DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s assertions that KIM fails to teach “a second capacitor connected between the elastic member and the other end of each of the plurality of first capacitors.” KIM shows in Fig. 19 that capacitor Cp (Second capacitor) is connected to contacts CP14 and CP31 (See; p[0206]). Contact CP14 is connected to the capacitor unit 13 having a plurality of capacitors (first capacitors) (See; p[0107]). Contact CP31 is connected to the conductive elastic member (See; p[0208] where contact CP31 is connected to CP16 through a conductive elastic member such as conductive spring 140). Thus capacitor CP is connected to the conductive elastic member through contact CP31 and connected to a plurality of capacitors C through contact CP14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al (2023/0333673) (herein “KIM”). In regards to claim 1, KIM teaches a stylus pen comprising: an inductor unit (See; Fig. 19, inductor unit 14); and a capacitor unit including a plurality of first capacitors connected to the inductor unit in parallel (See; Fig. 19 and p[0107] for capacitor unit 13 including a plurality of capacitors connected in parallel), a connection member including a first signal line connected to one end of each of the plurality of first capacitors (See; Fig. 19 for items 130, CP20, CP21 and CP13), a movable member including a second signal line connected to the first signal line when contacting the connection member (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215] for moveable part 121 in contact with a fixation part 122 through contacts CP16 and CP20), a conductive elastic member connected to the second signal line (See; Fig. 19 and p[0208] for conductive elastic member 118 / conductive spring 140), and a second capacitor connected between the elastic member and the other end of each of the plurality of first capacitors (See; Fig. 19 for capacitor Cp between CP14 and CP31).
In regards to claim 2, KIM teaches wherein the inductor unit includes: a ferrite core; and a coil wound around an outer surface of the ferrite core, one end of the coil being connected to one end of each of the plurality of first capacitors, and the other end of the coil being connected to the other end of each of the plurality of first capacitors (See; Fig. 19 and p[0106] for a ferrite core 115 and a coil 116).
In regards to claim 3, KIM teaches further comprising: a core body penetrating through the ferrite core, wherein pressure transmitted to one side of the core body is transmitted to the movable member (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216] for pressure state).
In regards to claim 4, KIM teaches wherein when the pressure exceeds a first reference value, the elastic member is compressed by the movable member (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216] for pressure state where the elastic member 118 will start to compress after a certain pressure is exceeded).
In regards to claim 5, KIM teaches wherein when the elastic member is compressed, the movable member and the connection member are separated from each other, and the first signal line and the second signal line are electrically disconnected from each other (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216] where the movable part 121 and the fixation part 122 are spaced apart from each other, and the electrical connections between the contact CP16 of the movable part 121 and the contact structure CP20 of the fixation part 122 may be released).
In regards to claim 6, KIM teaches further comprising: an inductor moving unit connected to the other side of the core body, penetrating through the connection member to contact the movable member, and transmitting the pressure to the movable member (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216]).
In regards to claim 7, KIM teaches wherein the connection member includes a contact area as the first signal line, the movable member includes a conductive area as the second signal line, and when the movable member contacts the connection member, the contact area and the conductive area are electrically connected to each other (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216]).
In regards to claim 8, KIM teaches wherein the elastic member includes a spring made of a metal material (See; p[0208] for conductive spring).
In regards to claim 9, KIM teaches wherein the capacitor unit further includes a movement limiting member that limits a movement of the movable member (See; p[0131] for a fixation member 119 for limiting displacement of the movable part).
In regards to claim 10, KIM teaches wherein the movement limiting member includes a first movement limiting member and a second movement limiting member being in contact with the first movement limiting member at the upper end of the first movement limiting member (See; p[0208] for a fixation member 119 where the claim does not differentiate what the first and second members would be other than extending the length of the member for different distances limiting the movement. It would be inherent that the disclosed fixation member could be multiple members so as to realize different movement limiting distances). In regards to claim 11, KIM teaches a touch system (See; Fig. 1) comprising: a stylus pen including an inductor unit including an inductor connecting unit (See; Fig. 19, inductor unit 14), and a capacitor unit (See; Fig. 19 and p[0107] for capacitor unit 13) including a movable member moved by the inductor connecting unit (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215] for moveable part 121) and an elastic member connected to the movable member at an upper end of the movable member (See; Fig. 19 and p[0208] for conductive elastic member 118); and a touch screen including a touch electrode layer receiving a resonate electromagnetic signal from the stylus pen (See; Fig. 2 and p[0068]).
In regards to claim 12, KIM teaches wherein the stylus pen further includes a connection member connecting the inductor unit and the capacitor unit, and the connection member is formed to contact the movable member at an upper end of the movable member (See; p[0213] for a connection unit 130).
In regards to claim 13, KIM teaches wherein the connection member and the movable member come into contact with each other in a first contact area and a second contact area different from the first contact area based on pen pressure of the stylus pen, and the first contact area and the second contact area are plated with a conductive material (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216]).
In regards to claim 14, KIM teaches wherein when the pen pressure of the stylus pen exceeds a first reference value, the connection member and the movable member are separated from each other (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216]).
In regards to claim 15, KIM teaches wherein when the pen pressure of the stylus pen is lower than or equal to a first reference value, the connection member and the movable member are in contact with each other in the first contact area and/or the second contact area, and a plurality of capacitors included in the capacitor unit are electrically connected to the inductor unit (See; Fig. 19 and p[0215]-p[0216]).
In regards to claim 16, KIM teaches wherein the plurality of capacitors include a first capacitor connected to the elastic member, and the first capacitor is connected to the inductor unit through the elastic member, the movable member, and the connection member (See; Fig. 19, CP13 and CP14).
In regards to claim 17, KIM teaches a stylus pen comprising: a capacitor area including a plurality of capacitors (See; Fig. 19 and p[0107] for capacitor unit 13 including a plurality of capacitors connected in parallel); an elastic member located at a lower end of the capacitor area and contacting the capacitor area (See; Fig. 19 and p[0208] for conductive elastic member 118); a movable member located at a lower end of the elastic member and connected between the elastic member and an inductor unit(See; Fig. 19 and p[0215] for moveable part 121); a connection member formed to surround outer edges of the capacitor area, the elastic member, and the movable member (See; p[0213] for a connection unit 130); and a contact area where the movable member and the connection member come into contact with each other (See; Fig. 19).
In regards to claim 18, KIM teaches wherein the elastic member includes a spring made of a metal material (See; p[0208] for conductive spring).
In regards to claim 19, KIM teaches wherein the connection member includes a conductive area connected to the capacitor area and plated with a conductive material (See; p[0213] for a connection unit 130).
In regards to claim 20, KIM teaches wherein charges accumulated in the capacitor area are transferred to the contact area through the conductive area (See; p[0213]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627