DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-17, 19-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 8-17, 19-20 are allowed, and claims 1-7 remain rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: engagement member in claims 8-13, 18-20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The engagement member as claimed is being interpreted as described in [0065] of the instant application, i.e. a polymer, an airlay system setup member, a material that allows for a fastener to be engaged/grabbed on to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (U.S Patent 9981411B2) and Komeno (WO2023127893A1 - see machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Green, drawn also to the art of a structural polymer composite (Abstract), discloses applying adhesive to a carrier (analogous to the lineal reinforcement) and fibers and then pressing and heating to bond the carrier and fibers to form a mat, which forms a stiffening layer upon heating and pressing. This stiffening layer is then transported through a cross-head die that deposits polymer and the component is then extruded to form a component that is enclosed in a polymer shell (Columns 2-3, lines 43-67 & 1-61; Figure 2). Green has disclosed fibers being applied and has also disclosed a binder being applied (i.e. surface additive) and has further disclosed multiple carriers being bonded to form stiffening layers which are then fed through a cross-head die to form polymer enclosed composites (Figures 2 & 3A-3H). Green discloses a fiber mat (i.e. interpreted as a geometric infill in this instance), that is surrounded by a carrier on all sides, because the fiber mat and carrier are pressed and heated such that the carrier and binder penetrate through the mat and then the stiffening layer formed can be shaped into a 3-D profile i.e. the fiber mat is covered by the carrier and binder in three-dimensional shape, which would mean the fiber mat (geometric infill) is covered by a lineal reinforcement (i.e. carrier) on all sides (first to fourth sides) (Abstract; Columns 2-3, lines 61-67, 1-6; Column 6, lines 1-17). Further, from figures 3a-3b, it can be seen that the stiffening layer (i.e. fiber mat with binder and adhesive and first and second carrier heated and pressed) is a 3D part and that it covers the fiber mat on all sides (see further Column 7, lines 45-60). Thus, Green discloses in totality, a process wherein a geometric infill is surrounded by carrier (lineal reinforcement) on all sides and then heated and pressed along with adhesive and a binder (interpreted as surface additive in this instance), and then passed through a cross-head die and extruded with a polymer layer to form a component which is encased in a polymer shell.
Regarding the limitation of the geometric infill being a pre-processed infill with a three-dimensional geometric pattern, while Green does not explicitly disclose such a geometric infill, it is known in the art to have a pre-processed geometric infill and to apply facing material and surface material (i.e. lineal reinforcements and polymer) to the pre-processed geometric infill, as disclosed below by Komeno.
Komeno, drawn also to the art of manufacturing a panel [0001-0002], discloses a pre-processed infill (base material 32) to which an adhesive (36 & 37) [0038 & 0040] is applied and further to which facing material (33) [0039] and surface material (34) [0040-0041] are applied such that all four sides of the base material are covered (see figures 1a-1c & 2). Komeno also specifically discloses that the base material (32) is a pre-processed material that has a three-dimensional shape [0034], and that because the base material is pre-processed or pre-made by molding, it can be shaped to the desired form in advance before the panel (32) is manufactured, resulting in excellent handling, and a shape-optimized product [0034].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Green, with the geometric infill being a pre-made/processed infill of a three-dimensional shape, as disclosed by Komeno, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to obtain a shape-optimized product that has excellent handling.
Regarding claim 2, Green has disclosed applying an adhesive along with a binder that is heat activated, as Green discloses applying an adhesive and binder and then heating and pressing with rollers (Column 3, lines 14-22).
Regarding claim 3, Green has disclosed unfolding a stack of geometric infill for applying an adhesive through rollers (see figure 1 #10, #14, and #40 in conjunction).
Regarding claim 4, Green has disclosed the fibers (geometric infill) being a paper material (Column 3, lines 23-26).
Regarding claims 5-6, Green has disclosed applying a binder to the geometric infill (fibers) as well as the carrier (lineal reinforcement), and thus has disclosed applying a surface additive to increase bonding (see claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claims 7, Green has disclosed a binder (surface additive) being applied to the geometric infill and as such a binder or surface additive can also be used with the polymeric shell of the component. Further, the surface additive as interpreted can be virtually anything and is very broad, when looking at the instant specification [0100].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-17, 19-20 are allowed over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does not reasonably show or suggest the engagement member as claimed in claims 8 & 14. Claims 9-13 are dependent on claim 8, and claims 15-17, 19-20 are dependent on claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Green and Komeno.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746