Notice to Applications
This communication is in response to the Application filed on January 23, 2025.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on January 23, 2025 and June 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 27 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered and attached by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
The certified copies have been filed as Application No. JP2024-011269, filed on January 29, 2024.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a control unit”, “an acquisition unit”, and “a calculation unit” in claims 1 and 10 described in paragraphs [0033], and thus, claims 2-9 and 11 are similarly interpreted.
Regarding the claim limitation above, 112(f) is invoked because “unit” is a non-functional generic placeholder expressed merely by the function it performs. Although claims 1 and 10 are drafted as device and method claims respectfully, the term “unit” is Applicant’s claim term preceding a functional limitation of “control/acquisition/calculation”. Because Applicant fails to recite sufficiently definite structure for the term “unit”, the claimed limitation is akin to a generic term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that a claimed invention must fall within one of four eligible categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) and must not be directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception as interpreted by the courts. MPEP 2106. Three categories of subject matter are found to be judicially recognized exceptions to 35 U.S.C. § 101 (i.e. patent ineligible) (1) laws of nature, (2) physical phenomena, and (3) abstract ideas. MPEP 2106(II). To be patent-eligible, a claim directed to a judicial exception must as whole be integrated into a practical application or directed to significantly more than the exception itself (MPEP 2106). Hence, the claim must describe a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Claim 11 is rejected under the most recent interpretation of the Interim Guidelines regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because a "storage medium" is discussed in the specification in paragraph [0081] “Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a 'non-transitory computer-readable storage medium') to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s)”.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a storage medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. The claims, as defined in the specification, cover both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Irie et al., US 20180017659 A1, (hereinafter “Irie”).
Regarding claim 1, Irie teaches a control device, comprising:
a control unit configured to execute a process for controlling an imaging direction such that a position of a subject in an image captured by an imaging device is kept at a target position, wherein the control unit does not change the imaging direction if the position of the subject is detected within a dead zone in the image ([0053] “An automatic tracking imaging system that remotely controls a pan and/or tilt operation of a camera having a pan and/or tilt function in a control terminal and images a target while automatically tracking the target, wherein the control terminal comprises a target position detection unit that detects a position of the target on the basis of an image captured by the camera;”) ([0052] “Further, according to this aspect, the dead zone is set, and the camera is set not to follow for a motion of the target that is predicted in the dead zone. Thus, it is possible to prevent the camera from moving little by little and to capture a high-quality moving image.”);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a setting related to a second target position that is different from a first target position currently set to the target position ([0053], [0149] “The target position prediction unit 220 predicts the position of the target after the T time on the basis of the movement history of the target. In this embodiment, the target position prediction unit 220 separately predicts a position in the pan direction after the T time and a position in the tilt direction after the T time.” wherein a second target position is the predicted position of the target after the T time); and
a calculation unit configured to calculate a distance between the first target position and the second target position in the captured image ([0158], [0053] “a control amount calculation unit that calculates a control amount of pan and/or tilt of the camera required to move a target arrangement position set in an imaging screen of the camera as a position at which the target is arranged, to the target prediction position;” wherein a calculated distance is the calculated amount required to move from the target position to the predicted target position),
wherein, in a case where the acquisition unit acquires a change in the target position, the control unit changes a dead zone in accordance with the distance between the first target position and the second target position ([0232] “The dead zone changing unit 234 acquires information on the position of the target detected by the target position detection unit 214, and information on the target prediction position predicted by the target position prediction unit 220, and estimates the movement direction of the target. The dead zone is decreased in the estimated movement direction.”) ([0239] “As illustrated in FIG. 18, if the pan and tilt control amount is calculated in step S126, the control terminal 100 performs the process of correcting the dead zone (step S127). That is, information on the detected position of the target and information on the target prediction position are acquired and a movement direction of the target is estimated. The dead zone is corrected so that the dead zone in the estimated movement direction is decreased.”).
Regarding claim 2, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 1,
wherein, in a case where the distance calculated by the calculation unit is greater than a predetermined threshold, the control unit changes the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within a first dead zone in the captured image ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0222] “As illustrated in FIG. 15, when it is determined in step S128 that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone DZ, it is determined whether or not the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value (step S129a).”) ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein the second target position being kept within a first dead zone is correcting the control amount to be the threshold value when it is determined that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone; wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone),
wherein, in a case where the distance calculated by the calculation unit is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, the control unit changes the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within a second dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0219] “In a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is smaller than the threshold value, the control amount is output to the instruction unit 228 without being corrected.”) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).” wherein changing the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within a second dead zone is adjusting the pan and tilt of the camera to the calculated control amount; wherein a second dead zone is the range defined by the calculate control amount),
wherein the first dead zone and the second dead zone are ranges centered around the target position of the subject ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).” wherein a second dead zone is the range defined by the calculate control amount) ([0225] “Thus, according to this embodiment, a rotation amount of the pan and tilt that can be executed in one control is limited to a certain value. Thus, even when the error is greater between the predicted position and the actual position, it is possible to prevent the target from being lost or the camera from being greatly panned and tilted. It is possible to stably capture a high-quality moving image.” wherein the dead zone ranges are defined to keep the target within view of the camera), and
wherein the first dead zone is smaller than the second dead zone ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).” wherein a second dead zone is the range defined by the calculate control amount) ([0225] “Thus, according to this embodiment, a rotation amount of the pan and tilt that can be executed in one control is limited to a certain value. Thus, even when the error is greater between the predicted position and the actual position, it is possible to prevent the target from being lost or the camera from being greatly panned and tilted. It is possible to stably capture a high-quality moving image.” wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that a first dead zone is smaller than a second dead zone because Irie teaches a first dead zone to be a range wherein a camera moves within a corrected control amount and a second dead zone to be a range wherein a camera moves according to a calculated control amount, thereby the first dead zone being a more limited range than the second dead zone).
Regarding claim 3, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 2,
wherein the distance between the first target position and the second target position indicates, respectively, a distance in a pan direction and a distance in a tilt direction in the captured image ([0158], [0053] “a control amount calculation unit that calculates a control amount of pan and/or tilt of the camera required to move a target arrangement position set in an imaging screen of the camera as a position at which the target is arranged, to the target prediction position;” wherein a calculated distance is the calculated amount required to move from the target position to the predicted target position), and
wherein the calculation unit includes a determination unit configured to determine that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is greater than the predetermined threshold in a case where at least one of the distance in the pan direction and the distance in the tilt direction is greater than the predetermined threshold, and determine that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold in a case where both the distance in the pan direction and the distance in the tilt direction are equal to or less than the predetermined threshold ([0158], [0053] “a control amount calculation unit that calculates a control amount of pan and/or tilt of the camera required to move a target arrangement position set in an imaging screen of the camera as a position at which the target is arranged, to the target prediction position;” wherein a calculated distance is the calculated amount required to move from the target position to the predicted target position) ([0212] “The control amount determination unit 230 compares a control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 with a threshold value and determines whether or not the calculated control amount is equal to or more than a threshold value.”) ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”).
Regarding claim 4, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 3, wherein, when the control unit determines that the second target position is included in the second dead zone, the control unit changes the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within the first dead zone ([0218] “The control amount correction unit 232 corrects the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 on the basis of the determination result of the control amount determination unit 230. That is, in a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount correction unit 232 corrects the control amount to the threshold value. The control amount correction unit 232 outputs information on the corrected control amount to the instruction unit 228.”) ([0222] “As illustrated in FIG. 15, when it is determined in step S128 that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone DZ, it is determined whether or not the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value (step S129a).”) ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein the second target position being kept within a first dead zone is correcting the control amount to be the threshold value when it is determined that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone; wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone).
Regarding claim 5, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 4,
wherein, in a case where it is determined that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is greater than the predetermined threshold, the control unit controls the imaging direction at a first speed such that the second target position is kept within the first dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0222] “As illustrated in FIG. 15, when it is determined in step S128 that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone DZ, it is determined whether or not the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value (step S129a).”) ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein the second target position being kept within a first dead zone is correcting the control amount to be the threshold value when it is determined that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone; wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a first speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the corrected control amount) ([0174] “As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.”),
wherein, in a case where it is determined that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, the control unit controls the imaging direction at a second speed such that the second target position is kept within the second dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0219] “In a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is smaller than the threshold value, the control amount is output to the instruction unit 228 without being corrected.”) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).” wherein changing the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within a second dead zone is adjusting the pan and tilt of the camera to the calculated control amount; wherein a second dead zone is the range defined by the calculated control amount) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a second speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the calculated control amount) ([0174] “As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.”), and
wherein the second speed is lower than the first speed ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a first speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the corrected control amount and a second speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the calculated control amount) ([0174] “As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.” wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably agree that the second speed is lower than the first speed because Irie teaches the second speed to be lower as pan and tilt are only performed when the second target position is not within the dead zone).
Regarding claim 6, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 4,
wherein, in a case where it is determined that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is greater than the predetermined threshold, the control unit changes the imaging direction at a first speed such that the second target position is kept within the first dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0222] “As illustrated in FIG. 15, when it is determined in step S128 that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone DZ, it is determined whether or not the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value (step S129a).”) ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein the second target position being kept within a first dead zone is correcting the control amount to be the threshold value when it is determined that the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone; wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a first speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the corrected control amount) ([0174] “As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.”),
wherein, in a case where it is determined that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold and the second target position is not included in the first dead zone, the control unit changes the imaging direction at the first speed such that the second target position is kept within the second dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0219] “In a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is smaller than the threshold value, the control amount is output to the instruction unit 228 without being corrected.”) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).” wherein changing the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within a second dead zone is adjusting the pan and tilt of the camera to the calculated control amount; wherein a second dead zone is the range defined by the calculated control amount) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a first speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the corrected control amount) ([0174] “As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.”), and
wherein, in a case where it is determined that the distance calculated by the calculation unit is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold and the second target position is included in the first dead zone, the control unit changes the imaging direction at a second speed such that the second target position is kept within the second dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0219] “In a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is smaller than the threshold value, the control amount is output to the instruction unit 228 without being corrected.”) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).” wherein changing the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within a second dead zone is adjusting the pan and tilt of the camera to the calculated control amount; wherein a second dead zone is the range defined by the calculated control amount) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a second speed is the speed of rotation to achieve the calculated control amount) ([0174] “As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.”).
Regarding claim 7, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 3, wherein, in a case where the distance calculated by the calculation unit is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold and a control speed for the imaging direction is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold, the control unit controls the imaging direction such that the position of the subject matches the second target position ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0219] “In a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is smaller than the threshold value, the control amount is output to the instruction unit 228 without being corrected.”) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).”) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a control amount accounts for distance and control speed) ([0174] “The instruction unit 228 instructs the camera 10 to execute the pan and tilt on the basis of the determination result of the determination unit 226. Specifically, the instruction unit 228 instructs the camera 10 to execute the pan and tilt only when the target prediction position is determined not to belong to the dead zone. Therefore, in a case where the target prediction position is determined to belong to the dead zone, an instruction to execute the pan and tilt is not performed. As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.” wherein the position of the subject matches the second target position when the second target position (target prediction position) is not in the dead zone, as confirmed by a low calculated distance and control speed).
Regarding claim 8, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 7,
wherein the control speed for the imaging direction indicates a control speed for each of pan and tilt of the imaging device ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.”),
wherein the control unit determines that the control speed is greater than the predetermined threshold in a case where the control speed for at least one of the pan and tilt of the imaging device is greater than the predetermined threshold ([0216] “As illustrated in FIG. 14, a threshold value Pth(+) for the positive pan direction DP(+) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Pdz(+), that is, the boundary position in the positive pan direction DP(+) of the dead zone DZ, and a threshold value Pth(−) for the negative pan direction DP(−) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Pdz(−), that is, the boundary position Pdz(−) in the negative pan direction DP(−). Further, a threshold value Tth(+) for the positive tilt direction DT(+) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Tdz(+), that is, the boundary position in the positive tilt direction DT(+) of the dead zone DZ, and a threshold value Tth(−) for the negative tilt direction DT(−) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Tdz(−), that is, the boundary position Tdz(−) in the negative tilt direction DT(−).” wherein the control speed is determined by rotation angle, pan direction, and tilt direction), and
wherein the control unit determines that the control speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold in a case where all the control speeds for the pan and tilt of the imaging device are equal to or less than the predetermined threshold ([0216] “As illustrated in FIG. 14, a threshold value Pth(+) for the positive pan direction DP(+) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Pdz(+), that is, the boundary position in the positive pan direction DP(+) of the dead zone DZ, and a threshold value Pth(−) for the negative pan direction DP(−) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Pdz(−), that is, the boundary position Pdz(−) in the negative pan direction DP(−). Further, a threshold value Tth(+) for the positive tilt direction DT(+) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Tdz(+), that is, the boundary position in the positive tilt direction DT(+) of the dead zone DZ, and a threshold value Tth(−) for the negative tilt direction DT(−) is set as a rotation angle required to move the target arrangement position PO to the point Tdz(−), that is, the boundary position Tdz(−) in the negative tilt direction DT(−).” wherein the control speed is determined by rotation angle, pan direction, and tilt direction).
Regarding claim 9, Irie teaches the control device according to claim 8, wherein, when the control unit determines that the position of the subject matches the second target position, the control unit changes the imaging direction such that the second target position is kept within the first dead zone ([0213] “The threshold value is set to, for example, the same value as the set value of the dead zone DZ, and is set for each in the pan direction and the tilt direction.”) ([0219] “In a case where the control amount calculated by the control amount calculation unit 222 is smaller than the threshold value, the control amount is output to the instruction unit 228 without being corrected.”) ([0223] “Here, in a case where the calculated control amount is smaller than the threshold value, the camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the calculated control amount (step S130).”) ([0162] “For the control amount, an angle and a speed of rotation in the pan direction and the tilt direction are calculated, as illustrated in FIG. 8. That is, a rotation angle θP and an angular velocity in the pan direction DP are calculated as the control amount in the pan direction DP, and a rotation angle θT and an angular velocity in the tilt direction DT are calculated as the control amount in the tilt direction DT.” wherein a control amount accounts for distance and control speed) ([0174] “The instruction unit 228 instructs the camera 10 to execute the pan and tilt on the basis of the determination result of the determination unit 226. Specifically, the instruction unit 228 instructs the camera 10 to execute the pan and tilt only when the target prediction position is determined not to belong to the dead zone. Therefore, in a case where the target prediction position is determined to belong to the dead zone, an instruction to execute the pan and tilt is not performed. As a result, the pan and tilt are performed only in a case where the target prediction position does not belong to the dead zone.” wherein the position of the subject matches the second target position when the second target position (target prediction position) is not in the dead zone, as confirmed by a low calculated distance and control speed) ([0224] “On the other hand, in a case where the calculated control amount is equal to or larger than the threshold value, the control amount is limited to the threshold value. That is, the control amount is corrected to be the threshold value (step S129b). The camera 10 is instructed to be panned and tilted with the corrected control amount (step S130). That is, the threshold value is set as the control amount, and the pan and tilt is instructed.” wherein a first dead zone is the range defined by the threshold value or the value of the dead zone; wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to keep the second target position within the first dead zone to not exceed the threshold for the dead zone).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 1 but in the form of a method. Therefore, claim 10 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Irie teaches a storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform the control method according to claim 10 ([0120] “The nonvolatile memory 116 includes, for example, a flash EEPROM (EEPROM: Electrically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory), and stores the above-described operation program or various fixed form data. Further, the nonvolatile memory 116 functions as a storage unit of the control terminal 100 and stores various pieces of data.”).
Conclusion
/AMANDA H PEARSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666