DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2025 and 8/20/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US Pub 2020/0319672 (provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses,
A display device (figures 1 and 24) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 24, element 430) divided into a folding area (middle of the structure such as the region of H3) and a flat area (figure 24, either one of H1 or H2) adjacent to the folding area;
a support member (figure 24, element 450) under the display panel and including a lattice portion (region surround elements 4531) with at least one opening (element 4531; at least paragraph 94 described the element 4531 number) defined;
a first lower adhesive layer (element 622, between 430 and 450) between the display panel and the support member and overlapping the flat area;
a cover adhesive layer (element 628, between 430/450) between the display panel and the support member and overlapping the folding area (as seen in figure 24, 628 overlapping folding area H3); and
a cover member (element 484 between 430/450) between the display panel and the support member, overlapping the folding area (as seen in figure 24), and adhered to the cover adhesive layer (figure 24, paragraphs 178-180).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses,
wherein the cover member (484 covers the lattice portion that’s indicated by the region 4531 and the surrounding structure) covers the lattice portion.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses,
wherein a length of the cover member is greater than a length of the lattice portion (as seen in figure 24, length of 484 greater than the lattice portion).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses,
wherein the cover member is spaced apart from the display panel (figure 24, element 484 spaced apart from the display panel 430).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses,
The first lower adhesive layer contacts the display panel (element 622, figure 24 indirectly contacts the display panel 430).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses,
For purpose of examination of claim 16, the interpretation of the cover adhesive layer is modified as follows:
Wherein the cover adhesive layer (cover adhesive layer element 628, polymer 440 and adhesive 621) further overlaps the flat area and is on the first lower adhesive layer (figure 24, elements 628/440/621 overlaps the flat area H1 or H2 and on the first lower adhesive layer 622, similar to present application figure 15).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses,
An electronic device comprising:
A display device (figures 1 and 24);
A power supply (battery 191, paragraph 77) configured to provide power to the display device (battery to power the device figure 3, element 191),
Wherein the display device comprises:
a display panel (Fig. 24, element 430) divided into a folding area (middle of the structure such as the region of H3) and a flat area (figure 24, either one of H1 or H2) adjacent to the folding area;
a support member (figure 24, element 450) under the display panel and including a lattice portion (region surround elements 4531) with at least one opening (element 4531; at least paragraph 94 described the element 4531 number) defined;
a first lower adhesive layer (element 622, between 430 and 450) between the display panel and the support member and overlapping the flat area;
a cover adhesive layer (element 628, between 430/450) between the display panel and the support member and overlapping the folding area (as seen in figure 24, 628 overlapping folding area H3); and
a cover member (element 484 between 430/450) between the display panel and the support member, overlapping the folding area (as seen in figure 24), and adhered to the cover adhesive layer (figure 24, paragraphs 178-180).
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo US Pub 2023/0305669 (provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses,
A display device (figures 5A) comprising:
a display panel (element DM) divided into a folding area (FA0) and a flat area (element NFA10 or NFA20) adjacent to the folding area;
a support member (figure 5A, element PLT-1/PLT-2) under the display panel and including a lattice portion (region surround elements PLT-F/OP) with at least one opening (element OP) defined;
a first lower adhesive layer (AL4-1, between DM and PLT-1/2) between the display panel and the support member and overlapping the flat area;
a cover adhesive layer (AL5, between DM and PLT-1/2) between the display panel and the support member and overlapping the folding area (Figure 5a, overlapping FA0); and
a cover member (PPL or BRL, between DM and PLT-1/2) between the display panel and the support member, overlapping the folding area (as seen in figure 5A), and adhered to the cover adhesive layer (figure 5A, PPL or BRL adhere to AL5).
Regarding claim 15, Yoo discloses,
Wherein the cover adhesive layer (element AL5, overlaps flat area NFA10 and NFA20 and is under AL4-1) further overlaps the flat area and is under the first lower adhesive layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Yoo US Pub 2023/0305669.
Regarding claim 5,
Kim teaches the cover adhesive layer, the cover member and the first lower adhesive layer (as disclosed in figure 24, such that the thickness are same).
Kim does not teach wherein a sum of a thickness of the cover adhesive layer and a thickness of the cover member is smaller than a thickness of the first lower adhesive layer.
Yoo in similar field of display device teaches a sum of a thickness of the cover adhesive layer (figure 5a, Thickness of element AL8) and a thickness of the cover member (Figure 5a, thickness of SCV) is smaller than a thickness of the first lower adhesive layer (figure 5a, thickness of AL7-1, such that the thickness of AL8/SCV is smaller than the thickness of AL7-1; paragraph 140).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Yoo such that sum of a thickness of the cover adhesive layer and a thickness of the cover member is smaller than a thickness of the first lower adhesive layer as the configuration of Kim's thickness of cover adhesive layer, cover member and the lower adhesive layer, such modification will ensure desired bendability is archived for the lattice portion, since smaller thickness overlapping the folding area is derived.
Regarding claim 6,
Kim as modified by Yoo teaches the thickness of the first lower adhesive layer (element 622 of Kim and element AL7-1 of Yoo).
Kim as modified by Yoo does not explicitly teach the thickness of the first lower adhesive layer is in a range of 25 micrometers (μm) to 50 μm.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to make the thickness the first lower adhesive layer is in a range of 25 micrometers (μm) to 50 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Thus, the modification will provide the desired thickness and flexibility.
Regarding claim 10,
Kim teaches a digitizer (end of paragraph 84).
Kim does not teach the specific location, the digitizer under the support member.
Yoo teaches a digitizer (DTM-1, figure 5a) under the support member (PLT-1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Yoo such that the digitizer is placed under the support member in Kim such modification will ensure that interference is controlled, since the support member can act as a barrier to the interference thus protecting the display device.
Regarding claim 11,
Kim teaches the cover adhesive layer and the first lower adhesive layer as described in claim 1.
Kim does not teach the cover adhesive layer is spaced apart from the first lower adhesive layer.
Yoo in similar field of display device teaches the cover adhesive layer (AL8, figure 5a) is spaced apart from the first lower adhesive layer (AL7-1, figure 5a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Yoo such that the cover adhesive and the first lower adhesive layer of Kim are spaced apart, such modification will provide the desired folding regions, since there will be opening in the start and end of folding area.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Kishimoto et al. US Pub 2022/0147102 (provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 7,
Kim teaches the cover member includes a polymer (paragraph 180).
Kim does not teach the cover member includes a metal. However, providing metal in combination or instead of polymer is not new.
Kishimoto teaches a cover member (600, paragraph 88) includes a metal (paragraph 88, metal includes SUS).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the cover member of Kim's material such that metal as taught by Kishimoto is provided, such medication will provide desired durability and strength to the cover member such that the operation of folding/unfolding does not damage the display device.
Regarding claim 8,
Kim as modified by Kishimoto teaches,
The cover member includes stainless steel (SUS) (paragraph 88, element 600, specifically metal plate 610 includes SUS).
Regarding claim 9,
Kim teaches the cover member includes a polymer (paragraph 180, polymer is a plastic).
Kim does not teach the cover member includes fiber reinforced plastic (FRP). However, providing fiber reinforced plastic in combination or instead of polymer is not new.
Kishimoto teaches a cover member (600, paragraph 88) includes a fiber reinforced plastic (paragraph 88, polymer including glass fibers).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the cover member of Kim's material such that fiber reinforced plastic as taught by Kishimoto is provided, such medication will provide desired durability and strength to the cover member such that the operation of folding/unfolding does not damage the display device.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US Pub 2020/0319672 in view of Lee US Pub 2023/0080858.
Regarding claim 13,
Kim teaches the first lower adhesive layer and the cover adhesive layer as described in claim 1. Furthermore, Kim teaches the thickness of first lower adhesive layer and the cover adhesive layer is different.
Kim does not teach a modulus of the first lower adhesive layer is different from a modulus of the cover adhesive layer.
Lee in similar field of display device teaches an adhesive layer (element 115, paragraph 46) that comprises different modulus in the non-foldable area and the foldable area, in other words Lee teaches, a modulus of the first lower adhesive layer (the adhesive corresponding to the non-folding area 115n) is different from a modulus of the cover adhesive layer (the adhesive corresponding to the folding area 115f; such that the modulus of 115n and 115f is different, see paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of modulus of the first lower adhesive layer is different from a modulus of the cover adhesive layer as taught by Lee such that the modulus of the first lower adhesive layer and the cover adhesive layer of Kim are different, such modification will provide the desired bendability/stiffness based on the folding and non-folding areas.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US Pub 2020/0319672.
Regarding claim 14,
Kim embodiment of figure 24 teaches the support member comprising the opening as described in claim 1.
Kim's embodiment of figure 24 does not teach the support member further includes a resin filled in the opening.
Kim's embodiment of figure 11a teaches the support member (element 450) includes a resin filled in the openings (as seen in figure 11a, and paragraph 119, resin material 460 is filled in the openings surrounding element 453).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the resin filled opening as taught by Kim's embodiment of figure 11 with the support member including the opening of embodiment of figure 24, such modification will prevent deterioration of flexibility (paragraph 120, Kim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park US Pub 2019/0334114 (figures 5 and 14) teaches similar structure of claim 1 such that display device comprises support member (1440) and cover adhesive layer (761 or 762) and cover member (the other one of 761 or 762).
La et al. US Pub 2024/0284609 (figures 12-13), this qualifies under 35USC§102(a)(2), however, this is commonly owned (Samsung Display Co. LTD).
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841