Priority
Benefit of earlier filing date of 07/22/2020 of provisional application No. 63/055,148 is acknowledged as required by 35 U.S.C. 119.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 12, “a lift pin” should read --the lift pin--.
Claim 18, line 15, “a lift pin” should read --the lift pin--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuda et al. (US 6148762 A) hereinafter Fukuda.
Regarding claim 1, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a lift pin interface in an electrostatic chuck (susceptor 13), comprising: a dielectric plate (dielectric plate comprises heating plate coated alumina 25a and downwardly protruded upper guide 30) having a support surface (top surface) for a substrate (substrate 16); a conductive plate (conductive plate comprises 26, 27, 33) disposed beneath the dielectric plate and having an opening formed therethrough, wherein the dielectric plate includes a protrusion (30) extending into the opening in the conductive plate; and a lift pin guide (lower guide 31) disposed in the opening, wherein the lift pin guide includes one or more features that extend from an upper surface of the lift pin guide and that overlap with the protrusion of the dielectric plate, and wherein the lift pin guide includes a passageway to accommodate a lift pin (lift pin comprises 22 and 23).Claim 1 in preamble recites a lift pin interface that is used for an electrostatic chuck. More limiting the features and relationship between the lift pin and the electrostatic chuck mount to mere components associated with the intended use of the recited device (a lift pin interface device). See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner) and cases cited therein. See also MPEP § 2112 - MPEP § 2112.02. Thus, the prior art only needs to teach the recited components of the lift pin interface device.Note that dielectric plate is interpreted to be the alumina coated heating plate and downwardly protruding upper guide 30 and it is known that alumina is a dielectric ceramic with excellent dielectric properties (see Elsevier Journal below).
Regarding claim 2, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and below) the one or more features include a shoulder.
Regarding claim 4, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the one or more features include a single outer shoulder that surrounds the protrusion (surrounding lower portion of protrusion 30 of the dielectric plate).
Regarding claim 11, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an insulative coating disposed atop an upper surface of the conductive plate (par. 14: “all the components constituting the susceptor pin 14 are composed of the insulating alumina”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda in view of Ishimura (JP 2017028049 A).
Regarding claim 12, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) Fukuda does not teach an elastomer bond layer disposed atop the insulative coating.
Ishimura (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) teaches such elastomer bond (”silicon resin”) between plates a, b for adhesion purposes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add elastomer bond layer between conductive plate and dielectric plate. Doing so would improve bonding between them.
Regarding claim 14, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an electrostatic chuck (susceptor 13), comprising: a dielectric plate (dielectric plate comprises heating plate coated alumina 25a and downwardly protruded upper guide 30) having a support surface (top surface) for a substrate (substrate 16); a conductive plate (conductive plate comprises 26, 27, 33) disposed beneath the dielectric plate and having an opening formed therethrough, wherein the dielectric plate includes a protrusion (30) extending into the opening in the conductive plate; and a lift pin guide (lower guide 31) disposed in the opening, wherein the lift pin guide includes one or more features that extend from an upper surface of the lift pin guide and that overlap with the protrusion of the dielectric plate, wherein the lift pin guide includes a passageway to accommodate a lift pin (lift pin comprises 22 and 23),and wherein the dielectric plate and the protrusion include openings (ventral openings for passage of pin main body 22) aligned with the passageway in the lift pin guide to form a lift pin opening such that a lift pin (lift pin comprises pin main body 22 and shaft 23) can move sufficiently to extend beyond the support surface of the dielectric plate (see Fig. 4) and to retract beneath the support surface (see Fig. 2). Note that dielectric plate is interpreted to be the alumina coated heating plate and downwardly protruding upper guide 30 and it is known that alumina is a dielectric ceramic with excellent dielectric properties (see Elsevier Journal above).However Fukuda does not show electrode disposed in the dielectric plate.
Ishimura teaches a substrate chuck with such electrode inside chuck portion 2 for substrate attraction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add substrate attraction electrode inside dielectric plate of Fukuda. Doing so would improve substrate holding during process.
Regarding claim 17, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) an insulative coating disposed atop an upper surface of the conductive plate (par. 14: “all the components constituting the susceptor pin 14 are composed of the insulating alumina”). However Fukuda does not teach an elastomer bond layer disposed atop the insulative coating.
Ishimura (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) teaches such elastomer bond (”silicon resin”) between plates a, b for adhesion purposes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add elastomer bond layer between conductive plate and dielectric plate. Doing so would improve bonding between them.
Regarding claim 18, Fukuda teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a substrate support including an electrostatic chuck (susceptor 13), comprising: a conductive plate (conductive plate comprises 26, 27, 33) having an opening formed therethrough; a dielectric plate (dielectric plate comprises heating plate coated alumina 25a and downwardly protruded upper guide 30) having a support surface (top surface) for a substrate (substrate 16) coupled to the conductive plate, wherein the dielectric plate includes a protrusion (30) extending into the opening in the conductive plate; and a lift pin guide (lower guide 31) disposed in the opening of the conductive plate, wherein the lift pin guide includes one or more features that extend from an upper surface of the lift; but Fukuda does not teach an elastomer bond layer disposed between the conductive plate and the dielectric plate; one or more electrodes disposed in the dielectric plate and configured to be coupled to a chucking power supply.
Ishimura (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) teaches such elastomer bond (”silicon resin”) between plates a, b for adhesion purposes and an electrode inside chuck portion 2 coupled to a chucking power supply (power feeding terminal 15) for substrate attraction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add substrate attraction electrode inside dielectric plate of Fukuda. Doing so would improve substrate holding during process and to add elastomer bond layer between conductive plate and dielectric plate. Doing so would improve bonding between them.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda in view of Hori (JP 2020109806 A).
Regarding claim 13, Fukuda does not teach a compliant, gap-filling material disposed between an outer periphery of the protrusion and a surrounding portion of the opening.
Hori teaches compliant material 5, 6 between outer periphery of 3 and inner portion of 1 and 2 for bonding and sealing purposes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add gap filling material between an outer periphery of the protrusion and a surrounding portion of the opening. Doing so would improve bonding and sealing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda in view of Takumi (CN 112673089 A).
Regarding claim 5, Fukuda does not teach an O-ring disposed on the upper surface of the lift pin guide between the lift pin guide and the protrusion.
Takumi teaches sealing O-rings (36, 38) for sealing purposes between two plates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add sealing O-ring between the upper surface of the lift pin guide and the lower surface of the protrusion. Doing so would improve sealing in-between.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is allowable for disclosing “the protrusion in the dielectric plate includes a countersink that mates with the shoulder”.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 3 is Fukuda. However Fukuda does not have the claimed countersink.
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is allowable for disclosing “the one or more features include two shoulders, and wherein the protrusion extends between the two shoulders”.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 6 is Fukuda. However the feature of the lift pin guide of Fukuda has a single feature.
Claims 7-10 are allowable due to dependency on allowable claim 6.
Claim 15 is allowable for disclosing “the protrusion in the dielectric plate includes a countersink that mates with the shoulder”. These limitations, with other claimed limitations in a whole, make the instant invention neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the best prior art in record.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 15 is Fukuda. Fukuda teaches the one or more features include a single outer shoulder that surrounds the protrusion (lower portion of protrusion is surrounded by the feature of the lift pin guide. However Fukuda does not teach the protrusion in the dielectric plate includes a countersink that mates with the shoulder.
Claim 16 is allowable for disclosing “the one or more features include two shoulders, wherein the two shoulders include an inner shoulder disposed around the passageway and an outer shoulder that surrounds the protrusion, and wherein the protrusion includes a countersink that mates with the inner shoulder”.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 16 is Fukuda. However the feature of the lift pin guide of Fukuda does not have the claimed countersink and two shoulders.
Claim 19 is allowable for disclosing “a chucking power supply coupled to the one or more electrodes; an RF power supply coupled to the conductive plate; and an insulative plate disposed beneath the conductive plate to insulate the conductive plate from ground”.
The closest prior art to the claimed invention of claim 19 is Fukuda. However Fukuda does not teach the claimed chucking power supply and insulative plate.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723