Applicant’s Response
In the response date 03/11/2026, the Applicant argued against the rejections in the Non-Final Rejection dated 01/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leniek, Sr. (U.S Patent 10,683,738) (“Leniek”) in view of Leniek (U.S Patent 5,785,500) (“Len”).
Regarding Claim 1, Leniek discloses a stimulation method (Abstract) that comprises:
displacing a predetermined volume of liquified gas (Col 1, lines 41-45 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses liquified natural gas (LNG) ) through a valve (valves #251 and #252 used to regulate the flow of fluid #104) into a service tubing string #102 providing access to a stimulation zone of a well (Col 3, lines 20-35); and
pressurizing the stimulation zone as the service tubing string #102 vaporizes the liquified gas (Col 3, lines 20-29; Col 4, lines 25-34 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses a pressure line and valves along with a controller module #308 used to depressurize and pressurize the stimulation zone downhole).
Leniek, however, fails to expressly disclose a wellhead and methods of closing the wellhead valve to confine the liquified gas.
Len teaches the methods above of incorporating a wellhead #108 (Figure 2) and methods of closing the wellhead valve to confine the liquified gas (Abstract; Col 3, lines 1-22 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Len teaches methods of closing a valve for displacing the pumped well fluid from the chamber to wellhead) for the purpose of regulating the flow of fluids into and out of the chamber in response to the pump system for increasing and/or decreasing the pressure on the pump fluid (Abstract; Col 3, lines 1-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Leniek to incorporate a wellhead and methods of closing the wellhead valve, as taught by Len, because doing so would help to regulate the flow of fluids into and out of the chamber in response to the pump system for increasing and/or decreasing pressures on the pump fluid.
Regarding Claim 2, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined volume is sufficient to pressurize the stimulation zone (Col 4, lines 12-40). Although silent to wherein “the predetermined volume is sufficient to pressurize the stimulation zone to 8,000 psi,” as instantly claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the stimulation zone to reach 8,000 psi pressure as claimed insofar as because it has been held "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 3, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to said displacing, evacuating gas from an annulus around the service tubing string to reduce a vaporization rate of the liquified gas (Fig 1; Col 3, lines 20-29 and lines 49-53 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses accessing an annular conduit between the production tubular and casing).
Regarding Claim 4, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to said displacing, adding fluid to an annulus around the service tubing string to increase hydrostatic pressure on a packer (Col 3, lines 7-19) sealing the stimulation zone (Fig 1; Col 3, lines 20-29 and lines 49-53 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses accessing an annular conduit between the production tubular and casing).
Regarding Claim 5, Leniek in view of Len teach the stimulation method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to said displacing:
installing a stainless-steel wellhead (Len: Figure 2, #108);
setting a packer (Leniek: Col 3, lines 8-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses packers) configured to tolerate exposure to cryogenic liquid (Leniek: Col 3, lines 35-45); and
running stainless steel tubing #102 (Col 2, lines 47-60) as the service tubing string anchored by the packer (Leniek: Col 3, lines 8-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses packers).
Regarding Claim 6, Leniek in view of Len teach the stimulation method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to said displacing:
installing a stainless-steel wellhead (Len: Figure 2, #108);
installing a production tubing string #110 (Col 3, lines 49-53) anchored by a downhole packer (Leniek: Col 3, lines 8-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses packers) configured to tolerate exposure to cryogenic liquid (Leniek: Col 3, lines 35-45);
running, inside the production tubing string #110, stainless steel tubing as the service tubing string #102 anchored by a seating nipple (Col 3, lines 7-19) configured to tolerate exposure to cryogenic liquid (Leniek: Col 3, lines 35-45).
Regarding Claim 7, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, wherein said closing is for a close-in period of at least 24 hours, and wherein the method further includes returning the well to production after the close-in period (Col 5, lines 22-37).
Regarding Claim 8, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, wherein said displacing uses one or more pressure sensors and one or more flow rate monitors to provide control of the displacing, and wherein the displacing includes reducing a flow rate if a derivative of the borehole pressure exceeds a predetermined threshold (Col 5, lines 31-52 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses sensors and a controller #308 to regulate the flow of fluids downhole and obtain information regarding the increase/decrease of pressures downhole).
Regarding Claim 9, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, wherein the liquified gas is liquified natural gas (LNG) or liquified methane (Col 1, lines 41-45 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses liquified natural gas (LNG)).
Regarding Claim 10, Leniek discloses the stimulation method of claim 1, wherein the liquified gas is liquified nitrogen (Col 1, lines 41-45 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses liquified natural gas (LNG)).
Regarding Claim 11, Leniek discloses a well (Abstract) that comprises:
well casing within a borehole (Figures 1-2, #102; Col 3, lines 20-35);
a valve (valves #251 and #252 used to regulate the flow of fluid #104) for receiving a liquified gas (Col 1, lines 41-45 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses liquified natural gas (LNG) ); and
a stainless-steel service tubing string #102 (Col 2, lines 47-60) coupled to the valve to receive and vaporize the liquified gas (Col 3, lines 20-29; Col 4, lines 25-34 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses a pressure line and valves along with a controller module #308 used to depressurize and pressurize the stimulation zone downhole).
Leniek, however, fails to expressly disclose a stainless-steel wellhead with a valve.
Len teaches the methods above of incorporating a wellhead with a valve (Fig 2, #108) (Abstract; Col 3, lines 1-22 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Len teaches methods of closing a valve for displacing the pumped well fluid from the chamber to wellhead) for the purpose of regulating the flow of fluids into and out of the chamber in response to the pump system for increasing and/or decreasing the pressure on the pump fluid (Abstract; Col 3, lines 1-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Leniek to incorporate a wellhead with a valve, as taught by Len, because doing so would help to regulate the flow of fluids into and out of the chamber in response to the pump system for increasing and/or decreasing pressures on the pump fluid.
Regarding Claim 12, Leniek discloses the well of claim 11, further comprising a packer seated within the casing to anchor a lower end of the service tubing string and provide a pressure seal (Leniek: Col 3, lines 8-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses packers).
Regarding Claim 13, Leniek discloses the well of claim 12, further comprising a vacuum pump to evacuate an annulus around the service tubing string (Col 3, lines 7-17 and 54-67; #112 pump assembly and pump assembly hanger #242).
Regarding Claim 14, Leniek discloses the well of claim 12, further comprising a thermal insulation coating on an upper portion of the service tubing string #102 to reduce a vaporization rate (Fig 1; Col 3, lines 20-29 and lines 49-53 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses accessing an annular conduit between the production tubular and casing).
Regarding Claim 15, Leniek discloses the well of claim 11, further comprising a cryogenic liquid (Leniek: Col 3, lines 35-45) transfer pump to transfer the liquified gas to the service tubing string #102 (Col 3, lines 7-19 and lines 36-53).
Regarding Claim 16, Leniek discloses the well of claim 15, further comprising:
a pressure sensor coupled to the service tubing string #102 (Col 5, lines 31-52 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses sensors and a controller #308 to regulate the flow of fluids downhole and obtain information regarding the increase/decrease of pressures downhole); and
a control system coupled to the pressure sensor and configured to responsively regulate a transfer rate of the liquified gas (Col 5, lines 31-52 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses sensors and a controller #308 to regulate the flow of fluids downhole and obtain information regarding the increase/decrease of pressures downhole).
Regarding Claim 17, Leniek discloses the well of claim 16, further comprising:
a flow sensor coupled to the valve, wherein the control system is configured to close the valve or otherwise halt delivery of the liquified gas after a predetermined volume has been transferred to the service tubing string (Col 5, lines 31-52 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses sensors and a controller #308 to regulate the flow of fluids downhole and obtain information regarding the increase/decrease of pressures downhole).
Regarding Claim 18, Leniek discloses the well of claim 11, further comprising:
a stainless-steel production tubing string #110 (Col 2, lines 47-60) anchored to a downhole packer (Leniek: Col 3, lines 8-19 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses packers), the production tubing string providing a seating nipple (Col 3, lines 7-19) that anchors a lower end of the service tubing string #102 (Col 3, lines 49-53).
Regarding Claim 19, Leniek discloses the well of claim 11, wherein the liquified gas is liquified natural gas (LNG) or liquified methane (Col 1, lines 41-45 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses liquified natural gas (LNG) ).
Regarding Claim 20, Leniek discloses the well of claim 11, wherein the liquified gas is liquified nitrogen (Col 1, lines 41-45 [Wingdings font/0xE0] Leniek discloses liquified natural gas (LNG) ).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims above have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Leniek, Sr. (U.S Patent 10,683,738) (“Leniek”) in view of Leniek (U.S Patent 5,785,500) (“Len”).
Conclusion
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674