DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recite the term “and/or” is confusing and unclear. It is unclear whether “and” or “or” is intended and it is noted that the two terms (“and” and “or”) have different meanings making it imperative to know which term is intended in order to understand the metes and bounds of the claim. Applicant is advised to select EITHER “and” or “or”, but not both. The claim will be examined as best understood wherein “and/or” is taken to mean “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-5, 7-8, 10-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being participated by Liu et al. (CN117081147).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a photovoltaic inverter (see figures 1 and fig. 4@ power converter 100), comprising: a main circuit (100), wherein a direct-current side (fig. 4: input end of the DC/DC power conversion circuit 101 is used for connecting the photovoltaic string 200) of the main circuit (100) is configured to connect a photovoltaic array (200), and an alternating-current side (fig. 4: power conversion DC/AC 103) of the main circuit (100) is configured to connect a power grid and/or a load (fig. 1@power grid 300) (see par. [n0046-n0047]); and a controller (fig. 4@ controller 102), configured to: control the main circuit (100) to operate (see par. [n0046-n0047]); and in response to an occurrence of a power oscillation in the main circuit (par. [n0047] and [n0053], “The controller 102 can be used to control the DC/DC power conversion circuit 101 after the power converter 100 starts working”), regulate a direct-current voltage of the main circuit to a voltage with a difference from an open-circuit voltage of the photovoltaic array less than a preset difference and control the main circuit to perform a global maximum power point tracking (MPPT) search based on the regulated voltage (see par. [n0062-n0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches wherein for regulating the direct-current voltage of the main circuit (100) to the voltage with the difference from the open-circuit voltage of the photovoltaic array (200) less than the preset difference, the controller (102) is further configured to: block a control signal for the main circuit; limit a power of the main circuit, wherein a difference between a limited power and zero is less than a preset power (see par. [n0062-n0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches wherein for controlling the main circuit (100) to perform the global MPPT search, the controller (102) is further configured to: control the main circuit to perform the global MPPT search within a preset range (see par. [n0010], [n0062-n0082] and [n0086]; the controller is used to update the maximum preset reference power to find the global maximum power point).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches wherein an upper limit of the preset range is the open-circuit voltage, and a lower limit of the preset range is an upper limit of a preset oscillation interval in a characteristic curve of the photovoltaic array (see par. [n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]; controlling the DC/DC power conversion circuit to track the maximum output power of the photovoltaic string within the tracking interval).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches The photovoltaic inverter, further comprising a detection module (fig. 4@ detection circuit 104), wherein the detection module is configured to detect an electrical parameter of the main circuit (100) and transmit the electrical parameter to the controller (102), wherein the controller (102) is further configured to determine whether the power oscillation occurs in the main circuit based on the electrical parameter (see par. [n0046], [n0051]; the power converter 100 may also include a detection circuit 104, which is used to collect the output voltage or output current information of the photovoltaic string 200 in real time and send the obtained information to the controller 102).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches wherein upon determining that the power oscillation occurs in the main circuit (100), the controller (102) is further configured to: regulate the power of the main circuit to be less than a lower limit of a power oscillation range; and determine whether the power oscillation occurs in the main circuit again after regulating the power of the main circuit to be less than the lower limit of the power oscillation range (see par. [n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: regulate, upon determining that no power oscillation occurs in the main circuit (100) after regulating the power of the main circuit to be less than the lower limit of the power oscillation range, the direct-current voltage of the main circuit to the voltage with the difference from the open-circuit voltage of the photovoltaic array less than the preset difference (see par. [n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]); and control the main circuit to perform the global MPPT search based on the regulated voltage (see par. [n0062-n0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches wherein the main circuit (100) comprises: a direct-current/alternating-current (DC/AC) conversion circuit (fig. 4@ 103); or a DC/AC conversion circuit and at least one direct-current/direct-current (DC/DC) conversion circuit (fig. 4@ 101), wherein the at least one DC/DC conversion circuit (101) is connected to a direct-current side of the DC/AC conversion circuit (103), (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches a method for controlling a photovoltaic inverter (see figures 1 and fig. 4@ power converter 100), comprising: in response to an occurrence of a power oscillation in a main circuit (100) of the photovoltaic inverter (par. [n0047] and [n0053]), regulating a direct-current voltage of the main circuit to a voltage with a difference from an open-circuit voltage of a photovoltaic array connected to the main circuit less than a preset difference (see par. [n0062-n0076]); and controlling the main circuit to perform a global maximum power point tracking (MPPT) search based on the regulated voltage (see par. [n0062-n0076]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches wherein the regulating a direct-current voltage of the main circuit to a voltage with a difference from an open-circuit voltage of a photovoltaic array connected to the main circuit less than a preset difference comprises one of: blocking a control signal for the main circuit; limiting a power of the main circuit, wherein a difference between a limited power and zero is less than a preset power; and shutting down the photovoltaic inverter (see par. [n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches wherein the controlling the main circuit to perform an MPPT search comprises: controlling the main circuit (100) to perform the global MPPT search within a preset range, wherein an upper limit of the preset range is the open-circuit voltage, and a lower limit of the preset range is an upper limit of a preset oscillation interval in a characteristic curve of the photovoltaic array (see par. [n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches determining whether the power oscillation occurs in the main circuit (100) based on an electrical parameter of the main circuit (see par. [n0046], [n0051] and [n0062-n0076]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches wherein upon determining that the power oscillation occurs in the main circuit, the method further comprises: detecting a power of the main circuit (100) to obtain a power oscillation range, and determining an upper limit and a lower limit of the power oscillation range (see par. [n0019], [n0046], [n0051], and [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]); regulating the power of the main circuit to be less than the lower limit of the power oscillation range ([n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]); and determining whether the power oscillation occurs in the main circuit again after regulating the power of the main circuit to be less than the lower limit of the power oscillation range ([n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches regulating, upon determining that no power oscillation occurs in the main circuit (100) after regulating the power of the main circuit to be less than the lower limit of the power oscillation range, the direct-current voltage of the main circuit to the voltage with the difference from the open-circuit voltage of the photovoltaic array connected to the main circuit less than the preset difference (see par. [n0019], [n0062-n0082], [n0086] and [n0092-n0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 15, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836