DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US Patent No. 12381413).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a voltage sensing system (i.e., energy management system (EMS) device for managing a meter socket adapter (MSA) connected to the household microgrid; fig. 3) for use in a compact microgrid interconnect device (MID) (i.e., meter interconnection device (MID); fig. 3) structured to be disposed in a load panel (i.e., Household Loads Panel; fig. 3) and positioned in between an electric grid (i.e., Utility Grid; fig. 3) and distributed energy resources (DER) (i.e., DER/BESS; fig. 11/fig. 3) connected to loads (i.e., Household Loads; fig. 3), the voltage sensing system comprising: a relay (i.e., MID Switch/Relay; fig. 3) connected to a grid side busbar (i.e., Grid-busbar-terminals t3-t4/J3-J4; fig. 18) and a DER side busbar (i.e., DER-busbar-terminals t1-t2/J1-J2; fig. 18), the grid side busbar coupled to the grid and the DER side busbar coupled to the DERs (implicit, as seen in fig. 18), the relay structured to connect (ON) or disconnect (OFF) the grid and the DER (implicit, as seen in fig. 18); a printed circuit board (PCB) (i.e., the metal board circuit connections to the meter socket at the bottom of the socket body; fig. 13) including a sensing component (i.e., metering sensor 15 and metering sensor 16; fig. 12), the sensing component including grid side voltage tapping points (i.e., the upper two pins/taps which correspond to the Grid-busbar-terminals t3-t4/J3-J4 in the MSA socket; fig. 13) structured to sense grid side voltages (implicit, as seen in fig. 18) and DER side voltage tapping points (i.e., the lower two pins/taps which correspond to the DER-busbar-terminals t1-t2/J1-J2 in the MSA socket; fig. 13) structured to sense DER side voltages (implicit, as seen in fig. 18); and contacts (i.e., four Metal contacts/connections to the meter socket as the two contacts/connections on the left-side are for the grid-side and the two contacts/connections on the right-side are for the DER-side; fig. 9) attached (i.e., via internal conductors; fig. 9) to corresponding grid side and DER side tapping points (implicit, as seen in fig. 9) and structured to directly contact the grid side busbar (implicit, as seen in fig. 9) or the DER side busbar to form electrical connections between the grid side busbar and the grid side voltage tapping points and between the DER side busbar and the DER side voltage tapping points, wherein the sensing component is structured to sensing component is structured to sense grid side voltages and frequencies (Col. 4 lines 55+, MSA further includes a metering circuit 10 and metering sensors 15, 16 to measure the electricity supply from the utility grid. The metering sensors 15, 16 measure electrical parameters of the electricity supply from the utility grid. The electrical parameters may include a voltage, a current, a frequency of the electricity supply from the utility grid; fig. 18) via the grid side voltage tapping points (implicit, as seen in fig. 18) and is structured to sense DER side voltages and frequencies via the DER side voltage tapping points (implicit, as seen in fig. 18).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1, further comprising: a control circuit (i.e., EMS controller 1 and MID controller 2; fig. 12) structured to control the relay; and a communication circuit (i.e., communication circuit 2, 36, CAN1, CAN2, 37 and 3-6; fig. 12) structured to communicate with the sensing component, the control circuit, and the DER (Col. 4 lines 55+, MSA further includes various communication interfaces that are connected to the MID controller 2 to gain Internet access. For example, MSA includes a Wi-Fi interface 3 to gain Internet access through a home router and a cellular network interface 4 to gain Internet access through a cellular service provider's network (e.g., Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile). MSA also includes an Ethernet interface 37 and a CAN bus interface 36 to connect to other devices connected on the household microgrid, for example, BESS; fig. 12), wherein the sensing component is structured to provide the sensed grid and DER side voltages and frequencies to the DER (implicit, as seen in fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 2, wherein the DER is structured to determine (Col. 4 lines 55+, the EMS controller 1 is an energy controller implementing sophisticated energy management strategies; fig. 25) whether the grid and DER are synchronized (Col. 4 lines 55+, the output voltage of BESS 50 to be synchronized with the mains power of the utility grid (same frequency, same phase, same amplitude); fig. 25) based on the sensed grid and DER side voltages and frequencies (implicit, as seen in fig. 25).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 3, wherein the DER is structured to provide a connect signal (Col. 4 lines 55+, connect signal as to connect to the utility grid. When the mains power of the utility grid is restored, after EMS 49 detects that the mains voltage is normal, EMS 49 controls the generator access circuit 61 to disconnect the portable generator 62. BESS 50 provides the backup power for the household microgrid, and controls the output voltage of BESS 50 to be synchronized with the mains power of the utility grid (same frequency, same phase, same amplitude). EMS 49 controls MSA 47 to connect to the utility grid. The user may shut down the portable generator 62; fig. 32) to the control circuit via the communication circuit in response to determining that the grid and DER are synchronized, and wherein the control circuit is structured to control the relay to close to connect the DER and the grid in response to the connect signal (implicit, as seen in fig. 32).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 4, wherein the DER is structured to provide a disconnect signal (Col. 4 lines 55+, disconnect signal as to disconnect the utility grid. When the utility grid outage occurs, EMS 49 controls MSA 47 to disconnect the utility grid, and BESS 50 provides the backup power for the household microgrid. EMS 49 communicates to BESS 50 to obtain the battery capacity (i.e., state of charge or SOC) of BESS 50. When the battery capacity SOC is lower than a preset capacity threshold, EMS 49 starts the standby generator 62. When EMS 49 detects that the generator output voltage is normal and notifies BESS 50 that the output voltage is synchronized with the standby generator (same frequency, same phase, same amplitude), EMS 49 controls the generator access circuit 61 to connect the standby generator 62. The standby generator 62 is connected to the household microgrid to provide the backup power to the household microgrid. At the same time, the standby generator 62 may charge BESS 50. The charging power is automatically controlled by EMS 49 and may also be adjusted by the user through the APP; fig. 33) to the control circuit via the communication circuit in response to determining that the grid and DER are not synchronized, and wherein the control circuit is structured to control the relay to open to disconnect the DER from the grid in response to the disconnect signal (implicit, as seen in fig. 33).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1, wherein the grid side voltage tapping points are electrically connected to the grid side busbar (implicit, as seen in fig. 18) and the DER side voltage tapping points are electrically connected to the line side busbar without a wire harness (Col. 4 lines 55+, without wire harness as no need for extra wires/electrical-connections inside the meter. The system facilitates the connection of MID through MSA without unsealing the meter combo load center to indirectly access the electrical connections inside the enclosure of the meter combo load center. As a result, the system makes connections between the solar power generation system and the battery energy storage system, and the electricity meter through MID. The jumper device bypasses the electrical connection reserved for MID, such that the meter combo load center can provide its function without MID; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1, wherein grid side busbar includes a number of protrusions (i.e., number of protrusions as the Insertion conductors; fig. 9), wherein the DER side busbar includes a number of protrusions (i.e., number of protrusions as the MSA connector jaws; fig. 9), wherein the grid side voltage tapping points are located proximate to corresponding protrusions of the grid side busbar (implicit, as seen in fig. 9), and wherein DER side voltage tapping points are located proximate to corresponding protrusions of the DER side busbar (implicit, as seen in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1, wherein the contacts are disposed between each protrusion of the grid and DER side busbars (implicit, as seen in fig. 9) and corresponding grid and DER voltage tapping points (implicit, as seen in fig. 9).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1, a housing (i.e., housing; fig. 17), a control circuit (i.e., EMS controller 1 and MID controller 2; fig. 12) disposed in the housing and structured to control the relay (implicit, as seen in fig. 17). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 14, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 15, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 16, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 17, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Regarding claim 18, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 6. {See rejection of claim 6}
Regarding claim 19, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 7. {See rejection of claim 7}
Regarding claim 20, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 8. {See rejection of claim 8}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Patent No. 12381413) in view of Cummings et al (US Publication No. 20210143774).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1.
Wang does not teach wherein the contacts are spring contacts.
Cummings teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power system metering devices; wherein the contacts (i.e., the contacts 118, 120, 124; fig. 1A) are spring contacts ([0142], the electrical connection is mechanical, e.g., via a spring, screw, lever, crimp, a plurality of spring-loaded electrodes as known in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the spring contacts in Wang, as taught by Cummings, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Patent No. 12381413) in view of Grey et al (US Publication No. 20220069564).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1.
Wang does not teach wherein a voltage surge protection device disposed on the PCB and connected to the grid and the DER.
Grey teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power system metering devices; wherein a voltage surge protection device (i.e., voltage surge protection device MOVs 124; fig. 3) disposed on the PCB (i.e., PCB 306; fig. 3) and connected to the grid and the DER ([0013], MOVs coupled across a mains power line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the varistors in Wang, as taught by Grey, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Grey and the teachings of Wang as modified by Grey have been discussed above.
Grey further teaches wherein the voltage surge protection device is metal oxide varistors (MOVs) structured to provide common surge protection against transient high grid or DER voltages ([0022], with a protection circuit, an MOV provides for a clamping voltage that serves to protect the metrology device and its various electrical components from damage by clamping any incoming HV surge or other abnormal overload condition; fig. 1).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US Patent No. 12381413) in view of Dias Borgo et al (US Publication No. 20230163595).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the voltage sensing system of claim 1.
Wang does not teach wherein the relay provides galvanic isolation between the grid and the DER.
Dias Borgo teaches in a similar field of endeavor in power system metering devices; wherein the relay (i.e., the relay 300; fig. 3) provides galvanic isolation ([0073], the circuit with the opto-coupler sensor is advantageous as it guarantees galvanic isolation, increasing the safety of operation of the device 300 and any other device that is connected to the device 300 through the communication port 45) between the grid (i.e., the grid 70; fig. 3) and the DER (i.e., the DER 60; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the galvanic isolation in Wang, as taught by Dias Borgo, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838