DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Application filed on January 22, 2025, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202410098054.X filed on January 24, 2024. An action on the merits follows. Claims 1-10 are pending on the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters” in line 3 of the claim. However, it is not clear if the claimed “plurality of image capture apparatus parameters” recited in line 3 of the claim encompass embodiments corresponding to the claimed “image capture apparatus” previously recited in line 1 of the claim, or not for example.
Therefore, based on above, the limitation “determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters” recited in line 3 of the claim will be interpreted as “determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters of the image capture apparatus”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “an image capture apparatus coordinate system and a medical imaging system coordinate system” in lines 2-3 of the claim. However, it is not clear if the claimed “an image capture apparatus coordinate system” recited in lines 2-3 of claim 2 encompass embodiments corresponding to the claimed “image capture apparatus” previously recited in line 1 of claim 1, or not for example. Additionally, it is not clear if the claimed “a medical imaging system coordinate system” recited in lines 2-3 of claim 2 encompass embodiments corresponding to the claimed “medical imaging system” previously recited in lines 1-2 of claim 1, or not for example.
Therefore, based on above, the limitation “an image capture apparatus coordinate system and a medical imaging system coordinate system” recited in lines 2-3 of claim 2 will be interpreted as “an image capture apparatus coordinate system of the image capture apparatus and a medical imaging system coordinate system of the medical imaging system”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “A medical imaging system… comprising: an image capture apparatus… and a controller, connected to the image capture apparatus and configured to perform the positioning assisting method for an image capture apparatus according to claim 1”.
However, it is not clear if the claimed “[a] medical imaging system” recited in line 1 of claim 10 encompass embodiments corresponding to the claimed “medical imaging system” previously recited in lines 1-2 of claim 1, or if the claimed “medical imaging system” recited in line 1 of claim 10 encompass embodiments corresponding to another “medical imaging system” different from the claimed “medical imaging system” previously recited in lines 1-2 of claim 1, for example. Additionally, it is not clear if the claimed “an image capture apparatus” recited in lines 2-4 of claim 10 encompass embodiments corresponding to the claimed “image capture apparatus” previously recited in line 1 of claim 1, or if the claimed “an image capture apparatus” recited in lines 2-4 of claim 10 encompass embodiments corresponding to another “image capture apparatus” different from the claimed “image capture apparatus” previously recited in line 1 of claim 1, for example.
Therefore, based on above, the metes and bounds of the claim are not clearly set forth and the examiner cannot clearly determine which elements are encompassed by the claim language, which renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claim 9 is held to claim a signal per se, and is therefore rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The rationale for this finding is explained below:
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media (CRM). The specification is either silent or open-ended thus not limiting CRM to just non-transitory media. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. See guidelines for Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer readable Media, 1351 OG 212, Feb. 23, 2010.
For examination purposes examiner has interpreted “computer-readable storage medium” recited in line 1 of claim 9 to be a non-transitory computer readable medium stored therein a computer program when executed by a computer performing the prescribed steps as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ge et al. (US PG Publication No. 2022/0317216 A1), hereafter referred to as Ge, in view of BU et al. (US PG Publication No. 2023/0290053 A1), hereafter referred to as BU.
Regarding claim 1, Ge discloses a positioning assisting method for an image capture apparatus, applied to a medical imaging system (Par. [0002-6]: a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… automatic positioning can also be carried out by means of a camera), characterized by comprising:
determining a plurality of apparatus parameters corresponding to a plurality of regions in the medical imaging system (Par. [0002-9]: a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… automatic positioning can also be carried out by means of a camera… Specifically, before scanning is performed, an image of the subject under examination is captured by a camera mounted in the scanning room, the position of the part to be examined of the subject under examination is acquired on the basis of the processed image, and the examination table is moved such that the part to be examined of the subject under examination is located at the center of the scanning bore… a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… The positioning method comprises: acquiring a scattering parameter curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system; acquiring the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve; and moving the examination table on the basis of the position of the part to be examined such that the part to be examined is located at the center of the scanning bore… the acquiring the scattering parameter curve of the body coil comprises acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore, and generating the scattering parameter curve on the basis of the scattering parameters acquired at the different positions; determining a plurality of apparatus parameters corresponding to a plurality of regions in the medical imaging system (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system (i.e. an image capture apparatus) including a camera used to capture images (i.e. positioning assisting method for an image capture apparatus, applied to a medical imaging system), for example, including acquiring a scattering parameter curve (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters) of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system by acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions (i.e. regions, locations, coordinates, etc.) of the scanning bore, and generating the scattering parameter curve on the basis of the scattering parameters acquired at the different positions (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters corresponding to a plurality of regions in the medical imaging system), as indicated above), for example);
selecting, from the plurality apparatus parameters, an apparatus parameter corresponding to a region in which a site to be examined of a subject under examination is located (Par. [0049-55]: MRI system 100 further includes an operation console unit 150 connected to the controller unit 120. The operation console unit 150 may send an acquired operation signal to the controller unit 120 so as to control operation states of the aforementioned components, for example, the examination table 140 and the scanner 110. The operation signal may include, for example, a scanning protocol and a parameter selected manually or automatically… FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a positioning device 200 for a magnetic resonance imaging system… As shown in FIG. 2, the positioning device 200 includes a parameter acquisition module 210… The parameter acquisition module 210 is configured to acquire a scattering parameter (S parameter for short) curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system. The part determination module 220 is configured to acquire the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve... Specifically, the scattering parameter curve is generated on the basis of a plurality of corresponding scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore; selecting, from the plurality apparatus parameters, an apparatus parameter corresponding to a region in which a site to be examined of a subject under examination is located (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system includes acquiring (i.e. selecting, determining, obtaining, etc.) a scattering parameter (S parameter for short) curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system and the scattering parameter curve is generated on the basis of a plurality of corresponding scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore, for example, in order to acquire the position of a part (i.e. site, target, area, etc.) to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve (i.e. selecting, from the plurality apparatus parameters, an apparatus parameter corresponding to a region in which a site to be examined of a subject under examination is located), as indicated above), for example); and
performing processing of positioning of the site to be examined according to the selected apparatus parameter (Par. [0049-55]: MRI system 100 further includes an operation console unit 150 connected to the controller unit 120. The operation console unit 150 may send an acquired operation signal to the controller unit 120 so as to control operation states of the aforementioned components, for example, the examination table 140 and the scanner 110. The operation signal may include, for example, a scanning protocol and a parameter selected manually or automatically… FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of a positioning device 200 for a magnetic resonance imaging system… As shown in FIG. 2, the positioning device 200 includes a parameter acquisition module 210… The parameter acquisition module 210 is configured to acquire a scattering parameter (S parameter for short) curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system. The part determination module 220 is configured to acquire the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve... Specifically, the scattering parameter curve is generated on the basis of a plurality of corresponding scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore; and performing processing of positioning of the site to be examined according to the selected apparatus parameter (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system includes acquiring (i.e. selecting, determining, obtaining, etc.) a scattering parameter (S parameter for short) curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system and the scattering parameter curve is generated on the basis of a plurality of corresponding scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore, for example, in order to acquire the position of a part (i.e. site, target, area, etc.) to be examined (i.e. performing processing of positioning of the site to be examined) of the subject under examination on the basis of (i.e. according to) the scattering parameter curve (i.e. selecting, from the plurality apparatus parameters, an apparatus parameter corresponding to a region in which a site to be examined of a subject under examination is located), as indicated above), for example), but fails to teach the following as further recited in claim 1.
However, BU teaches determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters [of the image capture apparatus] corresponding in the medical imaging system (Par. [0002-15]: a medical system, and more particularly, relates to systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical system… provide systems and methods for facilitating the subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process… Medical imaging techniques such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET), computed tomography (CT), and single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) are widely used in clinical diagnosis and/or treatment… method may include generating a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The method may include generating a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The method may include positioning the subject based on the positioning result… the at least one rendering parameter may include an intrinsic parameter of the image capturing device or an extrinsic parameter of the image capturing device… system may include at least one storage device storing a set of instructions, and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device. When executing the stored set of instructions, the at least one processor may cause the system to perform a method… The method may include generating a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The method may include generating a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The method may include positioning the subject based on the positioning result; Par. [0040]: present disclosure relates to systems and methods for subject positioning. A processing device may generate a reference subject model of a subject to be scanned by a medical device based on feature information of the subject and a scan protocol of the subject. The processing device may generate a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The processing device may generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The processing device may position the subject based on the positioning result; determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters of the image capture apparatus in the medical imaging system (e.g. systems and methods for facilitating subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process include a medical imaging systems including systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical imaging system, for example, including parameters associated with an image capturing device (i.e. determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters of the image capture apparatus in the medical imaging system), as indicated above), for example);
selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter (Par. [0040]: present disclosure relates to systems and methods for subject positioning. A processing device may generate a reference subject model of a subject to be scanned by a medical device based on feature information of the subject and a scan protocol of the subject. The processing device may generate a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The processing device may generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The processing device may position the subject based on the positioning result; selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter (e.g. systems and methods for facilitating subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process include a medical imaging systems including systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical imaging system, for example, including parameters associated with an image capturing device (i.e. the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters), for example, including at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device (i.e. selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter), as indicated above), for example);and
performing processing according to the selected image capture apparatus parameter (Par. [0002-15]: a medical system, and more particularly, relates to systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical system… provide systems and methods for facilitating the subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process… Medical imaging techniques such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET), computed tomography (CT), and single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) are widely used in clinical diagnosis and/or treatment… method may include generating a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The method may include generating a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The method may include positioning the subject based on the positioning result… the at least one rendering parameter may include an intrinsic parameter of the image capturing device or an extrinsic parameter of the image capturing device… system may include at least one storage device storing a set of instructions, and at least one processor in communication with the at least one storage device. When executing the stored set of instructions, the at least one processor may cause the system to perform a method… The method may include generating a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The method may include generating a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The method may include positioning the subject based on the positioning result; Par. [0040]: present disclosure relates to systems and methods for subject positioning. A processing device may generate a reference subject model of a subject to be scanned by a medical device based on feature information of the subject and a scan protocol of the subject. The processing device may generate a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The processing device may generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The processing device may position the subject based on the positioning result; selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter (e.g. systems and methods for facilitating subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process include a medical imaging systems including systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical imaging system, for example, including parameters associated with an image capturing device (i.e. the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters), for example, including at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device (i.e. selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter), as indicated above, for example, performing one or more rendering operations on a reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device (i.e. and performing processing according to the selected image capture apparatus parameter), for example, and generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device to position the subject based on the positioning result, as indicated above), for example).
Ge and BU are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to medical image processing applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system (as disclosed by Ge) with determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters [of the image capture apparatus] corresponding in the medical imaging system (as taught by BU, Abstract, Par. [0002-15, 40]) to provide systems and methods for facilitating the subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process, to generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of a subject captured by an image capturing device to position the subject based on the positioning result, and to improve subject positioning process (BU, Abstract, Par. [0002-15, 40-41]).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Ge and BU, as a whole teaches the method (Ge, Par. [0002-6]), wherein the image capture apparatus parameter comprises a conversion (i.e. transformation) matrix between an image capture apparatus coordinate system [of the image capture apparatus] and a medical imaging system coordinate system [of the medical imaging system] (BU, Par. [0130]: processing device 120 may obtain a candidate coordinate of the first feature point in the second coordinate system associated with the image capturing device based on a mapping relationship between the image coordinate system and the second coordinate system associated with the image capturing device. The mapping relationship between the image coordinate system and the second coordinate system may represent a position relationship between the image coordinate system and the second coordinate system… the mapping relationship between the image coordinate system and the second coordinate system associated with the image capturing device may be determined based on parameters (e.g., intrinsic parameters) of the image capturing device. For example, the intrinsic parameters of the image capturing device may form an intrinsic matrix. The intrinsic matrix may be used to perform a transformation between a camera coordinate denoted by the second coordinate system associated with the image capturing device and an image coordinate denoted by the image coordinate system; Par. [0150-152]: processing device 120 may determine the second coordinate of the marker point in the second coordinate system associated with the image capturing device based on a mapping relationship between the image coordinate system and the second coordinate system (e.g., an intrinsic matrix determined based on intrinsic parameters of the image capturing device)… The mapping relationship between the first coordinate system and the second coordinate system may be used to perform a transformation between a first coordinate denoted by the first coordinate system and a second coordinate denoted by the second coordinate system; wherein the image capture apparatus parameter comprises a conversion matrix between an image capture apparatus coordinate system of the image capture apparatus and a medical imaging system coordinate system of the medical imaging system (e.g. systems and methods for facilitating subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process include a medical imaging systems including systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical imaging system, for example, including parameters associated with an image capturing device (i.e. the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters), for example, including an intrinsic matrix determined based on intrinsic parameters of the image capturing device, for example, which are used to perform a transformation (i.e. conversion) between a camera coordinate denoted by the second coordinate system associated with the image capturing device and an image coordinate denoted by the image coordinate system (i.e. wherein the image capture apparatus parameter comprises a conversion matrix between an image capture apparatus coordinate system of the image capture apparatus and a medical imaging system coordinate system of the medical imaging system), as indicated above), for example).
The same motivation to combine above-mentioned teachings applies, as previously indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Ge and BU, as a whole teaches the method (Ge, Par. [0002-6]), wherein the selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter corresponding to a region in which a site to be examined of a subject under examination is located comprises:
determining a position of the site to be examined according to a position of the site to be examined relative to a table of the medical imaging system and a position of the table (Ge, Par. [0002-9]: a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… automatic positioning can also be carried out by means of a camera… Specifically, before scanning is performed, an image of the subject under examination is captured by a camera mounted in the scanning room, the position of the part to be examined of the subject under examination is acquired on the basis of the processed image, and the examination table is moved such that the part to be examined of the subject under examination is located at the center of the scanning bore… a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… The positioning method comprises: acquiring a scattering parameter curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system; acquiring the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve; and moving the examination table on the basis of the position of the part to be examined such that the part to be examined is located at the center of the scanning bore… the acquiring the scattering parameter curve of the body coil comprises acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore, and generating the scattering parameter curve on the basis of the scattering parameters acquired at the different positions; determining a position of the site to be examined according to a position of the site to be examined relative to a table of the medical imaging system and a position of the table (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system including acquiring a scattering parameter curve (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters) of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system by acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions (i.e. regions, locations, coordinates, etc.) of the scanning bore (i.e. determining a position of the site to be examined according to a position of the site to be examined relative to a table of the medical imaging system and a position of the table), as indicated above), for example);
determining, from the plurality of regions, a region in which the position of the site to be examined is located (Ge, Par. [0002-9]: a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… automatic positioning can also be carried out by means of a camera… Specifically, before scanning is performed, an image of the subject under examination is captured by a camera mounted in the scanning room, the position of the part to be examined of the subject under examination is acquired on the basis of the processed image, and the examination table is moved such that the part to be examined of the subject under examination is located at the center of the scanning bore… a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… The positioning method comprises: acquiring a scattering parameter curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system; acquiring the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve; and moving the examination table on the basis of the position of the part to be examined such that the part to be examined is located at the center of the scanning bore… the acquiring the scattering parameter curve of the body coil comprises acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore, and generating the scattering parameter curve on the basis of the scattering parameters acquired at the different positions; determining, from the plurality of regions, a region in which the position of the site to be examined is located (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system including acquiring a scattering parameter curve (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters) of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system by acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions (i.e. regions, locations, coordinates, etc.) of the scanning bore (i.e. determining, from the plurality of regions, a region in which the position of the site to be examined is located), as indicated above), for example); and
selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter corresponding to the region (Par. [0038-40]: the term “image” may refer to an image of a region (e.g., a region of interest (ROI)) of a subject… present disclosure relates to systems and methods for subject positioning. A processing device may generate a reference subject model of a subject to be scanned by a medical device based on feature information of the subject and a scan protocol of the subject. The processing device may generate a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. The processing device may generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The processing device may position the subject based on the positioning result; Par. [0071-90]: target subject model generation module 420 may be configured to generate a target subject model. In some embodiments, the target subject model generation module 420 may generate a target subject model by performing one or more rendering operations on a reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device. For example, the target subject model generation module 420 may adjust a display effect (e.g., a display angle, a display position, a display size) of a reference subject model on a display of a terminal device (e.g., the terminal device 130) based on intrinsic parameters of an image capturing device and/or extrinsic parameters of the image capturing device, to generate a target subject model… a reference posture model refers to a model representing a reference subject holding a reference posture… the plurality of posture models may include posture models corresponding to different examination regions of human. For example, for each examination region (e.g., the chest, the vertebral, the elbow), a set of posture models may be available, wherein each posture model in the set of posture models may represent a reference subject who has a particular feature (e.g., having a particular gender, and/or a particular body shape) and hold a reference posture corresponding to the examination region… processing device 120 (e.g., the target subject model generation module 420) may generate a target subject model (e.g., a target subject model 900 illustrated in FIG. 9) by performing one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device… the processing device 120 may generate the target subject model by performing the one or more rendering operations on the reference subject model based on the at least one rendering parameter associated with the image capturing device; selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter corresponding to the region (e.g. systems and methods for facilitating subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process include a medical imaging systems including systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical imaging system, for example, including parameters associated with an image capturing device (i.e. the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters), for example, by performing one or more rendering operations on a reference subject model corresponding to different examination regions of a subject (i.e. corresponding to the region), such as a human, for example, based on at least one rendering parameter associated with an image capturing device (i.e. selecting, from the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters, an image capture apparatus parameter corresponding to the region), as indicated above), for example).
The same motivation to combine above-mentioned teachings applies, as previously indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Ge and BU, as a whole teaches the method (Ge, Par. [0002-6]), wherein the performing processing of positioning of the site to be examined according to the selected image capture apparatus parameter comprises:
controlling the image capture apparatus to acquire an image comprising the site to be examined (BU, Par. [0038-47]: the term “image” may refer to a two-dimensional (2D) image, a three-dimensional (3D) image, or a four-dimensional (4D) image. In some embodiments, the term “image” may refer to an image of a region (e.g., a region of interest (ROI)) of a subject… medical device 110 may be configured to acquire image data relating to a subject… storage device 130 may store data obtained from the medical device 110, the processing device 120, and/or the terminal device 140. The data may include image data acquired by the processing device 120; controlling the image capture apparatus to acquire an image comprising the site to be examined (e.g. systems and methods for facilitating subject positioning of a subject in an imaging and/or treatment process include a medical imaging systems including systems and methods for subject positioning in the medical imaging system, for example, including configured to acquire image data relating to a region of interest (ROI)) of a subject (i.e. controlling the image capture apparatus to acquire an image comprising the site to be examined), as indicated above), for example);
determining a position of the site to be examined in the image (BU, Par. [0040-54]: processing device may generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The processing device may position the subject based on the positioning result… processing device 120 may generate a positioning result by integrating a target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of a subject captured by an image capturing device. As still another example, the processing device 120 may position the subject based on a positioning result… the medical system 100 may include an image capturing device. The image capturing device may be configured to capture image data of a subject before, during, and/or after the medical device 110 performs a scan on the subject. For example, before the scan, the image capturing device may capture image data of the subject, which may be used to generate a reference subject model. As another example, after the subject is positioned at a scan position (i.e., a specific position for receiving the scan), the image capturing device may be configured to capture image data of the subject, which may be used to check whether a current posture and/or position of the subject needs to be adjusted; determining a position of the site to be examined in the image (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system including acquiring a scattering parameter curve (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters) of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system by acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions (i.e. regions, locations, coordinates, etc.) of the scanning bore, for example, and the image capturing device is configured to capture image data of the subject, which is used to check whether a current posture and/or position of the subject needs to be adjusted (i.e. determining a position of the site to be examined in the image), as indicated above), for example); and
determining, according to the selected image capture apparatus parameter and the position of the site to be examined in the image, a distance to be moved by a table carrying the site to be examined (BU, Par. [0040-51]: processing device may generate a positioning result by integrating the target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of the subject captured by the image capturing device. The processing device may position the subject based on the positioning result… processing device 120 may generate a positioning result by integrating a target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of a subject captured by an image capturing device. As still another example, the processing device 120 may position the subject based on a positioning result… a medical coordinate system (also referred to as a first coordinate system associated with a medical device) may be provided for the medical system 100 to define a position of a component (e.g., an absolute position, a position relative to another component) and/or a movement of the component… a positive X direction along the X-axis may be from the left side to the right side of a scanning table viewed from the direction facing the front of the medical device 110; a positive Y direction along the Y-axis may be from the lower part (or from the floor where the medical device 110 stands) to the upper part of a gantry of the medical device 110; and a positive Z direction along the Z-axis may be the direction in which the scanning table is moved from the outside into the medical device 110 viewed from the direction facing the front of the medical device 110; determining, according to the selected image capture apparatus parameter and the position of the site to be examined in the image, a distance to be moved by a table carrying the site to be examined (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system including acquiring a scattering parameter curve (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters) of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system by acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions (i.e. regions, locations, coordinates, etc.) of the scanning bore, for example, and the image capturing device is configured to capture image data of the subject, which is used to check whether a current posture and/or position of the subject needs to be adjusted, by moving a scanning table, for example, including generating a positioning result by integrating a target subject model with image data related to a scan scene of a subject captured by an image capturing device and position the subject based on a positioning result (i.e. determining, according to the selected image capture apparatus parameter and the position of the site to be examined in the image, a distance to be moved by a table carrying the site to be examined), as indicated above), for example), wherein after the table is moved by the distance, the site to be examined is aligned with a scan center of the medical imaging system (Ge, Par. [0002-9]: a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… automatic positioning can also be carried out by means of a camera… Specifically, before scanning is performed, an image of the subject under examination is captured by a camera mounted in the scanning room, the position of the part to be examined of the subject under examination is acquired on the basis of the processed image, and the examination table is moved such that the part to be examined of the subject under examination is located at the center of the scanning bore… a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… The positioning method comprises: acquiring a scattering parameter curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system; acquiring the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve; and moving the examination table on the basis of the position of the part to be examined such that the part to be examined is located at the center of the scanning bore… the acquiring the scattering parameter curve of the body coil comprises acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions of the scanning bore, and generating the scattering parameter curve on the basis of the scattering parameters acquired at the different positions; Par. [0053-54]: determine a region of interest of the subject under examination, that is, the position of the part to be examined, and move the examination table such that the part to be examined of the subject under examination is located at the center of the scanning bore… parameter acquisition module 210 is configured to acquire a scattering parameter (S parameter for short) curve of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system. The part determination module 220 is configured to acquire the position of a part to be examined of the subject under examination on the basis of the scattering parameter curve. The control module 230 is configured to move the examination table on the basis of the position of the part to be examined such that the part to be examined is located at the center of the scanning bore; wherein after the table is moved by the distance, the site to be examined is aligned with a scan center of the medical imaging system (e.g. positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system and a magnetic resonance imaging system including acquiring a scattering parameter curve (i.e. determining a plurality of apparatus parameters) of a body coil during a process in which an examination table carrying a subject under examination enters a scanning bore of a magnetic resonance imaging system by acquiring scattering parameters when the subject under examination is located at different positions (i.e. regions, locations, coordinates, distances, etc.) of the scanning bore, for example, and the examination table is moved such that the part to be examined of the subject under examination is located at the center of the scanning bore (i.e. wherein after the table is moved by the distance, the site to be examined is aligned with a scan center of the medical imaging system), as indicated above), for example).
The same motivation to combine above-mentioned teachings applies, as previously indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and a [non-transitory] computer-readable storage medium, comprising a stored computer program, wherein the positioning assisting method for an image capture apparatus according claim 1 is performed when the computer program is run (Ge, Par. [0002-14]: a positioning method for a magnetic resonance imaging system, a magnetic resonance imaging system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium… a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to execute instructions of the positioning method for the magnetic resonance imaging system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the following limitations as claimed:
In view of claim 1 in its entirety, the further limitations of “…wherein the determining a plurality of image capture apparatus parameters corresponding to a plurality of regions in the medical imaging system comprises:
controlling a table of the medical imaging system to sequentially move to a plurality of calibration positions corresponding to the plurality of regions;
in the plurality of calibration positions, controlling the image capture apparatus to respectively acquire images comprising a calibration tool on the table; and
determining the plurality of image capture apparatus parameters according to the acquired images” as recited in claim 3.
Claims 4-6 are dependent upon claim 3.
Conclusion
Due to the inability to determine a reasonable interpretation of claim 10, as indicated above, no prior art rejection or determination of allowability over the prior art of claim 10 was possible during examination of instant application.
Contact Information
/GUILLERMO M RIVERA-MARTINEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677