DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4 of co-pending Application No. 19/034,362 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 19/035,506
Co-pending Application 19/034,362
1. An electrostatic chuck comprising:
a dielectric substrate including a placement surface on which an object to be attracted is placed;
an attraction electrode provided inside the dielectric substrate; and
a base plate joined to the dielectric substrate, wherein
when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the placement surface, the dielectric substrate includes a protrusion section which protrudes outward from a surface to be joined of the base plate, and
a part of the attraction electrode is provided in the protrusion section.
1. An Electrostatic chuck comprising:
A dielectric substrate including a placement surface on which an object to be attracted is placed;
2. an attraction electrode provided inside the dielectric substrate,
1. a base plate joined to the dielectric substrate; wherein
The dielectric substrate includes a protrusion section protruding outward beyond a joined surface of the base plate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the placement surface,
2. a part of the attraction electrode is provided in the protrusion section.
2. The electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, further comprising:
an RF electrode provided inside the dielectric substrate, wherein when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface, the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode does not protrude from an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode.
1. an RF electrode provided inside the dielectric substrate,
4. wherein the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode does not protrude beyond an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode when vided from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Redeker et al. Publication No. US 2003/0180459.
Regarding claim 1, Redeker discloses an electrostatic chuck comprising:
a dielectric substrate [Fig. 3, electrostatic chuck 32; par. 0026] including a placement surface [Fig. 3, substrate receiving surface 70; par. 0029] on which an object to be attracted is placed;
an attraction electrode [Fig. 3, chucking electrode 66] provided inside the dielectric substrate [par. 0029]; and
a base plate [Fig. 3, pedestal 60; par. 0027] joined to the dielectric substrate, wherein when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the placement surface, the dielectric substrate includes a protrusion section which protrudes outward from a surface to be joined of the base plate [Fig. 3, the electrostatic chuck 32 includes a protrusion section which protrudes outward from a surface to be joined of the pedestal 60 as shown], and
a part of the attraction electrode is provided in the protrusion section [Fig. 3, part of the chucking electrode 6 is provided in the protrusion section as shown].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redeker et al. Publication No. US 2003/0180459, in view of Ishikawa et al. Publication No. US 2023/0087660. Regarding claim 2, Redeker further comprises an RF electrode [Fig. 3, RF electrode 64; par. 0029] provided inside the dielectric substrate.
However, Redeker does not disclose that when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface, the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode does not protrude from an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode.
Ishikawa discloses an electrostatic chuck, comprising: a dielectric substrate [Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, ceramic member 112a] including a placement surface [Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, 110a]; an attraction electrode [Fig. 4, electrostatic electrode 115a; par. 0028]; an RF electrode [Fig. 4, RF electrode 116a] provided inside the dielectric substrate; wherein when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface, the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode does not protrude from an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode [as shown].
Redeker and Ishikawa are analogous electrostatic chucks comprising attraction electrodes and RF electrodes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate an RF electrode that does not protrude from the outer edge of the attraction electrode, for the benefit of limiting unwanted secondary plasma discharges and preventing dangerous arcing at the wafer edge.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redeker et al. Publication No. US 2003/0180459, in view of Yonekura et al. Publication No. US 2009/0308538.
Regarding claim 3, Redeker does not disclose a seal ring a distal end of which is an annular protrusion serving as a part of the placement surface is formed in the dielectric substrate, and when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface, at least a part of the seal ring is overlapped with the attraction electrode.
Yonekura teaches wherein the dielectric substrate is formed with a seal ring [Fig. 2, 102b] which is an annular protrusion with a tip serving as a part of the placement surface, and at least part of the seal ring overlaps the attraction electrode [Fig. 2, 103] when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface [as shown in Fig. 2].
Redeker and Yonekura are analogous electrostatic chucks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the seal ring and placement of the attraction electrode as modified by Yonekura, into Redeker, for the benefit of providing a tight seal between the wafer and the seal ring through the electrostatic attraction to prevent backside gas from escaping.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 4: The prior art does not disclose that when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface, the base plate includes a first part serving as a part overlapped with an outer circumferential edge of the placement surface, and a second part serving as a part on a further outer circumferential side relative to the first part, a coolant flow path through which a coolant is able to flow is formed inside each of the first part and the second part, and the coolant flow path is formed in a manner that a cooling performance for the first part is set to be higher than a cooling performance for the second part. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
DHARTI PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/DHARTI H PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838