DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims and/or subject matter are believed to bear sufficient relationship to be considered together and the examination of all the claims would not appear to be an excessive burden. This is not found persuasive because as mentioned in the restriction requirements, the traffic light control system of invention II comprises elements that are not required by the system of invention I and requires a different field of search, for example searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries .
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 49 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 101, 119 and 120 are objected to because of the following informalities: With respect to claim 101, the claim is labeled “currently amended”. After careful review of the claim, the examiner determined that the claim was not amended. Accordingly, the claim should have been labeled as “previously amended”. With respect to claims 119 and 120, the claims are labeled as “New”. After careful review of the claim, the examiner determined that the claims have been amended. Accordingly, the claims should have been labeled as “currently amended”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 122 is objected to because of the following informalities: “herein” in line 1 appears to be a typographical error and should have been “wherein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37, 101-102, 105, 107, 109, 112, 116-117, and 119-131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with terms which are not clear, concise, exact, and/or lack antecedent basis. The claims should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Examples of some unclear, indefinite, inexact or verbose terms used in the claims are listed below.
With respect to claim 37, the applicant claims “a neural network subsystem implemented in software”. The applicant has not specified what constitutes said subsystem. The term “a neural network subsystem” fails to clearly define the exact boundaries of what the invention is. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite.
The term “sufficient” in claim 37 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficient” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
With respect to claim 37, the applicant claims “the traffic light controller and/or the neural network subsystem”, “communication input circuitry and/or communication output circuitry”, “and/or a plurality of sensor inputs”, “to expand and/or upgrade”, “and/or control decision”. It is not clear to the examiner which different combinations to consider or exclude by the term and/or. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as “or”.
Claim 105 recites the limitation "the traffic flow decision-making" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “similar” in claim 105 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “intermediate” in claim 105 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “intermediate” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
With respect to claims 109, the claim is written as dependent on cancelled claim 108. It is not clear to the examiner if the claims depends from claim 37 or any other claim since none of the preceding claims recite “infrared traffic input”. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim will be treated as dependent on claim 116.
Claim 109 recites the limitation "the infrared traffic input " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 112 recites the limitation "the code" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 117, the applicant claims “or the invention of any other innovation herein”. It is not clear to the examiner which other innovation the applicant is referring to. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will not be given any patentable weight.
With respect to claims 107, 109, 116, and 121-122, the applicant recites “traffic types”, “vehicle type”, and “data types”. It is not clear to the examiner what the applicant is trying to convey with the term “type”. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claims indefinite.
With respect to claims 109 and 117, both claims appear to recite similar subject matter. Accordingly, it is not clear to the examiner the purpose of claim 117 if all the limitations are explicitly recited in claim 109. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 120 recites the limitation "the intersection" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 121 recites the limitation "the traffic type recognition" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 121, the applicant claims “a plurality of sensor inputs beyond inputs from video sensors”. It is not clear to the examiner what the applicant is trying to convey with said limitation. Which sensors are included and which sensors are excluded. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as “video sensors”.
Claim 122 recites the limitation "the other sensor inputs" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 123 recites the limitation "the new sensory input". It is not clear to the examiner if the applicant is referring back to “the new sensory inputs” of claim 101 or different inputs. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as “the new sensory inputs”, i.e. the same inputs of claim 101.
The term “small” in claim 124 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 127 recites the limitation "the traffic flow decision-making" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 129 and 131 recite the limitation "the at least one computer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 101-102, 105, 107, 109, 112, 116-117, and 119-131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected independent claim 37 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 37, 101-102, 105, 119-121, 123, and 125-131 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trompf et al US 5,949,367 (hence Trompf) in view of Lamprecht et al US 2011/0205086 A1 (hence Lamprecht).
In re claim 37, Trompf discloses a device for the automatic classification of objects by means of Doppler-broadened radar echo signals with the use of a neural network (Abstract) and teaches the following:
a neural network subsystem implemented in software executed by at least one processor (Fig.1, and Col.4, Lines 55-67 “a neural network NET”);
memory storage coupled to one or both of the traffic light controller and/or the neural network subsystem (Fig.4, MEM, and Col.4, Lines 43-45 “a memory which contains parameters of several neural networks”);
communication input circuitry and/or communication output circuitry (Fig.2, IN1+, ON1+, and Col.6, Lines 18-32);
and a plurality of sensor inputs ((Fig.2, Col.6, Lines 1-12 “position, the observation angle (elevation and azimuth), the observation time (average duration), the distance to the object being classified and its movement parameters (direction, angle, change in the direction and angle, velocity)“);
wherein the system includes one or more processing components and/or sufficient headroom to expand and/or upgrade the controller via addition of additional inputs, traffic object(s) recognition training information and/or training subcomponents, and/or control decision training information and/or subcomponents (Fig.2, Col.5, Lines 21-24 “a second control information and routes it to an additional input of the neural network NET”, Col.6, Lines 25-26 “two additional input nodes ZN1, ZN2 belonging to the input layer IL”, and Lines 33-38, and Col.8, Lines 5-8)
However, Trompf doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
a traffic light controller that implements traffic control using at least one digital processor
Nevertheless, Lamprecht discloses traffic control system is provided including an arrangement of traffic lights at a traffic intersection, and a radar sensor installed at the intersection such that its field and range of detection covers at least one approach to the intersection (Abstract) and teaches the following:
a traffic light controller that implements traffic control using at least one digital processor (Abstract and Paragraph 0055)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the Trompf reference and implement it on a traffic light controller, as taught by Lamprecht, in order to monitor traffic at said traffic light (Trompf, Col.5, Line 35).
In re claim 101, Trompf discloses the following:
wherein the neural network subsystem comprises instructions, executed by the at least one processor for: processing new sensory inputs; and utilizing additional, reserve neuron capacity that was initially included in the system, wherein the reserve neuron capacity is subsequently trained to utilize the new inputs (Col.8, Lines 5-19)
In re claim 102, Lamprecht teaches the following:
wherein the neural network subsystem comprises instructions, executed by the at least one processor for: processing other sensor inputs to detect small traffic objects defined as traffic objects that are smaller than cars, wherein the system is configured to adapt to the small traffic objects; and incorporating the small traffic object information into the higher-level traffic flow control decision-making (Paragraph 0018, motivation to combine has been provided above).
In re claim 105, Lamprecht discloses the following:
wherein the traffic flow decision- making includes state information inputs from nearby similar traffic controllers comparable with intermediate level traffic state recognition at the local controller which are combined at higher levels to optimize traffic flow decision-making at the local traffic signal light (Fig.4 and Paragraphs 0037-0039).
In re claim 119, Lamprecht discloses the following:
one or more neural network arrays configured to perform functions of digital logic circuitry to configure, store, and/or change traffic light sequences and control decision with zero cost configuration change (Abstract)
In re claim 120, Trompf discloses the following:
wherein the system includes a sensor array that provides a plurality of input vectors in addition to inputs from basic video capture available at the intersection (Fig.2, IN1+)
In re claim 121, Trompf discloses the following:
wherein the system is configured for enhancing the traffic type recognition using an array having a plurality of sensor inputs beyond inputs from video sensors and traditional physical infrastructure, and/or for enhancing the traffic type recognition using existing infrastructure (Abstract “classify objects automatically by means of Doppler-broadened radar echo signals”).
In re claim 123, Trompf discloses the following:
improving recognition specificity through the combination of prior and newly added recognition from the new sensory input (Col.6, Lines 25-26 “two additional input nodes ZN1, ZN2 belonging to the input layer IL”)
In re claim 125, Trompf discloses the following:
wherein the system is configured for recognizing driver intentions without use of communication and/or transmissions between the vehicle and the signal light (Col.4, lines 24-25 “ its movement parameters (direction, angle, change in direction and angle, velocity)”)
In re claim 126, Trompf discloses the following:
a communications interface module configured to handle data input and output to and from one or more external locations (Fig.2, IN1+, ON1+, and Col.6, Lines 18-32)
In re claim 127, Trompf discloses the following:
wherein the traffic flow decision-making includes state information inputs from nearby similar traffic controllers to optimize traffic flow decision-making at the local traffic signal light (Col.5, lines 60-63 “The interface device IN can include an air interface for radio transmission or even a line interface, and be connected to a remote information source such as the ocean meteorology department or a remote weather station for example”).
In re claim 128, Lamprecht discloses the following:
prioritize passage through the intersection on the basis of one or more of vehicle priority and/or vehicle size (Paragraph 0015)
In re claim 129, Lamprecht discloses the following:
providing an additional safety for an intersection for speed and/or distance recognition, wherein the speed and/or distance recognition is utilized to update signal light timing in real time for collision avoidance (Paragraph 0012 “ is enabled to communicate with the controller for controlling a plurality of traffic lights at a plurality of intersections with a view to controlling the flow of traffic along a comprehensive traffic route, typically major traffic routes.”)
In re claim 130, Lamprecht discloses the following:
wherein digital logic is included to provide an output and/or warning of current- and next- state information configured to be utilized by in-vehicle communication devices, as known, that transmit information to/from the traffic signal and/or warning devices (Paragraph 0012)
In re claim 131, Lamprecht discloses the following:
wherein the at least one computer is further configured for: providing additional headroom to expand and/or upgrade the system via addition of additional inputs, traffic object(s) recognition training information and/or subcomponents, and/or control decision training information and/or subcomponents (Fig.2, Col.5, Lines 21-24 “a second control information and routes it to an additional input of the neural network NET”, Col.6, Lines 25-26 “two additional input nodes ZN1, ZN2 belonging to the input layer IL”, and Lines 33-38, and Col.8, Lines 5-8)
Claims 107, 112, and 122 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trompf and Lamprecht and further in view of Glier et al US 2002/0054210 A1 (hence Glier).
In re claim 107, Trompf discloses the claimed invention as recited above including performing recognition of the traffic types using physical sensors in infrastructure of the traffic light system (Fig.1, ANT, and Col.4, Lines 55-67) but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
performing recognition of the traffic types using an array having a plurality of sensor inputs from video sensors, physical sensors in infrastructure of the traffic light system, and other sensor inputs from one or more electromagnetic sensors
Nevertheless, Glier discloses a method and apparatus for Traffic Light Violation Prediction and Control (Abstract) and teaches the following:
performing recognition of the traffic types using an array having a plurality of sensor inputs from video sensors, physical sensors in infrastructure of the traffic light system, and other sensor inputs from one or more electromagnetic sensors (Paragraphs 0004 and 0063)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the Trompf reference to include a video tracking and electromagnetic sensors, as taught by Glier, in order to control operation of traffic light based on input of plurality of sensors detecting vehicles at said intersection (Glier, Abstract).
In re claim 112, Glier teaches the following:
processing one or more electromagnetic sensor inputs to detect reduced traffic flow, wherein the system is configured to adapt to the reduced traffic flow; and incorporating the reduced traffic flow information into the higher-level traffic flow control decision-making (Paragraphs 0004 and 0063)
In re claim 122, Trompf discloses the following:
wherein the other sensor inputs include a traffic radar input providing enhanced capability from transmission of various data types (Abstract “classify objects automatically by means of Doppler-broadened radar echo signals”).
Claims 116 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trompf, Lamprecht, Glier, and further in view of Li CN 101013525 A (the examiner is providing an English translation and relying upon, hence Li).
In re claim 116, the combination of Trompf, Lamprecht, and Glier discloses the claimed invention as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the other sensor inputs include an infrared traffic input providing capability of detecting vehicle type and passenger quantity from transmission of electromagnetic spectra data types
Nevertheless, Li discloses a vehicle digital monitor management (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the other sensor inputs include an infrared traffic input providing capability of detecting vehicle type and passenger quantity from transmission of electromagnetic spectra data types (Page 3, Mode for invention “the recording instrument”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Trompf reference to include an infrared sensor, as taught by Li, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect vehicle types and occupancies (Li, Page 3, Mode for invention “the recording instrument”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Disalvo US 2010/0262901 A1 discloses a real-time monitoring and historical analysis of securities market activity and liquidity flow for several securities simultaneously.
Myr US 2008/0094250 A1 discloses a multi-objective optimization for real time traffic light control and navigation systems for urban saturated networks.
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669