DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 08/11/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-19, and 21-23 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/11/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbarian (U.S. Pat. 5425460).
Regarding claim 1, Barbarian discloses a holding system 10 configured to hold a bucket 60, where the bucket 60 is configured to receive adhesive fluid from an adhesive meter mix machine, the holding system 10 comprising: a base 18 including a main body (14,20,22), and a stem 12,36 extending from the main body (14,20,22), where the stem 12,36 comprises an extension beam 12 and a bent arm 36 that is angled in relation to the extension beam 12; and a holder 38 rotationally coupled to the bent arm 36, where the holder 38 is configured to retain the bucket 60 (as seen in Fig. 1); and a bearing 48 (as seen best in Fig. 7), where the bearing 48 is fixed within a channel 46,47 of the holder 38, and where the bearing 48 is rotationally coupled to the bent arm 36.
Regarding claim 2, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, further comprising a ring 14 that retains the base 18.
Regarding claim 3, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, where the main body (14,20,22) of the base 18 comprises: a lower annular disk 20 that fits within an opening of the ring 14; and an upper shelf 22 that extends over the lower annular disk 20, where the upper shelf 22 provides an upper lip 50 that seats over upper edges of the ring 14 (see upper inner edges of the ring 14, in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, where the bent arm 36 is adjustable in relation to the extension beam 12 to allow for adjustment of an angle between the bent arm 36 and the extension beam 12 (as seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, where the bent arm 36 is pivotally coupled to the extension beam 12 (at 37).
Regarding claim 7, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, where the bent arm 36 comprises a nub 36A at a distal end (as seen in Fig. 3), and where the bearing 48 is rotationally coupled to the nub 36A (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, where the bearing 48 comprises: an inner diameter tube that rotationally secures around the nub 36A; and an outer diameter tube securely fixed within the channel 46,47 (as seen in cross-section of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, where the holder 38 comprises: a flat lower panel 40B; and one or more retaining walls 40 upwardly extending from a periphery of the flat lower panel 40B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall et al. (U.S. Pub. 20050195685) in view of Barbarian.
Regarding claim 10, Marshall teaches a system comprising: an adhesive meter mix machine 20 configured to emit adhesive fluid (as discussed in para. [0007], lines 1-6); a bucket B; and a holding system holding the bucket B, where the bucket B is configured to receive the adhesive fluid from the adhesive meter mix machine (see holder in Fig. 5). However, Marshall fails to teach where the holding system comprises: a base including a main body, and a stem extending from the main, where the stem comprises an extension beam and a bent arm that is angled in relation to the extension beam; and a holder rotationally coupled to the bent arm, where the holder retains the bucket B. Barbarian teaches a holding system 10 configured to hold a bucket 60, where the bucket 60 is configured to receive adhesive fluid from an adhesive meter mix machine, the holding system 10 comprising: a base 18 including a main body (14,20,22), and a stem 12,36 extending from the main body (14,20,22), where the stem 12,36 comprises an extension beam 12 and a bent arm 36 that is angled in relation to the extension beam 12; and a holder 38 rotationally coupled to the bent arm 36, where the holder 38 is configured to retain the bucket 60 (as seen in Fig. 1); and a bearing 48 (as shown best in Fig. 7), where the bearing 48 is fixed within a channel 46,47 of the holder 38, and where the bearing 48 is rotationally coupled to the bent arm 36.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the holding system of Barbarian with the mix machine of Marshall, in order to provide a means for storing several small containers of liquid or paint, and to allow a user to place a single, selected container in an angular position for easy access, as taught to be desirable by Barbarian (see discussion in col. 2, lines 17-21).
Regarding claim 11, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, further comprising a ring 14 that retains the base 18.
Regarding claim 12, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, where the main body (14,20,22) of the base 18 comprises: a lower annular disk 20 that fits within an opening of the ring 14; and an upper shelf 22 that extends over the lower annular disk 20, where the upper shelf 22 provides an upper lip 50 that seats over upper edges of the ring 14 (see upper inner edges of the ring 14, in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, where the bent arm 36 is adjustable in relation to the extension beam 12 to allow for adjustment of an angle between the bent arm 36 and the extension beam 12 (as seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, where the bent arm 36 is pivotally coupled to the extension beam 12 (at 37).
Regarding claim 16, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, where the bent arm 36 comprises a nub 36A at a distal end (as seen in Fig. 3), and where the bearing 48 is rotationally coupled to the nub 36A (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, where the bearing 48 comprises: an inner diameter tube that rotationally secures around the nub 36A; and an outer diameter tube securely fixed within the channel 46,47 (as seen in cross-section of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Barbarian teaches the holding system 10, where the holder 38 comprises: a flat lower panel 40B; and one or more retaining walls 40 upwardly extending from a periphery of the flat lower panel 40B.
Concerning method claim 19, in view of the structure disclosed by Marshall and Barbarian above, the method of operating the device would have been obvious, since Marshall and Barbarian’s system provides the same structure as the device described in the specification. The Examiner submits that it can be assumed that the device of Marshall and Barbarian is capable of performing the claimed process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to the Applicant’s argument that Barbaria fails to teach “a bearing fixed within a channel of the holder, and where the bearing is rotationally coupled to the bent arm,” the Examiner submits the following. As discussed above, Barbarian discloses the holding system 10, comprising a bearing 48 (as seen best in Fig. 7), where the bearing 48 is fixed within a channel 46,47 of the holder 38, and where the bearing 48 is rotationally coupled to the bent arm 36. For clarity, the Examiner submits annotated Fig. 3 below, pointing to the bearing. Based on this interpretation, it is submitted that Barbarian discloses the claimed bearing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 16-Oct-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632