DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: ‘securing mechanism’ in claims 1-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-26, 28, & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fain et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0360303 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fain et al. disclose a device (Fig. 3B) for gripping a portion of a catheter 203 of a catheter assembly (NOTE: the catheter/catheter assembly are not considered to be positively recited as part of the claimed invention since they are recited in an intended use phrase), the device comprising: a longitudinal axis; a housing 211 (Fig. 3B) comprising a proximal end and a distal end, the housing 211 extending along the longitudinal axis from the proximal end to the distal end of the housing 211 (Fig. 3B), wherein the housing 211 is configured to receive the catheter (see NOTE above) through an interior of the housing 211; a securing mechanism 257 (Fig. 3B; paragraph [0278]) configured to be selectively engaged to restrict or permit movement of the catheter 206 through the housing 211 (paragraph [0278]); and a grippable handle 224 (Fig. 3B) comprising a proximal end, a distal end, an exterior surface, and an interior surface defining an interior lumen, wherein the grippable handle 224 extends along the longitudinal axis from the proximal end to the distal end of the grippable handle 224, wherein the interior lumen extends along the longitudinal axis and is configured to receive the portion of the catheter 203 (Fig. 3B), wherein the distal end of the grippable handle 224 is rotatably coupled to the proximal end of the housing such that the grippable handle 224 is rotatable relative to the housing 211 about the longitudinal axis, and wherein the grippable handle 224 is configured to deform in response to a compression force applied to the grippable handle 224 such that the interior surface (seal 254 – paragraph [0278]) grips the portion of the catheter 203 to permit the grippable handle 224 to transfer a torque force to the portion of the catheter 203 (paragraph [0278]).
Regarding claim 2, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the grippable handle 224 is configured to deform in response to a compression force applied to the exterior surface of the grippable handle 224 (via actuator 214; paragraph [0278]).
Regarding claim 3, Fain et al. further disclose an actuator 214 (rotation to 214 imparts rotation to actuator 258 which compresses the seal 257 within the grippable handle 224 – Fig. 3B; paragraph [0278]) configured to apply the compression force to the grippable handle 224.
Regarding claim 4, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the distal end of the housing 211 is configured to couple with a fixation device that is attachable to a patient (paragraph [0263]; NOTE: the fixation device is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 5, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the distal end of the housing 211 is configured to couple with the fixation device via a hemostasis valve (hemostatic valve usage is discussed throughout the disclosure, in particular in paragraph [0267]) disposed between the housing and the fixation device. (paragraph [0263]; NOTE: the fixation device is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention)
Regarding claim 6, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the distal end of the housing 211 includes a cavity configured to receive a proximal portion of the hemostasis valve (hemostatic valve usage is discussed throughout the disclosure, in particular in paragraph [0267]).
Regarding claim 7, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the distal end of the grippable handle 224 is coupled to the proximal end of the housing 211 such that the grippable handle 224 is translatable relative to the housing 211 along the longitudinal axis (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 8, Fain et al. further disclose wherein, when the grippable handle 224 is translated along the longitudinal axis and the interior surface grips the portion of the catheter 203 (see NOTE in claim 1 regarding the catheter), the grippable handle 224 is configured to transfer a push or a pull force to the catheter.
Regarding claim 9, Fain et al. further disclose a first coupling mechanism 222 configured to rotatably couple the distal end of grippable handle 224 to the proximal end of the housing 211.
Regarding claim 10, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the first coupling mechanism 222 is configured to couple the distal end of the grippable handle 224 to the proximal end of the housing 211 such that the grippable handle is translatable relative to the housing along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 11, Fain et al. further disclose a second coupling mechanism 214 (Fig. 3B) configured to rotatably couple the proximal end of the grippable handle 224 to a protective sleeve of the catheter assembly 203 (214 is capable of rotatable coupling).
Regarding claim 13, Fain et al. further disclose wherein a diameter of the interior lumen is larger than an outer diameter of the catheter 203 when the grippable handle 224 is not compressed (paragraph [0278]).
Regarding claim 14, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the device is slidable over the exterior of the catheter 203 when the grippable handle 224 is not compressed and the securing mechanism 257 (Fig. 3B; paragraph [0278]) is engaged to permit movement of the catheter through the housing.
Regarding claim 15, Fain et al. disclose a catheter assembly, comprising: a catheter 203 (Fig. 3B); and a gripping device 214 (Fig. 3B) comprising a proximal end, a distal end, an exterior surface, and an interior surface defining an interior lumen (Fig. 3B), the interior lumen extending from the proximal end to the distal end, wherein the interior lumen is configured to receive a portion of the catheter 203, and wherein the gripping device 214 is configured to deform in response to a compression force applied to the exterior surface of the gripping device (paragraph [0278]) such that the interior surface 257 grips the portion of the catheter 203 to permit the gripping device to transfer a torque, push, and/or pull force to the portion of the catheter 203 (paragraph [0278]).
Regarding claim 16, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the gripping device 214 is configured to deform (interior seal 257 compresses/deforms – paragraph [0278]) in response to a compression force applied to the exterior surface of the gripping device 214 (paragraph [0278]).
Regarding claim 17, Fain et al. further disclose a sleeve 224 disposed over the catheter 203 (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 18, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the sleeve 224 and the portion of the catheter 203 extend through the interior lumen such that the gripping device 214 is disposed over the sleeve 224 (Fig. 3B – disposed over a distal extension of 214).
Regarding claim 19, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the gripping device 214 is coupled to the sleeve 224 (via 255).
Regarding claim 20, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the gripping device 214 is joined to the sleeve (via distal extension extending inside of 224 – Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 21, Fain et al. further disclose wherein gripping device 214 is coupled to one of a proximal end or a distal end of the sleeve (via distal extension extending inside of 224 - Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 22, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the gripping device 214 is coupled to a portion of the sleeve between a proximal end and a distal end of the sleeve (214 extends distally from the proximal end of the sleeve 224 so it couples to a length of the sleeve that is distal of the proximal end, therefore, meeting ‘coupled to a portion of the sleeve between a proximal end and distal end – Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 23, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the gripping device 214 is disposed interior to the sleeve 224 and exterior to the catheter 203 (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 24, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the interior lumen is dimensioned such that that gripping device 214 is slidable over the exterior of the catheter 203 (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 25, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the interior lumen is dimensioned such that the gripping device 214 is slidable over the exterior of the catheter 203 when the gripping device is not compressed (paragraph [0278]).
Regarding claim 26, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the exterior surface of the gripping device 214 has an ergonomic shape (Figs. 3A-B).
Regarding claim 28, Fain et al. further disclose wherein the catheter assembly is an intracardiac blood pump assembly (paragraph [0263]).
Regarding claim 29, Fain et al. further disclose a blood pump 2 (Fig. 3B – paragraph [0263]) comprising a proximal end and a distal end, wherein a distal end of the catheter 203 is coupled to a proximal end of the blood pump 2 (Fig. 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fain et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0360303 A1) in view of O’Connell et al. (WO 2012/158152 A1).
Regarding claims 12 & 27, Fain et al. fail to further disclose wherein the grippable handle/gripping device is made of a rubber or silicone material.
However, O’Connell et al. teach providing a strain relief component to a handle portion, wherein the material providing the strain relief is chosen from a group including rubber and silicone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize rubber or silicone for the grippable handle/device of Fain et al. for the purpose of providing strain relief to the element. Such materials are considered well known in the art for this purpose.
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 September 12, 2026