DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “comprising: LED light source group; Energy storage capacitor, with one terminal electrically connected to LED light source group, and the other grounded; NMOS transistor, with gate electrically connected to PWM to control signal, and source grounded; Freewheeling diode, with input electrically connected to the drain of NMOS transistor, and output electrically connected to the LED group input; Common mode choke, with one terminal electrically connected to the LED group output, and the other electrically connected to freewheeling diode input and the drain of NMOS transistor”. It should be recited as -- comprising: a LED light source group; an energy storage capacitor...and the other terminal grounded; a NMOS transistor, with a gate terminal electrically connected to PWM to control signal, and a source terminal grounded; a freewheeling diode, with an input electrically connected to a drain of the NMOS transistor, and an output electrically connected to the LED light source group input; a common mode choke...the other terminal electrically connected to a freewheeling diode input and the drain terminal of the NMOS transistor--.
Claims 2-10 are objected to based on the dependency from claim 1.
Claims 2-10 have the similar issues as discussed in claim 1. For example, should be recited as --a MCU--; Camera body should be recited as --a camera body--; and Camcorder body should be recited as --a camcorder body--.
In addition, claims 2-10 recite the LED circuit. They should be recited as --the high-power LED circuit--.
Claim 9 recites “of any one of claim 8” in line 2. It should be recited as --of claim 8--.
Claim 10 recites “of any one of claim 8” in line 2. It should be recited as --of claim 8--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “with gate electrically connected to PWM to control signal”, which renders the claim indefinitely. The PWM is not a circuit but a signal. It’s unclear what signal
“to control signal” is controlling.
Claims 2-10 are ejected based on the dependency from claim 1.
Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Savage, JR. (hereinafter Savage; US 2013/0334963).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Savage discloses a High-power LED circuit [e.g. figs. 3-4, abstract] with pulsed operation for flashlights, applied to flashlight, comprising: LED light source group [e.g. 330, para. 0029]; Energy storage capacitor [e.g. 314/316], with one terminal electrically connected to LED light source group, and the other grounded [see DGND]; NMOS transistor [e.g. Q5], with gate electrically connected to PWM [see at least U4, paras. 0034-0035] to control signal, and source grounded [see DGND]; Freewheeling diode [e.g. D3], with input electrically connected to the drain of NMOS transistor, and output electrically connected to the LED group input; Common mode choke [e.g. L2], with one terminal electrically connected to the LED group output, and the other electrically connected to freewheeling diode input and the drain of NMOS transistor.
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), Savage discloses the LED circuit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the number of LED light sources in said LED light source group is 2 or more [see at least para. 0029].
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Savage discloses the LED circuit of claim 2, wherein 2 adjacent LED light sources have the same current amplitude [see at least para. 0029, e.g. same color].
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Savage discloses the LED circuit, according to claim 3, wherein 2 adjacent LED light sources have different current amplitude [see at least para. 0029; e.g. different color].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savage, JR. (US 2013/0334963).
Regarding claim 5 (as best understood), Savage discloses, as mentioned in claim 4, the LED circuit is characterized in that said energy storage capacitor is specifically the energy storage capacitor except with adjustable energy storage capacity. However, one having ordinary skills of the art would have understood that the benefit of making adjustable is to provide flexibility. It would have been obvious having ordinary skill in the art to have adjustable energy storage capacity, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Steven, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), Savage discloses the LED circuit as recited in claim 5, wherein energy storage capacitor is specifically an energy storage capacitor except with adjustable operating voltage. However, one having ordinary skills of the art would have understood that the benefit of making adjustable is to provide flexibility. It would have been obvious having ordinary skill in the art to have adjustable operating voltage, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Steven, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses, as claimed in claim 6, the LED circuit also comprising: MCU [see at least paras. 0028, 0030 Savage], electrically connected to the gate of NMOS transistor.
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the LED circuit as claimed in claim 7, wherein MCU is specifically MCU that can adjust the duty cycle of the pulse wave MCU [see at least paras. 0028, 0030 Savage; PWM is based on the duty cycle].
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savage, JR. (US 2013/0334963) in view of Chen (US 2006/0087253).
Regarding claim 9 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the LED circuit of any of claim 8; except Camera body, electrically connected to wherein LED circuit. However, Chen discloses a camera body [e.g. 10 fig. 1], electrically connected to a LED circuit [e.g. 30 fig. 1, fig. 3/4].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Savage in accordance with the teaching of Chen regarding a camera in order to provide the illumination for an image capture device [see abstract].
Regarding claim 10 (as best understood), the combination discussed above in claim 9 discloses the LED circuit of any one of claim 8; except Camcorder body. However, it’s well-known to have the feature also be applied to a camcorder because camera and camcorder are both image capture devices. For example, US 2005/0046739 by Voss et al. discloses to use strobe light for an image capture device [para. 0013], e.g. camera, camcorder, etc.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836