CTNF 19/032,390 CTNF 95419 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes implementing coordination between a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle and a functional block configured to execute a predetermined process in the vehicle, the functional block includes a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format and transmitted from the service-system functional block into a vehicle-dependent format; transferring the access request transmitted from the service-system functional block to the functional block; creating, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface; and using the access log created by the coordination control section to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. This is a method of managing commercial interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network; a server configured to be capable of data communication with the vehicle control system, wherein the vehicle control system includes a coordination control section that includes a request transfer section; an access log creation section does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of implementing; transferring; creating; and using in a computer environment. The claimed vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network; server; and access log creation section are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of implementing; transferring; creating; and using in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Dependent claims 2-6 and 15-22 are directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Claims 2-5 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining the interface usage count. Claim 6 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining the amount of communication data. Claims 15-22 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining calculating the interface usage fee. These limitations are all directed to a method of managing commercial interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). Thus, claims 2-6 and 15-22 are directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1 and do not add any additional elements to evaluate at Steps 2A prong two or 2B. Therefore, claims 2-6 and 15-22 describe neither a practical application of nor significantly more than the abstract idea. Claim 7 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes performing data communication; converting an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service; and using an access log to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface when the access log is received, the access log having been created based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices to include at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of a server, a communication section, a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, the vehicle control system further including a functional interface, and a charging calculation section does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of performing; converting; and using in a computer environment. The claimed server, communication section, vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, and charging calculation section are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of performing; converting; and using in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Claim 8 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes converting an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service; creating, based on an execution status of the access request, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface; and transmitting the access log. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of an on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, the on-vehicle device including, a functional interface, an access log creation section, a log transmission section, and a server installed outside the on-vehicle device does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of converting; creating; and transmitting in a computer environment. The claimed on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, access log creation section, log transmission section, and server are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of converting; creating; and transmitting in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Dependent claim 9 is directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 8 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons. Claim 9 further narrows the abstract idea of claim 8 by e.g., further defining executing a predetermined process in the vehicle and implementing coordination between the service-system functional block and the functional block. These limitations are all directed to a method of managing commercial interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). Thus, claim 9 is directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 8 and does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Steps 2A prong two or 2B. Therefore, claim 9 describes neither a practical application of nor significantly more than the abstract idea. Claim 10 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes implementing coordination between a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle and a functional block configured to execute a predetermined process in the vehicle; converting an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format and transmitted from the service-system functional block into a vehicle-dependent format; transferring the access request transmitted from the service-system functional block to the functional block; creating an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service- system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices; and calculating, using the access log, an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of a service providing system including a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, and a server configured to be capable of data communication with the vehicle control system, the vehicle control system including a coordination control section does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of implementing; converting; transferring; creating; and calculating in a computer environment. The claimed service providing system including a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, server, and vehicle control system including a coordination control section are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of implementing; converting; transferring; creating; and calculating in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Claim 11 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes performing data communication; converting an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle- dependent format when the access request is received; providing a service to the vehicle; and using an access log to calculate an interface usage fee when the access log is received, the access log having been created based on an execution status of the access request to include at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a service providing program, a communication section, a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, the vehicle control system further including a functional interface, a service-system functional block, and a charging calculation section does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of performing; converting; providing; and using in a computer environment. The claimed non-transitory computer readable storage medium, communication section, vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, service-system functional block, and charging calculation section are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of performing; converting; providing; and using in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Claim 12 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes performing data communication and calculating an interface usage fee using the functional interface when the access log is received, the access log having been created based on an execution status of the access request to include at least one of an interface usage count that is a number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of a server of a service providing system including a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the plurality of electronic control devices are mounted, and the server configured to be capable of data communication with the vehicle control system does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of performing data communication and calculating an interface usage fee in a computer environment. The claimed server, vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, and functional interface are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of performing data communication and calculating an interface usage fee in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Claim 13 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes converting an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received; providing a service; creating, based on an execution status of the access request, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface; and transmitting the access log. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a service providing program for causing a computer of an on-vehicle device, mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, a functional interface, a service-system functional block, an access log creation section, a log transmission section, and a server installed outside the on-vehicle device does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of converting; providing; creating; and transmitting in a computer environment. The claimed non-transitory computer readable storage medium, computer of an on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, functional interface, service-system functional block, access log creation section, log transmission section, and server are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of converting; providing; creating; and transmitting in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Claim 14 recites a method of organizing human activity because the claim recites a method that includes converting an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received; providing a service; creating an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface, based on an execution status; and transmitting the access log. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., the service provider that charges the calculated usage fee to the user of the vehicle). The mere nominal recitation of an on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, a functional interface, a service-system functional block, and a server installed outside the on-vehicle device does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concepts of converting; providing; creating; and transmitting in a computer environment. The claimed on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, functional interface, service-system functional block, and server are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method, whether viewed individually or in combination. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concepts of converting; providing; creating; and transmitting in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hiroaki JP 2004151786 A . Regarding Claim 10 , Hiroaki discloses a service providing method executed by a service providing system including a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, and a server configured to be capable of data communication with the vehicle control system, the vehicle control system including a coordination control section configured to implement coordination between a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle and a functional block configured to execute a predetermined process in the vehicle, the functional block including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format and transmitted from the service-system functional block into a vehicle-dependent format, the service providing method comprising: transferring, by the coordination control section, the access request transmitted from the service-system functional block to the functional block ([0172] The service providing apparatus I included in the billing system includes an information transmitting unit 321 that transmits information in response to a request from the attached terminal T, an encryption processing unit 322, and a decryption information transmitting unit 323. [0173] Therefore, in order to transmit the encrypted information to the attached terminal T and to transmit the information that makes the information decipherable, by providing a time lag between the transmission of the information, the user of the attached terminal T can The required large information can be collectively received in the second time zone, and the decryption information can be received later, and the information can be used at this time. Further, after the attached terminal T receives the encrypted information, if the attached terminal T needs the information, the attached terminal T requests the decryption information again, so that the information to be originally provided can be used as an advertisement. In this sense, the service providing apparatus I can transmit the encrypted information); creating, by the coordination control section, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service- system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T); and calculating, by the server using the access log created by the coordination control section, an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface ([0086] the charge calculation server 12 in the communication device C calculates a communication charge according to the amount of executed communication and the time taken for communication, etc., which occur when transmitting the requested information to the attached terminal T. Then, the usage fee is calculated together with the information on the information fee transmitted in step S8. As described above, the usage fee refers to the sum of the communication fee for the executed communication amount and the time and the information fee for the amount of transferred information and the like. The charge calculation server 12 outputs the calculated usage charge and information on the user of the attached terminal T that has performed the communication to the charging server 14 via the LAN 10 (step S9). Thus, a series of information transmission processing is completed). Regarding Claim 12 , Hiroaki discloses a service providing method executed by a server of a service providing system including a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network, the vehicle control system further including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle- independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the plurality of electronic control devices are mounted, and the server configured to be capable of data communication with the vehicle control system, the service providing method comprising: performing, by the server, data communication with the vehicle control system ([0016] As shown in FIG. 1, the information providing system according to the first embodiment includes a communication network N including a communication device C for monitoring a use state of the communication network N in a communication carrier, and a communication network N via the communication network N. Attached terminal T (hereinafter, may be simply referred to as an attached terminal T) of a personal communication type in-vehicle navigation device for communication. [0041] The charge calculation server 12 transmits a signal such as information requested from the attached terminal T to the processing device H, and temporarily stores information about the user such as a user ID capable of authenticating the attached terminal T in the customer database 13. To accumulate. Further, the fee calculation server 12 transmits the information received from the service providing device I to the attached terminal T to be transmitted, based on the information on the user of the attached terminal T acquired from the customer database 13); and calculating, by the server using an access log, an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface when the access log is received, the access log having been created based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices to include at least one of an interface usage count that is a number of timesthe service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T. [0086] the charge calculation server 12 in the communication device C calculates a communication charge according to the amount of executed communication and the time taken for communication, etc., which occur when transmitting the requested information to the attached terminal T. Then, the usage fee is calculated together with the information on the information fee transmitted in step S8. As described above, the usage fee refers to the sum of the communication fee for the executed communication amount and the time and the information fee for the amount of transferred information and the like. The charge calculation server 12 outputs the calculated usage charge and information on the user of the attached terminal T that has performed the communication to the charging server 14 via the LAN 10 (step S9). Thus, a series of information transmission processing is completed). Regarding Claim 14 , Hiroaki discloses a service providing method executed by an on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on- vehicle network, the on-vehicle device including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle- dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the on-vehicle device is mounted, the service providing method comprising: creating, by the on-vehicle device, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices; and transmitting, by the on-vehicle device, the access log to a server installed outside the on-vehicle device ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. I. Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki in view of Davis US 20060155717 A1. Regarding Claim 1 , Hiroaki teaches a service providing system, comprising: a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network ([0013] The embodiment described below relates to a communication network provided with a communication device (monitoring device) for monitoring the use status of a communication network in a communication carrier, and a personal communication that performs communication via the communication network. Terminal (terminal device) of a mobile in-vehicle navigation device, a processing device (administrator device) owned by an administrator who manages the communication usage status of the attached terminal, and a so-called content terminal owned by a content provider. A service providing device (information providing device) for transmitting information such as music, etc., in a case where the present application is applied to a billing system for charging a fee generated by using the information providing system. [0187] Also, in each embodiment, the terminal device of the present application is described using the accessory terminal T of the communication type vehicle-mounted navigation. However, it is needless to say that the terminal device may be built in the communication type vehicle-mounted navigation. The terminal device may be a portable wireless telephone, a personal computer, or the like); a server configured to be capable of data communication with the vehicle control system ([0041] The charge calculation server 12 transmits a signal such as information requested from the attached terminal T to the processing device H, and temporarily stores information about the user such as a user ID capable of authenticating the attached terminal T in the customer database 13. To accumulate. Further, the fee calculation server 12 transmits the information received from the service providing device I to the attached terminal T to be transmitted, based on the information on the user of the attached terminal T acquired from the customer database 13), wherein the vehicle control system includes a coordination control section configured to implement coordination between a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle and a functional block configured to execute a predetermined process in the vehicle , the coordination control section includes a request transfer section configured to transfer the access request transmitted from the service-system functional block to the functional block ([0172] The service providing apparatus I included in the billing system includes an information transmitting unit 321 that transmits information in response to a request from the attached terminal T, an encryption processing unit 322, and a decryption information transmitting unit 323. [0173] Therefore, in order to transmit the encrypted information to the attached terminal T and to transmit the information that makes the information decipherable, by providing a time lag between the transmission of the information, the user of the attached terminal T can The required large information can be collectively received in the second time zone, and the decryption information can be received later, and the information can be used at this time. Further, after the attached terminal T receives the encrypted information, if the attached terminal T needs the information, the attached terminal T requests the decryption information again, so that the information to be originally provided can be used as an advertisement. In this sense, the service providing apparatus I can transmit the encrypted information), and an access log creation section configured to create, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface the server uses the access log created by the coordination control section to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T), and the server uses the access log created by the coordination control section to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface ([0086] the charge calculation server 12 in the communication device C calculates a communication charge according to the amount of executed communication and the time taken for communication, etc., which occur when transmitting the requested information to the attached terminal T. Then, the usage fee is calculated together with the information on the information fee transmitted in step S8. As described above, the usage fee refers to the sum of the communication fee for the executed communication amount and the time and the information fee for the amount of transferred information and the like. The charge calculation server 12 outputs the calculated usage charge and information on the user of the attached terminal T that has performed the communication to the charging server 14 via the LAN 10 (step S9). Thus, a series of information transmission processing is completed). Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Davis teaches the functional block includes a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format and transmitted from the service-system functional block into a vehicle-dependent format (Abstract Communication device for supporting a general-purpose computer to communicate with a vehicle having a control unit for controlling at least one particular function of the vehicle. A first request in XML format for requesting the control unit to return specified information is received from the computer. The request received is converted into a request in control unit specific format and is sent to the control unit of the vehicle. When a reply in control unit specific format including the specified information is received from the vehicle, the reply is also converted into a reply in XML format. The converted reply is sent to the computer. [0057] A communication process 226 receives the converted request from conversion process 222, sends it to vehicle 100 and waits for a reply in control unit specific format from the vehicle. Once receiving a reply in control unit specific format from vehicle 100, communication process 226 provides the reply to a conversion process to XML format 228). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functional block including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format and transmitted from the service-system functional block into a vehicle-dependent format as taught in Davis with the service providing system of Hiroaki “so that both vehicle 100 (control unit) and host computer 300 can read data created by the other” (Davis [0035]). Regarding Claim 2 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Hiroaki further teaches wherein the interface usage count includes an execution completion count that is a total number of times the plurality of electronic control devices have executed and completed a process in response to the access request ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T). Regarding Claim 5 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Hiroaki further teaches wherein the interface usage count includes a total number of times the plurality of electronic control devices have executed and completed the process in response to the access request in each of a plurality of vehicle states of the vehicle on which the vehicle control system is mounted ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T). Regarding Claim 6 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Hiroaki further teaches wherein the amount of communication data includes an integrated value of amounts of data acquired by the service-system functional block by the plurality of electronic control devices executing the process in response to the access request ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T). Regarding Claim 7 , Hiroaki teaches a server comprising: a communication section configured to be capable of performing data communication with a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network ([0013] The embodiment described below relates to a communication network provided with a communication device (monitoring device) for monitoring the use status of a communication network in a communication carrier, and a personal communication that performs communication via the communication network. Terminal (terminal device) of a mobile in-vehicle navigation device, a processing device (administrator device) owned by an administrator who manages the communication usage status of the attached terminal, and a so-called content terminal owned by a content provider. A service providing device (information providing device) for transmitting information such as music, etc., in a case where the present application is applied to a billing system for charging a fee generated by using the information providing system. [0187] Also, in each embodiment, the terminal device of the present application is described using the accessory terminal T of the communication type vehicle-mounted navigation. However, it is needless to say that the terminal device may be built in the communication type vehicle-mounted navigation. The terminal device may be a portable wireless telephone, a personal computer, or the like); and a charging calculation section configured to use an access log to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface when the access log is received, the access log having been created based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices to include at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface ([0041] The charge calculation server 12 transmits a signal such as information requested from the attached terminal T to the processing device H, and temporarily stores information about the user such as a user ID capable of authenticating the attached terminal T in the customer database 13. To accumulate. Further, the fee calculation server 12 transmits the information received from the service providing device I to the attached terminal T to be transmitted, based on the information on the user of the attached terminal T acquired from the customer database 13. [0172] The service providing apparatus I included in the billing system includes an information transmitting unit 321 that transmits information in response to a request from the attached terminal T, an encryption processing unit 322, and a decryption information transmitting unit 323. [0173] Therefore, in order to transmit the encrypted information to the attached terminal T and to transmit the information that makes the information decipherable, by providing a time lag between the transmission of the information, the user of the attached terminal T can The required large information can be collectively received in the second time zone, and the decryption information can be received later, and the information can be used at this time. Further, after the attached terminal T receives the encrypted information, if the attached terminal T needs the information, the attached terminal T requests the decryption information again, so that the information to be originally provided can be used as an advertisement. In this sense, the service providing apparatus I can transmit the encrypted information. [0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T. [0086] the charge calculation server 12 in the communication device C calculates a communication charge according to the amount of executed communication and the time taken for communication, etc., which occur when transmitting the requested information to the attached terminal T. Then, the usage fee is calculated together with the information on the information fee transmitted in step S8. As described above, the usage fee refers to the sum of the communication fee for the executed communication amount and the time and the information fee for the amount of transferred information and the like. The charge calculation server 12 outputs the calculated usage charge and information on the user of the attached terminal T that has performed the communication to the charging server 14 via the LAN 10 (step S9). Thus, a series of information transmission processing is completed). Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Davis teaches the vehicle control system further including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the plurality of electronic control devices are mounted (Abstract Communication device for supporting a general-purpose computer to communicate with a vehicle having a control unit for controlling at least one particular function of the vehicle. A first request in XML format for requesting the control unit to return specified information is received from the computer. The request received is converted into a request in control unit specific format and is sent to the control unit of the vehicle. When a reply in control unit specific format including the specified information is received from the vehicle, the reply is also converted into a reply in XML format. The converted reply is sent to the computer. [0057] A communication process 226 receives the converted request from conversion process 222, sends it to vehicle 100 and waits for a reply in control unit specific format from the vehicle. Once receiving a reply in control unit specific format from vehicle 100, communication process 226 provides the reply to a conversion process to XML format 228). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the plurality of electronic control devices are mounted as taught in Davis with the service providing system of Hiroaki “so that both vehicle 100 (control unit) and host computer 300 can read data created by the other” (Davis [0035]). Regarding Claim 8 , Hiroaki teaches an on-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, the on-vehicle device including: an access log creation section configured to create, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface; and a log transmission section configured to transmit the access log to a server installed outside the on-vehicle device ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T). Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Davis teaches a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the on-vehicle device is mounted (Abstract Communication device for supporting a general-purpose computer to communicate with a vehicle having a control unit for controlling at least one particular function of the vehicle. A first request in XML format for requesting the control unit to return specified information is received from the computer. The request received is converted into a request in control unit specific format and is sent to the control unit of the vehicle. When a reply in control unit specific format including the specified information is received from the vehicle, the reply is also converted into a reply in XML format. The converted reply is sent to the computer. [0057] A communication process 226 receives the converted request from conversion process 222, sends it to vehicle 100 and waits for a reply in control unit specific format from the vehicle. Once receiving a reply in control unit specific format from vehicle 100, communication process 226 provides the reply to a conversion process to XML format 228). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functional block including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the on-vehicle device is mounted as taught in Davis with the service providing system of Hiroaki “so that both vehicle 100 (control unit) and host computer 300 can read data created by the other” (Davis [0035]). Regarding Claim 9 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. Hiroaki further teaches a functional block including the functional interface and configured to execute a predetermined process in the vehicle; and a coordination control section configured to implement coordination between the service-system functional block and the functional block, wherein the coordination control section includes the access log creation section ([0172] The service providing apparatus I included in the billing system includes an information transmitting unit 321 that transmits information in response to a request from the attached terminal T, an encryption processing unit 322, and a decryption information transmitting unit 323. [0173] Therefore, in order to transmit the encrypted information to the attached terminal T and to transmit the information that makes the information decipherable, by providing a time lag between the transmission of the information, the user of the attached terminal T can The required large information can be collectively received in the second time zone, and the decryption information can be received later, and the information can be used at this time. Further, after the attached terminal T receives the encrypted information, if the attached terminal T needs the information, the attached terminal T requests the decryption information again, so that the information to be originally provided can be used as an advertisement. In this sense, the service providing apparatus I can transmit the encrypted information. [0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T). Regarding Claim 11 , Hiroaki teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a service providing program that causes a computer to function as ([0196] a program corresponding to the flowchart shown in FIG. 6 or FIG. 7 is recorded on an information recording medium such as a flexible disk or a hard disk, or obtained and recorded via a network such as the Internet, and is stored in a microcomputer. For example, by reading and executing the microcomputer, the microcomputer can function as the charge calculation server 12, the billing server 14, the payment reception processing unit 231 and the control processing unit 232 according to each embodiment): a communication section configured to be capable of performing data communication with a vehicle control system that is mounted on a vehicle and includes a plurality of electronic control devices connected to an on-vehicle network ([0013] The embodiment described below relates to a communication network provided with a communication device (monitoring device) for monitoring the use status of a communication network in a communication carrier, and a personal communication that performs communication via the communication network. Terminal (terminal device) of a mobile in-vehicle navigation device, a processing device (administrator device) owned by an administrator who manages the communication usage status of the attached terminal, and a so-called content terminal owned by a content provider. A service providing device (information providing device) for transmitting information such as music, etc., in a case where the present application is applied to a billing system for charging a fee generated by using the information providing system. [0187] Also, in each embodiment, the terminal device of the present application is described using the accessory terminal T of the communication type vehicle-mounted navigation. However, it is needless to say that the terminal device may be built in the communication type vehicle-mounted navigation. The terminal device may be a portable wireless telephone, a personal computer, or the like. [0041] The charge calculation server 12 transmits a signal such as information requested from the attached terminal T to the processing device H, and temporarily stores information about the user such as a user ID capable of authenticating the attached terminal T in the customer database 13. To accumulate. Further, the fee calculation server 12 transmits the information received from the service providing device I to the attached terminal T to be transmitted, based on the information on the user of the attached terminal T acquired from the customer database 13); and a charging calculation section configured to use an access log to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface when the access log is received, the access log having been created based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices to include at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T. [0086] the charge calculation server 12 in the communication device C calculates a communication charge according to the amount of executed communication and the time taken for communication, etc., which occur when transmitting the requested information to the attached terminal T. Then, the usage fee is calculated together with the information on the information fee transmitted in step S8. As described above, the usage fee refers to the sum of the communication fee for the executed communication amount and the time and the information fee for the amount of transferred information and the like. The charge calculation server 12 outputs the calculated usage charge and information on the user of the attached terminal T that has performed the communication to the charging server). Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Davis teaches the vehicle control system further including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle- dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the plurality of electronic control devices are mounted (Abstract Communication device for supporting a general-purpose computer to communicate with a vehicle having a control unit for controlling at least one particular function of the vehicle. A first request in XML format for requesting the control unit to return specified information is received from the computer. The request received is converted into a request in control unit specific format and is sent to the control unit of the vehicle. When a reply in control unit specific format including the specified information is received from the vehicle, the reply is also converted into a reply in XML format. The converted reply is sent to the computer. [0057] A communication process 226 receives the converted request from conversion process 222, sends it to vehicle 100 and waits for a reply in control unit specific format from the vehicle. Once receiving a reply in control unit specific format from vehicle 100, communication process 226 provides the reply to a conversion process to XML format 228). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control system further including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle- dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the plurality of electronic control devices are mounted as taught in Davis with the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Hiroaki “so that both vehicle 100 (control unit) and host computer 300 can read data created by the other” (Davis [0035]). Regarding Claim 13 , Hiroaki teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a service providing program for causing a computer of an on-vehicle device, mounted on a vehicle and connected to a plurality of electronic control devices by an on-vehicle network, to function as ([0196] a program corresponding to the flowchart shown in FIG. 6 or FIG. 7 is recorded on an information recording medium such as a flexible disk or a hard disk, or obtained and recorded via a network such as the Internet, and is stored in a microcomputer. For example, by reading and executing the microcomputer, the microcomputer can function as the charge calculation server 12, the billing server 14, the payment reception processing unit 231 and the control processing unit 232 according to each embodiment): an access log creation section configured to create, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface; and a log transmission section configured to transmit the access log to a server installed outside the on-vehicle device ([0128] The control processing unit 232 controls to transmit the information by the (A) immediate method unless there is a signal from the attached terminal T requesting the information by the (B) reservation method. Then, the control processing unit 232 accumulates this information amount (the number of music pieces) by the calculation processing unit 222 and the customer database 24 every time there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, for example, for one month from the beginning of the month. Then, there is a request for information from the attached terminal T, and if this information amount (for example, 2 songs) is added to the accumulated information amount (for example, 4 songs), the control information is determined to exceed the reference information amount of 5 songs (6 songs). When the processing unit 232 recognizes, the control processing unit 232 prohibits the transmission of the requested information to the attached terminal T and performs processing to transmit the information by the (B) reservation method. Further, the control processing unit 232 transmits a signal to the effect that information is transmitted by the (B) reservation method, to the attached terminal T). Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Davis teaches a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the on-vehicle device is mounted (Abstract Communication device for supporting a general-purpose computer to communicate with a vehicle having a control unit for controlling at least one particular function of the vehicle. A first request in XML format for requesting the control unit to return specified information is received from the computer. The request received is converted into a request in control unit specific format and is sent to the control unit of the vehicle. When a reply in control unit specific format including the specified information is received from the vehicle, the reply is also converted into a reply in XML format. The converted reply is sent to the computer. [0057] A communication process 226 receives the converted request from conversion process 222, sends it to vehicle 100 and waits for a reply in control unit specific format from the vehicle. Once receiving a reply in control unit specific format from vehicle 100, communication process 226 provides the reply to a conversion process to XML format 228). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the functional block including a functional interface configured to convert an access request expressed in a vehicle-independent format into a vehicle-dependent format when the access request is received from a service-system functional block configured to provide a service to the vehicle on which the on-vehicle device is mounted as taught in Davis with the computer readable storage medium of Hiroaki “so that both vehicle 100 (control unit) and host computer 300 can read data created by the other” (Davis [0035]). II. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki in view of Davis and Yasufumi JP 2002203156 A. Regarding Claim 3 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Yasufumi teaches wherein the interface usage count includes an execution unnecessary occurrence count that is a total number of times execution of the process in response to the access request by the plurality of electronic control devices has been unnecessary ([0010] In the embroidery data sales system according to this configuration, the embroidery data displayed on the screen is displayed so as to be identifiable whether or not the embroidery data has already been downloaded. This makes it possible to prevent problems such as re-downloading already downloaded embroidery data and forgetting to download purchased embroidery data. In addition, the seller can provide services such as limiting the number of downloads and making a difference in the purchase price depending on the number of downloads). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interface usage count including an execution unnecessary occurrence count that is a total number of times execution of the process in response to the access request by the plurality of electronic control devices has been unnecessary as taught in Yasufumi with the service providing system of Hiroaki in order to “avoid the problem of repurchasing already purchased embroidery data” (Yasufumi, p. 8, para. 3). III. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki in view of Davis and McCleskey US 20050021398 A1. Regarding Claim 4 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however McCleskey teaches wherein the interface usage count includes an execution anomaly count that is a total number of times the plurality of electronic control devices is unable to execute the process in response to the access request due to occurrence of an anomaly ([0179] The present preferred method of this invention also includes functions for reporting information that includes royalties for advertising fees, the number of downloads, the number of actual opening of the digital data files, the usage of a digital data file during its entire "life span." [0189] The present invention is a system and method for Internet based or peer-to-peer (P2P) file transfers, or client-server file transfers that are secure, quick, profitable, user friendly and legal. The intent of this invention is to provide an improved method and system for searching the Internet and other repositories of digital data files for specific information. The digital acknowledgement trigger device and process solves a number of problems that previously existed with P2P file-sharing and/or other digital content distribution networks, including but not limited to entities that are unable to track and pay royalties for the "proper use" of content/file downloads; entities that are unable to protect the download of content associated with intellectual property rights; entities that are unable to determine the number of downloads and/or the times that the files has been "shared" and paid for; entities that are unable to commercialize and profit from the distribution of digital content over computer networks, like P2P, which encourages and allows for file sharing but which does not provide for the collection of royalties for "proper use"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interface usage count including an execution anomaly count that is a total number of times the plurality of electronic control devices is unable to execute the process in response to the access request due to occurrence of an anomaly as taught in McCleskey with the service providing system of Hiroaki in order to enable “an efficient, effective, accurate and functional improvement in the management of downloadable intellectual property” (McCleskey [0117]). IV. Claims 15 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki in view of Davis and Cowan US 20110219118 A1. Regarding Claim 15 , the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Cowan teaches wherein the coordination control section further includes a resource recording section configured to create a resource access log that records resource consumption information regarding a resource consumed in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block, and the server is configured to calculate the interface usage fee using the resource access log created by the coordination control section ([0022] a universal platform for utility computing that allows service providers to effectively monitor the usage of computing resources, and provides a universal or common metric that permits easy comparison of resource usage and provides a single unit to charge clients for the services rendered. In an embodiment, the platform measures or monitors six metrics commonly used in software computing (e.g. MHz for CPU or processor usage, Mbytes for memory usage, Kbytes/sec for I/O, Kbytes/sec for Local Area Network (LAN) usage, Kbits/sec for Wide Area Network (WAN) usage and Gbytes for storage usage) and applies appropriate weighting and conversion factors to each consumption value to derive a dimensionless quantity (termed herein a Workload Allocation Cube (WAC) unit or value) that can be used as a universal, or common, metric. As used herein, a Workload Allocation Cube (WAC) is itself a universal metric that provides the number of resource units equivalent to a single WAC unit for each of the six monitored resource types. A WAC can be applied agnostically to any system and application. The metrics can also take other environmental or controllable variables into account, such as real estate cost, tax jurisdiction and electrical power. The WAC unit is effectively a metric that makes diverse computing resources comparable. The total WAC units consumed by a user determine the cost charged for the use of the computing services. [0031] The node analysis engine 104 determines, for each resource type, an adjusted cost that is based on the cost of the resource. The additional factors that can be considered to adjust the cost base for each resource type can include, for example, operating costs and general overhead (e.g. electricity, facility lease costs, real estate costs, taxes, salaries for maintenance staff, etc.). These costs can be apportioned on a pro rata or other basis to each resource type. In addition, other weighting factors can be used to adjust the cost base of a resource type, as determined by the utility computing platform provider or the network infrastructure node provider. Once the cost of each resource type has been adjusted, the lifespan, lifecycle or an arbitrary cost recovery period (collectively termed here as "lifespan") can be assigned to each resource type. For example, a server may have an expected lifespan of two years, whereas the network infrastructure provider may wish to recoup the cost of a switch in 9 months, thus it can be assigned a lifespan of 9 months. In either case, the adjusted cost can be divided by the lifespan to determine a cost/predetermined time unit (e.g. $/month, $/day or $/hour) to deploy and operate each of the plurality of computing resource types (step 300)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coordination control section further including a resource recording section configured to create a resource access log that records resource consumption information regarding a resource consumed in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block, and the server is configured to calculate the interface usage fee using the resource access log created by the coordination control section as taught in Cowan with the service providing system of Hiroaki so that “[t]he total WAC units consumed by a user determine the cost charged for the use of the computing services” (Cowan [0022]). Regarding Claim 21 , the combination of Hiroaki, Davis, and Cowan teaches the limitations of claim 15, as discussed above. Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Cowan teaches wherein the server is configured to calculate the interface usage fee by changing weighting on the resource consumption information according to the functional interface ([0022] a universal platform for utility computing that allows service providers to effectively monitor the usage of computing resources, and provides a universal or common metric that permits easy comparison of resource usage and provides a single unit to charge clients for the services rendered. In an embodiment, the platform measures or monitors six metrics commonly used in software computing (e.g. MHz for CPU or processor usage, Mbytes for memory usage, Kbytes/sec for I/O, Kbytes/sec for Local Area Network (LAN) usage, Kbits/sec for Wide Area Network (WAN) usage and Gbytes for storage usage) and applies appropriate weighting and conversion factors to each consumption value to derive a dimensionless quantity (termed herein a Workload Allocation Cube (WAC) unit or value) that can be used as a universal, or common, metric. As used herein, a Workload Allocation Cube (WAC) is itself a universal metric that provides the number of resource units equivalent to a single WAC unit for each of the six monitored resource types. A WAC can be applied agnostically to any system and application. The metrics can also take other environmental or controllable variables into account, such as real estate cost, tax jurisdiction and electrical power. The WAC unit is effectively a metric that makes diverse computing resources comparable. The total WAC units consumed by a user determine the cost charged for the use of the computing services. [0031] The node analysis engine 104 determines, for each resource type, an adjusted cost that is based on the cost of the resource. The additional factors that can be considered to adjust the cost base for each resource type can include, for example, operating costs and general overhead (e.g. electricity, facility lease costs, real estate costs, taxes, salaries for maintenance staff, etc.). These costs can be apportioned on a pro rata or other basis to each resource type. In addition, other weighting factors can be used to adjust the cost base of a resource type, as determined by the utility computing platform provider or the network infrastructure node provider. Once the cost of each resource type has been adjusted, the lifespan, lifecycle or an arbitrary cost recovery period (collectively termed here as "lifespan") can be assigned to each resource type. For example, a server may have an expected lifespan of two years, whereas the network infrastructure provider may wish to recoup the cost of a switch in 9 months, thus it can be assigned a lifespan of 9 months. In either case, the adjusted cost can be divided by the lifespan to determine a cost/predetermined time unit (e.g. $/month, $/day or $/hour) to deploy and operate each of the plurality of computing resource types (step 300)) (see claim 15 rejection, above, for combination rationale). Regarding Claim 22 , the combination of Hiroaki, Davis, and Cowan teaches the limitations of claim 15, as discussed above. Hiroaki does not explicitly teach, however Cowan teaches wherein the server is configured to calculate the interface usage fee by changing weighting on the resource consumption information according to a margin of the resource at a time when the resource is consumed ([0022] a universal platform for utility computing that allows service providers to effectively monitor the usage of computing resources, and provides a universal or common metric that permits easy comparison of resource usage and provides a single unit to charge clients for the services rendered. In an embodiment, the platform measures or monitors six metrics commonly used in software computing (e.g. MHz for CPU or processor usage, Mbytes for memory usage, Kbytes/sec for I/O, Kbytes/sec for Local Area Network (LAN) usage, Kbits/sec for Wide Area Network (WAN) usage and Gbytes for storage usage) and applies appropriate weighting and conversion factors to each consumption value to derive a dimensionless quantity (termed herein a Workload Allocation Cube (WAC) unit or value) that can be used as a universal, or common, metric. As used herein, a Workload Allocation Cube (WAC) is itself a universal metric that provides the number of resource units equivalent to a single WAC unit for each of the six monitored resource types. A WAC can be applied agnostically to any system and application. The metrics can also take other environmental or controllable variables into account, such as real estate cost, tax jurisdiction and electrical power. The WAC unit is effectively a metric that makes diverse computing resources comparable. The total WAC units consumed by a user determine the cost charged for the use of the computing services. [0031] The node analysis engine 104 determines, for each resource type, an adjusted cost that is based on the cost of the resource. The additional factors that can be considered to adjust the cost base for each resource type can include, for example, operating costs and general overhead (e.g. electricity, facility lease costs, real estate costs, taxes, salaries for maintenance staff, etc.). These costs can be apportioned on a pro rata or other basis to each resource type. In addition, other weighting factors can be used to adjust the cost base of a resource type, as determined by the utility computing platform provider or the network infrastructure node provider. Once the cost of each resource type has been adjusted, the lifespan, lifecycle or an arbitrary cost recovery period (collectively termed here as "lifespan") can be assigned to each resource type. For example, a server may have an expected lifespan of two years, whereas the network infrastructure provider may wish to recoup the cost of a switch in 9 months, thus it can be assigned a lifespan of 9 months. In either case, the adjusted cost can be divided by the lifespan to determine a cost/predetermined time unit (e.g. $/month, $/day or $/hour) to deploy and operate each of the plurality of computing resource types (step 300)) (see claim 15 rejection, above, for combination rationale). Novel & Non-Obvious Subject Matter Claims 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims, and rewritten to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 16 would be allowable for disclosing all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15 in combination with resource consumption information that includes at least one of a calculation amount required for operating an actuator or a calculation amount required for processing until detection data indicating a detection result of a sensor is passed to the service-system functional block, in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block. Claim 17 would be allowable for disclosing all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15 in combination with resource consumption information that includes at least one of: a type and a total number of actuators that have operated; or a type, a total number, and an actuation time of a sensor used, in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block. Claim 18 would be allowable for disclosing all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15 in combination with resource consumption information that includes at least one of: a type and a total number of the plurality of electronic control devices or systems that have cooperated to operate an actuator, or a type and a total number of the plurality of electronic control devices or systems that have cooperated to operate a sensor and process data, in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block. Claim 19 would be allowable for disclosing all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15 in combination with resource consumption information that includes at least one of: power consumption for operating an actuator, or power consumption for operating a sensor and process data, in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block. Claim 20 would be allowable for disclosing all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15 in combination with resource consumption information that includes at least one of: a communication amount required for operating an actuator, or a communication amount, required for operating a sensor and process data, in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block. As discussed more fully above, the combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches creating, based on an execution status of the access request by each of the plurality of electronic control devices, an access log including at least one of an interface usage count that is a total number of times the service-system functional block has used the functional interface or an amount of communication data generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. The combination of Hiroaki and Davis teaches using the access log to calculate an interface usage fee generated by the service-system functional block using the functional interface. In addition, Cowan teaches a resource recording section configured to create a resource access log that records resource consumption information regarding a resource consumed in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block, and a server configured to calculate the interface usage fee using the resource access log created by the coordination control section. Nevertheless, nothing within the prior art teaches these features in combination with the claimed resource consumption information that includes information regarding operation of an actuator and/or a sensor in the process in response to the access request to the functional interface included in the functional block as required in each of claims 16-20 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUANE MOORE whose telephone number is (571)272-7544. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEFFREY ZIMMERMAN can be reached on (571)272-4602. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /D.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3628 /GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 2 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 3 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 4 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 5 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 6 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 7 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 8 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 9 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 10 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 11 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 12 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 13 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 14 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 15 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 16 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 17 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 18 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 19 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 20 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 21 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 22 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 23 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 24 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 25 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 26 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 27 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 28 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 29 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 30 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 31 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 32 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 33 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 34 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 35 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 36 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 37 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 38 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 39 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 40 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 41 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 42 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 43 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 44 Art Unit: 3628 Application/Control Number: 19/032,390 Page 45 Art Unit: 3628