DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “the rotation axis of the pulley” and “the bottom portion of the groove” in the eighth and eleventh lines of the claim, respectively. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the pulley can rotate about a rotation axis”. However, independent claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, recites “a wire guide including a tapered surface extending…radially inward relative to the rotation axis of the pulley”. It is not clear if Applicant intends to refer back to the rotation axis of the pulley as recited in claim 1, or intends to claim a different rotation axis of the pulley. Accordingly, the claim is rendered indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. For purposes of examination, the rotation axis of the pulley in claim 2 is interpreted as being the same rotation axis of the pulley as recited in independent claim 1.
Claim 16 recites the limitations “the third wire guide” and “the fourth wire guide” in the sixteenth and nineteenth lines of the claim, respectively. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakade et al. (US 2012/0220832 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakade discloses an insertion device (1; Fig. 1), comprising: a wire (27/107A; Figs. 2 and 13A; par. [0054] and [0106]) configured to transmit a pulling force to a bending portion (7; Fig. 1; par. [0054]) of an insertion portion (2; par. [0045]; Fig. 1) of the insertion device (1; Fig. 1); and a pulley (102; Figs. 12-13B; par. [0103]) including: a groove (112A; par. [0104; Figs. 12-13B) on an outer circumference portion of the pulley (102; Figs. 12-13B), the groove (112) including a bottom surface (see A of inserted Fig. 12 below) and a lateral surface (see B of inserted Fig. 12 below), and a wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A; Figs. 12-13A; par. [0104] and [0126]) including a tapered surface (portion of 103 including 118A; Figs. 12-13A) extending axially inward from the lateral surface and radially inward relative to the rotation axis of the pulley toward the bottom surface (Figs. 12-13A), the wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A) extending in the groove (112A) in a circumferential direction (Fig. 13A), wherein a width of the bottom portion of the groove (112A) in the portion of the groove at which the wire guide is located is narrowed down by the wire guide (Fig. 13A).
Regarding claim 2, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 1, wherein the pulley (102) can rotate about a rotation axis (axis of 23; Fig. 13) within an angular range from −180 degrees to +180 degrees with respect to an initial position of the pulley (see Figs. 13A, 14A and 15A).
Regarding claim 3, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 2, wherein during rotation of the pulley (102), the wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A) is configured to guide the wire (27/107A) to sit in a predetermined winding position in the bottom portion of the groove (Fig. 13A; par. [0107]), and wherein the width being a distance sufficient to limit the wire to be wound onto the bottom surface in no more than two paths during rotation of the pulley about the rotation axis and within the angular range (Figs. 13A and 15A).
Regarding claim 4, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 3, wherein the distance of the width of the bottom portion of the groove is sufficient to limit the wire (27/107A) to be wound in no more than one path during rotation of the pulley about the rotation axis and within the angular range (Figs. 13A and 15A).
Regarding claim 5, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 1, wherein the wire (27/107A) enters the groove at a starting circumferential position (113A; Fig. 13A), and wherein the wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A) is located at a circumferential position adjacent to the starting circumferential position (Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 6, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 5, wherein the wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A) extends in a direction opposite to a winding direction of the wire in the groove (118A extending toward 116A; Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 16, Nakade discloses an insertion device (1; Fig. 1), comprising: a first wire (27/107; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]), a second wire (27/107; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]), a third wire (27/107; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]), and a fourth wire (27/107; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]) configured to transmit a pulling force to a bending portion (7; par. [0054]; Fig. 1) of an insertion portion (2; par. [0045]; Fig. 1); a first pulley (102; Figs. 12-13B; par. [0103]) including: a first groove (112A; par. [0104]; Figs. 12-13B) and a second groove (112B; par. [0104]; Figs. 12-13B) for winding the first wire (27/107A; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]) and the second wire (27/107B; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]), respectively, on an outer circumference portion of the first pulley (102), a first wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A; Figs. 12-13A; par. [0104] and [0126]) extending from a lateral surface (see B of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the first groove (112A) to a bottom surface (see A of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the first groove (112A) in a circumferential direction thereof, and a second wire guide (portion of 104 including 118B; Figs. 12 and 13B; par. [0104] and [0126]) extending from a lateral surface (see B of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the second groove (112B) to a bottom surface (see A of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the second groove (112B) in a circumferential direction thereof; and a second pulley (102B; Figs. 3 and 12-13B; par. [0050] and [0102]- [0103]) including: a third groove (112A; par. [0104]; Figs. 12-13B) and a fourth groove (112B; par. [0104]; Figs. 12-13B) for winding the third wire (27/107; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]) and the fourth wire (27/107; Fig. 2; par. [0054] and [0106]), respectively, on an outer circumference portion of the second pulley (102B), the third wire guide (portion of 103 including 118A; Figs. 12-13A; par. [0104] and [0126]) extending from a lateral surface (see B of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the third groove (112A) to a bottom surface (see A of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the third groove in a circumferential direction thereof, and the fourth wire guide (portion of 103 including 118B; Figs. 12 and 13B; par. [0104] and [0126]) extending from a lateral surface (see B of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the fourth groove (112B) to a bottom surface (see A of inserted Fig. 12 below) of the fourth groove in a circumferential direction thereof.
Regarding claim 17, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 16, wherein a width of the bottom surface of the first groove (112A) is sufficient to limit the first wire to be wound onto the bottom surface of the first groove in no more than two paths during rotation of the first pulley about a first rotation axis (Figs. 13A and 15A), wherein a width of the bottom surface of the second groove (112B) is sufficient to limit the second wire to be wound onto the bottom surface of the second groove in no more than two paths during rotation of the first pulley about the first rotation axis (Figs. 13B and 14B), wherein a width of the bottom surface of the third groove (112A of second pulley) is sufficient to limit the third wire to be wound onto the bottom surface of the third groove in no more than two paths during rotation of the second pulley about a second rotation axis (Figs. 13A and 15A), and wherein a width of the bottom surface of the fourth groove (112B of second pulley) is sufficient to limit the fourth wire to be wound onto the bottom surface of the fourth groove in no more than two paths during rotation of the second pulley about the second rotation axis (Figs. 13B and 14B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakade, as applied to the claims above, in view of Miyoshi et al. (US 2013/0190566 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 1, further comprising a cover (28; Fig. 3; par. [0055]) attached to the pulley to cover the groove (112A), but does not specifically disclose wherein the cover includes a projection that protrudes from at least a part in an inner circumference surface of the cover toward an inside of the groove. Miyoshi teaches an analogous insertion device (Fig. 1) comprising a cover (3b/18; Figs. 1-10) attached to a pulley (23UD; Figs. 1-10), wherein the cover includes a projection (18a/28; Fig. 9; par. [0080]) that protrudes from at least a part in an inner circumference of the cover (Fig. 9) toward an inside of the groove (Figs. 7-9). Miyoshi teaches that the cover and projection limit the rotation angle of the pulley (par. [0078]-[0080]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill to modify the insertion device of Nakade to include a rotation angle regulating mechanism including a projection, as taught by Miyoshi, in order to control the bend angle of the bending portion of the insertion device.
Regarding claim 8, Nakade in view of Miyoshi disclose the insertion device according to claim 7, wherein the inner circumference surface of the cover has an arc shape that is coaxial with the rotation axis of the pulley (Miyoshi: Figs. 7-9; 18a/28), and wherein a shape of a radially inner surface of the projection has an arc shape that is coaxial with the rotation axis of the pulley (Miyoshi: Figs. 7-9).
Regarding claim 9, Nakade in view of Miyoshi disclose the insertion device according to claim 7, wherein the projection has a shape that fits into the inside of the groove (Miyoshi: the shape of 18a is capable of fitting inside the groove; applicant has not claimed a structural configuration).
Regarding claim 10, Nakade in view of Miyoshi disclose the insertion device according to claim 8, wherein the projection has a C-shape when seen in a direction along the rotation axis of the pulley (Miyoshi: Figs. 7-9; 18a/28).
Regarding claim 11, Nakade in view of Miyoshi disclose the insertion device according to claim 10, wherein a central angle of the projection having the arc shape is more than 180 degrees (Miyoshi: Figs. 7-9; 18a/28).
Regarding claim 12, Nakade in view of Miyoshi disclose the insertion device according to claim 10, wherein the projection has, in a circumferential direction, a first end portion (Miyoshi: 19; Figs. 8-9) and a second end portion (Miyoshi: 19; Figs. 8-9), and wherein a surface of the first end portion and a surface of the second end portion are oriented in a direction in which the wire extends from the groove of the pulley (Miyoshi: 19; Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakade, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Danitz et al. (US 7,789,252 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein a diameter of the wire is 0.25 mm or more and 0.55 mm or less. Danitz teaches an analogous insertion device wherein the diameter of the wire may be in the range from about 0.1 m to about 3 mm depending on the endoscopic application (col. 8, ll. 44-62). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the diameter of the wire in the range of 0.25 mm to 0.55 mm depending on the endoscopic application, as taught by Danitz.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakade, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Nakade discloses the insertion device according to claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein the insertion device is a single-use endoscope. Applicant discloses that a single-use endoscope may be disposed after a single use, or it may be used after it is cleaned, inspected and repaired (see par. [0053] of the published application). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the endoscope of Nakade a single use endoscope that is cleaned, inspected and repaired after use, in order to ensure proper operability and cleanliness of the device.
Inserted Figure 12 of Nakade
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose, or otherwise render obvious, the insertion device wherein the projection has, in a circumferential direction, a first end portion and a second end portion, wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are separated from each other by a linear distance in a separation direction, and wherein the cover is formed of a material that is elastically deformably in the separation direction, in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 18, and claims 19-20 depending therefrom, the prior art of record does not disclose, or otherwise render obvious, the insertion device comprising a plurality of projections including: a first projection that faces the first groove and restricts a movement range of the first wire with respect to a radially outward direction of the first pulley; a second projection that faces the second groove and restricts a movement range of the second wire with respect to the radially outward direction of the first pulley; a third projection that faces the third groove and restricts a movement range of the third wire with respect to a radially outward direction of the second pulley; and a fourth projection that faces the fourth groove and restricts a movement range of the fourth wire with respect to the radially outward direction of the second pulley, in combination with the other elements of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0309801 A1 Christensen et al. Endoscope Using Capstan Principle
US 2023/0019357 A1 Mitsuhashi et al. Endoscope
US 2014/0088497 A1 Campbell et al. Steerable Catheter With Brake…
/RYNAE E BOLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
8/23/26