DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 7-26 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/25, 3/24/25, 8/5/25, 10/17/25, and 12/29/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Current ’686 Application
Parent ‘428: please note that the quoted text below may not be in the same order as the original’s; instead, for comprehension, they may be listed to match the elements of current application (on the left);
A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system of an issuer of a payment vehicle, a first text message from a mobile computing device of a holder of the payment vehicle, the first text message including a user-input instruction of the holder of the payment vehicle, the user-input instruction indicating that electronic transaction requests meeting one or more criteria are to be denied during processing by a computer-based payment network for the payment vehicle;
(the examiner notes that the current claim are even broader than the allowed parent claim – i.e. any criteria instead of the parent’s more specific time range criteria)
A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system of an issuer of a payment vehicle, a first text message from a mobile computing device of a holder of the payment vehicle, the first text message including a user-input instruction of the holder of the payment vehicle, the user-input instruction providing a time range during which transfers from an online banking account for the payment vehicle are to be disabled while permitting access to a status of the online banking account;
updating, by a transaction engine of the computing system, logic associated with the payment vehicle such that electronic transaction requests meeting the one or more criteria are automatically denied and electronic transaction requests not meeting the one or more criteria are approved without requiring subsequent authorization from the holder of the payment vehicle;
updating, by a transaction engine of the computing system, logic associated with the payment vehicle such that electronic transaction requests meeting the criteria are automatically denied and electronic transaction requests not meeting the criteria are approved without requiring subsequent authorization from the holder of the payment vehicle
receiving, by the computing system, a transaction request for a payment to a recipient using the payment vehicle;
receiving, by the computing system, a request for a transfer from the online banking account for the payment vehicle to a recipient;
determining, based on the logic, by the computing system, that the transaction request for the payment to the recipient is to be denied for meeting the one or more criteria; and
(the examiner notes again that the current claim are even broader than the allowed parent claim – i.e. any criteria instead of the parent’s time range criteria being met)
determining, by the computing system, that the request for the transfer from the online banking account for the payment vehicle to the recipient is received during the time range provided in the user-input instruction; and
in response to determining that the transaction request for the payment is to be denied: denying, by the computing system, the transaction request for the payment to the recipient,
in response to determining that the request for the transfer from the online banking account for the payment vehicle is received during the time range: denying, by the computing system, the request for the transfer from the online banking account for the payment vehicle,
transmitting, by the computing system, a second text message to the mobile computing device indicating that the payment is denied, and
transmitting, by the computing system, a second text message to the mobile computing device indicating that the request for the transfer is denied, and
transmitting, by the computing system, an electronic message to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal indicating that the transaction request for the payment is denied
transmitting, by the computing system, an electronic message to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal of the recipient indicating that the request for the transfer is denied
Examiner’s Comments Relating to Prior Art
The examiner notes that there are no prior art rejections for dependent claims 10 and 11 because prior art searches have yielded nothing similar to the claimed invention. This is because the claims contain very specific instruction/message and steps in the business idea of transaction approval process. At a high level, the invention is about updating and implementing criteria for approval or denying transaction payment requests.
Specifically, dependent claim 10 further discloses (in addition to the elements disclosed by the referenced claim) the very specific steps and elements of: “receiving, by the computing system, an additional text message from the mobile computing device with a term "off' in the text message; and updating, by the transaction engine of the computing system, the logic such that the payment vehicle is deactivated for all transactions in response to receiving the additional text message (emphasis examiner’s).” Thus, there are no prior art rejections because prior art searches have yielded nothing similar to the claimed invention – in combination with the referenced independent claim elements. Incorporation of these specific elements (positively claimed and in their entirety) into all the dependent claims may help advance the patent prosecution process.
Similarly, dependent claim 11 further discloses (in addition to the elements disclosed by the referenced claim) the very specific steps and elements of: “receiving, by the computing system, an additional text message from the mobile computing device with a term "on" in the text message; and updating, by the transaction engine of the computing system, the logic such that the payment vehicle is enabled for all transactions in response to receiving the additional text message (emphasis examiner’s).” Thus, there are no prior art rejections because prior art searches have yielded nothing similar to the claimed invention – in combination with the referenced independent claim elements. Incorporation of these specific elements (positively claimed and in their entirety) into all the dependent claims may help advance the patent prosecution process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 7-26 are directed to a system, method, or product, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified independent method claim 7 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent system claim 22 and product claim 26. Claim 7 recites the limitations of updating and implementing criteria for approval or denying transaction payment requests.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Receiving a 1st message; 1st message includes user instruction on criteria to deny transactions; updating logic for denying/approving transactions; receiving transaction payment request; determining if the transaction is to be approved or denied; if denying, then (1) denying the payment request, (2) transmitting 2nd text message to holder mobile device indicating that payment is denied, and (3) transmitting message to POS indicating that payment is denied, – specifically, the claim recites: “receiving… a first text message… the first text message including a user-input instruction of the holder of the payment vehicle, the user-input instruction indicating that electronic transaction requests meeting one or more criteria are to be denied during processing… updating… logic associated with the payment vehicle such that electronic transaction requests meeting the one or more criteria are automatically denied and electronic transaction requests not meeting the one or more criteria are approved without requiring subsequent authorization from the holder of the payment vehicle; receiving… a transaction request for a payment to a recipient… determining, based on the logic… that the transaction request for the payment to the recipient is to be denied for meeting the one or more criteria; and in response to determining that the transaction request for the payment is to be denied: denying… the transaction request for the payment to the recipient, transmitting… a second text message… indicating that the payment is denied, and transmitting… an electronic message to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal indicating that the transaction request for the payment is denied , recites a fundamental economic practice, directed to mitigating risk.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic practice or commercial or legal interactions, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. The “a computing system”, “one or more processors”, “memory”, “a mobile computing device”, “a transaction engine”, and “a point-of-sale (POS) terminal”, in claim 22; and the additional technical element of “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” and “a computer-based payment network” in claim 26, are just applying generic computer components to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. Claims 7 and 26 are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of: a computer such as a computing system, one or more processors, a mobile computing device, a transaction engine, a computer-based payment network, and a point-of-sale (POS) terminal; and a storage unit such as memory and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, claims 7, 22, and 26 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Thus, claims 7, 22, and 26 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 7, 22, and 26 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above.
Dependent claim 8 discloses the limitation of approved transactions are settled by the issuer using a funding source linked to the payment vehicle, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 discloses the limitation of transmitting, by the computing system and to the mobile computing device, a confirmation text message that the logic has been updated, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the computing system” and “the mobile computing device” are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 discloses the limitation of receiving, by the computing system, an additional text message from the mobile computing device with a term "off' in the text message; and updating, by the transaction engine of the computing system, the logic such that the payment vehicle is deactivated for all transactions in response to receiving the additional text message, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the computing system”, “the mobile computing device”, and “the transaction engine”, are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 11 discloses the limitation of receiving, by the computing system, an additional text message from the mobile computing device with a term "on" in the text message; and updating, by the transaction engine of the computing system, the logic such that the payment vehicle is enabled for all transactions in response to receiving the additional text message, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the computing system”, “the mobile computing device”, and “the transaction engine”, are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 12 discloses the limitation of the transaction engine resides in the computing system of the issuer of the payment vehicle, the computing system of the issuer being part of the computer-based payment network, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical elements “the transaction engine”, “the computing system”, and “of the computer-based payment network”, are recited at a high level of generality. They do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 13 discloses the limitation of the transaction request for the payment is received from the POS terminal, the transaction request having been generated by the POS terminal following presentation of the payment vehicle to the POS terminal, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “the POS terminal” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 14 discloses the limitation of denying the transaction request for the payment to the recipient comprises declining the transaction request such that the payment is not settled by the issuer, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 15 discloses the limitation of one or more criteria are indicative of transactions falling within a transaction amount range, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 16 discloses the limitation of the one or more criteria indicate that transactions conducted at one or more merchants are unauthorized, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 17 discloses the limitation of the one or more criteria define unauthorized transactions based on a type of goods, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 18 discloses the limitation of the one or more criteria indicate that transactions for internet purchases are unauthorized, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 19 discloses the limitation of the one or more criteria are indicative of a category of merchants at which transactions are unauthorized, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 20 discloses the limitation of the criteria indicate transactions in one or more countries are unauthorized, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 21 discloses the limitation of the text message comprises a short message service (SMS) text message, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 23 discloses the limitation of the one or more criteria are based on at least one of a transaction amount, a merchant, a type of goods, or a country, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 24 discloses the limitation of transmit, to the mobile computing device, a confirmation text message that the logic has been updated, which further narrows the abstract idea. Note that the technical element “the mobile computing device” is recited at a high level of generality. It does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 25 discloses the limitation of the text message comprises a short message service (SMS) text message, which further narrows the abstract idea.
Thus, the dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 7-26 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 12-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Brandt (20050199714) in view of DeVault (20050027651).
Regarding claim 7, Brandt discloses
a method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of an issuer of a payment vehicle, a first text message from a mobile computing device of a holder of the payment vehicle, the first text message including a user-input instruction of the holder of the payment vehicle, the user-input instruction indicating that electronic transaction requests meeting one or more criteria are to be denied during processing by a computer-based payment network for the payment vehicle
(“[0033] In one embodiment using a threshold rule, the payment card holder 12 can use the communication device 34 to send a message, such as an SMS message, to the payment card transaction and notification system 36 to pre-approve a large expenditure amount over a threshold he/she had set. For instance, the payment card holder 12 may have a $100 limit on all purchases, but pre-approves a $10,000 limit for the purchase of a plasma-screen television. In this way, the payment card transaction notification and authorization system 36 acts to increase a purchase limit threshold for the payment card 10 based on a message received from the payment card holder 12”).
receiving, by the computing system, a transaction request for a payment to a recipient using the payment vehicle
(“[0011] As indicated by block 14, the method comprises an individual 16 attempting a transaction using the payment card 10. The individual 16 may comprise the payment card holder 12, someone authorized by the payment card holder 12 to pay for one or more transaction using the payment card 10, or someone unauthorized by the payment card holder 12 to make any transaction using the payment card 10. An example of an authorized individual is the holder's 12 son or daughter. An example of an unauthorized individual is someone who stole the payment card 10 or is otherwise fraudulently using an account number of the payment card 10”).
determining, based on the logic, by the computing system, that the transaction request for the payment to the recipient is to be denied for meeting the one or more criteria; and in response to determining that the transaction request for the payment is to be denied: denying, by the computing system, the transaction request for the payment to the recipient
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to: notify if a purchase amount exceeds a threshold (e.g. in dollars); notify by a type of merchant (e.g. for food, gas, retail, Internet); notify if usage exceeds a threshold in a time period (e.g. this is the fifth purchase today); notify if usage occurs in a time window (e.g. between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM); and notify if the credit limit will be exceeded by the attempted transaction”).
transmitting, by the computing system, a second text message to the mobile computing device indicating that the payment is denied, and
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12”).
transmitting, by the computing system, an electronic message to a point-of-sale (POS) terminal indicating that the transaction request for the payment is denied
(“[0014] The payment card transaction notification and authorization system 36 communicates with the communication device 34 and the transaction terminal 24 via one or more telecommunication networks 40. Examples of the one or more telecommunication networks 40 include, but are not limited to, a landline telephone system, a wireless telephone system, a satellite telecommunication system, a digital subscriber line network, and the Internet”).
Brandt does not disclose, however, DeVault teaches
updating, by a transaction engine of the computing system, logic associated with the payment vehicle such that electronic transaction requests meeting the one or more criteria are automatically denied and electronic transaction requests not meeting the one or more criteria are approved without requiring subsequent authorization from the holder of the payment vehicle
(“[0140] FIG. 17 shows the Approval Process. The Approvals process allows the user to create an approval policy for requiring certain loan transactions to obtain certain approval types by specifying the type of approval needed and imposing rules specific to each approval type. Within Approval, requests may be generating using the imbedded Perform Approvals 1 functions on the display screens which allow approvals to occur within the Application Frame system. Additional functions supported by Approval include View Amendments 2, Add/Update Amendments 3 and Generate Email Approval Requests 4. The Approval process is comprised of an Approval 5 screen that manages the initial approval process, a set of Amendment screens that are used to process amendments after initial approval and Email screens that support requesting an approval from a senior approver”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to modify Brandt to include updating, by a transaction engine of the computing system, logic associated with the payment vehicle such that electronic transaction requests meeting the one or more criteria are automatically denied and electronic transaction requests not meeting the one or more criteria are approved without requiring subsequent authorization from the holder of the payment vehicle as taught by DeVault to provide a system with single point of entry to have the user’s wish/instruction enter once and the system customized to continually execute future recuring task. See [0010] As described above, the institutional transaction process being a transaction-based system involves a number of different systems and individuals performing a specific task on the transaction at any given time... It would be beneficial to create a single point of entry for a user to organize the various resources he interacts with and simplify the job of executing each task that routinely arises. In addition, it would be helpful if the single point of entry was customizable to each individual user allowing him to see the items which may be of most importance to him.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein approved transactions are settled by the issuer using a funding source linked to the payment vehicle
(“[0029] The card issuer locks the account, declines to authorize the purchase, and notifies the clerk that fraud is in progress”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt teaches
transmitting, by the computing system and to the mobile computing device, a confirmation text message that the [logic has been updated]
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12”).
Brandt does not disclose, however, DeVault further discloses
[logic has been updated]
(“[0140] FIG. 17 shows the Approval Process. The Approvals process allows the user to create an approval policy for requiring certain loan transactions to obtain certain approval types by specifying the type of approval needed and imposing rules specific to each approval type. Within Approval, requests may be generating using the imbedded Perform Approvals 1 functions on the display screens which allow approvals to occur within the Application Frame system. Additional functions supported by Approval include View Amendments 2, Add/Update Amendments 3 and Generate Email Approval Requests 4. The Approval process is comprised of an Approval 5 screen that manages the initial approval process, a set of Amendment screens that are used to process amendments after initial approval and Email screens that support requesting an approval from a senior approver”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to modify Brandt to include [logic has been updated] as taught by DeVault to provide a system with single point of entry to have the user’s wish/instruction enter once and the system customized to continually execute future recuring task. See [0010] As described above, the institutional transaction process being a transaction-based system involves a number of different systems and individuals performing a specific task on the transaction at any given time… It would be beneficial to create a single point of entry for a user to organize the various resources he interacts with and simplify the job of executing each task that routinely arises. In addition, it would be helpful if the single point of entry was customizable to each individual user allowing him to see the items which may be of most importance to him.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the transaction engine resides in the computing system of the issuer of the payment vehicle, the computing system of the issuer being part of the computer-based payment network
(“[0029] The card issuer locks the account, declines to authorize the purchase, and notifies the clerk that fraud is in progress”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the transaction request for the payment is received from the POS terminal, the transaction request having been generated by the POS terminal following presentation of the payment vehicle to the POS terminal
(“[0012] The transaction may be attempted at a "brick-and-mortar" merchant 20 such as a retailer having a physical presence for customers. Typically, the payment card 10 is read by a payment card reader 22 coupled to a transaction terminal 24 at the brick-and-mortar merchant 20. For example, the payment card reader 22 may comprise a magnetic stripe reader to read a magnetic stripe on a credit card or a debit card. Alternatively, the transaction may be attempted using an online merchant 26, wherein an account number of the payment card 10 is communicated to the online merchant 26 to attempt the transaction”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein denying the transaction request for the payment to the recipient comprises declining the transaction request such that the payment is not settled by the issuer
(“[0029] The card issuer locks the account, declines to authorize the purchase, and notifies the clerk that fraud is in progress”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the one or more criteria are indicative of transactions falling within a transaction amount range
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to: notify if a purchase amount exceeds a threshold (e.g. in dollars)”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the one or more criteria indicate that transactions conducted at one or more merchants are unauthorized
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to… notify by a type of merchant (e.g. for food, gas, retail, Internet)”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the one or more criteria define unauthorized transactions based on a type of goods
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to… notify by a type of merchant (e.g. for food, gas, retail, Internet)”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the one or more criteria indicate that transactions for internet purchases are unauthorized
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to… notify by a type of merchant (e.g. for food, gas, retail, Internet)”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the one or more criteria are indicative of a category of merchants at which transactions are unauthorized
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to… notify by a type of merchant (e.g. for food, gas, retail, Internet)”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the criteria indicate transactions in one or more countries are unauthorized
(“ [0015] The notification message 32 indicates any combination of date and time of the attempted transaction, all or part of a number of the payment card 10 (e.g. the part being the last four digits of the number), a name of the merchant 20, an identifier of the merchant 20, a location of the merchant 20 (e.g. address, city, state and postal code), a register number to identify the transaction terminal 24, and an amount (e.g. in dollars) of the attempted transaction”).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the text message comprises a short message service (SMS) text message
(“[0033] In one embodiment using a threshold rule, the payment card holder 12 can use the communication device 34 to send a message, such as an SMS message, to the payment card transaction and notification system”).
Claim 22 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Brandt and DeVault, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 7.
Brandt further discloses
wherein the one or more criteria are based on at least one of a transaction amount, a merchant, a type of goods, or a country
(“[0032] As another option, the transaction notification and authorization system 36 can apply threshold-based rules for notification to the payment card holder 12. Examples of the rules include, but are not limited to: notify if a purchase amount exceeds a threshold (e.g. in dollars); notify by a type of merchant (e.g. for food, gas, retail, Internet); notify if usage exceeds a threshold in a time period (e.g. this is the fifth purchase today); notify if usage occurs in a time window (e.g. between 11:00 PM and 5:00 AM); and notify if the credit limit will be exceeded by the attempted transaction”).
Claim 24 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 9.
Claim 25 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 21.
Claim 26 is rejected using the same rationale that was used for the rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Madhok (20060059110) teaches system and method for detecting card fraud.
Slonecker (7383988) teaches system and method for locking and unlocking a financial account card.
Koraichi (8737964) teaches facilitating and authenticating transactions.
Bornhofen (8918338) teaches method and system for the issuance of instant credit.
/MARK H GAW/Examiner, Art Unit 3693