DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Amendments filed on 12/24/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 3, 10, 15-16, 18-20 and 26 have been amended and claim 27 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant contends that Lee does not disclose, “a first pixel
comprising a first light-emitting element configured to emit red, green, or blue light during a first period of the first mode" and "one or more third pixels comprising a third light-emitting element configured to display black during the first period of the first mode and configured to emit red, green, or blue light during the second period of the first mode”
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2018/0233084) in view of Park et al (US 2022/0366828) in view of Lee et al (US 2023/0028194).
As to claim 1, Kwon teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel (display device, fig. 3) configured to operate in a first mode or in a second mode different from the first mode ([0197] FIG. 5A illustrates an image display operation during a first period in the first mode), and comprising a first data line (D1, fig. 3), a second data line (D2, fig. 3), and one or more pixels (see pixels PXL, fig. 3) comprising:
a first pixel (one of the pixels in the pixel areas AA2, fig. 3) comprising a first light-emitting element (OLED, Fig. 4A) configured to emit red ([0240]), green ([0240]), or blue ([0240]) light during a first period of the first mode ([0197] FIG. 5A illustrates an image display operation during a first period in the first mode) and a first pixel circuit (PXL1, fig. 4A) connected to the first data line (D1, fig. 3);
a second pixel (the other one of the pixels in the pixel areas AA2, fig. 3) comprising a second light-emitting element (OLED, Fig. 4A) configured to emit red ([0240]), green ([0240]), or blue ([0240]) light during a second period of the first mode ([0197] FIG. 5B illustrates an image display operation during a second period in the first mode) and a second pixel circuit (PXL1, fig. 4A) connected to the second data line (D2, fig. 3); and
one or more third pixels (a first pixel group Ga in the second sub-pixel area SB2, fig. 5A) comprising a third light-emitting element (OLED, Fig. 4A) configured to display black during the first period of the first mode ([0201] Referring to FIG. 5A, during the first period, the first pixel group Ga may not emit light, [0191]) and configured to emit red, green, or blue light during the second period of the first mode ([0202] Referring to FIG. 5B, during the second period different from the first period, the first pixel group Ga may emit light);
Kwon does not teach a demultiplexer circuit, a data-driving circuit and a light control layer as claimed.
However, Park teaches a demultiplexer circuit electrically connected to the display panel (a demultiplexer 120, fig. 2), and comprising a first switch (T1, fig. 2) connected to the first data line (DL1, fig. 2), and a second switch (T3, fig. 2) connected to the second data line (DL3, fig. 2); and
a data-driving circuit (Data Driving Circuit 300, fig. 2) connected to the demultiplexer circuit, and configured to provide a data signal ([0029] The data driving circuit 300 may output data signals for driving a plurality of data output lines OL1 to OLm/2 , fig. 2, [0031]) comprising:
a first data signal comprising a first voltage level to the first data line based on activation of the first switch ([0031] The demultiplexer 120 may electrically connect the plurality of data output lines OL1 to OLm/2 and the data lines DL1 to DLm in response to the third control signal SW. Examiner’s note: Fig. 2 illustrates that when control signal SW1 activated transistor T1, data from the data driver transmits to the first data line DL1); and
a second data signal comprising a second voltage level that is different from the first voltage level to the second data line based on activation of the second switch ([0031], Examiner’s note: Fig. 2 illustrates that data line DL1 is connected the to red pixel, while data line DL3 is connected to the blue pixel. These pixels display different colors, each requiring a different voltage level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon to teach, a demultiplexer and a data-driving circuit, as suggested by Park. The motivation would have been in order improve “display quality, and a method of driving the display device” ([0005]).
Kwon in view of Park do not teach a light control layer above the display panel, comprising a light-blocking part, and configured to control light emitted from the one or more pixels.
However, Lee teaches:
a light control layer above the display panel, comprising a light-blocking part, and configured to control light emitted from the one or more pixels ([0282] in the non-emission area NEMA of the pixel area PXA of the corresponding pixel PXL, the red color filter, the green color filter, and the blue color filter may be used as the first light block pattern LBP1 for blocking transmission of light, fig. 14C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon in view of Park to teach, a light-blocking part, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to enhance the efficiency of a display device ([0004]).
As to claim 16, Kwon teaches an electronic apparatus comprising:
a display panel (display device, fig. 3) configured to operate in one or more frames in a first mode ([0197] FIG. 5A illustrates an image display operation during a first period in the first mode), and comprising a first pixel (one of the pixels in the pixel areas AA2, fig. 3) configured to emit red ([0240]), blue ([0240]), or green ([0240]) light during a first period of the first mode ([0197] FIG. 5A illustrates an image display operation during a first period in the first mode) a second pixel (the other one of the pixels in the pixel areas AA2, fig. 3) configured to emit red ([0240]), blue ([0240]), or green ([0240]) light during a second period of the first mode ([0197] FIG. 5B illustrates an image display operation during a second period in the first mode) and one or more third pixels (a first pixel group Ga in the second sub-pixel area SB2, fig. 5A) configured to display black during the first period of the first mode ([0201] Referring to FIG. 5A, during the first period, the first pixel group Ga may not emit light, [0191]) and configured to emit red, blue, or green light during the second period of the first mode ([0202] Referring to FIG. 5B, during the second period different from the first period, the first pixel group Ga may emit light);
a data-driving circuit (Data driver 230, fig. 3) configured to provide a data signal to the display panel ([0149]);
wherein the data signal comprising a first data signal comprising a first voltage level and a second data signal comprising a second voltage level different from the first voltage level ([0130] When each third pixel PXL3 is supplied with a black data signal, current is not supplied to the corresponding organic light-emitting diode, so that the third pixel PXL3 may be set to a non-light-emitting state), and
Kwon does not teach a demultiplexer circuit, a light blocking part and a light control layer as claimed.
However, park teaches a demultiplexer circuit (a demultiplexer 120, fig. 2) electrically connected to the data-driving circuit (300, fig. 2) and the display panel (100, fig. 2),
wherein the demultiplexer circuit configured to transfer the first data signal to the first pixel, and transfer the second data signal to the second pixel ([0031] The demultiplexer 120 may electrically connect the plurality of data output lines OL1 to OLm/2 and the data lines DL1 to DLm in response to the third control signal SW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon to teach, a demultiplexer, as suggested by Park. The motivation would have been in order improve “display quality, and a method of driving the display device” ([0005]).
Kwon in view of Park does not teach a light control layer and a light-blocking part as claimed.
However, Lee teaches a light control layer arranged on the display panel and comprising a light- blocking part ([0282]); wherein the light-blocking part is configured to control light emitted from the first pixel and the second pixel ([0282] in the non-emission area NEMA of the pixel area PXA of the corresponding pixel PXL, the red color filter, the green color filter, and the blue color filter may be used as the first light block pattern LBP1 for blocking transmission of light, fig. 14C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon in view of Park to teach, a light-blocking part, as suggested by Lee. The motivation would have been in order to enhance the efficiency of a display device ([0004]).
As to claim 17,Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the first pixel (Park: R11, fig. 2) is configured to receive the data signal based on the one or more frames (Park: [0029] The data driving circuit 300 may output data signals for driving a plurality of data output lines OL1 to OLm/2 , fig. 2, [0031]), and wherein the second pixel (Park: B13, fig. 2) is configured to receive the data signal based on the one or more frames (Park: [0029] The data driving circuit 300 may output data signals for driving a plurality of data output lines OL1 to OLm/2 , fig. 2, [0031]).
4. Claim(s) 2-14, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2018/0233084) in view of Park et al (US 2022/0366828) and further in view of Lee et al (US 2023/0028194) and further in view of DONG (US 2024/0040828).
As to claim 2, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee does not expressly discloses wherein the light-blocking part surrounds the first emission layer and the second emission layer in plan view as claimed.
However, DONG teaches the display device, wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first emission layer (a first light-emitting element, fig. 3), and the second light-emitting element comprises a second emission layer (a second light-emitting element 202, fig. 3), and wherein the light-blocking part surrounds the first emission layer and the second emission layer in plan view (fig. 13 illustrates that a light-blocking layer 300 surrounds plurality of pixels), and defines a first opening overlapping the first emission layer and a second opening overlapping the second emission layer (see fig. 13 and the corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a combination of Kwon, Park and Lee to teach, the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element, as suggested by DONG. The motivation would have been in order to improve “the uniformity of white light characteristics under different viewing angles and display quality” ([0005]).
As to claim 3, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the display panel further comprises a third data line (Kwon: D3, fig. 3) and a fourth data line (Kwon: D4, fig. 3), wherein the one or more third pixels further comprise: a third pixel circuit (PXL1, fig. 4A);
a fourth pixel electrically connected to the third data line (Kwon: figure 3 illustrates plurality of pixels connected to the third data line D3); and
a fifth pixel electrically connected to the fourth data line (Kwon: figure 3 illustrates plurality of pixels connected to the fourth data line D4).
As to claim 4, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the third light-emitting element comprises a third emission layer (DONG: light-emitting element 201, fig. 3), wherein the light-blocking part surrounds the third emission layer of the fourth pixel, and does not overlap the third emission layer of the fifth pixel, in plan view (DONG: light-blocking structure 301 and a second light-blocking structure 302, figs. 2 and 3), wherein the light-blocking part defines a third opening overlaps the third emission layer of the fourth pixel (DONG: see fig. 2 and the corresponding paragraphs).
As to claim 5, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the data signal further comprises a third data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL2, fig. 2) and a fourth data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL4, fig. 2), and wherein the demultiplexer circuit further comprises a third switch (Park: T2, fig. 2) connected to the third data line (Park: DL2, fig. 2) and the data-driving circuit (Park: Data Driving Circuit 300, fig. 2) and a fourth switch (Park: T4, fig. 2) connected to the fourth data line (Park: DL4, fig. 2) and the data-driving circuit (Park: Data Driving Circuit 300, fig. 2).
As to claim 6, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the data-driving circuit is configured to provide the third data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL2, fig. 2) to the third data line (Park: DL2, fig. 2) based on activation of the third switch (Park: T2, fig. 2, [0036]-[0037], [0043]).
As to claim 7, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the third data signal corresponds to black being displayed in the third light-emitting element (Kwon: [0115] For example, in the first mode, the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the first sub-pixel area SB1 may be supplied with black data signals).
As to claim 8, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the data-driving circuit is configured to provide the fourth data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL4, fig. 2) to the fourth data line (Park: DL4, fig. 2) based on activation of the fourth switch (Park: T4, fig. 2, [0036]-[0037], [0043]).
As to claim 9, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the fourth data signal comprises a third voltage level that is different from the first voltage level and the second voltage level (Kwon: [0115] For example, in the first mode, the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the first sub-pixel area SB1 may be supplied with black data signals).
As to claim 10, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, further comprising a black signal provider circuit configured to provide a black signal to the one or more third pixels, and comprising a black switch configured to control the black signal (Kwon: [0115] For example, in the first mode, the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the first sub-pixel area SB1 may be supplied with black data signals, T2 in figure 4A controls data to the pixel).
As to claim 11, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the black signal provider circuit is configured to provide the black signal to the third data line based on activation of the black switch in the first mode (Kwon: [0115] For example, in the first mode, the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the first sub-pixel area SB1 may be supplied with black data signals, T2 in figure 4A controls data to the pixel).
As to claim 12, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the data-driving circuit is configured to provide the fourth data signal to the third data line based on activation of a normal switch in the second mode (Kwon: [0116] In the second mode, both the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the first sub-pixel area SB1 and the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the second sub-pixel area SB2 may be supplied with valid data signals).
As to claim 13, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee does not expressly discloses the display device as claimed.
However, DONG teaches the display device, wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first emission layer (a first light-emitting element 201, fig4), wherein the second light-emitting element comprises a second emission layer (a second light-emitting element 202, fig. 4), wherein the light-blocking part comprises: a first light-blocking portion (a first light-blocking structure 301, fig. 4) surrounding the first emission layer (a first light-emitting element 201, fig4), and spaced from an edge of the first emission layer by a first width, in plan view (as seen in fig. 4); and a second light-blocking portion (a second light-blocking structure 302, fig. 4) surrounding the second emission layer (a second light-emitting element 202, fig. 4), and spaced from an edge of the second emission layer by a second width, in plan view (see fig. 4), the second width being less than the first width (Fig. 4 illustrates that the first width between 201 and 301 is larger than the second width between 202 and 302).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon in view of Park and Lee to teach, the display device, as suggested by DONG. The motivation would have been in order to improve “the uniformity of white light characteristics under different viewing angles and display quality” ([0005]).
As to claim 14, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the display device, wherein the first light-blocking portion and the second light-blocking portion are integral (DONG: Fig. 13 illustrates integrated light-blocking layer 300).
As to claim 23, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee do not expressly discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed.
However, DONG teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the first pixel comprises a first emission layer (a first light-emitting element 201, fig4), and the second pixel comprises a second emission layer (a second light-emitting element 202, fig. 4), wherein the light-blocking part comprises a first light-blocking portion (a first light-blocking structure 301, fig. 4) and a second light-blocking portion (a second light-blocking structure 302, fig. 4), wherein the first light-blocking portion surrounds the first emission layer (a first light-emitting element 201, fig4), and wherein the second light-blocking portion surrounds the second emission layer (a second light-emitting element 202, fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Park and Lee to teach, the electronic apparatus, as suggested by DONG. The motivation would have been in order to improve “the uniformity of white light characteristics under different viewing angles and display quality” ([0005]).
As to claim 24, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the first light-blocking portion (DONG: a first light-blocking structure 301, fig. 4) and the second light-blocking portion (DONG: a second light-blocking structure 302, fig. 4) are configured to a defined shape (DONG: fig. 4 illustrates that both 301 and 302 are circular in shape).
5. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2018/0233084) in view of Park et al (US 2022/0366828) in view of Lee et al (US 2023/0028194) and further in view of DONG (US 2024/0040828) and further in view of Ma et al (US 2022/0376213).
As to claim 15, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee does not teach the display device as claimed.
However, DONG teaches the display device, wherein the light-blocking part covers a surface of the display panel (a light-blocking layer 300, fig. 13), and defines first openings overlapping light-emitting element (first light-emitting elements 201, fig. 4) and second openings that are smaller than the first openings (corresponding to second light-emitting elements 202, fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon, Park and Lee to teach, the light blocking part, as suggested by DONG. The motivation would have been in order to improve “the uniformity of white light characteristics under different viewing angles and display quality” ([0005]).
Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of DONG does not teach light-blocking part … defines first openings overlapping the first light- emitting element and the second light-emitting element in a plan view.
However, Ma teaches light-blocking part … defines first openings overlapping the first light- emitting element and the second light-emitting element in a plan view ([0063] the light emitting portions 20 may include one or more first-type light emitting portions 21, one or more second-type light emitting portions 22, and one or more third-type light emitting portions 23, fig. 13B illustrates two third-type light emitting portions 23 in one opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon, Park, Lee and DONG to teach, the light blocking part, as suggested by Ma. The motivation would have been to provide a different black matrix design that enhances display quality.
6. Claim(s) 18-22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2018/0233084) in view of Park et al (US 2022/0366828) and further in view of Lee et al (US 2023/0028194) and further in view of Ma et al (US 2022/0376213).
As to claim 18, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee teaches wherein the first pixel (Lee: PXL1, fig. 14C) comprises a first emission layer (Lee: a first emission area EMA1, fig. 14C), and the second pixel (Lee: PXL2, fig. 14C) comprises a second emission layer (Lee: a second emission area EMA2, fig. 14C).
Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee does not teach the light blocking part as claimed.
However, Ma teaches wherein the light-blocking part surrounds each of the first emission layer and the second emission layer in plan view, and defines an opening overlapping each of the first emission layer and the second emission layer ([0063] the light emitting portions 20 may include one or more first-type light emitting portions 21, one or more second-type light emitting portions 22, and one or more third-type light emitting portions 23, fig. 13B illustrates two third-type light emitting portions 23 in one opening surrounded by the black matrix body 44 and the opening overlaps the two third-type light emitting portions 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee to teach, the light blocking part, as suggested by Ma. The motivation would have been to provide a different black matrix design that enhances display quality.
As to claim 19, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of Ma teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the one or more third pixels comprise a fourth pixel (Park: G12, fig. 2) and a fifth pixel (Park: G14, fig. 2).
As to claim 20, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of Ma teaches the electronic apparatus, wherein the one or more third pixels comprise a third emission layer, wherein the light-blocking part further surrounds the third emission layer of the fourth pixel (Ma: fig. 13B illustrates plurality of emission layers surrounded by the light-blocking part 44 ), and does not overlap the third emission layer of the fourth pixel, in a plan view, and wherein the opening further overlaps the third emission layer of the fourth pixel (Ma: fig. 13B illustrates plurality of emission layers surrounded by the light-blocking part 44 and the light-blocking part 44 does not overlap any emission layers. In addition, each opening overlaps the emission layers).
As to claim 21, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of Ma teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the data signal further comprises a third data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL2, fig. 2) and a fourth data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL4, fig. 2), and wherein the fourth data signal is based on black displayed in the third emission layer (Examiner’s note: it is well known that, at least once during the lifetime of a display device, a black signal is transmitted to each light emitting element).
As to claim 22, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee and further in view of Ma teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the fourth data signal (Park: data signal from the data driving circuit is transmitted to the DL4, fig. 2) comprises a third voltage level different from the first voltage level and the second voltage level (Examiner’s note: it is well known that, at least once during the lifetime of a display device, each light emitting element may require different data voltages to output different image lights. Furthermore, each pixel displays a different color, which requires a different voltage levels).
As to claim 25, Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee does not teach the electronic apparatus as claimed.
However, Ma teaches the electronic apparatus, further comprising one or more of the first pixel (plurality of pixels, fig. 13B), wherein the light-blocking part (black matrix body 44, fig. 13B) is configured to cover a surface of the display panel and comprises one or more openings (as seen in fig. 13B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon in view of Park and further in view of Lee to teach, the light blocking part, as suggested by Ma. The motivation would have been to provide a different black matrix design that enhances display quality.
7. Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2018/0233084) in view of Park et al (US 2022/0366828) and further in view of DONG (US 2024/0040828) and further in view of Ma et al (US 2022/0376213).
As to claim 26, Kwon teaches an electronic apparatus comprising:
a display panel (display device, fig. 3) configured to operate in one or more frames and comprising a first pixel (one of the pixels in the pixel areas AA2, fig. 3) a second pixel (the other one of the pixels in the pixel areas AA2, fig. 3) a fourth pixel, and a fifth pixel (see pixels PXL, fig. 3);
a data-driving circuit (data driver 230, fig. 3) configured to provide to the display panel a first data signal comprising a first voltage level ([0065] a valid image) and a second data signal comprising a second voltage level that is different from the first voltage level ([0065] a black image);
a black signal provider circuit configured to provide a black signal to the fourth pixel, and comprising a black switch configured to control the black signal ([0115] For example, in the first mode, the first pixels PXL1 disposed in the first sub-pixel area SB1 may be supplied with black data signals, T2 in figure 4A controls data to the pixel),
wherein the display panel is configured to operate in a first mode, or in a second mode different from the first mode ([0197] FIG. 5A illustrates an image display operation during a first period in the first mode).
Kwon does not teach a first emission layer, a second emission layer, a light control layer, a light-blocking part and a demultiplexer circuit as claimed.
However, Park teaches a demultiplexer circuit (a demultiplexer 120, fig. 2) electrically connected to the data-driving circuit (Data Driving Circuit 300, fig. 2) and the display panel (the display panel 100, fig. 2) and configured to transfer the first data signal to the first pixel, and to transfer the second data signal to the second pixel (see fig. 2 and the corresponding paragraphs);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon to teach, a demultiplexer and a data-driving circuit, as suggested by Park. The motivation would have been in order improve “display quality, and a method of driving the display device” ([0005]).
Kwon in view of Park do not teach a light control layer and a light-blocking part as claimed.
However, DONG teaches a light control layer arranged on the display panel and comprising a light-blocking part configured to control light emitted from the first pixel and the second pixel (first light-blocking structure 301, fig. 3), surrounding each of the first emission layer and the second emission layer (light-emitting element 20, fig. 13) in plan view (a light-blocking layer 300, fig. 12),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a combination of Kwon, and Park to teach, a light control layer and a light-blocking part, as suggested by DONG. The motivation would have been in order to improve “the uniformity of white light characteristics under different viewing angles and display quality” ([0005]).
Kwon in view of Park and further in view of DONG do not teach a light-blocking part defining an opening overlapping each of the first emission layer and the second emission layer as claimed.
However, Ma teaches a light-blocking part defining an opening overlapping each of the first emission layer and the second emission layer ([0063] the light emitting portions 20 may include one or more first-type light emitting portions 21, one or more second-type light emitting portions 22, and one or more third-type light emitting portions 23, fig. 13B illustrates two third-type light emitting portions 23 in one opening surrounded by the black matrix body 44 and the opening overlaps the two third-type light emitting portions 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kwon, Park and DONG to teach, the light blocking part, as suggested by Ma. The motivation would have been to provide a different black matrix design that enhances display quality.
27. (Canceled)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMEN W BOGALE/Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628