Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the patent application filed on July 6, 2026. Claims 1 & 3-4 are currently pending. Claim 2 is cancelled
Response to Amendment
As a result of the amendments filed July 6, 2026, the limitations are not being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). Further the 35 USC 101 and prior art rejections are overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 5-6, filed July 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 3-4 under 35 USC 102 & 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2021/0101600 A1, to Kato et al., hereafter Kato (newly of record).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0326996 A1, to Fujisawa et al. (previously of record), hereafter Fujisawa in view of US 2021/101600 A1 to Kato et al., hereafter Kato (newly of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujisawa discloses An in-vehicle display system that is mounted on a host vehicle, the in-vehicle display system comprising ([0073] & Fig. 6, Fujisawa discloses still images of lane markings which are surroundings of the vehicle which are shown to the driver (i.e. display)):
a camera ([0039], Fujisawa discloses a front camera unit, 92);
a display that displays a situation around the host vehicle ([0055], [0073] & Fig. 6, Fujisawa discloses an HMI system 10 (i.e. display) which includes a HUD, heads up display, 14, CID, center information display, which receives images from the HCU, human machine interface control unit 20 which show still images of lane markings which are surroundings of the vehicle which are shown to the driver);
recognize dividing lines of an adjacent lane adjacent to a host vehicle lane, on which the host vehicle is traveling, on the basis of a detection result of the camera of the host vehicle ([0039], [0044] & Fig. 6, Fujisawa discloses a surroundings monitoring ECU (i.e. dividing line recognition unit), 91, which recognizes lane markings (i.e. dividing lines of adjacent lanes) based on the surroundings monitoring ECU 91, which is communicably connected to the front camera unit, 92);
detect a start of a lane change by the host vehicle ([0076]-[0078], Fujisawa discloses steps of own vehicle performing a lane change in order to pass another vehicle, one step of which is beginning a lane change at t1); and
control display on the display on the basis of the recognized dividing lines and detection of the start of the lane change ([0055], [0078]-[0079] & Fig. 2 & 6, Fujisawa discloses a human machine interface control unit (i.e. display) to control the display. Fujisawa also discloses recognizing lane markings and the start of the lane change at t1 by the surroundings monitoring ECU, 91 which is sent to the display);
wherein the control of the display includes: displaying, on the display, an icon corresponding to an outer dividing line away from the host vehicle lane among the dividing lines of the adjacent lane when the host vehicle starts the lane change from the host vehicle lane to the adjacent lane ([0076] & Fig. 6, Fujisawa discloses a lane marking image portion, 51c corresponding to the outer dividing line, 9 where the lane marking 51c displays when the lane change is being performed such as in t2),
…when the host vehicle starts the lane change while a lane departure prevention control is being executed ([0050], Fujisawa discloses the lane trace control function section, 81, implementing a lane departure preventing function),…
…and does not display the icon corresponding to the outer dividing line on the display when the host vehicle does not start the lane change (Fujisawa further discloses the lane marking 51c not being displayed when the lane change is not occurring).
However, Fujisawa does not specifically disclose …when the host vehicle starts the lane change while a lane departure prevention control is being executed, displaying the icon from a first display timing, and when the host vehicle starts the lane change while the lane departure prevention control is not being executed, displaying the icon from a second display timing different from the first display timing, and…
Kato, in the same field of endeavor, teaches…when the host vehicle starts the lane change while a lane departure prevention control is being executed, displaying the icon from a first display timing (Fig. 7-8, Kato teaches shortly after time T12, the lane change execution condition (i.e. starts the lane change) is no longer satisfied and the lane change stopping condition is executed (i.e. lane change departure prevention is being executed), the outer lane marking, RL is displayed for a time (i.e. first display timing)), and when the host vehicle starts the lane change while the lane departure prevention control is not being executed, displaying the icon from a second display timing different from the first display timing (Fig. 7-8, Kato teaches shortly before time T12, the lane change execution condition (i.e. starts the lane change) is satisfied and the lane change stopping condition is not executed (i.e. lane change departure prevention is not being executed), the outer lane marking, RL is displayed (i.e. second display timing)), and…
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the presentation control device of Fujisawa with the lane marking showing of Kato in order to indicate whether a host vehicle should perform a lane change based on whether the lane markings are there (Kato [0111] & Fig. 9)
Regarding Claim 4, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claim 4 does not teach or define any new limitations in view of claim. Therefore, claim 4 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T DOWLING/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669