DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruce et al. Publication No. US 2008/0239603.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Bruce discloses a voltage detection circuit, comprising:
a control terminal [Fig. 3, gate terminal of the transistor 310], comprising a control terminal voltage [gate voltage];
a load terminal [Fig. 3, output terminal at 308], comprising a load terminal voltage; and
a voltage detection unit [Fig. 3, operation amplifier 320], coupled to the control terminal and the load terminal, converting the control terminal voltage to a low-level voltage according to a voltage between the control terminal voltage and the load terminal voltage [par. 0049].
Regarding claim 2, Bruce discloses that a detection voltage is between the control terminal voltage and the load terminal voltage, the voltage detection unit sets a threshold voltage, and when the detection voltage exceeds the threshold voltage, the voltage detection unit converts the control terminal voltage to the low level voltage [Par. 0049 describes that Fig.3 operates by detecting a voltage that crosses a zero or positive directional threshold between the source and drain; a positive voltage from the source to the drain triggers the operational amplifier to shut off the transistor].
Regarding claim 6, Bruce discloses that the voltage detection unit comprises a comparator [Fig. 3, 320], the comparator is coupled to the control terminal [Fig. 3, gate terminal G of the transistor 310] and the load terminal [Fig. 3, the load terminal 306 connected to the (+) terminal of 320], and the comparator compares the control terminal voltage with the load terminal voltage and outputs a comparison result [Fig. 3, output of the operation amplifier 3200].
Regarding claim 9, Bruce further comprises a power startup unit [par. 0003; battery packs], wherein the power startup unit is coupled to the voltage detection unit, and outputs a start signal to the voltage detection unit [as shown in Fig. 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruce et al. Publication No. US 2008/0239603.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Bruce discloses that the detection voltage exceeds a threshold voltage. However, Bruce does not disclose that when the detection voltage exceeds a multiple of the threshold voltage, the voltage detection unit converts the control terminal voltage to the low level voltage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the detection voltage exceed a multiple of the threshold voltage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Bruce discloses that a detection voltage is between the control terminal voltage and the load terminal voltage, the voltage detection unit sets a threshold voltage, and when the detection voltage exceeds the threshold voltage, the voltage detection unit converts the control terminal voltage to the low level voltage [Par. 0049 describes that Fig.3 operates by detecting a voltage that crosses a zero or positive directional threshold between the source and drain; a positive voltage from the source to the drain triggers the operational amplifier to shut off the transistor].
However, Bruce does not disclose that when the detection voltage exceeds a multiple of the threshold voltage (1.1 to 1.5 times the threshold voltage), the voltage detection unit converts the control terminal voltage to the low level voltage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the detection voltage exceed a multiple of the threshold voltage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 5: The prior art does not further comprise a setting terminal, wherein the setting terminal is coupled to the voltage detection unit and sets the threshold voltage through a variable resistor. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 7: The prior art does not disclose that the voltage detection unit comprises a logic circuit, the logic circuit is coupled to the comparator and outputs a control signal according to the comparison result, and the voltage detection unit converts the control terminal voltage to the low-level voltage according to the control signal. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of claim 8: The prior art does not further comprise a voltage drive unit, wherein the voltage drive unit is coupled to the control terminal, generates and outputs the control terminal voltage to the control terminal to change the control terminal voltage. This feature in combination with the rest of the claim limitations is not anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
DHARTI PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/DHARTI H PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838