DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The four information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on April 7, 2025, August 18, 2025, August 21, 2025, and January 19, 2026, have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0003], ‘JP2004-152733 A’ is listed as prior art for the instant application. However, this appears to be a typo. ‘JP2004-152733 A’ is directed towards a heater and appears unrelated to the instant application. The Examiner suggests rewriting paragraph [0003] to state “Patent Literature 3: JP2009-152733 A”, which appears to be correct application number, and is listed in the first mailed IDS.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a ‘person detection unit’ in claim 1,
a ‘person identification information acquisition unit’ in claim 1,
a ‘ image processing unit’ in Claim 1,
a ‘ recording control unit’ in Claim 1,
a ‘searched person information acquisition unit’ in Claim 1,
a ‘search unit’ in Claims 1, 2, and 3,
a ‘ presentation unit’ in Claim 1, and
a ‘concealment unit’ in Claim 4.
Each unit is being interpreted as a software implemented by a processor. Support for this interpretation can be found in paragraph [0018] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “difficult” in Claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “difficult” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The instant specification states that the concealment unit may use encryption and hash functions (see paragraph [0051]) to conceal the identification information, but the specification fails to define ‘difficult’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Takenaka (US Pub No 20040081338), hereinafter Takenaka.
As to Claim 1, Takenaka teaches a person search apparatus (see Fig. 1, face identification device 2) comprising:
a person detection unit (see Fig. 1, computer 3) that detects a person shown in a captured image (see paragraph [0027], “The computer 3 includes detection means for detecting face images from images of people videotaped by the surveillance cameras 1”);
a person identification information acquisition unit (see Fig. 1, computer 3) that acquires person identification information adapted to identify each person detected by the person detection unit (see paragraph [0028], “After the face detection, featuring points such as eyes, nose, mouth, and ears are detected from the face image (Step S3), and the amount of feature about the shape and position of each detected featuring point is extracted”, wherein the ‘featuring points’ are interpreted as the identification information. The instant specification states that identification information may include feature information (see paragraph [0023], “The person identification information of the first embodiment includes an image ID, a position in the image, and feature information…The feature information is information indicating a feature of the appearance of the targeted person shown in the captured image and includes information indicating a facial feature of the targeted person. For example, the feature information includes information indicating a feature such as the shape of the outline of the face of the targeted person and the arrangement of facial parts”),
an image processing unit (see Fig. 1, computer 3) that executes a predetermined image process on the captured image so that the person shown in the captured image is not identified (see paragraph [0031], “Therefore, the mosaic process is applied to the detected face image portion (Step S16). FIG. 5 shows an example of images to which the mosaic process has been applied: the mosaic process 12 is applied to each face image of the persons 10B to 10F except the specific person so as to abstract their faces unrecognizably”);
a recording control unit (see Fig. 1, storage device 5) that records the image subjected to the predetermined image process and the person identification information corresponding to the image (see paragraph [0035], “When all the detected faces have been checked (S19: YES), the image to which the procedure of Steps S16 and S17 has been applied is recorded to the storage device 5 (Step S20)”);
a searched person information acquisition unit (see Fig. 1, storage device 5) that acquires searched person information that is information related to a person to be searched (see paragraph [0027], “and reference numeral 5 is a storage device which previously stores the face image data of a specific person (e.g., a suspect on the wanted list)”, wherein the ‘suspect’ is interpreted as the person to be searched);
a search unit (see Fig. 1, computer 3) that searches for a person indicated by the searched person information from persons indicated by the person identification information recorded in advance (see paragraph [0027]., “The computer 3 includes…determination means for determining the presence or absence of a match between a detected face image and the face image stored in the storage device 5 by comparing them”);
and a presentation unit (see Fig. 1, identification results output device 4) that presents information indicating that the person indicated by the searched person information is shown when the person indicated by the searched person information is extracted from the persons indicated by the person identification information (see paragraph [0027], “The identification results output device 4 is composed of a display monitor for displaying identification results, a printer for printing identification results, and other output devices”, and see paragraph [0033], “After the process in Step S 17, the identification results output device 4 displays, with a warning, the images shown in FIG. 5 including the image of the specific person 10A”).
As to Claim 2, Takenaka teaches wherein the person identification information adapted to identify each person includes facial feature information on each person unit (see paragraph [0028], “After the face detection, featuring points such as eyes, nose, mouth, and ears are detected from the face image (Step S3), and the amount of feature about the shape and position of each detected featuring point is extracted”),
and wherein the search unit searches for the person indicated by the searched person information based on the facial feature information indicated by the person identification information recorded in advance (see paragraph [0030], “In the comparison, featuring points (eyes, nose, mouth, and the like) are detected from the detected face image (Step S31), and the amount of feature about the shape and position of each detected featuring point is extracted (Step S32). The extracted amount of feature is compared with the amount of feature of the face registered in the storage device 5 (Step S33). Based on the comparison results, it is determined whether these face images match with each other or not at Step S15 shown in FIG. 3”).
As to Claim 5, Takenaka teaches a person search method (see paragraph [0011], “The face identification method of the present invention”) comprising:
detecting a person shown in a captured image (see paragraph [0027], “The computer 3 includes detection means for detecting face images from images of people videotaped by the surveillance cameras 1”);
acquiring person identification information adapted to identify each person detected in the detecting (see paragraph [0028], “After the face detection, featuring points such as eyes, nose, mouth, and ears are detected from the face image (Step S3), and the amount of feature about the shape and position of each detected featuring point is extracted”);
executing a predetermined image process on the captured image so that the person shown in the captured image is not identified (see paragraph [0031], “Therefore, the mosaic process is applied to the detected face image portion (Step S16). FIG. 5 shows an example of images to which the mosaic process has been applied: the mosaic process 12 is applied to each face image of the persons 10B to 10F except the specific person so as to abstract their faces unrecognizably”);
recording the image subjected to the predetermined image process and the person identification information corresponding to the image (see paragraph [0035], “When all the detected faces have been checked (S19: YES), the image to which the procedure of Steps S16 and S17 has been applied is recorded to the storage device 5 (Step S20)”);
acquiring searched person information that is information related to a person to be searched; searching for a person indicated by the searched person information from persons indicated by the person identification information recorded in advance (see paragraph [0027], “and reference numeral 5 is a storage device which previously stores the face image data of a specific person (e.g., a suspect on the wanted list)”);
and presenting information indicating that the person indicated by the searched person information is shown when the person indicated by the searched person information is extracted from the persons indicated by the person identification information (see paragraph [0030], “In the comparison, featuring points (eyes, nose, mouth, and the like) are detected from the detected face image (Step S31), and the amount of feature about the shape and position of each detected featuring point is extracted (Step S32). The extracted amount of feature is compared with the amount of feature of the face registered in the storage device 5 (Step S33). Based on the comparison results, it is determined whether these face images match with each other or not at Step S15 shown in FIG. 3”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaka (US Pub No 20040081338), hereinafter Takenaka, in view of Kawase (US Pub No 20210110625), hereinafter Kawase.
As to Claim 3, Takenaka fails to teach that the person identification information adapted to identify each person includes ID information on each person, and wherein the search unit searches for the person indicated by the searched person information based on the ID information indicated by the person identification information recorded in advance.
However, in an analogous art, Kawase teaches an authentication system (see paragraph [0047], “According to an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a facial authentication system including”) which comprises
obtaining person identification information adapted to identify each person includes ID information on each person (see paragraph [0094], “According to one of embodiments of the present invention, the acquisition part is configured to acquire a facial feature value corresponding to an identifier”)
and wherein the search unit searches for the person indicated by the searched person information based on the ID information indicated by the person identification information recorded in advance (see paragraph [0101], “a facial authentication apparatus…searches a database (not shown) using each ID as a key, and acquires from the database a facial feature value registered in advance in association with each ID”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the ID information taught by Kawase with the person search apparatus taught by Takenaka. The motivation for doing so would be to use the ID information to improve the accuracy in facial accuracy. Kawase teaches in paragraph [0118], “According to the first example embodiment of the present invention, the number of facial authentication targets can be narrowed down using a wireless tag such as an RFID…Further, accuracy in facial authentication can be improved by narrowing down the number of authentication targets.” Thus, it would have been obvious to combine the ID information taught by Kawase with the teachings of Takenaka in order to obtain the invention as claimed in Claim 3.
As to Claim 4, Takenaka fails to teach a concealment unit that processes the person identification information to make it difficult for a third party to decipher the person identification information.
However, Kawase teaches a concealment unit (see paragraph [0056], “According to an aspect of the present invention, there are provided a program causing a computer to execute processing comprising”),
that processes the person identification information to make it difficult for a third party to decipher the person identification information (see paragraph [0125], “The data server 40 may be configured to encrypt a facial feature value corresponding to the ID for transmission to the gate apparatus 100, and also encrypt and store facial feature values”, wherein ‘encryption’ is a common method known in the art to make it difficult for a third party to decipher information).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the encryption and identification information taught by Kawase with the person search apparatus taught by Kawase. The motivation for doing so would be to increase security when data is being transmitted. Kawase teaches in paragraph [0125], “The search request (query) may include identification information and location information, etc., of the gate apparatus 100 which a sending source of the request. The data server 40 may be configured to encrypt a facial feature value corresponding to the ID for transmission to the gate apparatus 100, and also encrypt and store facial feature values”). Thus, it would have been obvious to combine the encryption and ID information taught by Kawase with the teachings of Takenaka in order to obtain the invention as claimed in Claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoo et al. (US Pub No 20140023248), teaches a method which comprises masking facial data in video data in order to protect user privacy.
Yamazaki et al. (US Pub No 20200272654) teaches a method for searching persons which comprises obtaining facial feature data and comparing facial feature data within a database.
Wang (CN Pub No 110008676) teaches a method of authentication which comprises obtaining ID information corresponding to a person.
/S.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2664
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664