DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is determined that “an X-ray irradiation means” in combination of “irradiates” and “means” for creating” recited in claim 13 invokes the 112, six paragraph. It is determined that the Specification discloses the corresponding devices for these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyaizu, and further in view of JP 20202- 517960 (hereunder D2; see provided a translation).
With respect to independent claim 1, Oyaizu teaches in Fig. 5 a fluorescent screen configured to convert X- rays to visible light, comprising:
a first layer 16;
a second layer 18; and
a third layer 17 provided between the first layer and the second layer and containing a phosphor, wherein the phosphor is formed of europium-activated barium fluorochloride as disclosed in paragraph [0035],
a weight of the phosphor in the third layer is greater than or equal to 300 mg/cm2 and less than or equal to 600 mg/cm2 as disclosed in paragraph [0059], and
a total light transmittance of each of the first layer and the second layer polyethylene terephthalate in paragraph [0065], which is the same material as in the Specification of the present application, and therefore, Oyaizu inherently teaches this limitation for an emission wavelength 380 nm of the phosphor is greater than or equal to 70%.
In addition, D2 teaches in paragraph [0033 – 0034] polyethylene terephthalate having light transmittance of at least 90%. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Oyaizu in order to improve detection efficiencies. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to independent claim 7, as discussed above Oyaizu modified by D2 teaches an X-ray detector comprising:
a detector body comprising an incident portion of X-rays;
a fluorescence generation means 11 in Oyaizu comprising a fluorescent screen which is provided in the incident portion, is configured to convert X-rays to visible light and comprises:
a first layer;
a second layer; and
a third layer provided between the first layer and the second layer and containing a phosphor,
wherein the phosphor is formed of europium-activated barium fluorochloride, and a weight of the phosphor in the third layer is greater than or equal to 300 mg/cm2 and less than or equal to 600 mg/cm2, and a total light transmittance of each of the first layer and the second layer for an emission wavelength 380 nm of the phosphor is greater than or equal to 70% as discussed above in the rejection justification to claim 1; and
a photoelectric conversion means 15 in Oyaizu provided in the detector body.
With respect to independent claim 13, as discussed in the rejection justification to claim 1, Oyaizu modified by D1 teaches an X-ray inspection device as shown in Fig. 1 in Oyaizu comprising:
an X-ray irradiation means 2 which irradiates a target object with X-rays;
a detector body 6,7 comprising an incident portion of X-rays;
a fluorescence generation means comprising a fluorescent screen which is provided in the incident portion, is configured to convert X-rays to visible light, and comprises:
a first layer; a second layer; and a third layer provided between the first layer and the second layer and containing a phosphor, wherein the phosphor is formed of europium-activated barium fluorochloride, and a weight of the phosphor in the third layer is greater than or equal to 300 mg/cm2 and less than or equal to 600 mg/cm2, and a total light transmittance of each of the first layer and the second layer for an emission wavelength 380 nm of the phosphor is greater than or equal to 70%;an X-ray detection means which comprises an X-ray detector comprising a photoelectric conversion means provided in the detector body as discussed above in the rejection justification to claim 1, and detects transmissive X-rays or Compton scattering X-rays from the target object; and a means 8 for creating an image of inside of the target object based on an X-ray strength measured by the X-ray detection means.
With respect to dependent claims 2, 8, and 14, Oyaizu is silent with wherein a thickness of each of the first layer and the second layer is greater than or equal to 188 µm and less than or equal to 350 µm.
D2, a pertinent art, teaches in paragraph [0010] thickness of support layer having between 1 and 300 microns. In view of this, it would be obvious at the time of the claimed invention was filed to modify the teaching of Oyaizu in order to improve light detection efficiencies. This is in consistency with the Supreme Court Decision of the KSR. V. International Co.: applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to dependent claims 3, 9, and 15, Oyaizu teaches in paragraph [0039] wherein an average particle diameter of the phosphor is greater than or equal to 3 µm and less than or equal to 6 µm.
With respect to dependent claims 4, 10, and 16, Oyaizu teaches in paragraph [0036] wherein an europium concentration of the phosphor is greater than or equal to 0.3% by weight and less than or equal to 1.5% by weight.
With respect to dependent claims 5, 11, and 17, Oyaizu teaches in paragraph [0064] wherein each of the first layer and the second layer contains polyethylene terephthalate.
With respect to dependent claims 6, 12, and 18, Oyaizu teaches in Fig. 5 wherein the first layer 16 is a support body, and the second layer 18 is a protective layer, and the third layer 17 is a phosphor layer.
Conclusion
KIHO KIM, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/Kiho Kim/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884