DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains more than a single paragraph. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, this claim recites “elastic-to-plastic ratio” of “70% or more”. In view of the specification, it is unclear what is meant by this recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2022102736 A1 (US 20230399479 A1 to Yokoyama is relied upon as English equivalent document in the Office action).
As to claim 1 limitation “A hardcoat-less film”, the examiner submits the specification at 0022 describes the following:
As to claim 1, Yokoyama discloses a laminated film having high level of surface hardness, excellent bendability, and excellent scratch resistance; an image display including the laminated film; and a flexible device (0001). Further, the laminated film of Yokoyama includes a support and a resin layer (hardcoat-less film) laminated on at least one surface of the support (0044).
As to claim 1, Yokoyama is silent as to disclosing properties (elastic-to-plastic ratio of 70% or more, Tg and Tm each are neither lower than nor equal to 200°C, at least one condition of Young’s modulus of 1,000 MPa or more in an indentation test or a Young’s modulus is from 1,000 to 5,000 MPa in a tensile test). However, it is reasonable to presume that the claimed properties are inherently present in the film of Yokoyama. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). The claimed film is formed of a cured product of a curable composition, wherein the curable composition comprises a cationically polymerizable silsequioxane. See 0013 and 0015 of the specification. Yokoyama discloses that the resin layer is formed of a cured product of a curable composition (0102), wherein the curable composition contains cationically polymerizable silsequioxane (0108, 0110). Given that the hardcoat-less films of the claimed invention and the prior art of Yokoyama are identical or substantially identical, absent any factual evidence on the record, it would be reasonable to presume that the claimed properties are inherently present in the film of Yokoyama. Alternatively, the claimed properties would obviously be present once the film of Yokoyama is provided.
As to claim 2, Yokoyama discloses that film has a thickness of from 1 to 100 μm (0103). Further, as to the claimed property of indentation hardness, as set forth previously, the hardcoat-less films of the claimed invention and the prior art of Yokoyama are identical or substantially identical, absent any factual evidence on the record, it would be reasonable to presume that the claimed properties are inherently present in the film of Yokoyama. Alternatively, the claimed properties would obviously be present once the film of Yokoyama is provided.
As to claim 3 and 4, Yokoyama discloses that the resin layer is formed of a cured product of a curable composition (0102), wherein the curable composition contains cationically polymerizable silsequioxane (0108, 0110). Given that the hardcoat-less films of the claimed invention and the prior art of Yokoyama are identical or substantially identical, absent any factual evidence on the record, it would be reasonable to presume that the claimed properties of the Tg of 300°C or more and pencil hardness of 2H or more are inherently present in the film of Yokoyama. Alternatively, the claimed properties would obviously be present once the film of Yokoyama is provided.
As to claim 5, Yokoyama discloses that the curable composition comprises radical curable polyorganosiloane (0265).
As to claim 6, Yokoyama discloses that the curable composition comprises cationically polymerizable silsequioxane (0108, 0110).
As to claim 7, Yokoyama discloses that the curable composition further contains an additional component such as a compound having one or more photopolymerizable functional groups (0111).
As to claim 8, Yokoyama as set forth previously discloses a laminated film (0044). Further, Yokoyama discloses that the functional layers are provided on the resin layer (0346).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022102736 A1 (US 20230399479 A1 to Yokoyama is relied upon as English equivalent document in the Office action), as applied to claim 8 above.
As to claims 9 and 10, Yokoyama discloses an image display device including the laminated film (0352). As to claim 9, while Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose layered structure of the plurality of laminated films, the examiner submits that “plurality of laminates” includes e.g. two laminated film. Yokoyama as set forth previously discloses at least one laminated film in the image display device. Absent any new and unexpected results more duplication of parts has no patentable significance, and a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to arrive at the multilayer laminate and the display device comprising the multilayer laminate, motivated by the desire to provide additional surface hardness etc. to the resultant display device including such multilayer laminate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yokoyama (US 20250248280 A1) discloses a laminate, laminated film, a display device, and a foldable device.
/ANISH P DESAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788
August 7, 2026