The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-18 are finally provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of co-pending Application No. 18/697,177 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious in view of the claims of the reference application to practice the methods claimed in the subject application for the purpose of providing additional or superior protection to an agricultural product or agricultural product bale. The nontacky portion in the claimed method corresponds to the reduced risk material portion of the reference application claims based at least on the disclosure in specification [0003] of the subject application as compared with relevant disclosure in the reference application regarding the meaning of the reduced risk material portion claimed in the reference application.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter et al. (10,264,732) filed by the applicant along with applicant’s latest reply. Porter discloses most of the features of the claims including wrapping a wrapping material around an agricultural product to form a bale. See, for example, Fig 1D and the disclosure in the reference specification relative to Figs. 1. Porter also discloses wrapping a wrapping unit (first wrapping segment 1) of the wrapping material around a circumference of the bale, the wrapping material having a nontacky portion extending lengthwise from a leading end (end 17 in Fig 1D) of the wrapping unit and a tacky portion (the portion including adhesive 11) extending lengthwise from the nontacky portion to the tail end (at the perforation 15 as shown in Fig 1A and Fig 1D) of the wrapping unit. Porter even discloses the winding steps at the end of claim 1, and winding the nontacky portions of the wrapping unit around a length of the bale that is greater than the circumference of the bale, as required in some dependent claims.
However, what Porter may not disclose is aligning a width of the wrapping material with a width of the bale as required in claim 1, and some details of the dependent claims such as winding nontacky and tacky portions of the wrapping material over different lengths of the bale circumference. On the other hand the missing expedients are well within the skill level of one having ordinary skill in the relevant art to provide, as shown by the prior art of record including Porter itself. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of the Porter disclosure to provide for the wrapping in Porter to have the missing features, for the purpose of more securely wrapping certain bales (depending on exactly what was being wrapped), providing appropriate protection for certain bales (depending on exactly what was being wrapped) and/or making the wrapping easier to do.
Regarding the unwrapping in claim 9 and its dependent claims, Porter may not specifically disclose features such as cutting the wrapping material along an entire width of the wrapping material such that the wrapping material is separated from the agricultural product in a single piece, as required in independent claim 9. However, these features are well within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the relevant art to provide, as shown, for example, by the prior art of record. Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide for unwrapping the wrapping material from the bale in Porter in the manner claimed, in order to expeditiously remove the wrapping material from the bale.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, applicant argues citing MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i), that the double patenting rejection in the subject application should be withdrawn because the subject application is the earlier filed of the two applications in question, the subject application and 18/697,177 the claims of which form the bases of the rejection. The examiner agrees with the applicant that under certain conditions the MPEP provides for the provisional double patenting rejection in the earlier of two filed applications to be withdrawn. However, what the applicant does not mention in the argument is that one of those conditions is that there be a provisional double patenting rejection in both applications, such that upon the withdrawal of the double patenting rejection in the earlier filed application, the provisional double patenting rejection in the later filed application is converted into a double patenting rejection in that application. Refer back to the same section of the MPEP cited by the applicant. Moreover, as applicant is no doubt aware, application 18/697,177 is currently under a restriction requirement to which a reply has yet to be filed (and 18/697,177 had the same status at least when the applicant filed the reply on 5/4/26 in the subject application to the provisional double patenting rejection herein). So clearly there has been no action on the merits in 18/697,177, much less a double patenting rejection made in that application. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments for withdrawal of the double patenting rejection in the subject application are unconvincing.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 5/4/26 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB K ACKUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736