DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species 4, shown in Figs. 45-47 in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 20-32 are pending.
Claim 1 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure fails to describe how elected implant 550 is inserted into the patient in a compressed state as recited in claim 23.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the compressed state of implant 550 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 includes the recitation that the implant is inserted into the patient in a compressed state. It is unclear how this is mechanically possible as the specification merely recites that nail 550 is curved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-22 and 24-32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marrero (US 2016/0135857 A1).
Concerning claim 20, Marrero discloses a surgical method comprising inserting a nail system into a patient (curved fusion nail 101 through the talus bone 105 and into the tibia bone 103); and releasing the nail system to provide compression on the patient’s joint (see par. 0022).
Concerning claim 21, wherein the nail system comprises an implant (see Fig. 5, element 101) and at least one fastener (see Fig. 5, elements 109, 110 and 111).
Concerning claim 22, wherein inserting the nail system into a patient comprises: inserting the implant into the patient; and inserting the at least one fastener through the implant in the patient. Marrero discloses inserting the curved fusion nail 101 through the talus bone 105 into the tibia bone 103, followed by inserting fasteners 109, 110, 111 through holes in the nail and into the bone (see Figs. 1, 5, 7).
Concerning claim 24, wherein the implant (see Fig. 3, element 101) is curved between a first end and a second end, Marrero discloses that the elongate body 130 of curved fusion nail 101 is curved between proximal end 113 and distal end 115.
Concerning claim 25, wherein the implant comprises at least one first through hole positioned near the first end of the implant; and a second through hole positioned near the second end of the implant. Marrero discloses holes for fasteners 110, 111 positioned near the proximal end 113 of curved fusion nail 101 (first end) and holes for fasteners 109 positioned near the distal end 115 (second end) (see Figs. 4-7 and the detailed description).
Concerning claim 26, wherein the at least one fastener comprises: at least one first fastener extending through the at least one first through hole of the implant; and a second fastener extending through the second through hole of the implant in a second direction. Marrero discloses proximal fasteners 110 and 111 extending through holes near the proximal end 113 of the nail and distal fasteners 109 extending through holes near the distal end 115 (see Figs. 5, 7 and the detailed description). The fasteners extend in different directions.
[AltContent: textbox (Second Direction)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Direction)][AltContent: arrow]
Concerning claim 27, wherein inserting the at least one fastener through the implant and in the patient comprises: inserting the second fastener (110 or 111) through the second through hole in a first direction (see Fig. 3 above) after inserting the implant into the patient; and inserting the at least one first fastener (109) through the at least one first through hole in a second direction (see Fig. 3 above) of the implant into the patient.
Concerning claim 28, wherein the first direction is circumferentially rotated with respect to the second direction (see Fig. 2).
Concerning claim 29, wherein the first direction is offset from the second direction (see Figs. 2 and 3).
Concerning claim 30, wherein the second fastener is inserted across a joint of the patient (see Fig. 2 below).
[AltContent: textbox (2nd (or 1st) Fastener)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Joint)][AltContent: arrow]
Concerning claim 31, wherein the at least one first fastener (see Fig. 3, element 111) is inserted across a joint of the patient. Marrero discloses that fastener 111 passes from the tibia 103, across the tibiotalar joint 107, and into the talus 105 (see Figs. 1, 3 and the detailed description — fastener inserted across the joint); the first direction is offset from the second direction as the proximal and distal fastener holes are oriented differently (see Figs. 5-7).
Concerning claim 32, wherein the at least one first fastener (109) is two first fasteners (see Figs. 2 and 3).
Conclusion
/ELLEN C HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773