CTNF 19/028,372 CTNF 89996 Notice of Non-Final Rejection Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20080260966 A1 by Hanawa et al (Hanawa) . Referring to claim 1 Hanawa Fig 1-7 teaches, a substrate processing apparatus (Fig.1 item 102 paragraph [0019]) comprising: a chamber ( item 110) having a substrate processing space (item 104 plasma region); a substrate support (item 116 paragraph [0019]) disposed in the chamber (110) and configured to support a substrate (item 152); PNG media_image1.png 530 762 media_image1.png Greyscale a gas injection unit (item 138 paragraph [0022]) disposed to be spaced apart from the substrate support and configured to supply a gas to the substrate processing space (See paragraph [0022] [0025]); and a magnet assembly ( item 112 magnets abstract [0021]), disposed outside the chamber (magnets 112 are arranged outside on top of the chamber 110) and configured to form a magnetic field in the chamber ( see paragraphs [0007], [0021]), wherein the magnet assembly comprises (See Hanawa teaches in an embodiment Fig 2A, B item 214 magnetic assembly paragraph [0032]): one or more magnet holders (item 202 face plate paragraph [0029]) comprising a plurality of openings (item 218 paragraph [0032]) or indentations ; and a plurality of magnets (item 216 magnets) received in at least one of the plurality of openings or indentations to maintain an interval between each other (See Fig 2A, B and paragraph [0032]). PNG media_image2.png 488 724 media_image2.png Greyscale Hanawa teaches the magnet assemblies in several embodiments. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate into one single embodiment of substrate processing system by introducing several layers of magnets in the vertical direction is within the scope of the design choices for adjusting the magnetic field according to the users requirement. Referring to claim 2, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of openings or indentations includes (Fig 2A,B item 218 openings to place the magnets 216 paragraph [0032]): a first opening or indentation disposed on a central axis of the one or more magnet holders (See Fig. 3 item 214 magnet assembly in a central axis and zones 206 paragraph [0037]); and a plurality of second openings or indentations disposed in a circumferential direction around the central axis (Fig 3 item 206C is around central axis paragraph [0037]). PNG media_image3.png 602 494 media_image3.png Greyscale Referring to claim 3, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the plurality of magnets includes: a first magnet received in the first opening or indentation; and a second magnet received in one of the plurality of second openings or indentations and different from the first magnet in size (See Fig 1-3 teaches magnetic assembly and where pairs of magnets are arranged on the circumference of the face plate). PNG media_image4.png 848 406 media_image4.png Greyscale Referring to claim 4, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 3, wherein a polarity of a surface of the first magnet facing the gas injection unit is opposite to a polarity of a surface of the second magnet facing the gas injection unit (See Fig 6F and paragraph [0050]). Referring to claim 5, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein a diameter of the first opening or indentation is larger than a diameter of any one of the plurality of second openings or indentations. (see paragraph [0028] and Fig 2A-2B). Referring to claim 6, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the magnet assembly further comprises a nonmagnetic bar (Fig 2A, 2B face plate 202 having openings 218) received in the at least one of the plurality of openings or indentations. (paragraph [0029]). Referring to claim 7, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one magnet among the plurality of magnets comprises: a core magnet having a size smaller than a size of an opening or indentation receiving the at least one magnet; and a guide ring filling an interval between the core magnet and the opening or indentation. (See Fig 2A to 6G and paragraphs [0028]-[0035] the magnets 216 are smaller than the openings 218 ). Referring to claim 8, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the e substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more magnet holders include a first magnet holder (Fig 2A item 202) and a second magnet holder (item 204) that are coupled to be stacked. (See Fig 2A, 2B where Hanawa teaches stacking the magnets as pairs adjacent to each other around the Face plate 202 and a top plate 204 paragraphs [0028] –[0029] ). Referring to claim 9, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the plurality of magnets is disposed on the first magnet holder (Fig 2A item 202) and the second magnet holder (item 204), and wherein a first arrangement pattern of the magnets disposed on the first magnet holder is different from a second arrangement pattern of the magnets disposed on the second magnet holder. (See paragraph [0036]). Referring to claim 10, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, on wherein the magnet assembly further comprises a guide pin coupled to each of the first magnet holder and the second magnet holder. (See paragraph [0029] where Hanawa suggests bolting) Hence, it would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to use guide pin to hold the top holder and bottom holder). Referring to claim 11 Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, but silent on wherein the magnet assembly further comprises: a base supporting the first magnet holder and the second magnet holder; and a cover vertically overlapping the first magnet holder and the second magnet holder stacked in a vertical direction. However, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been a design choice/consideration within the skill of the art In Re kuhle 526 F.2d 553 555 188 USPQ7, 9 CCPA 1975). Referring to claim12, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, further comprising a driver (See Fig 5 item 504 actuator paragraph [0041]) configured to move the magnet assembly (item 214) in a direction parallel to a direction in which the first magnet holder (item 202) and the second magnet holder (item 202) are stacked. However, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been a design choice/consideration within the skill of the art In Re kuhle 526 F.2d 553 555 188 USPQ7, 9 CCPA 1975). PNG media_image5.png 406 762 media_image5.png Greyscale Referring to claim 13, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a position adjustment unit configured to adjust an interval between the magnet assembly and the chamber (See paragraph [0041], [0042] and [0056]). Referring to claim 14, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 13, wherein the position adjustment unit (Fig 5, 6 item 504, 604 and paragraph [0045] - [0048] )comprises: a driver (shaft item 606) configured to generate a driving force for moving the magnet assembly; a first frame disposed above the magnet assembly and configured to move by the driving force of the driver (paragraphs [0045]); and a second frame connecting the first frame and the magnet assembly (paragraph [0047]) However, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been a design choice/consideration within the skill of the art In Re kuhle 526 F.2d 553 555 188 USPQ7, 9 CCPA 1975). Referring to claim 15 , Hanawa Fig 1-7 teaches, A substrate processing apparatus (Fig 1 item 102 reactor paragraph [0019]) comprising: a chamber (item 110) having a substrate processing space (Plasma space 104 paragraph [0021]) configured to receive a substrate (item 152 paragraphs [0019]-[0021]); a magnet assembly disposed outside the chamber (item 112 magnets assembled outside of the chamber 110); and a position adjustment unit configured to adjust an interval between the magnet assembly and the chamber ((Hanawa further teaches adjustment of magnetic field by adjusting the magnets 216 vertically see paragraphs [0041], [0042] and [0056] and Fig 7), wherein the magnet assembly comprises: a plurality of magnets (item 112) configured to form a magnetic field in the substrate processing space (item 104); and one or more magnet holders configured to receive the plurality of magnets (See Fig 2A and 2B magnet holding openings 218 inside face plate 202 over upper plate 204 paragraph [0031]). Hanawa teaches the magnet assemblies in several embodiments. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate into one single embodiment of substrate processing system by introducing several layers of magnets in the vertical direction is within the scope of the design choices for adjusting the magnetic field according to the users requirement. Referring to claim 16, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 15, wherein the magnet assembly is disposed to be spaced apart from the substrate in a vertical direction, and the position adjustment unit is configured to move the magnet assembly in the vertical direction (Hanawa further teaches adjustment of magnetic field by adjusting the magnets 216 vertically see paragraphs [0041], [0042] and [0056] and Fig 7). Referring to claim 17, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the Referring to claim 4, Hanawa teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 15, wherein the plurality of magnets (Fig 2A, 2B item 214 magnet assembly) includes: a first magnet disposed at a center of the one or more magnet holders (See Fig 3 paragraph [0037]); and a plurality of second magnets disposed in a circumferential direction around the first magnet (See Fig 3 and paragraphs [0036] –[0038]) . Referring to claim 18, Hanawa’s teaches, A substrate processing apparatus (Fig 1 item 102 reactor paragraph [0019]) comprising: a chamber (item 110) having a substrate processing space (item 104 paragraphs [0019]-0021]); a substrate support disposed in the chamber (See Fig 1 item 152 substrate and substrate support pedestal item 116 and ESC 126 paragraph [0019]-[0021]) ; a gas injection unit (item 138 gas panel) disposed above the substrate support and configured to supply a gas to the substrate processing space (See paragraph [0022[); and a magnet assembly (item 112 magnets) disposed outside the chamber (See paragraph [0021]), wherein the magnet assembly comprises: a plurality of magnet holders stacked in a vertical direction (Hanawa further teaches adjustment of magnetic field by adjusting the magnets 216 vertically see paragraphs [0041], [0042] and [0056] and Fig 7); and a plurality of magnets received in at least one of the plurality of magnet holders. (Hanawa further teaches adjustment of magnetic field by adjusting the magnets 216 vertically see paragraphs [0041], [0042] and [0056] and Fig 7). Hanawa teaches the magnet assemblies in several embodiments. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate into one single embodiment of substrate processing system by introducing several layers of magnets in the vertical direction is within the scope of the design choices for adjusting the magnetic field according to the users requirement. Referring to claim 19, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 18, wherein the plurality of magnet holders(See Fig 2A, B, Fig 4A, B paragraphs [0028]-[0034]) includes: a first magnet holder comprising a plurality of openings or indentations receiving the plurality of magnets (Fig 2B and Fig 3 and paragraphs [0035]-[0038]) ; and a second magnet holder stacked on the first magnet holder and comprising a plurality of openings or indentations receiving the plurality of magnets, and the number of magnets received in the first magnet holder and the number of magnets received in the second magnet holder are different from each other (See Fig 4-5 paragraphs [0039]-[0042] where Hanawa teaches several designs which include a plurality of openings receiving plurality of magnets and each arranged differently [0036]). Referring to claim 20, Hanawa’s modified reference teaches, the substrate processing apparatus of claim 18, further comprising a position adjustment unit configured to generate a driving force for moving the magnet assembly in the vertical direction . (Hanawa further teaches adjustment of magnetic field by adjusting the magnets 216 vertically see paragraphs [0041], [0042] and [0056] and Fig 7). Conclusion Claims 1-20 are rejected. 07-96 The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU whose telephone number is (571)272-4250. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-3:30PM, 5PM -8:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALEXANDER H TANINGCO can be reached at 5712728048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU Primary Examiner Art Unit 2844 04/25/2026 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 2 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 3 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 4 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 5 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 6 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 7 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 8 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 9 Art Unit: 2845 Application/Control Number: 19/028,372 Page 10 Art Unit: 2845