DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Milano et al. (US 8907437; hereinafter Milano).
Regarding claim 1, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 a current sensor comprising:
a conductor (52a; fig. 3A) having
a first terminal portion (54 left) for inputting a current and a second terminal portion (54 right) for outputting the current which are arranged on one side in a first axial direction (52a left), the second terminal portion being separated from the first terminal portion in a second axial direction (52a right) intersecting the first axial direction,
a turn portion (58) which is arranged on another side in the first axial direction,
a first body portion (52a left) which connects one end of the turn portion and the first terminal portion, and
a second body portion (52a right) which is separated from the first body portion in the second axial direction, to connect another end of the turn portion and the second terminal portion (54 right);
a magnetic sensor (60/58) which is arranged on the conductor or near the conductor; and
a package (68) which encapsulates the turn portion, the first body portion, and the second body portion of the conductor, and the magnetic sensor, and which exposes the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion, wherein
at least one of a cross sectional area of a cross section of the first terminal portion, which is taken along an outer plane of the package, or a cross sectional area of a cross section of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than a cross sectional area of the turn portion (54 width/area smaller than width/area of 58; fig. 3A),
a connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, and a connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion, have an approximately rectangular shape (rectangular 58) in a top plan view, and
the magnetic sensor is arranged on at least one of the connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, or the connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion (col. 7 lines 54-55 :- die 58 that contains a magnetic field sensing circuit with magnetic field transducer 60).
Regarding claim 2, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 a current sensor comprising:
a conductor (52a; fig. 3A) having
a first terminal portion (54 left) for inputting a current and a second terminal portion (54 right) for outputting the current which are arranged on one side in a first axial direction (52a left), the second terminal portion being separated from the first terminal portion in a second axial direction (52a right) intersecting the first axial direction,
a turn portion (58) which is arranged on another side in the first axial direction,
a first body portion (52a left) which connects one end of the turn portion and the first terminal portion, and
a second body portion (52a right) which is separated from the first body portion in the second axial direction, to connect another end of the turn portion and the second terminal portion (54 right);
a magnetic sensor (60/58) which is arranged on the conductor or near the conductor; and
a package (68) which encapsulates the turn portion, the first body portion, and the second body portion of the conductor, and the magnetic sensor, and which exposes the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion, wherein
at least one of a cross sectional area of a cross section of the first terminal portion, which is taken along an outer plane of the package, or a cross sectional area of a cross section of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than a cross sectional area of the turn portion (54 width/area smaller than width/area of 58; fig. 3A),
a connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, and a connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion, have a rectangular shape (rectangular 58) in a top plan view, and
the magnetic sensor is arranged on at least one of the connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, or the connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion (col. 7 lines 54-55 :- die 58 that contains a magnetic field sensing circuit with magnetic field transducer 60).
Regarding claim 3, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the first body portion has a shape in which a cross sectional area is increased from the connection portion with the turn portion toward a connection portion with the first terminal portion, and the second body portion has a shape in which a cross sectional area is increased from the connection portion with the turn portion toward a connection portion with the second terminal portion, each of the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion includes a plurality of terminals, and at least one of totals of cross sectional areas of cross sections of the first terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, or cross sections of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than the cross sectional area of the turn portion (width of 58 smaller than width of 68; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 4, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 2, wherein the first body portion has a shape in which a cross sectional area is increased from the connection portion with the turn portion toward a connection portion with the first terminal portion, and the second body portion has a shape in which a cross sectional area is increased from the connection portion with the turn portion toward a connection portion with the second terminal portion (width of 58 smaller than width of 68; fig. 3A), each of the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion includes a plurality of terminals (54), and at least one of totals of cross sectional areas of cross sections of the first terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, or cross sections of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than the cross sectional area of the turn portion (54 width/area smaller than width/area of 58; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 5, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the turn portion has a shape of extending from one side in the first axial direction (@52a left) to another side, bending in the second axial direction (@52a right), and returning to the one side, and the cross sectional area of the turn portion (@58) is given by a cross sectional area on a central axis of the conductor parallel to the first axial direction.
Regarding claim 6, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the cross sectional area of the cross section of the first terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, or the cross sectional area of the cross section of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than a minimum value of a cross sectional area of the connection portion between the turn portion and the first body portion, and a minimum value of a cross sectional area of the connection portion between the turn portion and the second body portion (54 width/area smaller than width/area of 58; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 2, wherein at least one of the cross sectional area of the cross section of the first terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, or the cross sectional area of the cross section of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than a cross sectional area of the connection portion between the turn portion and the first body portion, and a cross sectional area of the connection portion between the turn portion and the second body portion (54 width/area smaller than width/area of 58; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 8, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of signal terminals which are separated from the conductor on one side in the first axial direction, and which are encapsulated in the package with edges being exposed, wherein at least one signal terminal of the plurality of signal terminals is closer to the turn portion than another signal terminal (variable distances of 54 terminals from 60; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 9, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 8, wherein the at least one signal terminal is a GND terminal (GND 158; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 9, wherein the at least one signal terminal is closer to the turn portion, the first body portion, and the second body portion than the another signal terminal (variable distances of 54 terminals from 60; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 12, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic sensor (60; fig. 3A) is arranged on the conductor via a dielectric layer (64), and a contour of the dielectric layer (66a; fig. 3C) is positioned between a contour of the magnetic sensor and an outer contour of the conductor.
Regarding claim 13, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein with respect to a long side and a short side of a rectangular shape, when the long side/the short side is set to be an aspect ratio, the aspect ratio of a cross section of the conductor in the turn portion is 1.4 to 2.7 (aspect of 58; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 14, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 13, wherein the aspect ratios in the cross section of the first terminal portion (54 left), which is taken along the outer plane of the package, and in the cross section of the second terminal portion (54 right), which is taken along the outer plane of the package, are both 1.4 to 2.7.
Regarding claim 15, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 13, wherein the aspect ratios of the cross sections of the conductor in the connection portions (@58) between the first body portion and the turn portion, and between the second body portion and the turn portion, are both 1.4 to 2.7.
Regarding claim 16, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein with respect to a long side and a short side of a rectangular shape, when the long side/the short side is set to be an aspect ratio, the aspect ratios in a cross section of a connection portion between the first terminal portion (54 left) and the first body portion, and in a cross section of a connection portion between the second terminal portion (54 right) and the second body portion are both 1.4 to 2.7.
Regarding claim 17, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the conductor is approximately constant, at least one of a width of the cross section of the first terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, or a width of the cross section of the second terminal portion, which is taken along the outer plane of the package, is smaller than a width of the turn portion (54 width/area smaller than width/area of 58; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 18, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 17, wherein at least one of a width of a connection portion between the first terminal portion and the first body portion, or a width of a connection portion between the second terminal portion and the second body portion, is further smaller than a width of the connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, and a width of the connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion (54 width smaller than half width of 58; fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 19, Milano discloses in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1, wherein the current sensor includes any magnetoresistance element (col. 2 line 5 - magnetoresistive transducer) of a tunnel magnetoresistance element (TMR), a giant magnetoresistance element (GMR), or an anisotropic magnetoresistance element (AMR).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano in view of Ausserlechner et al. (US 20170153301).
Regarding claim 11, Milano teaches in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 8,
Milano does not teach explicitly wherein when the current sensor is mounted on a mounting substrate, the at least one signal terminal is connected to a footprint, on the mounting substrate, which has a greater area than a footprint to which the another signal terminal is connected.
However, Ausserlechner teaches in figure(s) 1-21 wherein when the current sensor (sensor 100/200; figs. 3-4,10a) is mounted on a mounting substrate (210; figs. 3-4,10a), the at least one signal terminal is connected to a footprint, on the mounting substrate, which has a greater area than a footprint to which the another signal terminal is connected (terminals type 115 on footprint portion 170-1 vs terminals type 125 on footprint portion 170-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Milano by having wherein when the current sensor is mounted on a mounting substrate, the at least one signal terminal is connected to a footprint, on the mounting substrate, which has a greater area than a footprint to which the another signal terminal is connected as taught by Ausserlechner in order to provide "sensor arrangement further includes a plurality of sensor devices mechanically accommodated on a main surface of the board and arranged around the recess" (abstract).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano in view of Racz et al. (US 20140253103).
Regarding claim 20, Milano teaches in figure(s) 3-8 the current sensor according to claim 1,
each of the first magnetic sensor and the second magnetic sensor includes any magnetoresistance element (col. 2 line 5 of Milano - magnetoresistive transducer) of a tunnel magnetoresistance element (TMR), a giant magnetoresistance element (GMR), or an anisotropic magnetoresistance element (AMR), and the first magnetic sensor and the second magnetic sensor have magnetic sensitive directions opposite to each other, and are connected to each other by wiring.
Milano does not teach explicitly wherein the magnetic sensor includes a first magnetic sensor and a second magnetic sensor, the first magnetic sensor is arranged on the connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, the second magnetic sensor is arranged on the connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion.
However, Racz teaches in figure(s) 1-9 wherein the magnetic sensor includes a first magnetic sensor and a second magnetic sensor, the first magnetic sensor is arranged on the connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, the second magnetic sensor is arranged on the connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion (para. 19 - two magnetic field sensors or clusters of magnetic field sensors, which are arranged at different edges of the current conductor; fig. 1),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Milano by having wherein the magnetic sensor includes a first magnetic sensor and a second magnetic sensor, the first magnetic sensor is arranged on the connection portion between the first body portion and the turn portion, the second magnetic sensor is arranged on the connection portion between the second body portion and the turn portion as taught by Racz in order to provide "a magnetic field that is produced by the current flowing through the current conductor points in opposite directions at the location of the two magnetic field sensors" (para. 19).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Racz et al. (US 20140253103) discloses "Current sensor".
TAKENAKA et al. (US 20180120357) discloses "current measurement device".
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858