DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the absorber layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites “the repetition rate of the pulsed laser irradiation is between 1 kHz and 1 MHz” and depends from claim 1 that recites “a first pulse and a second pulse of the plurality of pulses are separated by a time of 100 ns or less.” A separation time of 100 ns or less requires a frequency of at least 10 MHz. It is unclear how the frequency can be lower than the required frequency for claim 1.
The term “essentially small” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essentially small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 10, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oshemkov et al. [WO 2022/201138, copy filed by the applicant on March 3, 2025].
For claim 1, Oshemkov teaches a method for treating an optical element for the extreme ultraviolet (EUV) wavelength range, the method comprising:
providing a pulsed laser irradiation (pulses applied to an optical element, see page 6, second paragraph), wherein the pulsed laser irradiation comprises:
a plurality of pulse sequences (more than one surface modification), each pulse sequence comprising a plurality of pulses; wherein a first pulse and a second pulse of the plurality of pulses are separated by a time of 100 ns or less (greater than 100 MHz, 10 ns, see page 9 fourth paragraph); and
directing the laser irradiation onto the optical element (mask, see page 7 paragraph 2) for the EUV wavelength range.
For claim 3, Oshemkov teaches the directing the laser irradiation onto the optical element comprises: directing the laser irradiation onto a first region of the optical element for a first time period; and directing the laser irradiation onto a second region of the optical element for a second time period (pulse applied to two different locations from single laser system, see Figs. 7 and 9).
For claim 4, Oshemkov teaches the first region and the second region differ at least partly; and wherein the laser irradiation directed onto the first region and the laser irradiation directed onto the second region differ in one or more of: a pulse power (variable energy pulses at different locations, see Figs. 6, 7, and 9 and pages 26-30), a pulse pitch, and a laser beam diameter.
For claim 6, Oshemkov teaches the optical element for the EUV wavelength range comprises a multilayer system; wherein the multilayer system is configured to reflect light in the EUV range, between 10 and 20 nm (approximately 10 nm to 15 nm, see page 1 paragraph 2).
For claim 7, Oshemkov teaches the directing the laser irradiation onto the optical element for the EUV wavelength range comprises directing the laser irradiation onto a backside of the optical element for the EUV wavelength range (backside energy pulses incident in multilayer 160, see pages 10-11 and 23).
For claim 8, Oshemkov teaches the laser irradiation directed onto the optical element is adapted to treat a portion of the optical element near the absorber layer of the optical element, a portion spaced from the absorber layer by 200 nm or less (multilayer stack 160 is adjacent the absorber layer 260, where bottom layers are at least 130 nm from the absorber layer, see thickness in pages 19 and 20).
For claim 10, Oshemkov teaches the optical element for the EUV wavelength range comprises a mask (see page 7).
For claim 12, Oshemkov teaches a wavelength of the pulsed laser irradiation is between 400 and 1500 nm; the repetition rate of the pulsed laser irradiation is between 1 kHz and 1 MHz; and/or a laser pulse length of the pulsed laser irradiation is in the femtosecond range (see page 9).
For claim 13, Oshemkov teaches the first pulse and the second pulse of the plurality of pulses are separated by a time of at least 10 ns (greater than 100 MHz, 10 ns, see page 9 fourth paragraph).
For claim 14, Oshemkov teaches the pulses of the plurality of pulses are repeated at a frequency of 10 MHz to 1 GHz (see page 9).
For claim 17, Oshemkov teaches the laser irradiation is directed onto a surface of the optical element for the EUV wavelength range with a laser beam diameter in the range between 1 μm to 100 μm; and/or further comprising adjusting at least one parameter of the pulsed laser irradiation based at least in part on the dimensions of the optical element for the EUV wavelength range (a focal point spot diameter of essentially 1 μm, focal position is adjustable, see page 25, paragraph 1).
For claim 18, Oshemkov teaches the method is further adapted to provide an essentially small uncorrectable registration error over at least a part of the optical element (heat conduction over a small area to produce surface modification, see Fig. 6).
For claim 19, Oshemkov teaches an apparatus (see Fig. 5) for treating an optical element for the extreme ultraviolet (EUV) wavelength range, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a laser source (530) configured to provide a pulsed laser irradiation, wherein the pulsed laser irradiation comprises:
a plurality of pulse sequences, each pulse sequence comprising a plurality of pulses; wherein a first pulse and a second pulse of the plurality of pulses are separated by a time of 100 ns or less (the repetition rate of the photon pulses comprises the range from 1 Hz to 1 GHz, see page 24); and
means (550) for directing the laser irradiation onto the optical element for the EUV wavelength range.
For claim 20, Oshemkov teaches a control means (570 and 575) configured to control the apparatus to, preferably automatically, execute a method for treating the optical element, the method comprising: controlling the laser source to provide the pulsed laser irradiation (computer 575 may control the laser source 530, see page 25); and controlling the means for directing the laser irradiation to direct the laser irradiation onto the optical element for the EUV wavelength range (moving the objective, see Fig. 5 and page 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshemkov in view of Lin et al. [US 2011/0161893].
For claims 2 and 5, Oshemkov teaches adjusting the pulse power, the pulse pitch, and/or the laser beam diameter of the laser irradiation directed onto the first region and of the laser irradiation directed onto the second region according to a predetermined function (desired depth, height or shape of surface modification by adjusting energy of each pulse or focal position, see pages 28-31).
Oshemkov fails to teach receiving error map information of the optical element; and wherein providing the pulsed laser irradiation is based at least partly on the error map information.
Lin teaches receiving error map information of the optical element; and wherein providing the pulsed laser irradiation is based at least partly on the error map information (auto-mapping generating a defect distribution map with a location, size, and/or depth of each defect present, sent to laser repair station 500 to correct remaining defects, see Figs. 2-4 and [0018]-[0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the error map as taught by Lin the positioning of the laser irradiation location as taught by Oshemkov in order to provide locations to perform the method of treatment to reduce defects of the mask.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshemkov in view of Shoki [US 2004/0196579].
For claim 9, Oshemkov teaches reducing the reflectivity of the multilayer system of light in the EUV range (silicide formation, see page 28), but fails to explicitly teach reducing the reflectivity of the multilayer system of light in the EUV range by 0% to 10%; shifting the wavelength of maximum reflectivity by 0 nm to 1 nm; and/or keeping an uncorrectable registration impact below 1 nm for an EUV reflectivity reduction of at least 6%.
Shoki teaches reducing the reflectivity of the multilayer system of light in the EUV range by 0% to 10% (silicide decreases the reflectivity of the reflective multilayer film by about 5% see [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the reduction amount as taught by Shoki in the silicide formation as taught by Oshemkov in order to limit the impact on the EUV reflectivity while providing the surface modification.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshemkov in view of Wu et al. [US 2020/0057362].
For claim 11, Oshemkov fails to teach creating a black border on the optical element by reducing a reflectivity of the optical element in at least one region of the optical element onto which the laser irradiation is directed, wherein the region at least partly extends along a rim of the optical element.
Wu teaches creating a black border on the optical element by reducing a reflectivity of the optical element in at least one region of the optical element onto which the laser irradiation is directed, wherein the region at least partly extends along a rim of the optical element (black border formation, see Fig. 2 and [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the black border as taught by Wu in the mask treatment as taught by Oshemkov in order provide a location for attaching a pellicle to protect the surface of the mask pattern.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshemkov in view of Kyusho et al. [US 2002/0009843].
For claims 15 and 16, Oshemkov teaches a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz (see page 24), but fails to teach at least one of the pulses comprises at least one sub-sequence comprising a plurality of sub-pulses; wherein a first sub-pulse and a second sub-pulse of the plurality of sub-pulses are separated by a time between 1 ps and 100 ns; and/or wherein the sub-pulses of the plurality of sub-pulses are repeated at a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz, wherein the first pulse comprises an intensity that is different from an intensity of the second pulse.
Kyusho teaches at least one of the pulses comprises at least one sub-sequence comprising a plurality of sub-pulses (plurality of pulses in a packet, see Figs. 3A-3C and 4); wherein a first sub-pulse and a second sub-pulse of the plurality of sub-pulses are separated by a time between 1 ps and 100 ns (20 pieces of the laser pulses are produced continuously at time intervals of 5 ns, see [0134], the first pulse extracted by the optical shutter 2 (pulse slicing unit) and a second pulse delayed by the time intervals of 1.0 ns to 6.7 ns, see [0142]); and/or wherein the sub-pulses of the plurality of sub-pulses are repeated at a frequency of 1 GHz to 100 GHz, wherein the first pulse comprises an intensity that is different from an intensity of the second pulse (varied pulse amplitude in a pulse packet, see Figs. 3A-3C and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sub pulses at different intensities as taught by Kyusho in the laser treatment method as taught by Oshemkov to optimize pulse energy to more gradually heat up different materials and reduce the likelihood of greater damage (see [0115] of Kyusho).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Magana et al. [US 2020/0050097] teaches a laser ablation technique with EUV masks. Mengel et al. [WO 2012/103933] teaches correcting mask defects with a femtosecond laser.
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759