DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed January 17, 2025.
Claims 21-40 are pending. Claims 1-20 are canceled by preliminary amendments. Claims 21, 27 and 32 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on January 17, 2025 and February 27, 2025. These IDSs have been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a phrase that can be implied (i.e. “The present disclosure includes”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,817,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: application claims 21-22 are anticipated by U.S. 11,817,164 claim 1.
Claims 21, 32 and 39-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 6-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,264,112. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: application claims 21, 32 and 39-40 are anticipated by U.S. 11,264,112 claims 2 and 6-7.
Claim 27 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,861,573. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: application claim 27 is anticipated by U.S. 10,861,573 claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24 and 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mirichigni et al. (U.S. 2015/0348599; hereinafter “Mirichigni”).
Regarding independent claim 21, Mirichigni discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising a controller (Fig. 1: 108) with control circuitry (Fig. 1: 112) configured to:
received desired operational characteristics of a memory device (“amount of power received from host,” and “the present operation condition of memory,” see pages 2-3, par. 0027);
determine a trim setting configuration at least partially based on the desired operational characteristics of the memory device (“power availability information,” see pages 2-3, par. 0027); and
send the trim setting configuration via a wireless network (see page 2, par. 0020).
Regarding claim 22, Mirichigni discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to send the trim setting configuration to the memory device via the wireless network (see page 2, par. 0020).
Regarding claim 23, Mirichigni discloses wherein the desired operational characteristics of the memory device are from a host (see page 2, par. 0020 and 0026).
Regarding claim 24, Mirichigni discloses wherein the trim setting configuration used by the memory device controls operational characteristics of the memory device such that the memory device performs with the desired operational characteristics or closer to the desired operational characteristics than prior operational characteristics of the memory device (see page 3, par. 0029).
Regarding independent claim 32, Mirichigni discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising a controller (Fig. 1: 108) with control circuitry (Fig. 1: 112) configured to:
receive desired operational characteristics of a memory device (“amount of power received from host,” and “the present operation condition of memory,” see pages 2-3, par. 0027) at a first location (see page 2, par. 0021 and par. 0026);
determine a trim setting configuration at least partially based on the desired operational characteristics of the memory device (“power availability information,” see pages 2-3, par. 0027); and
send the trim setting configuration to the memory device (see page 2, par. 0020) at a second location (see page 2, par. 0021 and par. 0026).
Regarding claim 33, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting a number of programming signals in a programming operation, allowable programming operation rate, programming signal magnitude, and programming signal length to affect a programming speed of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 34, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting a programming signal magnitude, a sensing signal magnitude, an erase signal magnitude, a programming signal length, an erase signal length, a sensing signal length, a number of sensing signals in a sensing operation, and a number of programming signals in a programming operation of the memory device to affect power consumption of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 35, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting a number of sensing signals in a sensing operation, a sensing signal magnitude, and a sensing signal length to affect sensing speed of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 36, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting a sensing speed to affect latency associated with performing read operations on the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 37, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting the trim setting configuration includes a programming signal magnitude, a sensing signal magnitude, an erase signal magnitude, a programming signal length, an erase signal length, a sensing signal length, a number of sensing signals in a sensing operation, and a number of programming signals in a programming operation to account for a temperature of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 38, Mirichigni discloses wherein the first location is different from the second location (see page 2, par. 0021 and par. 0026).
Regarding claim 39, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “provides data retention characteristics for static data.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 40, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 32.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “provides data retention characteristics for dynamic data.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirichigni et al. (U.S. 2015/0348599; hereinafter “Mirichigni”) in view of Yu et al. (U.S. 2014/0006688; hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 25, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
However, Mirichigni is silent with respect to wherein the trim setting configuration includes setting a program signal magnitude and programming signal length to affect data retention characteristics in the memory device.
Similar to Mirichigni, Yu teaches a controller with control circuitry (Fig. 13: 192).
Furthermore, Yu teaches trim setting configuration includes setting a program signal magnitude and programming signal length to affect data retention characteristics in the memory device (see page 5, par. 0091).
Since Yu and Mirichigni are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Yu would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Mirichigni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings Yu with the teachings of Mirichigni for the purpose of obtain faster and program erase times, see Yu’s page 5, par. 0091.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirichigni et al. (U.S. 2015/0348599; hereinafter “Mirichigni”) in view of Pangal et al. (U.S. 2014/0082460; hereinafter “Pangal”).
Regarding claim 26, Mirichigni discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
However, Mirichigni is silent with respect to the trim setting configuration includes setting an allowable programming operation rate, a programming signal magnitude, and a programming signal length to affect life span of the memory device.
Similar to Mirichigni, Pangal teaches an apparatus comprising a controller with control circuitry.
Furthermore, Pangal teaches trim setting configuration includes setting an allowable programming operation rate, a programming signal magnitude, and a programming signal length to affect life span of the memory device (see pages 1-2, par. 0014; page 2-3, par. 0020-0022 and 0028).
Since Pangal and Mirichigni are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Pangal would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Mirichigni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings Pangal with the teachings of Mirichigni for the purpose of improve reliability, see Pangal’s pages 1-2, par. 0014.
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirichigni et al. (U.S. 2015/0348599; hereinafter “Mirichigni”) in view of Chakra et al. (U.S. 2014/0164719; hereinafter “Chakra”).
Regarding independent claim 27, Mirichigni teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1), comprising a controller (Fig. 1: 108) with control circuitry (Fig. 1: 112) configured to:
receive desired operational characteristics of a memory device (“amount of power received from host,” and “the present operation condition of memory,” see pages 2-3, par. 0027);
determine a trim setting configuration at least partially based on the desired operational characteristics of the memory device (“power availability information,” see pages 2-3, par. 0027); and
send the trim setting configuration to the memory device (see page 2, par. 0020).
However, Mirichigni is silent with respect to the different geographic location.
Similar to Mirichigni, Chakra teaches an apparatus comprising a controller (see Abstract).
Furthermore, Chakra teaches receive desired operational characteristics of a memory device in a different geographic location, and send trim setting configuration to the memory device in the different geographic location (see pages 6-7, par. 0080-0084).
Since Chakra and Mirichigni are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Chakra would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Mirichigni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings Chakra with the teachings of Mirichigni for the purpose of managing memory of a device, see Chakra’s page 1, par. 0002.
Regarding claim 28, Mirichigni in combination with Chakra teaches the limitations with respect to claim 27.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting a storage density of the memory device to affect a programming speed of the memory device, an amount of data stored on the memory device, and a power consumption of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 29, Mirichigni in combination with Chakra teaches the limitations with respect to claim 27.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting a number of bits per memory cell and a number of programming signals in a programming operation to affect storage density of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 30, Mirichigni in combination with Chakra teaches the limitations with respect to claim 27.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “programming signal magnitude, sensing signal magnitude, erase signal magnitude, programming signal length, erase signal length, sensing signal length, number of sensing signals in a sensing operation, number of programming signals in a programming operation, and a number of bits per memory cell of the memory device to affect disturb characteristics of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 31, Mirichigni in combination with Chakra teaches the limitations with respect to claim 27.
As discussed above, Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “apparatus,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “setting programming speed to affect data retention in the memory device, life span of the memory device, and power consumption of the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Mirichigni’s apparatus in combination with Chakra appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825