DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2018/0205946) in view of Holcomb (US 2018/0115776).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an encoding method (paragraph [115], fig.10, Zhang discloses an encoder 200 for performing the method of encoding of video image data) comprising:
determining a chroma block and a colocated luma block from separate luma and chroma tree partitioning of a picture (paragraph [77], Zhang discloses that QTBT block structure can implement the feature that luma and chroma have separate QTBT (quadtree binary tree) structures, and paragraph [79], Zhang discloses a separate luma QTBT structure in fig.3A, and a separate chroma QTBT structure fig.3B, thus permitting the determination of a chroma block and a colocated luma block from separate luma and chroma tree partitioning of a picture);
determining a size for the luma block and a size for the chroma block (paragraph [65], Zhang discloses that in order to set the ratio of the luma and chroma blocks, a size of the coding block is determined in order to determine a size for the luma block and a size for the chroma block; paragraph [67], Zhang discloses that block size is checked, and paragraph [74], Zhang discloses that quadtree leaf node size is determined with a minimum quadtree size, wherein paragraph [76], Zhang discloses for a QTBT (quadtree binary tree) structure, the MinQTSize and MaxBTSize are set for luma and chroma blocks);
enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples (paragraph [68], Zhang discloses the video encoder 200 can code a one bit flag for indicating the enabling of CCLM (cross component linear model) mode, and paragraph [105], Zhang discloses implementing cross-component linear model mode for chroma intra prediction mode for video coding by performing prediction from luma to chroma, thus enabling the cross component linear model tool for compression of video data, and paragraph [108], Zhang discloses implementing plural CCLM modes; paragraph [109], Zhang discloses cross-component linear model mode is enabled);
applying quadtree partitioning of video data (paragraph [75], Zhang discloses application of quadtree partitioning of video data); and
encoding the block responsive to the enabling of the cross-component linear model tool (paragraph [140], fig.10, Zhang discloses that element 220 entropy encodes the video data into a bitstream, wherein paragraph [68], Zhang discloses the video encoder 200 can code a one bit flag for indicating the enabling of CCLM (cross component linear model) mode, and paragraph [105], Zhang discloses implementing cross-component linear model mode for chroma intra prediction mode for video coding by performing prediction from luma to chroma, thus enabling the cross component linear model tool for compression of video data, and paragraph [108], Zhang discloses implementing plural CCLM modes; paragraph [109], Zhang discloses cross-component linear model mode is enabled).
Zhang does not disclose “enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples in the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning”. However, Holcomb teaches partitioning data based on the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning (paragraph [72], Holcomb discloses, according to HEVC video encoding standard for a quadtree syntax, a coding tree unit (CTU) can comprise of a 64x64 luma sample values (CTB or coding tree block) and two 32x32 chroma CTB, in that the CTU can be split into four CUs, wherein each CU can comprise one 32x32 luma coding block and two 16x16 chroma blocks, thus Holcomb discloses the condition that luma blocks can be of 64x64 or 32x32 pixel sizes resulting from quad-tree partitioning, and chroma blocks can be of 32x32 or 16x16 pixel sizes resulting from a quad-tree partitioning), and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning (paragraph [72], Holcomb discloses, according to HEVC video encoding standard for a quadtree syntax, a coding tree unit (CTU) can comprise of a 64x64 luma sample values (CTB or coding tree block) and two 32x32 chroma CTB, in that the CTU can be split into four CUs, wherein each CU can comprise one 32x32 luma coding block and two 16x16 chroma blocks, thus Holcomb discloses the condition that luma blocks can be of 64x64 or 32x32 pixel sizes resulting from quad-tree partitioning, and chroma blocks can be of 32x32 or 16x16 pixel sizes resulting from a quad-tree partitioning).
Since Zhang discloses “enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples”, and Holcomb discloses “…partitioning data based on the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Holcomb together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples in the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning” so as to improve the encoding efficiency of video data by accurate predictions of video components necessary for compression.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing computer program comprising instructions for performing the method of claim 1 when executed by one or more processors (paragraph [174], Zhang discloses utilizing a computer readable medium that stores computer executable instructions of a computer program to be executed by computer or processor).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses an encoding apparatus comprising one or more processors configured to perform the encoding method of claim 1 when executed by the one or more processors (paragraph [174], Zhang discloses utilizing a computer readable medium that stores computer executable instructions of a computer program to be executed by computer or processor).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses a decoding method (paragraph [145], fig.11, Zhang discloses a decoder 300 for performing the method of decoding of video image data) comprising:
obtaining a chroma block and a colocated luma block from separate luma and chroma tree partitioning of a picture (paragraph [147], fig.11, Zhang discloses receiving the encoded video data bitstream at element 320, wherein paragraph [77], Zhang discloses that QTBT block structure can implement the feature that luma and chroma have separate QTBT (quadtree binary tree) structures, and paragraph [79], Zhang discloses a separate luma QTBT structure in fig.3A, and a separate chroma QTBT structure fig.3B, thus permitting the determination of a chroma block and a colocated luma block from separate luma and chroma tree partitioning of a picture);
determining a size for the luma block and a size for the chroma block (paragraph [65], Zhang discloses that in order to set the ratio of the luma and chroma blocks, a size of the coding block is determined in order to determine a size for the luma block and a size for the chroma block; paragraph [67], Zhang discloses that block size is checked, and paragraph [74], Zhang discloses that quadtree leaf node size is determined with a minimum quadtree size, wherein paragraph [76], Zhang discloses for a QTBT (quadtree binary tree) structure, the MinQTSize and MaxBTSize are set for luma and chroma blocks);
enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples (paragraph [68], Zhang discloses the video encoder 200 can code a one bit flag for indicating the enabling of CCLM (cross component linear model) mode to the decoder 300, and paragraph [105], Zhang discloses implementing cross-component linear model mode for chroma intra prediction mode for video coding by performing prediction from luma to chroma, thus enabling the cross component linear model tool for compression of video data, and paragraph [108], Zhang discloses implementing plural CCLM modes; paragraph [109], Zhang discloses cross-component linear model mode is enabled);
applying quadtree partitioning of video data (paragraph [75], Zhang discloses application of quadtree partitioning of video data); and
decoding the block responsive to the enabling of the cross-component linear model tool (paragraph [152], fig.11, Zhang discloses decoding the encoded bitstream as encoded by entropy encoder 220 of video encoder 200 of fig.10, wherein paragraph [68], Zhang discloses the video encoder 200 can code a one bit flag for indicating the enabling of CCLM (cross component linear model) mode to the decoder 300, and paragraph [105], Zhang discloses implementing cross-component linear model mode for chroma intra prediction mode for video coding by performing prediction from luma to chroma, thus enabling the cross component linear model tool for compression of video data, and paragraph [108], Zhang discloses implementing plural CCLM modes; paragraph [109], Zhang discloses cross-component linear model mode is enabled).
Zhang does not disclose “enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples in the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning”. However, Holcomb teaches partitioning data based on the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning (paragraph [72], Holcomb discloses, according to HEVC video encoding standard for a quadtree syntax, a coding tree unit (CTU) can comprise of a 64x64 luma sample values (CTB or coding tree block) and two 32x32 chroma CTB, in that the CTU can be split into four CUs, wherein each CU can comprise one 32x32 luma coding block and two 16x16 chroma blocks, thus Holcomb discloses the condition that luma blocks can be of 64x64 or 32x32 pixel sizes resulting from quad-tree partitioning, and chroma blocks can be of 32x32 or 16x16 pixel sizes resulting from a quad-tree partitioning), and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning (paragraph [72], Holcomb discloses, according to HEVC video encoding standard for a quadtree syntax, a coding tree unit (CTU) can comprise of a 64x64 luma sample values (CTB or coding tree block) and two 32x32 chroma CTB, in that the CTU can be split into four CUs, wherein each CU can comprise one 32x32 luma coding block and two 16x16 chroma blocks, thus Holcomb discloses the condition that luma blocks can be of 64x64 or 32x32 pixel sizes resulting from quad-tree partitioning, and chroma blocks can be of 32x32 or 16x16 pixel sizes resulting from a quad-tree partitioning).
Since Zhang discloses “enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples”, and Holcomb discloses “…partitioning data based on the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Holcomb together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…enabling a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples in the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning” so as to improve the encoding and decoding efficiency of video data by accurate predictions of video components necessary for compression and decompression.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing computer program comprising instructions for performing the decoding method of claim 4 when executed by one or more processors (paragraph [174], Zhang discloses utilizing a computer readable medium that stores computer executable instructions of a computer program to be executed by computer or processor).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a decoding apparatus (paragraph [145], Zhang discloses a decoder 300 for performing the method of decoding of video image data) comprising one or more processors (paragraph [174], Zhang discloses a computer readable medium storing a computer program comprising instructions to be executed by computer or processor) configured to:
obtain a chroma block and a colocated luma block from separate luma and chroma tree partitioning of a picture (paragraph [147], fig.11, Zhang discloses receiving the encoded video data bitstream at element 320, wherein paragraph [77], Zhang discloses that QTBT block structure can implement the feature that luma and chroma have separate QTBT (quadtree binary tree) structures, and paragraph [79], Zhang discloses a separate luma QTBT structure in fig.3A, and a separate chroma QTBT structure fig.3B, thus permitting the determination of a chroma block and a colocated luma block from separate luma and chroma tree partitioning of a picture);
determine a size for the luma block and a size for the chroma block (paragraph [65], Zhang discloses that in order to set the ratio of the luma and chroma blocks, a size of the coding block is determined in order to determine a size for the luma block and a size for the chroma block; paragraph [67], Zhang discloses that block size is checked, and paragraph [74], Zhang discloses that quadtree leaf node size is determined with a minimum quadtree size, wherein paragraph [76], Zhang discloses for a QTBT (quadtree binary tree) structure, the MinQTSize and MaxBTSize are set for luma and chroma blocks);
enable a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples (paragraph [68], Zhang discloses the video encoder 200 can code a one bit flag for indicating the enabling of CCLM (cross component linear model) mode to the decoder 300, and paragraph [105], Zhang discloses implementing cross-component linear model mode for chroma intra prediction mode for video coding by performing prediction from luma to chroma, thus enabling the cross component linear model tool for compression of video data, and paragraph [108], Zhang discloses implementing plural CCLM modes; paragraph [109], Zhang discloses cross-component linear model mode is enabled);
apply quadtree partitioning of video data (paragraph [75], Zhang discloses application of quadtree partitioning of video data); and
decode the block responsive to the enabling of the cross-component linear model tool (paragraph [152], fig.11, Zhang discloses decoding the encoded bitstream as encoded by entropy encoder 220 of video encoder 200 of fig.10, wherein paragraph [68], Zhang discloses the video encoder 200 can code a one bit flag for indicating the enabling of CCLM (cross component linear model) mode to the decoder 300, and paragraph [105], Zhang discloses implementing cross-component linear model mode for chroma intra prediction mode for video coding by performing prediction from luma to chroma, thus enabling the cross component linear model tool for compression of video data, and paragraph [108], Zhang discloses implementing plural CCLM modes; paragraph [109], Zhang discloses cross-component linear model mode is enabled).
Zhang does not disclose “enable a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples in the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning”. However, Holcomb teaches partitioning data based on the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning (paragraph [72], Holcomb discloses, according to HEVC video encoding standard for a quadtree syntax, a coding tree unit (CTU) can comprise of a 64x64 luma sample values (CTB or coding tree block) and two 32x32 chroma CTB, in that the CTU can be split into four CUs, wherein each CU can comprise one 32x32 luma coding block and two 16x16 chroma blocks, thus Holcomb discloses the condition that luma blocks can be of 64x64 or 32x32 pixel sizes resulting from quad-tree partitioning, and chroma blocks can be of 32x32 or 16x16 pixel sizes resulting from a quad-tree partitioning), and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning (paragraph [72], Holcomb discloses, according to HEVC video encoding standard for a quadtree syntax, a coding tree unit (CTU) can comprise of a 64x64 luma sample values (CTB or coding tree block) and two 32x32 chroma CTB, in that the CTU can be split into four CUs, wherein each CU can comprise one 32x32 luma coding block and two 16x16 chroma blocks, thus Holcomb discloses the condition that luma blocks can be of 64x64 or 32x32 pixel sizes resulting from quad-tree partitioning, and chroma blocks can be of 32x32 or 16x16 pixel sizes resulting from a quad-tree partitioning).
Since Zhang discloses “enable a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples”, and Holcomb discloses “…partitioning data based on the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Holcomb together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…enable a cross-component linear model tool for predicting chroma samples based on luma samples in the condition that the luma block is of size 64 by 64 pixels or 32 by 32 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning, and the chroma block is of size 32 by 32 pixels or 16 by 16 pixels resulting from a quad-tree partitioning” so as to improve the encoding and decoding efficiency of video data by accurate predictions of video components necessary for compression and decompression.
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488