the first actuator 1112 engages (e.g., meshes with) a first example rack 1120 formed by and/or mounted on the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. The first actuator 1112 of FIGS. 11-13 is fixedly coupled to the frame 104 of the end effector 100 such that rotation of the first pinion 1118 of the of the first actuator 1112 of FIGS. 11-13 causes a corresponding translational and/or linear movement of the first rack 1120 and/or, more generally, of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the frame 104 and/or the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. The first joint 1106 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 is accordingly formed in part by the first pinion 1118 of the first actuator 1112 and the first rack 1120 of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0060] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the second actuator 1114 includes an example tongue 1122 that rotates in response to actuation of the second actuator 1114. The tongue 1122 of the second actuator 1114 engages (e.g. is received within) an example slot 1124 formed in the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. The second actuator 1114 of FIGS. 11-13 is fixedly coupled to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120 such that rotation of the tongue 1122 of the of the second actuator 1114 of FIGS. 11-13 causes a corresponding rotational and/or pivotal movement of the slot 1124 and/or, more generally, of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120 relative to the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120. The second joint 1108 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 is accordingly formed in part by the tongue 1122 of the second actuator 1114 and the slot 1124 of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0061] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 11-13, the third actuator 1116 includes a second example pinion 1126 that rotates in response to actuation of the third actuator 1116. The second pinion 1126 of the third actuator 1116 engages (e.g., meshes with) a second example rack 1128 formed by and/or mounted on the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. The third actuator 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 is fixedly coupled to the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 such that rotation of the second pinion 1126 of the of the third actuator 1116 of FIGS. 11-13 causes a corresponding translational and/or linear movement of the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 relative to the second rack 1128 and/or, more generally, relative to the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120. The third joint 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 is accordingly formed in part by the second pinion 1126 of the third actuator 1116 and the second rack 1128 of the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120.
[0062] In other examples, respective ones of the first, second and third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 can be structured and/or configured in a manner that differs from that described above. For example, different types and/or different arrangements of automated actuators may be implemented relative to the first, second and third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 described above. In still other examples, one or more of the first, second and/or third actuators 1112, 1114, 1116 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13 can be omitted and replaced by a corresponding manually-operated mechanism (e.g., a slide joint, a hinge joint, a ball-and-socket joint, etc.) that is structured and/or configured to enable the above-described relative movements of the first segment 1102 of the first adjustable arm 120, the second segment 1104 of the first adjustable arm 120, and/or the first secondary vacuum head 112 of the end effector 100 at the first, second and/or third joints 1106, 1108, 1110 of the first adjustable arm 120 of FIGS. 11-13.
See for example Figure 12, reproduced below:
As to claim 17, Bloch either discloses or makes obvious wherein each of the plurality of holder modules includes: a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket.
See marked up Figure 11, below, showing structures that read on the claim:
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each of the plurality of holder modules includes: a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
As to claim 18, Bloch either discloses and/or makes obvious wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; and one of a suction pad and a gripper which are coupled to the end effector body, wherein a suction hole is formed in a face of the suction pad, and the gripper includes a first finger and a second finger which are coupled to the end effector body and approach or move away from each other
Bloch specifically discloses or makes obvious the alternative wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; a suction pad coupled to the end effector body; and a suction hole being formed in a face of the suction pad.
See marked up Figure 6, below:
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each of the first holder module, the second holder module, the third holder module, and the fourth holder module includes: a holder bracket coupled to the guide mover; and an end effector protruding downward from the holder bracket as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
Bloch does not disclose the alternative wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; and a first finger and a second finger which are coupled to the end effector body and move toward or move away from each other.
However, Han discloses and makes obvious wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body (Figure 3) coupled to the holder bracket; and a first finger and a second finger (first and second grip portions GP1 and GP2) which are coupled to the end effector body and move toward or move away from each other. See paragraphs 0052-55, disclosing:
[0052] The grip portion GP may include a first grip portion GP1 and a second grip portion GP2 spaced apart from each other. The second pressing portion PS2 may move in the downward direction and the upward direction through a space between the first grip portion GP1 and the second grip portion GP2. Each of the first and second grip portions GP1 and GP2 may have an L-shape when viewed in the second direction DR2. A top end of the first grip portion GP1 and a top end of the second grip portion GP2 may be connected in the grip support portion GSP and may be disposed adjacent to each other.
[0053] A first rotating unit RP1 may be connected to the top end of the first grip portion GP1, and a second rotating unit RP2 may be connected to the top end of the second grip portion GP2. The first rotating unit RP1 and the second rotating unit RP2 may rotate the top end of the first grip portion GP1 and the top end of the second grip portion GP2, respectively. Since the top ends of the first and second grip portions GP1 and GP2 are rotated by the first and second rotating units RP1 and RP2, respectively, the first grip portion GP1 and the second grip portion GP2 may move closer to each other.
[0054] The first grip portion GP1 may include a first sub-grip portion GP1_1 connected to the first rotating unit RP1 of the grip support portion GSP, and a second sub-grip portion GP1_2 connected to a bottom of the first sub-grip portion GP1_1 and having an L-shape when viewed in the second direction DR2. The second grip portion GP2 may include a third sub-grip portion GP2_1 connected to the second rotating unit RP2 of the grip support portion GSP, and a fourth sub-grip portion GP2_2 connected to a bottom of the third sub-grip portion GP2_1 and having an L-shape when viewed in the second direction DR2.
[0055] Since top ends of the first and third sub-grip portions GP1_1 and GP2_1 are rotated by the first and second rotating units RP1 and RP2, the second and fourth sub-grip portions GP1_2 and GP2_2 connected to the first and third sub-grip portions GP1_1 and GP2_1 may move closer to each other. Anti-adhesion coating layers CT may be respectively provided on one side surface (e.g., right side surface in FIG. 3) of the second sub-grip portion GP1_2 and one side surface (e.g., left side surface in FIG. 3) of the fourth sub-grip portion GP2_2, which face each other. In an exemplary embodiment, each of the anti-adhesion coating layers CT may be a fluorine coating layer, for example.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the end effector includes: an end effector body coupled to the holder bracket; and a first finger and a second finger which are coupled to the end effector body and move toward or move away from each other as taught by Han in order to enable removal of films.
As to claim 19, Bloch discloses a film handling equipment comprising: a film handling device; and a robot (see paragraph 0031, disclosing “a jointed arm six-axis robot” and “the robot can be of a different type, structure and/or configuration capable of moving the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use”) coupled to the film handling device and able to move the film peeling device, wherein the film handling device includes:
a frame module (frame 104) including a center frame (center of frame 104) and a plurality of wing frames (visible in Figure 5) respectively extending from the center frame in different directions;
an elevator module (first to fourth adjustable arms 120, 122, 124, and 126) including an elevator body coupled to the center frame and protruding upward from the center frame and an elevator rod coupled to the elevator body to be able to move;
a plurality of holder modules (vacuum heads 112, 114, 116 and 118) movably disposed on the plurality of wing frames, respectively,
and an outer frame coupled to the frame module (See the frame like structures adjacent to item 106). See the citations in claim 1, above. See paragraphs 0029-37, below:
[0029] FIG. 1 is a first perspective view of an example end effector 100 constructed in accordance with the teachings of this disclosure and shown in a first example configuration 102. FIG. 2 is a second perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIG. 1 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIG. 1. FIG. 3 is a plan view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1 and 2 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2. FIG. 4 is a side view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-3 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-3. FIG. 5 is a third perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-4 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-4. FIG. 6 is a fourth perspective view of the example end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-5 shown in the first example configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-5, and with the example primary vacuum surface 520 shown in FIG. 5 omitted.
[0030] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 includes an example frame 104, an example primary vacuum head 106, example secondary vacuum heads 108, and example adjustable arms 110. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum head 106 is coupled (e.g., fixedly or rigidly coupled) to the frame 104 of the end effector 100, and each one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 is movably coupled to the frame 104 and/or to the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 via a corresponding one of the adjustable arms 110. As further described below, each one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 can be moved via a corresponding one of the adjustable arms 110 from a retracted position (e.g., as shown in the first configuration 102 of FIGS. 1-6) to a myriad of different deployed positions to facilitate picking up various thermoplastic parts having different and wide-ranging properties (e.g., different shapes, different sizes, different porosities, etc.).
[0031] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 can be coupled to a robot. For example, the frame 104 of the end effector 100 can be coupled to a movable frame and/or axis of a robot such that movements of the frame and/or axis of the robot are transferred and/or conveyed to the frame 104 of the end effector 100 and/or, more generally to the end effector 100 as a whole. In some examples, the robot can be a jointed arm six-axis robot capable of moving (e.g., translating, rotating, etc.) the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use. In other examples, the robot can be of a different type, structure and/or configuration capable of moving the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use.
[0032] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 include a first example secondary vacuum head 112, a second example secondary vacuum head 114, a third example secondary vacuum head 116, and a fourth example secondary vacuum head 118. The number of adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 is equal to the number of secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100. More specifically, the adjustable arms 110 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 include a first example adjustable arm 120, a second example adjustable arm 122, a third example adjustable arm 124, and a fourth example adjustable arm 126. As further described below, the first adjustable arm 120 movably couples the first secondary vacuum head 112 to the primary vacuum head 106, the second adjustable arm 122 movably couples the second secondary vacuum head 114 to the primary vacuum head 106, the third adjustable arm 124 movably couples the third secondary vacuum head 116 to the primary vacuum head 106, and the fourth adjustable arm 126 movably couples the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 to the primary vacuum head 106. In other examples, the end effector 100 can include a different number (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, etc.) of secondary vacuum heads 108 and a corresponding different number of adjustable arms 110 relative to the four secondary vacuum heads 108 and the four adjustable arms 110 shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0033] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, respective ones of the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 are shown peripherally arranged at corresponding respective retracted positions about the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. More specifically, the first secondary vacuum head 112 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a first example peripheral area 502 of the primary vacuum head 106, the second secondary vacuum head 114 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a second example peripheral area 504 of the primary vacuum head 106, the third secondary vacuum head 116 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a third example peripheral area 506 of the primary vacuum head 106, and the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 of FIGS. 1-6 is shown in a retracted position located at a fourth example peripheral area 508 of the primary vacuum head 106. In other examples, the arrangement and/or retracted positions of the secondary vacuum heads 108 can differ relative to the arrangement and/or retracted positions shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0034] The primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 includes example recesses and/or pockets 510 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5) formed along the periphery of the primary vacuum head 106 and corresponding in number to the number of secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6. Each one of the pockets 510 is structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow a corresponding one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 of the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 when the corresponding one of the secondary vacuum heads 108 is positioned in its respective retracted position relative to the primary vacuum head 106, as shown in FIGS. 1-6, thereby minimizing the cumulative footprint of the vacuum heads (e.g., the primary vacuum head 106 in combination with the secondary vacuum heads 108) of the end effector 100 as a whole. More specifically, the primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 includes a first example pocket 512 located at the first peripheral area 502 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the first secondary vacuum head 112 when the first secondary vacuum head 112 is in a retracted position, a second example pocket 514 located at the second peripheral area 504 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the second secondary vacuum head 114 when the second secondary vacuum head 114 is in a retracted position, a third example pocket 516 located at the third peripheral area 506 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the third secondary vacuum head 116 when the third secondary vacuum head 116 is in a retracted position, and a fourth example pocket 518 located at the fourth peripheral area 508 of the primary vacuum head 106 and structured and/or shaped to receive and/or stow the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 when the fourth secondary vacuum head 118 is in a retracted position. In other examples, the arrangement and/or locations of the pockets 510 of the primary vacuum head 106 can differ relative to the arrangement and/or locations of the pockets 510 shown in FIGS. 1-6.
[0035] In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100 includes an example primary vacuum surface 520 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 5) located at and/or extending across an example vacuum end 522 of the primary vacuum head 106. In some examples, the primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 can be a porous plastic covering that covers an example primary vacuum area 602 (e.g., as shown in FIG. 6) of the primary vacuum head 106. The primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 is structured and/or configured to selectively face toward (e.g., based on the position of the frame 104 of the end effector 100 as controlled by the robot), be positioned against, and/or be positioned in contact with a thermoplastic part to be picked up by the primary vacuum head 106 of the end effector 100. In the illustrated example of FIGS. 1-6, the primary vacuum surface 520 of the primary vacuum head 106 is substantially flat and/or planar.
[0036] The primary vacuum surface 520 and/or the primary vacuum area 602 of FIGS. 1-6 is/are operatively coupled to (e.g., in fluid communication with) one or more example primary vacuum generator(s) 128 of the end effector 100. For example, each primary vacuum generator 128 can be operatively coupled to the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or to the primary vacuum area 602 via one or more example primary fluid conduit(s) 130. Each primary vacuum generator 128 is structured and/or configured to generate a corresponding primary vacuum force (e.g., a vacuum flow or suction) to be applied at the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or at the primary vacuum area 602. The primary vacuum surface 520 of FIGS. 1-6 is structured and/or configured to pick up and/or hold one or more thermoplastic part(s), or one or more portion(s) thereof, in response to the primary vacuum force(s) applied at the primary vacuum surface 520 and/or at the primary vacuum area 602 of the primary vacuum head 106.
[0037] In some examples, the primary vacuum area 602 of the primary vacuum head 106 of FIGS. 1-6 can be segmented into a plurality of example vacuum zones 604. In such examples, respective ones of the primary vacuum forces can selectively be applied to respective ones of the vacuum zones 604. In such examples, the selective application of one or more of the primary vacuum force(s) at one or more of the vacuum zone(s) 604 of the primary vacuum area 602 enables one or more desired portion(s) of the primary vacuum surface 520 of the primary vacuum head 106 to pick up and/or hold one or more thermoplastic part(s), or one or more portion(s) thereof.
See also Figures 1-5 (note the mark ups in Figure 5), below:
Bloch either discloses or makes obvious further comprising an outer frame coupled to the frame module. See the frame like structures adjacent to item 106, for example.
In any event, rearrangement of parts is often obvious, and changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising an outer frame coupled to the frame module as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the structures of Bloch.
Bloch does not disclose that a film handling equipment is a film peeling equipment and the film handling device is a film peeling device, and does not disclose that the elevator body to be able to move up and down or that a plurality of links connecting the elevator rod to the plurality of holder modules, respectively, wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the plurality of holder modules move toward the center frame.
However, Han discloses and makes obvious that the device is a film handling equipment is a film peeling equipment and the film handling device is a film peeling device (“peeling apparatus 1000”), and that the elevator body moves up and down (paragraph 0045, disclosing “The first main driving portion MDV1 may move the first main support portion MSP1 in upward and downward directions. The upward and downward directions may be the upward and downward directions of the third direction DR3.”). See paragraph 0034 and 0041-45,, disclosing:
[0034] Referring to FIG. 1, a peeling apparatus 1000 according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention may include a peeling portion 100 and a peeling tape supply portion 200. The peeling portion 100 may include a main stage MSTG, two rail portions RA, a stage STG, two first head support portions HS1, a second head support portion HS2, a plurality of third head support portions HS3, and a plurality of head portions HP.
…
See paragraph 0041-45, disclosing:
[0041] The third head support portions HS3 may move in the second direction DR2 beyond the main stage MSTG to move the head portions HP closer to the peeling tape supply portion 200. The head portions HP may be supplied with peeling tapes from the peeling tape supply portion 200. The peeling tape supply portion 200 and the peeling tapes will be described later in more detail.
[0042] After the head portions HP are supplied with the peeling tapes, the third head support portions HS3 may move in the second direction DR2 to move the head portions HP onto the main stage MSTG. The head portions HP may peel dummy portions of a protective film of the mother panel M_P by the peeling tapes. The feature and operation will be described later in more detail. Even though not shown in the drawings, an image sensing portion for checking a position of the mother panel M_P disposed on the stage STG may be provided at each of the head portions HP.
[0043] FIGS. 2 and 3 are views illustrating one of head portions of FIG. 1. FIG. 2 is a view of the head portion HP when viewed in the second direction DR2, and FIG. 3 is a view of the head portion HP when viewed in the first direction DR1. One head portion HP is illustrated as an example in FIGS. 2 and 3. However, other head portions HP may have the same structure or components as illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3.
[0044] Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, the head portion HP may include first and second main support portions MSP1 and MSP2, first and second sub-support portions SSP1 and SSP2, a tape support portion TSP, a grip support portion GSP, first and second main driving portions MDV1 and MDV2, first, second and third driving portions DV1, DV2 and DV3, a suction portion ST, and a grip portion GP.
[0045] The first main support portion MSP1 may extend in the third direction DR3, and the first main driving portion MDV1 may be connected to an upper portion of the first main support portion MSP1. The first main driving portion MDV1 may move the first main support portion MSP1 in upward and downward directions. The upward and downward directions may be the upward and downward directions of the third direction DR3.
Similarly, Tao discloses a peeling device, that the elevator body moves up and down, or a plurality of links connecting the elevator rod to the plurality of holder modules, respectively, wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the plurality of holder modules move toward the center frame (“the power output device 21 is drivably connected to the drive shaft 22 to drive the drive shaft 22 to reciprocate motion”).
See paragraph 0034, disclosing:
[0034] The present embodiment first provides a separation apparatus for a flexible display panel, for lift-off the rigid substrate and the flexible display panel bonded to each other. As shown in FIG. 1, the separation apparatus 100 includes a support post 1, a power unit 2 and a vacuum suction block 3. The supporting post 1 is used to support the separation apparatus 100 on the relatively upper side of the rigid substrate 4 to be separated, the vacuum suction block 3 is in communication with the support post 1, and is used to suck and connect the rigid substrate 4 to be separated. One end of the power unit 2 is connected to the support post 1, the other end is rotatably connected with the vacuum suction block 3, and is used for controlling the vacuum suction block 3 and the rigid substrate 4 to be separated together to be separated from the flexible display panel 5.
[0035] Specifically, as shown in FIG. 1, the power unit 2 is connected to the support post 1, the power unit 2 includes a power output device 21 and a drive shaft 22, the drive shaft 22 is extending along a first direction 1 (the X direction shown in FIG. 1), the power output device 21 is drivably connected to the drive shaft 22 to drive the drive shaft 22 to reciprocate motion in the first direction. The vacuum suction block 3 is rotatably connected to the drive shaft 22, the vacuum suction block 3 is used for sucking and connecting the rigid substrate 4 to be separated.
See Figure 2e, for example, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that a film handling equipment is a film peeling equipment and the film handling device is a film peeling device, and that the elevator body to be able to move up and down or that a plurality of links connecting the elevator rod to the plurality of holder modules, respectively, wherein, in case that the elevator rod moves up, the plurality of holder modules move toward the center frame as in Han and Tao in order to facilitate removal operations.
As to claim 20, Bloch discloses wherein the robot includes at least one of: an articulated robot (“a jointed arm six-axis robot”) able to move the film peeling device in a plurality of directions; and an orthogonal robot (“the robot can be of a different type, structure and/or configuration capable of moving the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use”) able to move the film peeling device in one direction.
See paragraph 0031, disclosing:
[0031] The end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 can be coupled to a robot. For example, the frame 104 of the end effector 100 can be coupled to a movable frame and/or axis of a robot such that movements of the frame and/or axis of the robot are transferred and/or conveyed to the frame 104 of the end effector 100 and/or, more generally to the end effector 100 as a whole. In some examples, the robot can be a jointed arm six-axis robot capable of moving (e.g., translating, rotating, etc.) the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use. In other examples, the robot can be of a different type, structure and/or configuration capable of moving the end effector 100 of FIGS. 1-6 into various positions and/or locations within an environment of use.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK