DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-10 as originally filed are pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “clamping parts at opposite ends” of claim 1 and the “clamping parts … at opposite sides” of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, and 7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, at line 2, the recitation “and there are a plurality of hanging holes” renders the claim indefinite because the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired, in particular since it is unclear as to what constitutes "there". In addition, the recitation " a plurality of hanging holes" renders the claim indefinite because it lacks proper antecedent basis or creates ambiguity as to whether it is referring to the same previously recited limitation “hanging holes”.
Regarding claim 5, at line 1, the recitation "the fixing holes" renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, at lines 2-3, the recitation “strips are located at a same side of the main body” renders the claim indefinite because the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired, in particular since it is unclear as to what “same side” is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, and 10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilbert (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0092697).
Regarding claim 1, Gilbert teaches a reinforcing structure of a toolshed (abstract), comprising a framework (figure 9), wherein the framework comprises a main body (108) and clamping parts (102) provided at opposite ends of the main body (figure 14), the clamping parts are arranged to protrude from the main body to be embedded in wall panels located at two sides of the main body respectively (figure 14), and the main body and each of the wall panels are detachably connected with each other (it is understood that the main body and each of the wall panels are capable of being detachably connected with each other; figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 2, Gilbert teaches the main body and each of the wall panels are detachably connected with each other through a connecting part (148), and the connecting part is formed by protruding the main body to a side of a respective clamping part (figure 14C).
Regarding claim 6, Gilbert teaches the main body is detachably attached to one wall panel or the main body is detachably attached to joints of two adjacent wall panels (figure 14).
Regarding claim 7, Gilbert teaches the clamping part comprises a strip (at 102) fixedly connected with the main body (figure 14), strips are located at a same side of the main body, and the strip is clamped with the wall panel (figure 14).
Regarding claim 8, Gilbert teaches a lower end of the framework is connected with a folding strip (at 138), and the folding strip is detachably connected with a floor (figure 10).
Regarding claim 10, Gilbert teaches an upper end of the framework is connected with a mounting bracket (288), and the mounting bracket is connected with a wall top (figure 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0092697).
Regarding claim 8, Gilbert does not specifically disclose the folding strip and the clamping part are respectively located at opposite sides of the main body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the folding strip and the clamping part are respectively located at opposite sides of the main body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention in a manner which does not alter its operation involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 3-5, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0092697) in view of McKimmy et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20120000142).
Regarding claim 3, Gilbert does not specifically disclose the connecting part is defined with fixing holes.
McKimmy et al. teaches a shed assembly (abstract) wherein the connecting part is defined with fixing holes (238).
Therefore, from the teaching of McKimmy et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shed of Gilbert such that the connecting part is defined with fixing holes, as taught by McKimmy et al., in order to provide a more secure connection between panels for a more stable assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Gilbert does not specifically disclose the main body is provided with hanging holes capable of hanging, and there are a plurality of hanging holes provided to penetrate through the main body, and the plurality of hanging holes are arranged in rows.
McKimmy et al. teaches a shed assembly (abstract) the main body is provided with hanging holes (262) capable of hanging, and there are a plurality of hanging holes provided to penetrate through the main body (figure 17), and the plurality of hanging holes are arranged in rows (figure 17).
Therefore, from the teaching of McKimmy et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shed of Gilbert such that the main body is provided with hanging holes capable of hanging, and there are a plurality of hanging holes provided to penetrate through the main body, and the plurality of hanging holes are arranged in rows, as taught by McKimmy et al., in order to easily add components such as shelving, baskets, slat wall storage.
Regarding claim 5, McKimmy et al. in the combination discloses the fixing holes are arranged among the plurality of hanging holes at intervals (figure 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited patents listed on the included form PTO-892 further show the state of the art with respect to shed structures in general.
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633