DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-8 and 12-23 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 01/17/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Examiner’s Note
5. Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all of part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding 101 Rejection: Applicant’s amendment to claims have overcome the 101-rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the 101 rejection is hereby withdrawn.
7. Regarding 102 rejection: Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/2026 have been fully considered. However, Examiner does not agree with arguments regarding Claim 14. The crushing station is not disclosed within the claim to be stationary. Under BRI, Examiner interprets a crushing station as the excavation vehicle being used within a stationed area. The excavation vehicle also consists of an earth removal module [0054, Fig. 4] comprises a drilling module [0054-0055], in which the drilling module can be adjusted based on received instructions. The drilling tool is capable of breaking up large amounts of hard dirt, in which is interpreted as crushing station that crushing the dirt and stones. This indicates that Ready-Campbell does teach the capability of the claim. Regarding the 112f interpretation, Examiner is unable to determine structure for “computing apparatus”, as there is no structure within the specification. The specification states a computing apparatus “determines the characteristics of the material and adjusts the operation”. Is this a processor? Is this memory? Therefore, the 112 rejection is not overcome8. Regarding 103 rejection: Examiner agrees regarding 103 arguments for claims 1-8, 12-13, and 15-23. Amendments overcome previous prior art.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“central control means” in claims 1, 7-8, 10-11, 15, and 19-20
“computing apparatus” in claims 12, 14
The following are the interpreted corresponding structures found within the specification for some of the above limitations:
“central control means” – processor, paragraph [0035]
“computing apparatus” – no structure found
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 and 14 recites “computing apparatus..”. The “computing apparatus” invokes 112(f), where structure, material or act must be given in the specification. The specification lacks detailed description of the computing apparatus. It is not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art what the computer apparatus is, what the advantages of using this device are and therefore the specification lacks written description to support the limitation.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 and 14 recites limitations “computing apparatus” in which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts or performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material or acts to the function. The “computing apparatus” in is recited in the claim as having the capability of receiving values and adjusting an operation based on received values. However, the specification fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Ready-Campbell (US20200032483).
Regarding Claim 14, Ready-Campbell discloses A crushing station comprising a computing apparatus configured to: (Ready-Campbell, see at least [¶0054-0055, ¶ 0067, ¶0072 & ¶0088] wherein the excavation vehicle 115 consists of a earth removal module. The earth removal module consists of a drilling module, in which the drilling module receives data from imaging sensors to identify obstacles beneath the ground surface, where the obstacles could be trees, curbs, concrete, etc. ** Examiner notes, excavation vehicle is being used within a stationary position. The crushing process is a process of reducing a large material into smaller pieces, in which the drilling module is doing.)
and adjust an operation of the crushing station at least based on the received or determined characteristics of material. (Ready-Campbell, see at least [0088-0089] wherein the drilling module 730 generates and delivers a set of instructions to the excavation vehicle (instructions such as to avoid obstacle) describing the identification information describing the one or more physical characteristics of the obstacle.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 13, and 15-23 are allowed.
Claims 12 is dependent on a allowed claim, however, needs to be amended to overcome 112 rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NADA MAHYOOB ALQADERI/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664