DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swierk et al (US 20220239847 A1) in view of Nelson et al (US 20190108492A1)
Regarding claim 1, Swierk discloses A method ([0017] intelligent contextual virtual background management system) comprising:
receiving, at a video communication platform ([0015] multi-employee or multi-business video conferences. Many of these video conferences (also referred to as web-conferences, online meetings, tele-video conferences, or remote conferences)),
a selection of a virtual background template comprising a virtual background boundary area, wherein the virtual background template defines at least one of a location, a shape, or a size of the virtual background boundary area ([0018] neural network may also be trained in embodiments to model the relationship between boundary detection algorithms applied and MMCA processor settings (e.g., identifying one of a plurality of available processors for application of the virtual background or boundary detection));
receiving contextual information about a planned meeting ([0017] the trained neural network may infer a purpose for the videoconference, based on these inputs, and output optimized virtual background selection instructions to automatically apply the virtual background most often applied by the user for similar purposes during training sessions for the neural network.);
assigning a virtual background to the virtual background boundary area when activated ([0022] intelligent contextual virtual background management may transmit the optimized virtual background selection instruction or optimized MMCA processor utilization instructions to the multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform controlling or directing execution of the virtual background module and boundary detection module);
receiving video content that depicts imagery of a first user ([0023] The multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform in embodiments may execute each of the A/V processing instruction modules, including the virtual background module and boundary detection module on audio samples or video samples captured at the information handling system in order to create processed, encoded media samples that combine both video and audio samples into a single file); and
generating, for display during the planned meeting, a composite video depicting the first user overlaid on the virtual background within the activated virtual background boundary area ([0024] encoded media sample may then be transmitted to other information handling systems (e.g., receiving information handling systems) in use by other participants within the current user session for the MMCA, via a MMCA host server.).
Nelson discloses determining, based on the contextual information, whether to activate the virtual background boundary area for the planned meeting ([0171] a meeting rules template specifies a set of requirements and/or constraints that may be applied to any aspect of an electronic meeting, before, during, and after an electronic meeting.)
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include determining, based on the contextual information, whether to activate the virtual background boundary area for the planned meeting as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Swierk discloses wherein receiving the selection of the virtual background template comprises:
receiving, via a user interface, user input specifying at least one of the location, the shape, or the size of the virtual background boundary area ([0113] a user of the information handling system 500 in an embodiment may provide user input via a GUI of the MMCA 550, the multimedia processing control API 576, the multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform 540, the intelligent contextual virtual background management system 570 (or agent 571 thereof), or the information handling system performance optimizer application 575.).
Regarding claim 3, Swierk discloses wherein the contextual information comprises at least one of a meeting title, a meeting time, a meeting location, or a list of meeting participants ([0132] Following such training, the organizational rank, participant labels, current geographic location, current lighting conditions, or meeting metrics indicating the user is sharing her screen or hosting the videoconference may be input into the trained neural network).
Regarding claim 4, Swierk discloses storing the virtual background template in association with template usage conditions that specify when to use the virtual background template for future meetings ([0017] if the current geographic location of the information handling system has been labeled by the user as private, and the user always applies a virtual background to mask the background image of the master bedroom, the neural network may learn a strong correlation between geographic locations labeled as private and the need to apply a virtual background).
Regarding claim 5, Swierk discloses establishing a connection to a calendar account of the first user;
analyzing historical meeting data from the calendar account to identify patterns of virtual background usage ([0018] the trained neural network may output optimized MMCA processor instructions predicted to adjust performance of the information handling system to meet a preset performance benchmark, such as a capped percentage of resources at one of the plurality of processors that may be consumed by the MMCA during the videoconference user session.); and
automatically generating rules for activating the virtual background boundary area based on the identified patterns ([0018] the optimized virtual background selection instruction may identify the virtual background most often applied by the user for similar purposes during training sessions for the neural network, and instruct the MMCA to apply this optimized virtual background at a lower resolution than would be applied by default.).
Regarding claim 6, Swierk discloses wherein determining whether to activate the virtual background boundary area comprises:
evaluating preconfigured rules associated with the virtual background boundary area, wherein the preconfigured rules specify conditions based on participant email domains in the contextual information ([0021] the intelligent contextual virtual background management system may receive such performance metrics and metrics describing previous MMCA user sessions for an information handling system via any type of network, including out-of-band communications, and communications with one or more software applications, application programming interfaces (APIs), or directly with one or more controllers or firmware in kernel mode).
Regarding claim 7, Swierk discloses storing historical data about activation of the virtual background boundary area for different types of meetings to facilitate automatic template selection for future meetings ([0018] an optimized boundary detection algorithm selection instruction may identify a more complex boundary detection algorithm for detecting the edges of the user more accurately, if execution of that boundary detection algorithm will still meet the preset performance benchmark.).
Regarding claim 8, Swierk discloses A system ([0017] intelligent contextual virtual background management system), comprising:
one or more memories ([0036] information handling system 100 may include a processor 110 such as a CPU, GPU, VPU, GNA, control logic or some combination of the same); and
one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories ([0036] information handling system 100 may include memory such as main memory 101, static memory 102, or other memory of computer readable medium 172 storing instruction) to:
receive, at a video communication platform ([0015] multi-employee or multi-business video conferences. Many of these video conferences (also referred to as web-conferences, online meetings, tele-video conferences, or remote conferences)),
a selection of a virtual background template comprising a virtual background boundary area, wherein the virtual background template defines at least one of a location, a shape, or a size of the virtual background boundary area ([0018] neural network may also be trained in embodiments to model the relationship between boundary detection algorithms applied and MMCA processor settings (e.g., identifying one of a plurality of available processors for application of the virtual background or boundary detection));
receive contextual information about a planned meeting ([0017] the trained neural network may infer a purpose for the videoconference, based on these inputs, and output optimized virtual background selection instructions to automatically apply the virtual background most often applied by the user for similar purposes during training sessions for the neural network.);
assign a virtual background to the virtual background boundary area when activated ([0022] intelligent contextual virtual background management may transmit the optimized virtual background selection instruction or optimized MMCA processor utilization instructions to the multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform controlling or directing execution of the virtual background module and boundary detection module);
receive video content that depicts imagery of a first user ([0023] The multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform in embodiments may execute each of the A/V processing instruction modules, including the virtual background module and boundary detection module on audio samples or video samples captured at the information handling system in order to create processed, encoded media samples that combine both video and audio samples into a single file); and
generate, for display during the planned meeting, a composite video depicting the first user overlaid on the virtual background within the activated virtual background boundary area ([0024] encoded media sample may then be transmitted to other information handling systems (e.g., receiving information handling systems) in use by other participants within the current user session for the MMCA, via a MMCA host server.).
Nelson discloses determining, based on the contextual information, whether to activate the virtual background boundary area for the planned meeting ([0171] a meeting rules template specifies a set of requirements and/or constraints that may be applied to any aspect of an electronic meeting, before, during, and after an electronic meeting.)
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include determining, based on the contextual information, whether to activate the virtual background boundary area for the planned meeting as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. l (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Swierk discloses present a user interface displaying available virtual backgrounds for the activated virtual background boundary area; and receive a user selection of the virtual background ([0113] a user of the information handling system 500 in an embodiment may provide user input via a GUI of the MMCA 550, the multimedia processing control API 576, the multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform 540, the intelligent contextual virtual background management system 570 (or agent 571 thereof), or the information handling system performance optimizer application 575.)..
Regarding claim 10, Swierk discloses receive user input directly into the virtual background boundary area specifying a tag to be associated with the virtual background ().
Regarding claim 11, Swierk discloses receive a selection from a meeting host to enforce usage of the virtual background and the virtual background boundary area across all meeting participants ([0052] current or default virtual backgrounds applied, current or default boundary detection algorithms used, current or default offload instructions, user-labeled geographic location of the information handling system (e.g., at a location labeled by the user as private, such as a master bedroom), or average ambient brightness surrounding the information handling system.).
Regarding claim 12, Swierk discloses wherein the virtual background boundary area is configured to display a randomly selected virtual background ([0058] , default or current virtual background applied, and default or current boundary detection algorithms used may be gathered via a streaming media driver 225 and transmitted to the intelligent contextual virtual background management system).
Regarding claim 13, Swierk discloses wherein the virtual background template further comprises another virtual background boundary area, and wherein one of the virtual background boundary areas is layered over the another virtual background boundary area during display ([0138] an optimized boundary detection algorithm selection instruction may identify a more complex boundary detection algorithm for detecting the edges of the user more accurately, if execution of that boundary detection algorithm will still meet the preset performance benchmark).
Regarding claim 14, Swierk discloses wherein the one or more processors further configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to:
synchronize the activated virtual background boundary area and assigned virtual background with devices of other meeting participants ([0066] background management system in an embodiment may identify a boundary detection algorithm optimized to meet one of these goals (e.g., more polished product or conservation of CPU resource load) based on contextual inputs describing the organizational rankings of each of the participants).
Regarding claim 15, Swierk is silent to wherein the virtual background boundary area is configured to display dynamic content that updates based on real-time meeting events
Nelson discloses wherein the virtual background boundary area is configured to display dynamic content that updates based on real-time meeting events ([0134] Agenda window 218 includes a visual indicator 220 that identifies a current agenda item and a timer that indicates the time remaining for the current agenda item.).
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include wherein the virtual background boundary area is configured to display dynamic content that updates based on real-time meeting events as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Swierk is silent to wherein the one or more processors further configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to:
analyze the video content to detect objects or text associated with the first user; and
select the virtual background based on the detected objects or text.
Nelson discloses wherein the one or more processors further configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to:
analyze the video content to detect objects or text associated with the first user ([0186] detects the keywords “next quarter.” These keywords are a cue 304 for meeting intelligence apparatus 102 to generate intervention data 310 that indicates a corresponding agenda topic); and
select the virtual background based on the detected objects or text ([00187] Speech and text recognition may also be used to ensure that all agenda items and action items are addressed during an electronic meeting, which may include discussion, deferral, etc.).
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include wherein the one or more processors further configured to execute instructions stored in the one or more memories to: analyze the video content to detect objects or text associated with the first user; and select the virtual background based on the detected objects or text.as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Swierk discloses One or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions operable to cause one or more processors to perform operations ([0036] information handling system 100 may include memory such as main memory 101, static memory 102, or other memory of computer readable medium 172 storing instruction) comprising:
receiving, at a video communication platform ([0015] multi-employee or multi-business video conferences. Many of these video conferences (also referred to as web-conferences, online meetings, tele-video conferences, or remote conferences)),
a selection of a virtual background template comprising a virtual background boundary area, wherein the virtual background template defines at least one of a location, a shape, or a size of the virtual background boundary area ([0018] neural network may also be trained in embodiments to model the relationship between boundary detection algorithms applied and MMCA processor settings (e.g., identifying one of a plurality of available processors for application of the virtual background or boundary detection));
receiving contextual information about a planned meeting ([0017] the trained neural network may infer a purpose for the videoconference, based on these inputs, and output optimized virtual background selection instructions to automatically apply the virtual background most often applied by the user for similar purposes during training sessions for the neural network.);
assigning a virtual background to the virtual background boundary area when activated ([0022] intelligent contextual virtual background management may transmit the optimized virtual background selection instruction or optimized MMCA processor utilization instructions to the multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform controlling or directing execution of the virtual background module and boundary detection module);
receiving video content that depicts imagery of a first user ([0023] The multimedia framework pipeline and infrastructure platform in embodiments may execute each of the A/V processing instruction modules, including the virtual background module and boundary detection module on audio samples or video samples captured at the information handling system in order to create processed, encoded media samples that combine both video and audio samples into a single file); and
generating, for display during the planned meeting, a composite video depicting the first user overlaid on the virtual background within the activated virtual background boundary area ([0024] encoded media sample may then be transmitted to other information handling systems (e.g., receiving information handling systems) in use by other participants within the current user session for the MMCA, via a MMCA host server.).
Nelson discloses determining, based on the contextual information, whether to activate the virtual background boundary area for the planned meeting ([0171] a meeting rules template specifies a set of requirements and/or constraints that may be applied to any aspect of an electronic meeting, before, during, and after an electronic meeting.)
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include determining, based on the contextual information, whether to activate the virtual background boundary area for the planned meeting as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Swierk is silent to receiving audio content during the planned meeting;
converting the audio content to textual data;
identifying keywords in the textual data; and
dynamically updating activation of the virtual background boundary area based on the identified keywords.
Nelson disclseos receiving audio content during the planned meeting ([0016] nterfere with audio capture of the user speaking during the session);
converting the audio content to textual data ([1048] Sentiment analysis may use various cues that occur in speech during an electronic meeting, such as tone of voice, volume of voice, velocity of speech, lack of pauses in speech, profanity, sounds such as grunts, exhalation of air, etc.);
identifying keywords in the textual data ([0149] based upon an explicit command, an implicit command, or sentiment analysis, meeting intelligence apparatus 102 may directly instruct an electronic meeting application to request a new meeting, or include an instruction or request in meeting content data or meeting metadata that is provided to the electronic meeting application); and
dynamically updating activation of the virtual background boundary area based on the identified keywords ([0149] in response to receiving an instruction or request, the electronic meeting application may provide a visual and/or audible notification to indicate a new meeting request. ).
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include receiving audio content during the planned meeting; converting the audio content to textual data; identifying keywords in the textual data; and dynamically updating activation of the virtual background boundary area based on the identified keywords as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Swierk is silent to detecting motion of the first user in the video content; and
modifying activation status of the virtual background boundary area based on the detected motion.
Nelson discloses detecting motion of the first user in the video content; and modifying activation status of the virtual background boundary area based on the detected motion ([0361] Sensors 1784-1792 may be any type of sensor for detecting the presence and/or movement of a human being. Example implementations of sensors 1784-1792 include, without limitation, image sensors such as cameras and depth cameras, voice sensors, audio/video recorders, motion detectors, heat sensors, badge or card readers, scanners, etc.)
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include detecting motion of the first user in the video content; and modifying activation status of the virtual background boundary area based on the detected motion as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Swierk is silent retrieving the contextual information from a calendaring application, wherein the virtual background is identified based on the contextual information.
Nelson discloses retrieving the contextual information from a calendaring application, wherein the virtual background is identified based on the contextual information ([0373] administrative user of IWB appliance 1710, and may be stored as part of configuration data 1736. IWB appliance 1710 may also query a meeting or calendar system to determine whether an electronic meeting involving IWB appliance 1710 is scheduled at or near the current time.)
Swierk and Nelson are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify intelligent contextual virtual background management system of Swierk to include retrieving the contextual information from a calendaring application, wherein the virtual background is identified based on the contextual information as described by Nelson.
The motivation for doing so would have been to create, manage, and enforce meeting rules templates that specify requirements and constraints for various aspects of electronic meetings. (Nelson, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Swierk and Nelson to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615