Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to independent claim 11, Applicant argues the cited references do not teach the newly amended features of the claim. Applicant argues, Lee (US 20200301421) teaches a golf course entry driving mode is entered only when the used does not sit on the car body and otherwise remains in a manual driving mode, which is fundamentally different from the amended claim, which recites transitioning the personal vehicle from personal use mode to a golf mode and displaying golf mode information. Applicant argues Tsujino (US 20250285541) fails to remedy the deficiencies of Lee and makes no mention of golf mode information, instead generally disclosing updating a user interface to display whether a vehicle is operating in a manual or autonomous mode. Applicant argues the golf mode information displayed in claim 11 is not at all similar to the information displayed in Tsujino. Applicant argues Ito (US 20170116548) does not remedy the deficiencies of independent claim 11. Therefore, Applicant concludes independent claim 11 is allowable.
However, Lee teaches a driving mode may be selected by a golf cart between a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course, a driving mode to allow traveling over grass, or a manual driving mode. This transition is based on trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode. When the cart enters a range of a driving limit area, the receiver of the cart receives virtual path information and guidance of where the cart is allowed to travel from a server associated with the golf course and driving mode is selected transitioning to a golf mode from a previous mode, which may be a personal mode. At least upon being within the set range of the driving limit area, the server receives position information of the golf cart. This information is determined as environmental information. Tsujino then teaches, as the Applicant appears to readily admit, adjusting display screens of a vehicle depending on whether the vehicle is driving in a manual mode or an autonomous mode to reflect environmental information of the area around the vehicle. By the combination of these references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at, when the vehicle is in a manual mode, a display of the vehicle is in a corresponding mode, and when the vehicle is in an autonomous mode, the display changes to be in a corresponding mode, where these modes are switched based on a triggering condition as in Lee, which updates the user interface using the golf mode information. This is precisely what is required by the claim. Ito is not required to remedy any challenged limitation.
As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
In regards to independent claim 16, Applicant argues the cited references do not teach the newly amended features of the claim for at least the same reasons as claim 11.
This argument is unpersuasive for the same reasons as given above. Further, Lee teaches determining the positions of holes and distances between holes and the remote controller of the user, where holes contain golf pins based upon the hole the vehicle is currently located upon. Lee also constructs a map through receiving positions of holes and paths around and between the holes. This information is all determined as environmental information, which as above, when combined with Tsujino, is displayed and updated as the vehicle transitions modes. This is precisely what is required by the claim.
As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues the dependent claims are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
This argument is unpersuasive as independent claims 11 and 16 have been fully rejected and for the reasons as given above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent claim 1 recites in particular:
“store the golf mode information for a predetermined number of golf courses; and
delete the golf mode information associated with at least one golf course based on a prioritization criteria.”
No single prior art has been found to anticipate the limitations of the claim, nor any combination of prior art references to render the claim obvious, when viewed in the context of the remaining limitations of the claim. As such, independent claim 1 is found to be allowable.
Dependent claims 2-5, 7, 9, and 10 depend upon independent claim 1 and therefore are found to be allowable by virtue of their dependency, as well as the limitations recited within them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20200301421) in view of Tsujino (US 20250285541).
In regards to claim 11, Lee teaches a vehicle system comprising: (Fig 1.)
wherein the personal vehicle of the user is operable in a personal use mode, ([0037] golf cart may be driven in a manual mode when the user boards the golf cart. This is a mode for personal use of the vehicle of the user.)
at least one processing circuit having at least one processor and at least one memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: ([0025] control module performs operations, which necessarily acts as or contains processor and memory to store operations performed by the module.)
detect a trigger event associated with a golf course; ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode.)
responsive to at least detecting the trigger event, obtain golf mode information from an external computing system associated with the golf course to transition the personal vehicle from the personal use mode to a golf mode; ([0029], [0031], [0048] when the cart enters a range of a driving limit area, the receiver of the cart receives virtual path information and guidance of where the cart is allowed to travel from a server associated with the golf course and driving mode is selected transitioning to a golf mode from a previous mode, which may be a personal mode.)
responsive to at least one of detecting the trigger event or transitioning the personal vehicle from the personal use mode to the golf mode, share operational information associated with the personal vehicle with the external computing system; ([0028], [0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area, where at least upon being within the set range of the driving limit area, the server receives position information of the golf cart.)
Lee does not teach:
a vehicle display device configured to be installed on a personal vehicle of a user, the vehicle display device including:
update a user interface using the golf mode information; and
display the user interface.
However, Tsujino teaches changing display screens of a vehicle depending on whether the vehicle is driving in a manual mode or an autonomous mode ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, by incorporating the teachings of Tsujino, such that, when the vehicle is in a manual mode, a display of the vehicle is in a corresponding mode, and when the vehicle is in an autonomous mode, the display changes to be in a corresponding mode, where these modes are switched based on a triggering condition as in Lee, which updates the user interface using the golf mode information.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Tsujino, this allows for improving occupant understanding ([0107], [0108]).
In regards to claim 13, Lee also teaches driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, which is triggered by being at the golf course ([0029], [0031], [0048]).
Tsujino teaches changing display screens of a vehicle depending on whether the vehicle is driving in a manual mode or an autonomous mode ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, as already modified by Tsujino and Ito, by further incorporating the teachings of Tsujino, such that, when the vehicle changes mode based on a trigger of being at a golf course, the user interface is updated based on changing modes and reflects the additional information of the changed mode.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Tsujino in regards to claim 11.
In regards to claim 14, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 11, wherein the golf mode information includes at least one of a map of the golf course, a rule for vehicles operated at the golf course, or a service provided by the golf course. ([0026], [0029], [0031], [0048] virtual path information may be received by cart as well as driving limit area, which collectively form a map of the golf course and rules associated with the golf course, disallowing driving through the driving limit area and selecting between driving modes allowing driving on grass and cart roads or only on cart roads, which provides another rule associated with the course of whether driving on grass is allowed.)
In regards to claim 15, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 14, wherein the golf mode information includes the rule for vehicles operated at the golf course, and the instructions further cause the at least one processor to disable at least one functionality of the personal vehicle while the personal vehicle is at the golf course and in the golf mode. ([0026], [0029], [0031], [0048] rule may prohibit driving on grass of golf course, which disables at least a functionality of driving on grass of the cart.)
In regards to claim 16, Lee teaches a vehicle system comprising: (Fig 1.)
at least one processing circuit having at least one processor and at least one memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: ([0025] control module performs operations, which necessarily acts as or contains processor and memory to store operations performed by the module.)
detect an initial trigger event associated with a golf course; ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode.)
responsive to detecting the initial trigger event, obtain initial golf mode information associated with the golf course, wherein the initial golf mode information includes a map of the golf course including hole map information; ([0026], [0029], [0031], [0039], [0048] when the cart enters a range of a driving limit area, the receiver of the cart receives virtual path information and guidance of where the cart is allowed to travel from a server associated with the golf course. Information related to the modes include hole and tee positions in relation to the road, which form a golf course map including hole map information, which is received by golf cart. virtual path information may be received by cart as well as driving limit area, which collectively form a map of the golf course and rules associated with the golf course, disallowing driving through the driving limit area and selecting between driving modes allowing driving on grass and cart roads or only on cart roads, which provides another rule associated with the course of whether driving on grass is allowed.)
detect a secondary trigger event associated with the golf course based on the vehicle arriving at the golf course; ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode. [0033] if golf course information is suddenly changed, changed information is transmitted to cart in real time to adjust control. [0051] if a tracked user leaves a driving limit area, the cart may be further transitioned to further track the user based on their position. Each of these may be an additional trigger event that are based on the golf cart arriving at the golf course.)
responsive to the secondary trigger event, obtain secondary golf mode information associated with the golf course, wherein the secondary golf mode information includes dynamic distance-to-pin information for a hole of the golf course being played by a user associated with the vehicle based on a current location of the vehicle on the hole; ([0033], [0048], [0051] if golf course information is suddenly changed, changed information is transmitted to cart in real time to adjust control, when cart is within range of driving limit area, such as hole, information on the area is acquired, and when a tracked user leaves an area of a hole, further information is acquired, all of which are used to select the mode of the cart. This acquires golf course mode information as the cart and user travel between holes including additional holes. [0006], [0039] positions of holes of server and distances between holes and remote controller of user are determined, where the pins are located at holes and distance is dynamically changed, which is provided based upon the current location of the vehicle on the hole.) and
wherein the at least one processing circuit includes at least one of (a) a first processing circuit configured to be located on the vehicle or (b) a second processing circuit configured to be located remote from the vehicle. ([0025] control module performs operations and is stored in cart and server which is remote from cart.)
Lee does not teach:
cause a display device of a vehicle to display a user interface, the user interface including the initial golf mode information and at least a portion of the secondary golf mode information;
However, Tsujino teaches changing display screens of a vehicle depending on whether the vehicle is driving in a manual mode or an autonomous mode, which displays information on the environment and area around the vehicle, and when in the manual mode displays the host vehicle and an environment and area in one color and in the autonomous mode displays the host vehicle, the environment in a different color, and a preceding vehicle ahead of the host vehicle ([0056], [0058], [0063], [0071]). This includes at least a portion of the first golf modes information of the environment as well as additional information of the second modes of other moving objects within the environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, by incorporating the teachings of Tsujino, such that, when the vehicle is in a manual mode, a display of the vehicle is in a corresponding mode, and when the vehicle is in an autonomous mode, the display changes to be in a corresponding mode, where these modes are switched based on a triggering condition as in Lee, which updates the user interface using the golf mode information displaying at least a portion of the first and second modes information including displaying map information in an initial mode and displaying at least some distance to pin information in a second mode.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Tsujino, this allows for improving occupant understanding ([0107], [0108]).
Claims 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Tsujino, in further view of Ito et al. (US 20170116548).
In regards to claim 12, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 11.
Lee, as modified by Tsujino, does not teach:
wherein detecting the trigger event comprises receiving an indication from a user device that the user of the personal vehicle has booked a tee time at the golf course.
However, Ito teaches accepting a reservation from a user for a particular golf course of a plurality of golf courses, which starts at a first tee time ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, as already modified by Tsujino, by incorporating the teachings of Ito, such that a user may reserve a golf course starting at a first tee time, and this information may be distributed to the cart and further used in determining trigger conditions which the cause mode of the cart to be adjusted.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Ito, this allows for a user to more comfortably and easily golf ([0022]).
In regards to claim 17, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 16, wherein the secondary trigger event comprises the vehicle arriving at the golf course. ([0026], [0029], [0031], [0048] golf cart may be transitioned between manual driving mode and autonomous driving modes, where the autonomous driving modes include cart road driving mode and cart road and golf course entry driving mode. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects an autonomous driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass. When the cart enters a range of a driving limit area of the golf course, the receiver of the cart receives virtual path information and guidance of where the cart is allowed to travel from a server associated with the golf course, which includes a determination of arriving at the golf course.)
Lee, as modified by Tsujino, does not teach:
the initial trigger event comprises one of a user of the vehicle booking a tee time at the golf course or a received user selection of the golf course while the vehicle is not located at the golf course and
However, Ito teaches accepting a reservation from a user for a particular golf course of a plurality of golf courses, which starts at a first tee time, including when the user is not located at the golf course ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, as already modified by Tsujino, by incorporating the teachings of Ito, such that a user may reserve a golf course starting at a first tee time, and this information may be distributed to the cart and further used in determining trigger conditions which the cause mode of the cart to be adjusted.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Ito, this allows for a user to more comfortably and easily golf ([0022]).
In regards to claim 18, Lee, as modified by Tsujino and Ito, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 17, wherein the secondary golf mode information includes at least one of a rule associated with the golf course or a service provided by the golf course. ([0026], [0029], [0031], [0048] virtual path information may be received by cart as well as driving limit area, which collectively form a map of the golf course and rules associated with the golf course, disallowing driving through the driving limit area and selecting between driving modes allowing driving on grass and cart roads or only on cart roads, which provides another rule associated with the course of whether driving on grass is allowed. These may be received for each trigger, such that all the information is received in response to a first trigger and all the information is received in response to a second trigger.)
In regards to claim 19, Lee, as modified by Tsujino and Ito, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 17, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to determine that the vehicle has arrived at the golf course by detecting that the vehicle has entered a geofenced area associated with the golf course. ([0048] information is received upon the cart entering a set range within the golf course, which provides limiting conditions and routing information.)
In regards to claim 20, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 16, wherein the initial trigger event associated with the golf course comprises a plurality of initial trigger events associated with a golf course, each initial trigger event of the plurality of initial trigger events being associated with a corresponding golf course of the plurality of golf courses, and wherein corresponding initial golf mode information is obtained for each corresponding golf course. ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode. [0033] if golf course information is suddenly changed, changed information is transmitted to cart in real time to adjust control. [0051] if a tracked user leaves a driving limit area, the cart may be further transitioned to further track the user based on their position. Each of these may be an additional trigger event and each trigger event may be associated with individual golf courses.)
Lee, as modified by Tsujino, does not teach:
wherein the initial trigger event associated with the golf course comprises a plurality of initial trigger events associated with a plurality of golf courses, each initial trigger event of the plurality of initial trigger events being associated with a corresponding golf course of the plurality of golf courses, and wherein corresponding initial golf mode information is obtained for each corresponding golf course.
However, Ito teaches accepting a reservation from a user for a particular golf course of a plurality of golf courses ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, as already modified by Tsujino, by incorporating the teachings of Ito, such that as trigger events are determined within Lee for a golf course, this is done for one of a plurality of golf courses which may be reserved by users, which then allows for obtaining information of that corresponding golf course of the plurality of golf courses.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Ito in regards to claim 17.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Tsujino, in further view of Zahdeh et al. (US 20230050980).
In regards to claim 21, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 11, wherein the trigger event is a first trigger event, and wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processor to: ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode. Any of these may be a first trigger event.)
detect a second trigger event; ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode. [0033] if golf course information is suddenly changed, changed information is transmitted to cart in real time to adjust control. [0051] if a tracked user leaves a driving limit area, the cart may be further transitioned to further track the user based on their position. Each of these may be an additional trigger event.) and
responsive to detecting the second trigger event, transition the personal vehicle from the golf mode to the personal use mode. ([0029], [0031], [0048] driving mode may be selected by golf cart based on positions of golf cart and user terminal and received information. Based on whether the cart enters the golf course or not, the driving mode selector selects a driving mode to restrict driving the cart to the paths of the golf course or to allow traveling over grass, including particularly that the cart travels within a set range of a driving limit area. [0037] when the user boards the cart, the cart may transition to a manual driving mode. This includes trigger events of boarding and arriving at a golf course, which transitions the cart from a current mode to a next mode. [0033] if golf course information is suddenly changed, changed information is transmitted to cart in real time to adjust control. [0051] if a tracked user leaves a driving limit area, the cart may be further transitioned to further track the user based on their position. Each of these may be an additional trigger event that are based on the golf cart arriving at the golf course, where at least the user boarding the cart transitions the cart to a manual mode is a personal use mode.)
Lee, as modified by Tsujino, does not teach:
detect a second trigger event including the user selecting a mode switch portion of the user interface;
However, Zahdeh teaches a user interface that allows a user to select a driving mode for a vehicle ([0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, as already modified by Tsujino, by incorporating the teachings of Zahdeh, such that the system includes a particular trigger event of the user selecting a mode switch portion of the user interface to transition between driving modes of the cart.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Zahdeh, this allows for improved safety ([0100]) while improving the user’s convenience.
In regards to claim 22, Lee, as modified by Tsujino, teaches the vehicle system of Claim 16.
Lee, as modified by Tsujino, does not teach: wherein the user interface includes a menu, and wherein one or more selectable options contained in the menu are unavailable depending on whether the vehicle is operating in a golf mode or in a personal use mode.
However, Zahdeh teaches a user interface that allows a user to select a driving mode for a vehicle between manual, autonomic, and quasi-automatic operation ([0100]). This presents a menu of at least these three overall options where the manual mode cannot be selected to transition to when the vehicle is already in the manual mode, the automatic mode cannot be selected to transition to when the vehicle is already in the automatic mode, and the quasi-automatic mode cannot be selected to transition to when the vehicle is already in the quasi-automatic mode, and therefore one or more selectable options contained in the menu are unavailable depending on mode of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle system of Lee, as already modified by Tsujino, by incorporating the teachings of Zahdeh, such that a menu of transitionable modes is included within the displayed interface of the cart, where the same mode cannot be selected to transition the vehicle to from the mode it is currently in, and therefore one or more selectable operation within the menu of modes are unavailable.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Zahdeh in regards to claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pippin et al. (US 20020082122) teaches a device that may be either a user device or an autonomous vehicle that operates in different modes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661