Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/02/2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of claims 6 and 7 recite ‘The substrate processing apparatus according to any claim 1,’. It appears this is a typographical error, intending to recite ‘‘The substrate processing apparatus according to
Claim 7 recites ‘the valve)’ in line 11. The parenthesis should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/029906 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant independent claim 1 is merely broader than copending independent claim 1. It is clear that all of the elements of claims 1, 5 and 6 are found in claims 1-6 of the copending application. The difference lies in the fact that the copending claims include many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of the copending claims 1-6 are in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the instant claims 1-7. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated” by the “species". See MPEP 804 Section 11(B). Since claims 1-7 are anticipated by copending claims 1-6, they are not patentably distinct from the copending claims 1-6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0358241 to LEE ET AL.
With regard to claim 1, LEE teaches a substrate processing apparatus (fig. 3) comprising: a chamber to accommodate a substrate having a front surface on which a device is provided and a rear surface positioned on an opposite side to the front surface ([0016]); a substrate holder to hold the substrate in the chamber (support chuck, 310); a chemical liquid supply to supply a chemical liquid to the front surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder (chemical liquid supply source, 102); a rinse liquid supply to supply a rinse liquid to the front surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder (rinse solution supply source, 104); a recovered-liquid storage tank to store a recovered liquid obtained by recovering a liquid (reservoir, 600 [0047]); and a rear surface processing liquid supply to supply the recovered liquid stored in the recovered-liquid storage tank to the rear surface of the substrate (second nozzle, 340).
With regard to claim 2, LEE teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, LEE teaches a controller configured to determine whether or not to recover the liquid into the recovered-liquid storage tank ([0026], [0038], [0047]).
With regard to claim 5, LEE teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, LEE teaches the chemical liquid supply includes a chemical liquid storage tank to store the chemical liquid (first unit supply, 100), and the recovered-liquid storage tank is fully capable of storing, as the recovered liquid, at least a part of a cleaning liquid which has cleaned the chemical liquid storage tank ([0038]-[0040], [0047] and fig. 3).
With regard to claim 6, LEE teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, LEE teaches a cup to trap a processing liquid scattering from a substrate held by the substrate holder (350, [0020]); a drain piping that connects the cup and the recovered liquid storage tank (376, [0025], fig3. ); and a chamber cleaning piping which is disposed in the chamber and through which a cleaning liquid for cleaning an inside of the chamber is to be discharged (shown in fig 1), wherein the recovered-liquid storage tank is fully capable of storing, as the recovered liquid, at least a part of a cleaning liquid discharged from the chamber cleaning piping ([0038]-[0040], [0047] and fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0358241 to LEE ET AL in view of JP2020-88208 to ENDO ET AL and US 2024/0162060 to INABA ET AL.
With regard to claim 3, LEE teaches the apparatus of claim 2. LEE teaches a storage tank that stores a liquid (second supply, 200), but LEE does not teach the heater to heat the liquid in the storage tank or temperature sensor as instantly claimed. However, it is known in the art to have a heater to heat liquid flowing from a storage tank (24); the controller is configured or programmed to determine whether or not to recover a liquid heated by the heater into the recovered-liquid storage tank based on the temperature of the fluid in the storage tank ([0052]-[0053]), as taught by ENDO. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of LEE to have the heater and controller that determines whether to recover liquid heated by the heater based on the temperature of the fluid in the storage tank, as taught by ENDO, with reasonable expectation of success to ensure that the desired fluid with the desired properties is recovered.
While ENDO teaches that the control is based on the temperature, LEO does explicitly teach a temperature sensor to measure the temperature. However, it is known in the art to include a temperature sensor on a tank to monitor the temperature of the liquid heated by the heater, as taught by INABA ([0076], [0085]-[0099]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of LEE/ENDO to include a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of liquid heated by a heater, as taught by INABA, with reasonable expectation of success to ensure the fluid flowing from the storage tank is at the desired temperature.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0358241 to LEE ET AL in view of US 2024/0162060 to INABA ET AL
With regard to claim 4, LEE teaches the apparatus of claim 2. LEE does not teach an ozone gas generator, an ozone gas dissolving tank, or a concentration sensor as instantly claimed. However, it is known in the art to have an ozone gas generator to generate an ozone gas (7); an ozone gas dissolving tank to dissolve the ozone gas generated in the ozone gas generator into a liquid to generate an ozone liquid (60, [0080]); and a concentration sensor to measure an ozone concentration of the ozone liquid generated in the ozone gas dissolving tank, wherein a controller is configured to determine whether or not to recover the ozone liquid generated in the ozone gas dissolving tank into a recovered-liquid storage tank based on the ozone concentration measured by the concentration sensor, as taught by INABA ([0085]-[0099]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of LEE to include the ozone gas generator, dissolving tank, concentration sensor and control to determine if the recovered liquid should be recovered based on the ozone concentration, as taught by INABA, to allow for a device that can supply ozone into the chemical liquid supply fluid to enhance the processing of the substrates and allow ozone bubbles to be mixed in the fluid.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0358241 to LEE ET AL in view of US 2008/0093340 to NAKAMORI ET AL.
With regard to claim 7, LEE teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, LEE teaches the rinse liquid supply includes a rinse liquid piping in which the rinse liquid is to flow with branch piping that connects the rinse liquid piping to the recovered liquid storage tank (piping shown from 104 in figure 3). LEE does not teach a valve that is provided on the rinse liquid piping and thus does not teach that the valve is downstream of the branch piping. However, it is known in the art to have a valve provided on the rinse liquid piping to adjust the flow rate of rinse liquid flowing in the rinse liquid piping where the valve is downstream of a branch piping, as taught by NAKAMORI (48a, [0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rinse liquid piping in the apparatus of LEE to have a valve, as taught by NAKAMORI, with reasonable expectation of success to control the flow of liquid in the piping. The apparatus taught by LEE/NAKAMORI would result in the branch piping being connected to the rinse liquid piping at a more upstream position than the valve on the rinse liquid piping and in which the rinse liquid would flow even in a case when the valve is closed.
Conclusion
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749