DETAILED ACTION
Claims 85-104 are pending in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Main body 105 of specification paragraph [0113] is not shown.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Main body of claims 85, 96 and 103,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 95 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 95 line 1, “device claim 85” should be –device of claim 85--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 85-102 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “comfortably fit” in claim 85 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “comfortably fit” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is interpreted as any fit.
Claims 86-102 are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 85.
The term “to appeal” in claim 95 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “to appeal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation is interpreted as any color and pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 85-92, 95-98, 100 and 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Battis (WO 2014131050 A1).
Regarding claim 85, Battis teaches a personal safety device (abstract, handheld self-protection device), comprising:
a main body (abstract, lightweight shell housings) having disposed therein a non-lethal defensive weapon (abstract, aerosol spray);
a hand enclosure (abstract, a handgrip with a plurality of finger grips);
a light (abstract, one or more of laser aperture); and
a bottom attachment (abstract, electrical discharge device);
wherein the main body is constructed with a size and shape to comfortably fit an average human female hand (abstract, a handheld self-protection device … including a handgrip with a plurality of finger grips).
Regarding claim 86, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the main body has a length of approximately 6 inches (e.g. 5.44 inches, fig.1).
Regarding claim 87, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the main body has a diameter between 1.3 and 1.5 inches (e.g. 1.35 inches, fig.1).
Regarding claim 88, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the main body has an oblong ergonomic contour ([0034], The frame features ergonomic finger grips).
Regarding claim 89, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the non-lethal defensive weapon comprises an aerosol lachrymatory agent ([0039], aerosol spray 200 - e.g., pepper spray).
Regarding claim 90, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the non-lethal defensive weapon comprises a telescoping friction baton with a conducted energy device (CED) ([0040], includes a removable Zap Trap(TM) Electrical discharge (high voltage) shocking system 300 … the probes are extendable or the jacket is retractable).
Regarding claim 91, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the hand enclosure comprises a strap (e.g. wrist strap interlock 500, fig.1).
Regarding claim 92, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the hand enclosure comprises a knuckle weapon (e.g. defense knuckles 250, fig.1) or wrist strap (e.g. wrist strap interlock 500, fig.1).
Regarding claim 95, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, wherein the main body has a color scheme or pattern selected to appeal to female users ([0039], The spray is designed to have an effective range) ([0042], the front face of the device designed to bruise and tear assailant's skin upon impact).
Regarding claim 96, Battis teaches a personal safety device (abstract, handheld self-protection device), comprising:
a main body (abstract, lightweight shell housings) having disposed therein an aerosol lachrymatory agent cartridge (abstract, aerosol spray) ([0039], aerosol spray 200 - e.g., pepper spray), with a spray nozzle oriented towards a first end of a short axis of the personal safety device (e.g. aerosol spray 200 oriented towards the front of the device, figs.1-2);
a hand enclosure located on the first end (e.g. HERO frame 100, fig.1);
a receiver for an attachment (e.g. bottom portion where removable zap trap 300 is attached, figs.1-2), the receiver located on a bottom end of a long axis of the personal safety device (e.g. 300 is located at the bottom, figs.1-2);
a light oriented towards the first end (e.g. green LED 120, white LED 140, Laser 120, figs.1-2); and
an actuator button (e.g. spray lever 220, fig.1) on a second end of the short axis of the personal safety device (e.g. 220 is towards the other end than 200 along short axis, figs.1-2);
wherein the main body is constructed with a size and shape to comfortably fit an average human female hand (abstract, a handheld self-protection device … including a handgrip with a plurality of finger grips).
Regarding claim 97, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 86.
Regarding claim 98, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 96, wherein the cartridge interlocks with the hand enclosure (e.g. interlock jack 520, figs.1-2), whereby the cartridge is not removeable with the hand enclosure attached ([0046], This interlock feature is designed to disable the device if it is wrenched out of the hand of the user).
Regarding claim 100, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 92.
Regarding claim 103, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claims 85 and 90.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 93 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battis (WO 2014131050 A1), and further in view of Erni (EP 3721741 B1).
Regarding claim 93, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85, further comprising an alarm (i.e. audible alarm 420, fig.1) and a wrist loop (e.g. wrist strap interlock 500, fig.1), wherein the wrist loop is detachable ([0046], a wrist strap that has a break-away interlock key 510).
Battis does not teach, wherein detaching the wrist loop activates the alarm.
Erni teaches in a similar field of endeavor of wearable electronics, detaching a wrist loop activates an alarm (page 18, The hand strap 39 and the cable switch 39 are also designed as a trigger 5. If the alarm device 4 is forcibly stolen by the hand 6 of the user 2, the trigger 5 can be actuated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included detaching the wrist loop activates the alarm in Battis, as taught by Erni, as it provides the additional advantage of protecting the user by reliably sounding an alarm during forceful snatching.
Claims 94, 99, 101 and 102 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battis (WO 2014131050 A1), and further in view of Bina (US 20210213308 A1).
Regarding claim 94, Battis teaches the personal safety device of claim 85.
Battis does not teach, wherein the bottom attachment comprises a key ring or glass breaker.
Bina teaches in a similar field of endeavor of self-defense tool, bottom attachment (e.g. lower portion of rear leg 40 and bottom connector 45, fig.1) comprises a key ring ([0037], clipped to the belt of a user, latch 70) or glass breaker (i.e. glass breaker 20, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the bottom attachment comprises a key ring or glass breaker in Battis, as taught by Bina, as it provides the additional advantage of protecting the user by providing a compact glass breaker and any other attachments, like whistle on a lanyard, to be clipped to the multi-purpose self-defense device.
Regarding claim 99, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 94.
Regarding claim 101, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 94.
Regarding claim 102, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 94.
Claim 104 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battis (WO 2014131050 A1).
Regarding claim 104, it is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 86.
Battis does not teach, the telescoping friction baton has an extended length of between 12 and 16 inches.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the telescoping friction baton has an extended length of between 12 and 16 inches, since the applicant has not disclosed that 12 and 16 inches solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the telescoping friction baton has an extended length of between 12 and 16 inches, as it provides the advantage of ease of use and storage.
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 09/29/2026