DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sung et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0121983, Applicant’s IDS filed 01/17/2025) in view of Kwon et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0233084) and further in view of Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0194634, Applicant’s IDS filed 01/17/2025).
The applied reference (Kwon et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0233084)) has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Consider claim 1, Sung discloses a display panel (paragraph [0013], organic light emitting display device), comprising:
a substrate (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, substrate 110);
a first sub-pixel configured to emit a first light (paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 3, row 1, pixel electrode 191B1 forming an organic light emitting diodes (OLED)), a first pixel electrode (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, pixel electrode 191B1), a first organic emitting pattern disposed on the first pixel electrode (paragraph [0054, Fig. 2, organic emission layers 370B formed on pixel electrode 191B1), and a common electrode disposed on the first organic emitting pattern (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, common electrode 270 formed on organic emission layers 370B),
a second sub-pixel configured to emit the first light (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, column 2, row 1, pixel electrode 191B1 forming an organic light emitting diodes (OLED)), a second pixel electrode (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, pixel electrode 191B1), a third organic emitting pattern disposed on the second pixel electrode (paragraph [0054, Fig. 2, organic emission layers 370B formed on pixel electrode 191B1), and the common electrode disposed on the third organic emitting pattern (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, common electrode 270 formed on organic emission layers 370B),
a third sub-pixel configured to emit the first light (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, column 1, row 1, pixel electrode 191B1 forming an organic light emitting diodes (OLED)), a third pixel electrode (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, pixel electrode 191B1), a fourth organic emitting pattern disposed on the third pixel electrode (paragraph [0054, Fig. 2, organic emission layers 370B formed on pixel electrode 191B1), and the common electrode disposed on the fourth organic emitting pattern (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, common electrode 270 formed on organic emission layers 370B),
wherein the first, third, and fourth organic emitting patterns are spaced apart from each other, and are arranged along a first direction (paragraph [0054], Figs. 2, 10, spaced apart by insulating layer 361).
Sung does not specifically disclose the substrate including a first region and a second region, the first sub-pixel including a first pixel circuit, the first pixel electrode connected to the first pixel circuit, and the first pixel electrode and the first organic emitting pattern being disposed in the first region;
the second sub-pixel including a second pixel circuit, the second pixel electrode connected to the second pixel circuit and the second pixel electrode and the third organic emitting pattern being disposed in the second region; and
the third sub-pixel including a third pixel circuit, the third pixel electrode connected to the third pixel circuit and the third pixel electrode and the fourth organic emitting pattern being disposed in the second region.
Kwon discloses the substrate including a first region and a second region (paragraph [0074], Fig. 2, pixel areas AA1 and AA2 with a plurality of pixels PXL1, PXL2, and PXL3 are disposed in the pixel areas, see paragraph [0075]), the first sub-pixel including a first pixel circuit (paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, first pixel PXL1 having a circuit), the first pixel electrode connected to the first pixel circuit (paragraphs [0175] to [0180], Fig. 4, pixel structure including several electrode elements), and the first pixel electrode and the first organic emitting pattern being disposed in the first region (paragraph [0099], Fig. 5A, pixel area AA1 including pixel PXL1 having a predetermined light-emitting pattern and pixel electrode, see paragraphs [0175] to [0180]).
the second sub-pixel including a second pixel circuit (paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, second pixel PXL2 having a circuit), the second pixel electrode connected to the second pixel circuit and the second pixel electrode (paragraphs [0175] to [0180], Fig. 4, pixel structure including several electrode elements), and the second pixel electrode and the third organic emitting pattern being disposed in the second region (paragraph [0099], Figs. 5A, 7A, pixel area AA2 including pixel PXL2 having a light-emitting pattern and pixel electrode, see paragraph [0241], Fig. 7A); and
the third sub-pixel including a third pixel circuit (paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, pixel PXL2 having a circuit), the third pixel electrode connected to the third pixel circuit and the third pixel electrode (paragraphs [0175] to [0180], Fig. 4, pixel structure including several electrode elements), and the third pixel electrode and the fourth organic emitting pattern being disposed in the second region (paragraph [0099], Figs. 5A, 7A, pixel area AA2 including pixel PXL2 having a light-emitting pattern and pixel electrode, see paragraph [0241], Fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace substrate as disclosed by Sung with the substrate including regions as taught by Kwon to provide a predetermined image to be displayed on the pixel areas (Kwon, paragraph [0075]).
The combination of Sung and Kwon does not specifically disclose a second organic emitting pattern disposed in a transmission portion of the first region, the transmission portion being defined as a region through which a light incident onto a first surface of the display panel is transmitted to a second surface of the display panel opposite to the first surface,
wherein the first, second, third, and fourth organic emitting patterns are spaced apart from each other, and are arranged along a first direction,
wherein a closest distance between the first and second organic emitting patterns in the first direction is the same as a closest distance between the third and fourth organic emitting patterns in the first direction, and
wherein the second organic emitting pattern is not overlapped with any pixel electrode of the display panel in a plan view.
Kang discloses a second organic emitting pattern disposed in a transmission portion of the first region (paragraph [0053], Fig. 2, light scattering layer 150 disposed in the transmission region TA wherein transmission region TA is disposed in first pixel Pa), the transmission portion being defined as a region through which a light incident onto a first surface of the display panel is transmitted to a second surface of the display panel opposite to the first surface (paragraph [0053], transmission region TA allowing an external light to be transmitted therethrough);
wherein the first (Fig. 9, intermediate layer 532), second (Fig. 9, light scattering layer 550), third, and fourth organic emitting patterns (Fig. 9, intermediate layer 582) are spaced apart from each other (paragraph [0142], Fig. 9, spaced apart by pixel defining layers 540), and are arranged along a first direction (Fig, 9, arranged left to right),
wherein a closest distance between the first and second organic emitting patterns in the first direction is the same as a closest distance between the third and fourth organic emitting patterns in the first direction (paragraph [0142], Fig. 9, spaced apart by pixel defining layers 540; thus, defining same distance between elements), and
wherein the second organic emitting pattern is not overlapped with any pixel electrode of the display panel in a plan view (Fig. 9, light scattering layer 550 separated from intermediate layer 532 and intermediate layer 582 by pixel defining layers 540).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first region as disclosed by the combination of Sung and Kwon with the first region as taught by Kang to allow an external light to be transmitted from the intermediate layer 132 through the transmission region (Kang, paragraph [0053]).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Consider claim 2, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses wherein an entire area of the second organic emitting pattern is disposed within the transmission portion (Kang, Fig. 9, light scattering layer 550 completely disposed in transmission area TA).
Consider claim 3, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses wherein a shape of the second organic emitting pattern is the same as a shape of the first organic emitting pattern (Kang, Fig. 9, intermediate layer 532 has same shape as light scattering layer 550).
Consider claim 4, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses wherein the shape of the second organic emitting pattern is the same as a shape of the third organic emitting pattern (Kang, Fig. 9, intermediate layer 532 has same shape as light scattering layer 550).
Consider claim 13, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses wherein a density of the first pixel electrode in the first region is less than a density of the second and third pixel electrodes in the second region (Kwon, Fig. 5A).
Consider claim 15, the combination of Sung and Kang discloses a fifth sub-pixel configured to emit the first light (paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 3, row 1, pixel electrode 191B2 forming an organic light emitting diode (OLED)), the fifth sub-pixel including a fifth pixel electrode (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, pixel electrode 191B2) spaced apart from the first pixel electrode in the plan view (paragraph [0086], Fig. 10, interval e between the pixel electrode 191B1 of the first blue pixel B1 and the pixel electrode 191B2 of the second blue pixel B2),
The combination of Sung and Kang does not specifically disclose a first region, pixel electrode connected to the first pixel circuit, and disposed in the first region.
Kwon discloses a first region (paragraph [0074], Fig. 2, pixel area AA1 with a plurality of pixels disposed in the pixel area, see paragraph [0075]), pixel electrode connected to the first pixel circuit (paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, first pixel PXL1 having a circuit wherein paragraphs [0175] to [0180], Fig. 4, pixel structure including several electrode elements), and disposed in the first region (paragraphs [0175] to [0180], pixel electrode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace substrate as disclosed by the combination of Sung and Kang with the substrate including regions as taught by Kwon to provide a predetermined image to be displayed on the pixel areas (Kwon, paragraph [0075]).
Consider claim 16, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses wherein the fifth sub-pixel further includes the first organic emitting pattern disposed on the fifth pixel electrode (paragraph [0054, Fig. 2, organic emission layers 370B formed on pixel electrode 191B2), wherein the first organic emitting pattern is overlapped with both of the first and fifth pixel electrodes (paragraph [0086], Fig. 10, emission layer 370B of two neighboring blue pixels B1 and B2 is formed of one pattern such that they are connected without an interval therebetween).
Consider claim 17, the combination of Sung and Kwon does not specifically disclose a pixel defining layer on the first pixel electrode, the pixel defining layer including a first opening in the transmission portion.
Kang discloses a pixel defining layer on the first pixel electrode, the pixel defining layer including a first opening in the transmission portion (paragraphs [0054], [0142], Figs. 2, 9, pixel defining layer 140 is extended from an end portion of the pixel electrode 131 disposed in the transmission region TA having a transmission window TW wherein transmission region TA is disposed adjacent to the first light emission region P1, see paragraph [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the first pixel electrode as disclosed by the combination of Sung and Kwon with the first pixel electrode including the pixel defining layer as taught by Kang to allow an external light to be transmitted therethrough (Kang, paragraph [0053].
Consider claim 18, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses wherein the first opening is overlapped with the second organic emitting pattern (paragraph [0053], Figs. 2, 9, light scattering layer 150 configured to scatter a light incident from the intermediate layer 132 is disposed in the transmission region TA).
Consider claim 19, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang discloses a pixel electrode layer including a plurality of pixel electrodes including the first, second, and third pixel electrodes, wherein a density of pixel electrodes in the first region is less than a density of pixel electrodes in the second region, and wherein the pixel electrodes in the first region are defined as all pixel electrodes disposed in the first region, and the pixel electrodes in the second region are defined as all pixel electrodes disposed in the second region (Kwon, Fig. 5A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang in view of Jung et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0225815).
Consider claim 5, the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang does not specifically disclose wherein the first, second third and fourth organic emitting pattern consist of the same material.
Jung discloses wherein the first, second third and fourth organic emitting pattern consist of the same material (paragraph [0065], Fig. 5, first emission layer 212, the second emission layer 222, and the third emission layer 232 may be organic emission layers, and may respectively include an organic emission material and transmission adjusting layer 252 may be formed of an organic light emitting, see paragraph [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the organic emitting pattern as disclosed by the combination of Sung, Kwon, and Kang with the organic emitting pattern as taught by Jung to transmit external light when the electric signal is not applied thereto, and to emit light of a certain color when the electric signals are applied thereto (Jung, paragraph [0078]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sung, Kwon, Kang, and Jung discloses a first common layer disposed between the first pixel electrode and the first organic emitting pattern (Jung, paragraph [0065], Figs. 4, 5, hole injection transport layer for injecting and/or transporting the holes may be disposed (or located) between the first, second, and third emission layers 212, 222, and 232 and the first, second, and third sub-pixels 21, 22, and 23); and a second common layer disposed between the first organic emitting pattern and the common electrode (Jung, paragraph [0065], Figs. 4, 5, the electron injection transport layer for injecting and/or transporting the electrons may be disposed (or located) between the first, second, and third emission layers 212, 222, and 232, and the opposite electrode 26).
The combination of Sung, Kwon, Kang, and Jung fails to disclose wherein each of the first and second common layers is commonly disposed in the first sub-pixel, the transmission portion, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sung, Kwon, Kang, and Jung discloses a fourth sub-pixel configured to emit a second light different from the first light (Sung, paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 3, row 1, pixel electrode 191R1 forming an organic light emitting diodes (OLED)), the fourth sub-pixel including a fourth pixel circuit (Kwon, paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, first pixel PXL1 having a circuit), a fourth pixel electrode connected to the fourth pixel circuit (Kwon, paragraphs [0175] to [0180], Fig. 4, pixel structure including several electrode elements), a fifth organic emitting pattern disposed on the fourth pixel electrode (paragraph [0054, Fig. 2, organic emission layers 370B formed on pixel electrode 191R1), and the common electrode disposed on the fifth organic pattern (paragraph [0054], Fig. 2, common electrode 270 formed on organic emission layers 370R), the fourth pixel electrode and the fifth organic emitting pattern being disposed in the first region (Kwon, paragraph [0099], Fig. 5A, pixel area AA1 including pixel PXL1 having a predetermined light-emitting pattern and pixel electrode, see paragraphs [0175] to [0180]).
The combination of Sung, Kwon, Kang, and Jung a sixth organic emitting pattern disposed in the first region, wherein the fifth organic emitting pattern is disposed between the first organic emitting pattern and the second organic emitting pattern in the plan view, wherein the fifth and sixth organic emitting patterns are spaced apart from each other in the plan view, and consist of the same material, wherein a closest distance between the fifth and sixth organic emitting patterns in the first direction is the same as the closest distance between the first and second organic emitting patterns in the first direction, and wherein the sixth organic emitting pattern is not overlapped with any pixel electrode of the display panel in the plan view.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose the details of each these claims.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record fails to disclose the pixel defining layer including a second opening disposed inside the first pixel electrode in the plan view.
The remaining claims are objected to due to their dependency on objected claims.
Claims 21-29 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record fails to disclose an anode layer disposed on the substrate in the first and second regions and including a plurality of anodes spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sung, Kwon, Kang, and Jung discloses a first sub-pixel including a first pixel circuit, a first pixel electrode connected to the first pixel circuit (Sung, paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 3, row 1, pixel electrode 191B1 and Kwon, paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, first pixel PXL1 having a circuit); a second sub-pixel including a second pixel electrode connected to the first pixel circuit and spaced apart from the first pixel electrode (Sung, paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 3, row 2, pixel electrode 191B2 and Kwon, paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, first pixel PXL1 having a circuit); a third sub-pixel including a second pixel circuit, a third pixel electrode connected to the second pixel circuit (Sung, paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 2, row 1, pixel electrode 191B1 and Kwon, paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, second pixel PXL2 having a circuit); and a fourth sub-pixel including a fourth pixel electrode connected to the second pixel circuit and spaced apart from the third pixel electrode (Sung, paragraph [0054], Fig. 10, column 2, row 2, pixel electrode 191B2 and Kwon, paragraphs [0182], [0183], Fig. 4A, second pixel PXL2 having a circuit), wherein the first, second, third, and fourth sub-pixels display the same color (Fig,. 10, blue pixels B).
The combination further discloses a transmission portion is defined as a region through which a light incident onto a first surface of the display panel is transmitted to a second surface of the display panel opposite to the first surface (Kang, paragraph [0053], transmission region TA allowing an external light to be transmitted therethrough).
The combination of Sung, Kwon, Kang, and Jung fails to disclose wherein a transmission portion is disposed between the first and third sub-pixels and between the second and fourth sub-pixels in a plan view.
The remaining claims are allowed due to dependency on allowed claims.
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797