DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number JP2024-015009 dated 2/2/2024. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 1/27/2025 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an image compressor that compresses the image in front of the own vehicle acquired by the acquirer” in claim 4;
“an acquirer that acquires an image in front of an own vehicle captured by a camera mounted on the own vehicle, a distance between the own vehicle and a preceding vehicle, and a traveling speed of the own vehicle” in claim 4;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a radar that measures a distance between the own vehicle and a preceding vehicle.” It is unclear if preceding is defined as the vehicle in front or the vehicle in the back, as by definition preceding means “existing before a time or place”. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret the preceding vehicle as the vehicle in front of the own vehicle.
Claim 2 recites “the first image quality is an image quality with which, assuming that an image of a person right in front of the own vehicle is captured by the camera, the person right in front of the own vehicle included in the image captured by the camera is unrecognizable; the second image quality is an image quality with which, assuming that an image of the preceding vehicle at a position that is less than the second threshold value away from the own vehicle is captured by the camera, a license number of the preceding vehicle included in the image captured by the camera is unrecognizable; and the third image quality is an image quality with which, assuming that a person exists at a position that is the second threshold value away from the own vehicle and that is in front and on a side of the own vehicle, the person is unrecognizable.”. It is unclear what the Applicant is claiming when stating the image captured by the camera is unrecognizable, as unrecognizable can correspond to multiple interpretations such as being blurred, completely blacked out, etc. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret unrecognizable as being blurry.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the second threshold value is a distance determined by a width of the own vehicle and an angle of view of the camera, and is a shortest distance to the position at which it is possible that the person existing in front and on a side of the own vehicle is included in the image in front of the own vehicle captured by the camera when the own vehicle travels at a higher traveling speed than the first threshold value”. It is unclear how a person can exist “in front and on a side of the own vehicle”, as a person can only exist at one spot. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret this as a person existing in a diagonal position from the vehicle included in the image. It is also unclear what the Applicant is claiming when stating “shortest distance”, as a person (as claimed) is assumingly always in an image (and shortest distance through BRI can be as close as a person’s face being extremely close to the camera). For examination purposes and until further clarification, the examiner will interpret this limitation as the distance greater than or equal to the second threshold.
Claims 4-5 correspond to claim 1 and thus are rejected for the same reasons of indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki (US 8229623 B2) in view of Guan (US 20190019414 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maki discloses an own vehicle (Maki, Col. 2, Lines 51-54, "According to the above aspects, the importance of the present position of the vehicle is determined, and the image quality (compression rate, etc.) of the moving image to be recorded is controlled on the basis of this importance") comprising:
a camera that captures an image in front of the own vehicle (Maki, Col. 8, Lines 53-55, "The image input from the front-view camera 101 is compressed at the compression rate determined by the method explained in embodiment 2.").
While Maki discloses a radar that measures a distance between the own vehicle and a position (Maki, Col. 11, Lines 37-40, "The compression rate controller 116 calculates the distance between the detected present position or estimated present position, and all the important imaging points registered in the importance management database 117 (S607)"), they do not teach “a radar that measures a distance between the own vehicle and a preceding vehicle”.
However, Guan teaches a radar that measures a distance between the own vehicle and a preceding vehicle (Guan, paragraph [0018], “In another embodiment, the ranging member may be located in at least one of just front, left front and right front of a vehicle head of the vehicle, and is configured to detect a distance between the present vehicle and a front vehicle located corresponding to a location of the ranging member”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to use a vehicle as a reference for Maki’s position, as taught by Guan.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent vehicle collisions and increase vehicle safety.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Maki in view of Guan discloses a traveling speed sensor that detects a traveling speed of the own vehicle (Maki, Col. 4, Lines 25-27, " On the other hand, a GPS receiving unit 121 receives a GPS wave, a vehicle speed sensor 122 detects the present vehicle speed, and a brake sensor 123 detects the brake"),
and an image compressor that compresses the image in front of the own vehicle captured by the camera, wherein when the traveling speed of the own vehicle detected by the traveling speed sensor is equal to or less than a first threshold value, the image compressor compresses the image in front of the own vehicle into an image of a first image quality (Maki, Col. 7, Lines 15-19, Fig. 6 below, "When the compression rate controller 116 judges that the closest approach predict time is more than 2 seconds and not more than 4 seconds (Yes at S305), it instructs the image compressor 113 to compress the image at a low compression rate (2 Mbps) (S306)", the image is compressed based on how fast and how much distance is between the vehicle and the imaging point, thus accounting for speed and distance. The threshold for speed is the assumed speed as shown in Col. 6, Lines 1-11),
when the traveling speed of the own vehicle detected by the traveling speed sensor is more than the first threshold value and also when the distance between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle measured by the radar is less than a second threshold value, the image compressor compresses the image in front of the own vehicle into an image of a second image quality that is a higher image quality than the first image quality (Maki, Col. 7, Lines 10-15, "When the compression rate controller 116 judges that the closest approach predict time is more than 4 seconds and not more than 6 seconds (Yes at S303), it instructs the image compressor 113 to compress the image at a high compression rate (1 Mbps) (S304).", the distance threshold is how much distance is from 6 seconds to the imaging point. Since the approach time here is less than 6 seconds, then that means the distance is less than the threshold),
and when the traveling speed of the own vehicle detected by the traveling speed sensor is more than the first threshold value and also when the distance between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle measured by the radar is equal to or more than the second threshold value, the image compressor compresses the image in front of the own vehicle into an image of a third image quality that is a higher image quality than the second image quality (Maki, Col. 7, Lines 6-10, ". In FIG. 6, when the compression rate controller 116 judges that the closest approach predict time is more than 6 seconds (Yes at S301), it instructs the image compressor 113 to compress the image at the highest compression rate (512 kbps) (S302)", the distance threshold is 6 seconds. Since the approach time here is 6 seconds or more, then that means the distance is greater than the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Maki in view of Guan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Claim 4 corresponds to claim 1, additionally reciting an image processing device (Maki, Col. 4, Lines 13-17, “The image input from a camera 101 for taking a forward scene of the vehicle is digitally converted by the A/D converter 111, and the digitally converted image data is temporarily stored in the frame memory 112”). Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 1.
Claim 5 corresponds to claim 1, additionally reciting a non-transitory storage medium storing a program (Maki, Col. 4, Lines 17-22, “Further, the image data is digitally compressed by the image compressor 113 at a compression rate (for example, 512 kbps, 1 Mbps, 2 Mbps, 4 Mbps) determined by the compression rate controller 116. The compressed image data is temporarily stored in the memory 114, and is stored in a recording medium by means of the Image recorder 115”). Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WAYNE ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672