DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 1/19/2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0150496), (hereinafter, Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of a user equipment (UE), an occurrence of a condition related to an unavailability period (= UE 100 transmits TAU request to MME#A which is in an inability state, see [0131]); and resetting, by the processor, a counter responsive to the determining (= when such failure is repeated five times, the UE 100 starts access/location update associated timer, see [0131]).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting a service request attempt counter (see, [01156]).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting an attach attempt counter (see, [0131]).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting a tracking area updating (TAU) attempt counter (see, [0131]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting a registration attempt counter (see, [0175-76]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the condition comprises the UE activating the unavailability period.
(see, [0194]).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the condition comprises the unavailability period being activated for one or more UE reasons other than a discontinuous coverage (see, [0194]).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim discloses the method, wherein the condition comprises the unavailability period being activated (see, [0194]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of a user equipment (UE), an occurrence of a condition other than an unavailability period (= service request procedure is performed when the UE 100 switches EMM-IDLE into EMM-CONNECTED state, see [0139]); and
resetting, by the processor, a counter responsive to the determining (= when UE 100 transmits the service request message…UE 100 starts the service request timer, see [0140]).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting a service request attempt counter (= UE 100 starts the service request timer, see [0140]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting an attach attempt counter (see [0164]).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting a tracking area updating (TAU) attempt counter (see [0175-76]).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim discloses the method, wherein the resetting of the counter comprises resetting a registration attempt counter (see [0175-76]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park et al., (US 2021/0410107), (hereinafter, Park).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 1, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises the unavailability period being activated for a discontinuous coverage.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises the unavailability period being activated for a discontinuous coverage (see, [0382]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises an access stratum being deactivated for a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises an access stratum being deactivated for a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) access (see, [0337 and 0342]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises an access stratum being deactivated for a discontinuous coverage.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises an access stratum being deactivated for a discontinuous coverage (see, [0340]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
Regarding claim 17, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises an access stratum being deactivated for a reason other than a discontinuous coverage.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises an access stratum being deactivated for a reason other than a discontinuous coverage (see, [0339]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises a mobile-initiated- connection-only (MICO) mode being activated.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises a mobile-initiated- connection-only (MICO) mode being activated (see, [0339]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises a power-saving mode (PSM) being activated.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises a power-saving mode (PSM) being activated.
(see, [0304 and 0340]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned in claim 10, Kim explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises a timer T3502 being stopped.
However, Park, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the method, wherein the condition comprises a timer T3502 being stopped (see, [0291 and 0293]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Park with Kim for the benefit of achieving a communication system that reduces resource waste for unsuccessful paging based on updated paging configurations.
CONCLUSION
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.