DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment filed 18 August 2026 amends claims 1, 8, 13-15, 19, and 20. Claims 7, 9, 10, 16, and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 21-25 have been added. Applicants’ amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 10 of the response, “Each recitation therefore bears a functional relationship to the recited operations and limits the claims and therefore merits patentable weight.” This argument is not persuasive because the functional steps identified by Applicant are functional steps included in the claims and were fully addressed in the Non-Final rejection mailed 15 May 2026 (“Non-Final”). Therefore, those functional steps are required to be performed by the corresponding virtual machine regardless of the designated name for that particular virtual machine. The name of the claimed virtual machines, themselves, do not define structure, nor do those names require functional steps to be performed. Therefore, those names represent non-functional descriptive material that does not receive patentable weight (See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05).
As a further example, let’s look at cryptographic keys. If claims include “media keys” or “content keys”, the same issue would apply since “media” and “content” merely represent the name of the keys since they do not define the structure of the cryptographic key, nor do they require functional steps to be performed. However, if the claims include “public keys” or “private keys”, patentable weight is received because public keys and private keys have a particular structure that is defined based upon the particular manner with which they are generated. Specifically, public keys and private keys are generated in a related manner that allows each key to perform specific functionality within a cryptographic algorithm.
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 of the response, “Instead, Tankleff describes storing host machine configuration data in a secure memory location and mapping a path to that data…An administrator may establish policies which virtual machines may access the configuration data, and it is determined at operation 225 whether the requesting virtual machine is permitted to access it…If the requesting virtual machine is not permitted access, the process terminates…Terminating a process is not presenting an exception to the machine that made the request.” In response, the claims do not define the claimed “presenting”. The functional step of sending an instruction to terminate the process can read on the claimed presented exception.
Applicant argues on page 12 of the response, “Gilpin describes a generation arrangement in which each resource is spawned by the resource above it, so that an application within a first virtual machine may generate a second virtual machine, which in turn generates a third virtual machine…Gilpin describes no resource whose spawning entity differs from the entity it serves, and no resource instantiated at the level of its own parent…” In response, the claims include no such requirement. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning (Page 13 of the response), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues on page 14 of the response, “Iyigun does not, for example, describe a secure storage access exception or any exception on the basis of a guest virtual machine.” In response, Applicant has failed to fully consider the combination of references as presented in the Non-Final. Specifically, Tankleff discloses that the policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]), but Tankleff does not specify that the virtual addresses of the virtual machines are utilized to make this determination. Iyigun discloses memory access determinations utilizing virtual machine virtual addresses (Col. 16, line 66 – Col. 17, line 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machine access of Tankleff to have been performed utilizing the virtual address information of the virtual machines in order to avoid expensive context switches as suggested by Iyigun (Col. 3, lines 20-27).
Therefore, based on the proposed modification, Tankleff will utilize policies, and the virtual addresses of virtual machines, to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]).
Applicant argues on pages 14-15 of the response, “That objective does not, for example, explain why a person of ordinary skill would have interpreted a secure storage access exception based at least in part on a second level guest virtual machine virtual address…” In response, arguments presented by Applicant cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-15, 18-20, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tankleff, U.S. Publication No. 2009/0144482, in view of Lindsay, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0189881, and further in view of Gilpin, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0272449. Referring to claim 1, Tankleff discloses a virtual machine host 130 executing on host machine resources 110 ([0015]) that include CPU(s) 112 (Figure 1) and memory 114 (Figure 1) including executable instructions ([0012]), which meets the limitation of a computer system comprising a processor set, one or more computer-readable storage media, and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media to cause the processor set to perform operations comprising. The virtual machine host establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]), which meets the limitation of determining that [a control bit] is set to indicate enablement of a secure storage access exception interpretation (SSAEI) state. Virtual machine host receives an access request from a virtual machine to access configuration data ([0021]: “second level guest” represents the name of the virtual machine and would be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of detecting an attempted access, by a second level guest virtual machine, of a secure storage associated with a virtual guest virtual machine [dispatched by the second level guest virtual machine], wherein the virtual guest machine [is instantiated, by a first level guest virtual machine, as an additional second level guest virtual machine]. The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]: access determinations using the policy for one virtual machines would not affect the operation of a different virtual machine), which meets the limitation of presenting, based on enablement of the SSAEI state, a secure storage access exception to the second level guest virtual machine, the secure storage access exception preventing the second level guest virtual machine from access the secure storage, the presenting of the secure storage access exception comprising, handling the secure storage access exception as a guest program interruption without causing a program interruption interception associated with the first level guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]), which meets the limitation of determining that a control bit is set to indicate enablement of a secure storage access exception interpretation (SSAEI) state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Tankleff does not disclose that the virtual machines are instantiated by other virtual machines in the system. Gilpin discloses the execution of virtual machines that can instantiate child virtual machines, which can in turn instantiate grandchild virtual machines ([0024]), which meets the limitation of virtual guest virtual machine dispatched by the second level guest virtual machine, wherein the virtual guest machine is instantiated, by a first level guest virtual machine, as an additional second level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machines of Tankleff to have enabled the instantiation of additional virtual machines in order to provide additional computing resources when required while ensuring that those additional computing resources are limited in scope to the specific operations required as suggested by Gilpin ([0004] & [0011] & [0018]).
Referring to claim 2, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machines are instantiated by a hypervisor ([0005]), which meets the limitation of wherein the second level guest virtual machine is a hypervisor for the virtual guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]) such that the enable bits are included in a TLB 202 (Figure 3 & [0029]-[0031]: TLB 202 reads on the claimed state description), which meets the limitation of wherein the control bit is included in a state description associated with the second level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 3, Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]) such that the enable bits are included in a TLB 202 (Figure 3 & [0029]-[0031]). TLB is part of the MMU 170 utilized to translate virtual addresses to physical addresses ([0024]: MMU can be considered to include instructions readable on the claimed SIE instruction), which meets the limitation of wherein the state description is included in a start interpretive execution (SIE) instruction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 4, Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits 310 ([0033]) and recency bits 312 (Figure 3 & [0031]: bits 312 read on the claimed interception control bit) that indicate the accessibility of memory ([0031] & [0040]), which meets the limitation of determining that an interception control bit is set to a first value of a first value and a second value, wherein the presenting the second storage access exception is further based on determining that the interception control bit is set to the first value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 6, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machine host establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]: “virtual third level guest” would be considered a name of the claimed virtual machine and the claimed name of a virtual machine would be considered non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of wherein the virtual guest virtual machine comprises a virtual third level guest virtual machine.
Referring to claim 8, Tankleff discloses a virtual machine host 130 establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]), which meets the limitation of determining whether [a control bit] is set to indicate enablement of a secure storage access exception interpretation (SSAEI) state. Virtual machine host receives an access request from a virtual machine to access configuration data ([0021]: “second level guest” represents the name of the virtual machine and would be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of detecting an attempted access, by a second level guest virtual machine, of a secure storage associated with a virtual guest virtual machine [dispatched by the second level guest virtual machine], wherein the virtual guest machine [is instantiated, by a first level guest virtual machine, as an additional second level guest virtual machine]. The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is permitted to access the configuration data, access is provided ([0022]), and if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]: access determinations using the policy for one virtual machines would not affect the operation of a different virtual machine), which meets the limitation of presenting, based on the determination that [the control bit is set to indicate the enablement of the SSAEI state], a secure storage access exception to the second level guest virtual machine, the secure storage access exception preventing the second level guest virtual machine from access the secure storage, the presenting the secure storage access exception comprising, handling the secure storage access exception as a guest program interruption without causing a program interruption interception associated with the first level guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]), which meets the limitation of determining whether a control bit is set to indicate enablement of a secure storage access exception interpretation (SSAEI) state, wherein the performing the action comprises presenting, based on the determining that the control bit is set to indicate the enablement of the SSAEI state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Tankleff does not disclose that the virtual machines are instantiated by other virtual machines in the system. Gilpin discloses the execution of virtual machines that can instantiate child virtual machines, which can in turn instantiate grandchild virtual machines ([0024]), which meets the limitation of virtual guest virtual machine dispatched by the second level guest virtual machine, wherein the virtual guest machine is instantiated, by a first level guest virtual machine, as an additional second level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machines of Tankleff to have enabled the instantiation of additional virtual machines in order to provide additional computing resources when required while ensuring that those additional computing resources are limited in scope to the specific operations required as suggested by Gilpin ([0004] & [0011] & [0018]).
Referring to claim 11, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machines are instantiated by a hypervisor ([0005]), which meets the limitation of wherein the second level guest virtual machine is a hypervisor for the virtual guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]) such that the enable bits are included in a TLB 202 (Figure 3 & [0029]-[0031]: TLB 202 reads on the claimed state description), which meets the limitation of wherein the control bit is included in a state description associated with the second level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 12, Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]) such that the enable bits are included in a TLB 202 (Figure 3 & [0029]-[0031]). TLB is part of the MMU 170 utilized to translate virtual addresses to physical addresses ([0024]: MMU can be considered to include instructions readable on the claimed SIE instruction), which meets the limitation of wherein the state description is included in a start interpretive execution (SIE) instruction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 13, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machine host establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]). The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]), which meets the limitation of wherein the presenting the secure storage access exception is further based on determining that [the interception control bit is set to the first value].
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits 310 ([0033]) and recency bits 312 (Figure 3 & [0031]: bits 312 read on the claimed interception control bit) that indicate the accessibility of memory ([0031] & [0040]), which meets the limitation of determining that an interception control bit is set to a first value of a first value and a second value, wherein the presenting the secure storage access exception is further based on the determining that the interception control bit is set to the first value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 14, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machine host establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]), which meets the limitation of determining, for a second attempted access, that [the control bit] is set to indicate disablement of the (SSAEI) state. The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]), which meets the limitation of exiting, based on the determination that [the control bit is set to indicate a disablement of the SSAEI state], to a host program for handling a secure storage access exception associated with the second attempted access.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]), which meets the limitation of determining, for a second attempted access, that a control bit is set to indicate a disablement of the (SSAEI) state, and exiting, based on the determining that the control bit is set to indicate the disablement of the SSAEI state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 15, Tankleff discloses a virtual machine host 130 executing on host machine resources 110 ([0015]) that include CPU(s) 112 (Figure 1) and memory 114 (Figure 1) including executable instructions ([0012]), which meets the limitation of one or more computer-readable storage media, and program instructions stored on the one or more computer-readable storage media to perform operations. virtual machine host 130 establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]), which meets the limitation of determining whether [a control bit] is set to indicate enablement of a secure storage access exception interpretation (SSAEI) state. Virtual machine host receives an access request from a virtual machine to access configuration data ([0021]: “second level guest” represents the name of the virtual machine and would be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05), which meets the limitation of detecting an attempted access, by a second level guest virtual machine, of a secure storage associated with a virtual guest virtual machine [dispatched by the second level guest virtual machine], wherein the virtual guest machine [is instantiated, by a first level guest virtual machine, as an additional second level guest virtual machine]. The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is permitted to access the configuration data, access is provided ([0022]), and if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]: access determinations using the policy for one virtual machines would not affect the operation of a different virtual machine), which meets the limitation of presenting, based on the determining that [the control bit is set to indicate the enablement of the SSAEI state], a secure storage access exception to the second level guest virtual machine, the secure storage access exception preventing the second level guest virtual machine from access the secure storage, the presenting the secure storage access exception comprising, handling the secure storage access exception as a guest program interruption without causing a program interruption interception associated with the first level guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]), which meets the limitation of determining whether a control bit is set to indicate enablement of a secure storage access exception interpretation (SSAEI) state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Tankleff does not disclose that the virtual machines are instantiated by other virtual machines in the system. Gilpin discloses the execution of virtual machines that can instantiate child virtual machines, which can in turn instantiate grandchild virtual machines ([0024]), which meets the limitation of virtual guest virtual machine dispatched by the second level guest virtual machine, wherein the virtual guest machine is instantiated, by a first level guest virtual machine, as an additional second level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machines of Tankleff to have enabled the instantiation of additional virtual machines in order to provide additional computing resources when required while ensuring that those additional computing resources are limited in scope to the specific operations required as suggested by Gilpin ([0004] & [0011] & [0018]).
Referring to claim 18, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machines are instantiated by a hypervisor ([0005]), which meets the limitation of wherein the second level guest virtual machine is a hypervisor for the virtual guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]) such that the enable bits are included in a TLB 202 (Figure 3 & [0029]-[0031]: TLB 202 reads on the claimed state description), which meets the limitation of wherein the control bit is included in a state description associated with the second level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 19, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machine host establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]). The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]), which meets the limitation of wherein the presenting the secure storage access exception is further based on determining that [the interception control bit is set to the first value].
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits 310 ([0033]) and recency bits 312 (Figure 3 & [0031]: bits 312 read on the claimed interception control bit) that indicate the accessibility of memory ([0031] & [0040]), which meets the limitation of determining that an interception control bit is set to a first value of a first value and a second value, wherein the presenting the secure storage access exception is further based on the determining that the interception control bit is set to the first value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 20, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machine host establishes policies defining which virtual machines can access configuration data stored in a protected area of the file system ([0020]-[0022]), which meets the limitation of determining, for a second attempted access, that [the control bit] is set to indicate disablement of the (SSAEI) state. The policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]), which meets the limitation of exiting, based on the determination that [the control bit is set to indicate a disablement of the SSAEI state], to a host program for handling a secure storage access exception associated with the second attempted access.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]), which meets the limitation of determining, for a second attempted access, that a control bit is set to indicate a disablement of the (SSAEI) state, and exiting, based on the determining that the control bit is set to indicate the disablement of the SSAEI state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Referring to claim 23, Tankleff discloses that the policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]: access determinations using the policy for one virtual machines would not affect the operation of a different virtual machine), which meets the limitation of interpreting the secure storage access exception at the second level guest virtual machine without exiting to the first level guest virtual machine.
Referring to claim 24, Tankleff discloses that the access request can be for virtual machine resources ([0021]), which meets the limitation of wherein the secure storage associated with the virtual guest virtual machine is within a memory of a second level guest virtual machine.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tankleff, U.S. Publication No. 2009/0144482, in view of Lindsay, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0189881, in view of Gilpin, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0272449, and further in view of Iyigun, U.S. Patent No. 10,515,019. Referring to claim 5, Tankleff discloses that the policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]).
Tankleff does not specify that the virtual addresses of the virtual machines are utilized to make this determination. Iyigun discloses memory access determinations utilizing virtual machine virtual addresses (Col. 16, line 66 – Col. 17, line 18), which meets the limitation of interpreting the secure storage exception based at least in part on a second level guest virtual machine virtual address. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machine access of Tankleff to have been performed utilizing the virtual address information of the virtual machines in order to avoid expensive context switches as suggested by Iyigun (Col. 3, lines 20-27).
Claims 21, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tankleff, U.S. Publication No. 2009/0144482, in view of Lindsay, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0189881, in view of Gilpin, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0272449, and further in view of Lu, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0035905. Referring to claim 21, Tankleff does not disclose that the virtual machines are instantiated by other virtual machines in the system. Gilpin discloses the execution of virtual machines that can instantiate child virtual machines, which can in turn instantiate grandchild virtual machines ([0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machines of Tankleff to have enabled the instantiation of additional virtual machines in order to provide additional computing resources when required while ensuring that those additional computing resources are limited in scope to the specific operations required as suggested by Gilpin ([0004] & [0011] & [0018]).
Gilpin does not disclose that the instantiated virtual machines are copies of the virtual machine from which they where initiated. Gilpin discloses the creation of child virtual machines that are copies of the parent virtual machine ([0014]), which meets the limitation of wherein the virtual guest virtual machine is instantiated based on a shadow data structure maintained by the first level guest virtual machine, the shadow data structure shadowing a data structure maintained by the second level guest virtual machine for the virtual guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the child virtual machines of the modified Tankleff to have been generated such that they are copies of the parent virtual machine in order to reduce the time required to boot the new virtual machine as suggested by Lu ([0014]).
Referring to claim 25, Tankleff discloses that the virtual machines are instantiated by a hypervisor ([0005]), which meets the limitation of wherein the second level guest virtual machine is a hypervisor for the virtual guest virtual machine.
Tankleff does not disclose the utilization of a control bit to determine access to the configuration data. Lindsay discloses the use of access policies that include enable bits ([0033]) that indicate the access status of memory ([0040]) such that the enable bits are included in a TLB 202 (Figure 3 & [0029]-[0031]: TLB 202 reads on the claimed state description), which meets the limitation of wherein the control bit is included in execution controls of the state description, and [wherein the state description is obtained from the first level guest virtual machine]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the policies of Tankleff to dictate access to the configuration data using enable bits for the storage locations of the configuration data in order to provide a last line of defense to protect the configuration data as suggested by Lindsay ([0034]).
Tankleff does not disclose that the virtual machines are instantiated by other virtual machines in the system. Gilpin discloses the execution of virtual machines that can instantiate child virtual machines, which can in turn instantiate grandchild virtual machines ([0024]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the virtual machines of Tankleff to have enabled the instantiation of additional virtual machines in order to provide additional computing resources when required while ensuring that those additional computing resources are limited in scope to the specific operations required as suggested by Gilpin ([0004] & [0011] & [0018]).
Gilpin does not disclose that the instantiated virtual machines are copies of the virtual machine from which they where initiated. Gilpin discloses the creation of child virtual machines that are copies of the parent virtual machine ([0014]), which meets the limitation of wherein the state description is obtained from the first level guest virtual machine. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the child virtual machines of the modified Tankleff to have been generated such that they are copies of the parent virtual machine in order to reduce the time required to boot the new virtual machine as suggested by Lu ([0014]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tankleff, U.S. Publication No. 2009/0144482, in view of Lindsay, U.S. Publication No. 2014/0189881, in view of Gilpin, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0272449, and further in view of Jennings, U.S. Publication No. 2012/0117223. Referring to claim 22, Tankleff discloses that the policies are utilized to determine which virtual machines may access the configuration data ([0022]) such that if the virtual machine is permitted to access the configuration data, access is provided ([0022]), and if the virtual machine is not permitted to access the configuration data, the process terminates ([0023]).
Tankleff does not disclose that the process termination order includes the identifier of the process. Jennings discloses the utilization of process identifiers when processing events such as process termination ([0019]: process identifier reads on the claimed interruption code), which meets the limitation of wherein the secure storage access exception comprises a program interruption code that identifies the secure storage access exception. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the process terminal order of Tankleff in order provide convenient means of identifying which process is to be terminated as suggested by Jennings ([0019]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437